I may be imagining it

Re: I may be imagining it

vacuous space wrote: Sun 14 Jul 2019 1:05am
St Lenny wrote: Sat 13 Jul 2019 11:43pmWhy, what has [Lethlean] done wrong?
Lethers oversaw the review that came to the conclusion we shouldn't sack Richo at the end of last year. He then hired a crony with no AFL experience as our list manager. He led the charge on bringing in a broken down old Dan Hannebery. He supposedly overruled our newly appointed national recruiting manager on our first round pick. We tried to trade what is currently pick four (and may end up as high as pick two) for Jye Caldwell, who had barely played for two years because of injuries. We picked a player with a chronic back problem with our second pick. The rest of our draft was overagers.

Now it looks like Lethers is trying to replace our current underwhelming coach with a mate who has overseen a decade of disappointment at Arden Street. For some reason we're trying to replace Marshall, one of the only positives in this ongoing nightmare, with another ageing player likely past his prime and/or an injured zero gamer. We also go into this years draft with no second or third round picks. As of right now, we have pick four followed by pick 55. This is on a team that infamously lacks top end talent. We're supposedly throwing out massive contracts at big names with no takers.

We seem to be behaving as though we believe we're a club that's not that far off finals, when all evidence points to the contrary. I'd be completely in favour of tearing things down and starting again. We never properly rebuilt after the Lyon era team came crashing back to earth. That means more lean years, but I don't think that's avoidable. If we go the Brad Scott/Todd Goldstein route, we may be able to scratch together some 8-10 win seasons before crashing again and needing a rebuild. Might as well do it now. I've seen nothing from Simon to suggest he's so inclined. Personally, I think he's trying to quick-fix the club so he can get poached into the role he really wants.
Brad Scott point blank refused to rebuild.
Told North they were going to climb back up without a rebuild.
They employed him becasue he told them what they wanted to hear.
He failed.
Now they have invited him to leave.
Why would we pick such an idiot as our coach.

I know, because we want him to win us a few more wooden spoons.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

I just got a notification pop up on my phone from the club....

Was just trying to flog me tickets.

I was expecting something else.

BarryGrogan

ace wrote: Mon 15 Jul 2019 11:41am
Brad Scott point blank refused to rebuild.
Told North they were going to climb back up without a rebuild.
They employed him becasue he told them what they wanted to hear.
He failed.
Now they have invited him to leave.
Why would we pick such an idiot as our coach.

I know, because we want him to win us a few more wooden spoons.
I heard the opposite.

saint1974

Just drove down Linton St,Richo and Finnis walking by themselves down the street outside of the club,looks like they were in a very heavy conversation ,walking away from club hq,returned back to club stood outside for a while still in conversation,who knows,I just wonder why they were having a long conversation outside hq,didn’t look like a man who was about or had been sacked,
Saturday night Richo body language in the box was a man defeated,who knows what will transpired

Special

saint1974 wrote: Mon 15 Jul 2019 3:09pm Just drove down Linton St,Richo and Finnis walking by themselves down the street outside of the club,looks like they were in a very heavy conversation ,walking away from club hq,returned back to club stood outside for a while still in conversation,who knows,I just wonder why they were having a long conversation outside hq,didn’t look like a man who was about or had been sacked,
Saturday night Richo body language in the box was a man defeated,who knows what will transpired
It’s 2.14pm now. I reckon if a presser was going to be called it would’ve been done by now.

I’m trying to accept the reality of Cho lasting until the end of Round 23

Sainternist wrote: Sun 14 Jul 2019 7:33pm Richo should have been dismissed after 2017. Although, I have sunk the boots into him plenty of times over the past couple of years, I kind of feel sorry for him now. He's a good person and his intentions were always right place for the club and in getting this team to the top, but he simply hasn't delivered. Should he be sacked soon, rather than bag him out and say "good riddance", I would prefer to wish him well for the future. We still have to find the right person for the job after him, which in all honesty, looks like a pretty tall order.
The issue is not so much Richo as the fools that needlessly extended him. They are the calamitous culprits here.

There's more that just the Coach that's wrong though. How in God's name was Jamie Cox made Football Manager and even worse - Danny Sexton survived this sh!tshow?

I've met Richo a few times. He comes across as a nice fella and one you'd be happy having your Son coached by. But he's never struck me as a ruthless prick and I suspect that's what we need.

Myron Gaines

saint1974 wrote: Mon 15 Jul 2019 3:09pm Just drove down Linton St,Richo and Finnis walking by themselves down the street outside of the club,looks like they were in a very heavy conversation ,walking away from club hq,returned back to club stood outside for a while still in conversation,who knows,I just wonder why they were having a long conversation outside hq,didn’t look like a man who was about or had been sacked,
Maybe they were discussing handing in their resignation together?

axcellence

Myron Gaines wrote: Mon 15 Jul 2019 3:32pm
Maybe they were discussing handing in their resignation together?
Or just joking around on how long can they get away with the swindle!

Consider that Ratten May have been already approached to become caretaker and said, “No, thanks”.
What are his prospects if he caretakes? I can’t see us winning many more games no matter who coaches the season out. I know it would do a lot of good for the fans to appoint someone now, today, but I suspect Ratten feels he is on a hiding to nothing.

Of course pure speculation in my part. I’m just so itching to get something to happen.

barneyboyz

In Richo's 'Message from the Coach', he said "thanks for the support". It was in the context of those supporters at the game I think; however, I heard it and took it as a personal message of thanks. Was it that?

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

Still mathematically possible to make finals.

st.byron wrote: Mon 15 Jul 2019 6:09pm Still mathematically possible to make finals.
Will be for several rounds yet.

MC Gusto wrote: Sat 13 Jul 2019 11:03pm But I reckon that’s it

Footage in the box looked emotional.

He’s done
Good call.

MC Gusto wrote: Sat 13 Jul 2019 11:03pm But I reckon that’s it

Footage in the box looked emotional.

He’s done
Well spotted.

MC Gusto is our winner!

The Craw

Well done Saint1974.

Not Craw, CRAW!