Warney wants to help make saints great again.

From herald sun.com

"WARNEY'S PLEDGE TO MAKE ST KILDA GREAT AGAIN

Shane Warne wants to help St Kilda become an AFL power.
The cricket icon and Saints fan is a close friend of club president Andrew Bassat and said the had previously broached the subject of Warne playing an active role helping the club.

And that's something Test cricket's greatest spinner is desperate to do.
"I'm a good friend of Andrew Bassat, let's just put it that way," Warne said.
"There's no official role or anything.
"I did have a chat with Andrew Bassat at the start of this football season, talking about possibly (being) on the board or having a bigger role and impact at the St Kilda footy club but with the World Cup and the Ashes on this year – when I'm spending a lot of time in England – it wasn't the right time."

Speaking on AFL360, Warne – who was in the Saints' rooms alongside fellow high-profile Saints fan Eric Bana after the weekend win over the Western Bulldogs – said getting involved in footy was on his to-do list.
"… who knows, I'll have a chat with Andrew when I get back from England and when I'm over in England during that time," he said.
"Who knows about next year but I'd love to be more involved with the St Kilda footy club."

The_President

Re: Warney wants to help make saints great again.

I don’t want to read too much into it.

But the club and Richo part ways...
- Steven returns to football
- Acres plays in the guts
- We win
- Riewoldt is open to coming back to help out
- Warne at the game/wants to help out
- First game I’ve seen Eric Bana at in a long time.

We finally have a president that knows how to run a business but openly admits that he doesn’t know much in terms of how to run a footy club BUT is happy to deflect to those that do.

We might just might be onto a good thing here.

The_President

I don’t want to read too much into it... But

The club and Richo part ways...
- We win

We finally have a president that knows how to run a business but openly admits that he doesn’t know much in terms of how to run a footy club BUT is happy to deflect to those that do.

The_President wrote: Wed 24 Jul 2019 1:05pm I don’t want to read too much into it.

- We win

Eric Bana is not invisible at St Kilda. Him and his family live in Melbourne all year and the only time he's not at St K games - he reserved seat is basically in front of the Victory Room - is when he's shooting overseas. It's simple - that part is not a conspiracy.

George27

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 24 Jul 2019 1:40pm
The_President wrote: Wed 24 Jul 2019 1:05pm I don’t want to read too much into it.

- We win

Eric Bana is not invisible at St Kilda. Him and his family live in Melbourne all year and the only time he's not at St K games - he reserved seat is basically in front of the Victory Room - is when he's shooting overseas. It's simple - that part is not a conspiracy.
I agree with Saintmatt. Eric Bana has been very visible at Saints games. Has stuck fat . The rest of your proposition be right, Pres, but don’t rope Eric into the theory.

Eric Bana even goes to Sandy games, huge fan!

Warne is reactionary and can be divisive. Is passionate, but makes emotive rather than considered comments.

Blake Acres attended 2 centre bounces. Played mainly as a HHF and a bit of Wing.

We’ve won 7 games this year, 6 under Richardson.

Jack Steven was told he had to train for 4 weeks before playing - has done so, which is why he played.

Bassett will be judged in the fullness of time. Yet to do much at all.

B.M wrote: Wed 24 Jul 2019 4:52pm Eric Bana even goes to Sandy games, huge fan!

And training sessions. Invisible he is not.

TV just played it up at the Dogs Game as Hemsworth was in a private box with his cronies for the same game.

- We win

In terms of chronology Bassat asked Warnie at the start of the season to consider helping out well before Richo got the chop. And it sounds like once the Ashes are out of the way he will. So basically from 2020 on.

"I did have a chat with Andrew Bassat at the start of this football season, talking about possibly (being) on the board or having a bigger role and impact at the St Kilda footy club but with the World Cup and the Ashes on this year - when I'm spending a lot of time in England - it wasn't the right time."

And as others have noted:
- Bana is a regular.
-Steven was back training before Richo got the chop

His first suggestion
Get rid of pokies at Moorabbin replace with advanced hair studio .
Yeah yeah

HighettMan

Eddie and Koche will be concerned about this.

Have the courage to call out r ACE ism
supersaints2

Sorry.. Warnie is a wanker.. famous wanker no doubt but a serious one

I used to be supersaints but after 16 years my profile dissapeared... ??? if I make any reference to past posts .. it will be under supersiants.. glad to be back on line

supersaints2 wrote: Sun 11 Aug 2019 9:07pm Sorry.. Warnie is a wanker.. famous wanker no doubt but a serious one
Do you know him? Have you ever even met him? On what basis do you make your assessment?

Warnie has a role to play. He brings us profile, the corporate world loves him, and we can package things around that.

I'd re-imagine what he can possibly do. He can open doors to Bharat, Tata or Reliance - that's US500 billion of assets - with a single phone call.

Saint 58

Re: Warney wants to help make saints great ... [remove "again"].

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]