Former saint Siposs now a lion.

Detroit lion that is.

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/us-s ... 621f13971d

"It was a wave of emotions for former Saint Arryn Siposs before becoming an NFL player. He had just missed out on the draft along with two other Aussies, until a swift move saw him taken.
AAP, Herald Sun

Arryn Siposs has achieved his NFL dream five years after a third shoulder reconstruction ended his AFL career with St Kilda.

Detroit Lions swooped in and signed the 27-year-old punter minutes after the three-day, seven-round marathon NFL Draft concluded on Saturday. "

SAINT-LEE

Re: Former saint Siposs now a lion.

Poor bastard, literally one of the worst teams in NFL history.

But I wish him well.

SAINT-LEE wrote:Poor bastard, literally one of the worst teams in NFL history.

But I wish him well.
They’ll need a good punter.

SAINT-LEE wrote: Sun 26 Apr 2020 9:25pm Poor bastard, literally one of the worst teams in NFL history.

But I wish him well.
Yeah they are in the same Division as us. And have been a joke for 30 years. Always find a way to stumble.

They do always get a Thanksgiving Day game though (along with The Cowboys) and that is a huge day for NFL.

Any playing time will be cherished I think. And the money is so much better than AFL.

Good luck Arryn. You have earned it after your performance at Auburn.

SAINT-LEE wrote: Sun 26 Apr 2020 9:25pm Poor bastard, literally one of the worst teams in NFL history.

But I wish him well.
Who cares?

It’s an NFL team and he was a spud AFL player

saintspremiers wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 7:08am

But I wish him well.
Who cares?

It’s an NFL team and he was a spud AFL player
Please provide a list of former players we should care about.

wool , raph ‘n paddy

either of those 3 in my trench would be ok

Yeah, I’m sure he’d hate to play for one of those! :shock:

SAINT-LEE

The_Dud wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 1:15pm

But I guess making his 5 year St Kilda wage in one season could be an incentive.

If you can't make them new first downs you have to kick the ball away for position or if in range go for a field goal.
As a punter on a hopeless team he could get plenty of action.

But the team has other punters, he has to perform to stay on the roster and out perform team mate punters to get games.

SAINT-LEE wrote: Wed 29 Apr 2020 6:40pm
The_Dud wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 1:15pm

But I guess making his 5 year St Kilda wage in one season could be an incentive.
He may even feel right at home losing games.

roskilde

Love it. Was always fond of him as a player. Still remember that first game he played at the G where he belted the ball around 60 metres straight on to the chest of Roo I think and thinking 'Finally someone who can bloody kick.'

Good luck to the man.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

ace wrote: Wed 29 Apr 2020 7:09pm If you can't make them new first downs you have to kick the ball away for position or if in range go for a field goal.
As a punter on a hopeless team he could get plenty of action.

But the team has other punters, he has to perform to stay on the roster and out perform team mate punters to get games.
Hi Ace,

didn't I see you in Las Vegas? :P

Arryn will not kick for a field goal. That is the kickers job.

During the season, there is only one punter, one kicker, one long-snapper on a team. So he will get every punt when the coach calls for a punt.

You are correct though if you are talking about training camp. They have a few who compete for various positions.

We chatted with Sippa on Unpluggered last week. He's a ripper fellow and has worked hard to get where he is now. He's currently still in Alabama preparing for the move to Detroit and doing his rookie camp in isolation.

Video here:

s*** double whammy - living in Detroit AND catching corona. Best wishes to him with both.

kosifantutti wrote: Fri 31 Jul 2020 10:44am He’s tested positive to COVID 19

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/7news.c ... 206899.amp
I've heard the AFL are looking to fine the Saints for breach of COVID protocol over the incident.

Superboot

roskilde wrote: Wed 29 Apr 2020 10:44pm Love it. Was always fond of him as a player. Still remember that first game he played at the G where he belted the ball around 60 metres straight on to the chest of Roo I think and thinking 'Finally someone who can bloody kick.'

Good luck to the man.
Remember that well. Thought he was going to be a star.

Shame. It was cutdown day yesterday. The Lions went with the other fella and Aaron was cut.

https://www.prideofdetroit.com/2020/9/5 ... punter-job

But he’s been added to their practice squad. I’m not sure what that means in terms of contract etc.

kosifantutti wrote: Tue 08 Sep 2020 11:14am But he’s been added to their practice squad. I’m not sure what that means in terms of contract etc.

First that is great news. If he was not on the practice squad he may not play anywhere.

And if they thought he was crap they would just delist him and put another punter on the practice squad.

It means:

1. You do get a contract. It would be $x00,000 dollars. Not chicken feed.

2. You cannot be picked up by another club (yet).

3. You get train train like/with everybody else. You would attend all games in uniform.

4. You can get cut any day.

5. If the punter is injured or plays poorly you could be in the next game. Or even next play.

So there is currently a thread to grasp for Aaron.

FYI I just had a peek a practice squad salary.

Practice squad players earn considerably less than active squad players: in 2020, the minimum salary for a practice squad player was $8,400 per week ($142,800 for 17 weeks), and the minimum rookie salary was $610,000. Some practice squad players are paid considerably more, however.

Aaron could live in hope for $8k per week I reckon.

Astounded he is only 27! Seems to be from another era all together. Time I didn’t follow the Saints much. That 2011 was a bummer of a year, and the game he was dropped, after playing five games, was a portent For dark clouds on the horizon. Round 11, 2011 and we get done by Collingwood by 57! 2011 was ‘orrible, start to finish.

28 games in five seasons with injuries.

Poor guy gets a + COVID result days before they decision ....gee.