Harley Bennel

Re: Harley Bennel

The_Dud wrote: Thu 08 Aug 2019 1:41pm Do we really need to bring in another player with a coke problem? :roll:
Better the ones you know than you don't know.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 08 Aug 2019 1:41pm Do we really need to bring in another player with a coke problem? :roll:
Hey!!!!

I have a Coke problem
The f@rking Peach Flavour is God Awful!

Nah. Always happy to be proven wrong though if he’s got his s**t together
Last edited by prwilkinson on Thu 08 Aug 2019 1:59pm, edited 1 time in total.

All reports he's off the gear and has turned himself around.

I totally understand the need to get some silky smooth Black Magic into the side but there is only one out there on the market in 2019 worth getting
I have not heard of any whiff of scandal and yes I realise the history of dealing with Essendon and Lovett saga
But surely it should only be Tipper

sunsaint wrote: Thu 08 Aug 2019 2:39pm I totally understand the need to get some silky smooth Black Magic into the side but there is only one out there on the market in 2019 worth getting
I have not heard of any whiff of scandal and yes I realise the history of dealing with Essendon and Lovett saga
But surely it should only be Tipper
Bennel is a far better player than Tippa.

When he's "on"?

B.M wrote: Wed 07 Aug 2019 10:28pm Cousins was actually a likeable bloke with a drug problem

Bennell is a d***head
All young people make mistakes. Substance abuse and alcahol turns a lot of good blokes into dickheads.

Heard Tim Gossage talking about Harley on SEN this week. He says he's followed his story and says he is desperate to play at the highest level again.

Tim said he'd absolutely 100% give him a chance if it was up to him and he reckons that a Melbourne based club has shown some interest. It sounded like Tim had first hand knowledge of his issues and reckons he has turned his life around and he is a dad and has a family now.

Stian

Scollop wrote: Thu 08 Aug 2019 5:19pm
B.M wrote: Wed 07 Aug 2019 10:28pm Cousins was actually a likeable bloke with a drug problem

Bennell is a d***head
All young people make mistakes. Substance abuse and alcahol turns a lot of good blokes into dickheads.

Heard Tim Gossage talking about Harley on SEN this week. He says he's followed his story and says he is desperate to play at the highest level again.

Tim said he'd absolutely 100% give him a chance if it was up to him and he reckons that a Melbourne based club has shown some interest. It sounded like Tim had first hand knowledge of his issues and reckons he has turned his life around and he is a dad and has a family now.
Matty Parker has admitted that he was a huge d***head before he became a father. The stability of his partner and their little boy have been massively influential. (Actually, it is nice to see both Matty and the other fathers holding their kids in the rooms after a game.)
Anyway, the point of that is to say that you shouldn't underestimate the effect of fatherhood.

Bennell is a d***head

What an ignorant post.

One is a full blown addict. Addicted to meth.

The other did coke, at least once and got his picture taken. A drug that a scary percentage of the afl and society has tried.

It’s not even a comparison. Grow up.

Scoop

outside66 wrote: Thu 08 Aug 2019 10:53am I've posted before on him once he and Freo parted ways, and since they reckon they've found the nerve issue that was giving him grief, I'd be all about it as we would get him as a delisted free agent with enormous upside. As we are heavily into Hill, I'd be interested to know what his thoughts would be on the Saints recruiting Harley...
Given they both have the same manager...you may be onto something.... :wink:

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

Of course BC (like tens of thousands of others) is addicted to Meth, he is a drug addict.

Before that, and even during that time in periods where he was off the gear, Cousins was an elite footballer, a fanatical trainer, a professional preparer, a gut running machine! A club captain, a premiership winner, a Brownlow medallist, a multiple AA and 4 time B&F.

To compare the two is ridiculous

Bennell has achieved FA
He has a poor attitude to training, has a drinking problem, also likes the nose beers and is lazy.

Something you could never accuse BC of being.

Cousins has ended up in a messy state due to his Drug addiction which is sad, because he became mentally unwell over time

Bennell, always a questionable attitude.

B.M wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 2:17pm Spinner

Of course BC (like tens of thousands of others) is addicted to Meth, he is a drug addict.

Before that, and even during that time in periods where he was off the gear, Cousins was an elite footballer, a fanatical trainer, a professional preparer, a gut running machine! A club captain, a premiership winner, a Brownlow medallist, a multiple AA and 4 time B&F.

Bennell has achieved FA
He has a poor attitude to training, has a drinking problem, also likes the nose beers and is lazy.

Cousins has ended up in a messy state due to his Drug addiction which is sad, because he became mentally unwell over time

Read his book. You are kidding yourself. A tool of the highest order. Likeable, what does that mean? He was a great footballer and a succesful professional athlete but a complete d**khead. Delusional, obsessive and underhanded. Football saved him from being a nobody in a jail cell, then he stopped playing football.

Bennell has achieved FA

One sounds like a stock broker, the other sounds genuine. I know which one is more likeable.

Bennell has achieved FA

As I said in the previous post, grow up.

You can fantasise about Ben all you want but at the end of the day the definition of professional is not slamming every drug under the sun, building a toxic drug culture at a football club and leaving the game with a terrible addition having served time in jail.

Great footballer.

But don’t exaggerate Bennell’s issues to suit your fan boy agenda. Poor attitude to training? You’re making this up ... lazy? You’re making this up again. Liked coke? Once for all we know.

Your lover boy Ben made a video which confirmed all of the above.

I really wish you had changed your posting attitude having some time off from this site but it appears you have not. Once again, grow up and get some perspective. Don’t bring another footballer down just because you have a blinkered acceptance of a another the definition of fundamentally toxic / “professional”.

Another unfortunate and miserable story of potential unfulfilled; Harley had an AIS scholarship and was voted best in the 2010 under 18 champs (Wikipedia). Hard to know what, if any, relationship/causality there is between his injury history and off field behaviour but people will draw their own conclusions, as we do. Unfortunately for him years out of action don't improve you and each year another crop of excellent draftees appear. Another empty speculation is: what if he was not in one of the compromised draft years and had gone to say Hawthorn not the Sunny boys and there in the GC found himself living with K. Hunt and far away from his family. I imaging he is going to have a lot of years of regret, poor guy, and does not send Karmichael Xmas wishes.

If we get him as a rookie and he is serious about wanting to get back - I say go for it - odds are that at sometime one of these speculative picks comes off
- does he want to be with us?
- does he want to play AFL?
- can he get fit?

If all of these are yes - then he has to be better than the 44th player on our list - so I say go for it

Low risk pick (rookie etc)
Performance based contract

My ‘loverboy’ Played 250 odd games, was a superstar and was well liked by his team mates both at WC and Richmond.

Unfortunately he got addicted to drugs and his life has turned out to be a mess.

Harley Bennell is a disappointment, and that’s about it.

Perhaps ask Freo and GC people what they think of Harley.

B.M wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 12:01pm My ‘loverboy’ Played 250 odd games, was a superstar and was well liked by his team mates both at WC and Richmond.

Unfortunately he got addicted to drugs and his life has turned out to be a mess.

Harley Bennell is a disappointment, and that’s about it.

Perhaps ask Freo and GC people what they think of Harley.
Wouldn't have played 100 games in the modern era living the lifestyle that he chose to live. Started to smash the coke and associating with underworld figures at about the same time he was made captain. Fame and fortune went to his head. His greatest achievement was that he got away with it so long, protected by corrupt administrations at both club and league level and the adoring WA media and community. Had bitter feuds with teammates and administrators and was idolized, it is not the same as liked.

CQ

Unfortunately that’s what drugs can do, question is

What was Ben like as a person and footballer before he became an addict?

Well he is a decorated footballer, so no questions there.

As a person, he was named Captain of an AFL footy club at 24. Damien Hardwick described him as infectious (in a good way) and he was very well liked... until his addiction took hold. Even then, when he got off the drugs for a few years, he was again a positive role model at Richmond (ask Deledio) but unfortunately as soon as footy ended, he went backwards.

BC has only got himself to blame, but he isn’t the only person to get addicted to stimulants.
He has ruined his life, and that’s his problem. He turned into a problem due to drugs.

Harley Bennell
Has had a poor attitude right through his career.

Harley Bennell has the chance to turn it all around. It will be interesting to see if he can.

B.M wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 1:47pm CQ

As a person, he was named Captain of an AFL footy club at 24. Damien Hardwick described him as infectious (in a good way) and he was very well liked... until his addiction took hold. Even then, when he got off the drugs for a few years, he was again a positive role model at Richmond (ask Deledio) but unfortunately as soon as footy ended, he went backwards.

BC has only got himself to blame, but he isn’t the only person to get addicted to stimulants.
He has ruined his life, and that’s his problem. He turned into a problem due to drugs.

Harley Bennell
From his own admission, he met John Kizon in 1999 at 21 years of age, knew his reputation and saw first hand, some of his indiscretions but only saw him as a good bloke and a mate. Why you might think? free drinks, free coke and hookers. Says a fair bit about his character really.

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 3:19pm
B.M wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 1:47pm CQ

Harley Bennell
From his own admission, he met John Kizon in 1999 at 21 years of age, knew his reputation and saw first hand, some of his indiscretions but only saw him as a good bloke and a mate. Why you might think? free drinks, free coke and hookers. Says a fair bit about his character really.
While I'm not defending Bennell, the West Coke Eagles and the AFL, according to Judd, knew that Cousins was a coke fiend and hanging with Perth's underbelly and did bugger all because no one cared, according to Chick, the club was dispensing banned substances for performance enhancement and hiding players from drug tests.
If the same degree of scrutiny had been applied to Cousins we wouldn't be having this conversation and Cousins wouldn't have a premiership, brownlow or 238 games. He just couldnt control himself, just like Bennell.

But unlike Bennell

Ben was a champion

B.M wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 4:58pm But unlike Bennell

Ben was a champion
Never in doubt. A champion footballer and a pretty big d**khead.