Bassat, Ratts, Lade & Billy!

All credit to our brilliant start must go the above four key inclusions.

The moment for me when we have official arrived was in the third term yesterday.

A passage of play where we slowly switched the ball in defence a few times then put on the afterburners and scored a goal.

It was a sign of a fair dinkum good side not just one that has to scrap for every goal.

Now we know that this game is a pivotal moment for our season. Other clubs will do a lot more homework on how to stop our run and the unthinkable things like Newmes being tagged will be a new reality.

But we can overcome all these challenges with the brilliance of Ratten and Lade in the coaches box. Plus Billy is helping to give the boys self belief. The senior coach himself is doing as he’s told and clearly not interfering with the new plan. So credit to him in that regard.

Ajantis

Re: Bassat, Ratts, Lade & Billy!

Agree 100%.
Looking at st.kilda last year they needed to make changes at the assistant level as the players didnt look interested or even looked bored.
I was tired of hearing " blame the coach", is was a good decision by st.kilda to make theses changes.

Cheers

saintspremiers wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:37am All credit to our brilliant start must go the above four key inclusions.

The moment for me when we have official arrived was in the third term yesterday.

A passage of play where we slowly switched the ball in defence a few times then put on the afterburners and scored a goal.

It was a sign of a fair dinkum good side not just one that has to scrap for every goal.

Now we know that this game is a pivotal moment for our season. Other clubs will do a lot more homework on how to stop our run and the unthinkable things like Newmes being tagged will be a new reality.

But we can overcome all these challenges with the brilliance of Ratten and Lade in the coaches box. Plus Billy is helping to give the boys self belief. The senior coach himself is doing as he’s told and clearly not interfering with the new plan. So credit to him in that regard.
Yes, good inclusions, but Richo's main contribution to the improvement has been to keep out of it and not interfere? Obviously, the headset he wears at games must not be connected to anything. If we lose form and have a bad run, it would be a sure sign that Richo is starting to interfere again.

It has been a team effort by the WHOLE club, including Richo.

richo could leave now and I feel the side would carry on just nicely.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 10:54am richo could leave now and I feel the side would carry on just nicely.
How the hell do they get rid of a coach while we're travelling so well?

The only thing that saved Cho's arse last year was his contractual arrangement coupled with heat from AFL house due to our debt situation.

Whathappens when you paint yourself into a corner? Do we have anyone called Machiavelli on the board?

Scollop wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 3:52pm
The Fireman wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 10:54am richo could leave now and I feel the side would carry on just nicely.
How the hell do they get rid of a coach while we're travelling so well?

The only thing that saved Cho's arse last year was his contractual arrangement coupled with heat from AFL house due to our debt situation.

Whathappens when you paint yourself into a corner? Do we have anyone called Machiavelli on the board?
Any proof for that statement?

Remember how devastated some of our players were when GT was sacked? Took some of the younger players like Rooy a little while to recover I reckon. Somehow.... I think the boys would recover a lot quicker if Richo was no longer head coach

I think a team like Collingwood could carry on just nicely if Buckley walked away

I don't think Grundy, Cox, Moore, Howe, DeGoey, Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Adams, Treloar, Phillips, etc. would all of a sudden play any worse

Scollop wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 4:53pm Remember how devastated some of our players were when GT was sacked? Took some of the younger players like Rooy a little while to recover I reckon. Somehow.... I think the boys would recover a lot quicker if Richo was no longer head coach

I think a team like Collingwood could carry on just nicely if Buckley walked away

I don't think Grundy, Cox, Moore, Howe, DeGoey, Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Adams, Treloar, Phillips, etc. would all of a sudden play any worse
Time to give a rest to any thoughts of Richo being sacked. Ain't going to happen.

The Saints sacked Alves after making the finals in '98. And GT after making the finals in '06.

Because the decision had already been made.

Raises the possibility that Richo will be sacked next week anyway, when his contract meets its trigger point, because "the decision has already been made".

Not saying I want that, but it would be typical St Kilda.

saynta wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 5:04pm
Scollop wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 4:53pm Remember how devastated some of our players were when GT was sacked? Took some of the younger players like Rooy a little while to recover I reckon. Somehow.... I think the boys would recover a lot quicker if Richo was no longer head coach

Time to give a rest to any thoughts of Richo being sacked. Ain't going to happen.
Why are we even talking about and why are people still banging on about it?

Dead set f****** clueless.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 5:05pm The Saints sacked Alves after making the finals in '98. And GT after making the finals in '06.

Raises the possibility that Richo will be sacked next week anyway, when his contract meets its trigger point, because "the decision has already been made".

Was Bassatt involved in Alves n GT sackings?
I think you might find different admin.
Is there a secret charter locked in a safe, like the pirates' rule book from Pirates of the Caribbean?
'You must sack the coach when the team is going well' it says.

Geez, get real.

twirlyhair

I just love how someone who has never met the guy, nor stepped inside the organisation to see what work they actually do, could be so arrogant to post such an imbecilic comment.
P.s, I think you are crap at your job. Just sayin.

saintspremiers wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:37am All credit to our brilliant start must go the above four key inclusions.

I've been told Alan was allowed to stay in charge of the ruckman and it looks like he's nailing it. Probably is revolutionising the ruck position and how it is played in modern game. Blake Acres is playing the best footy of his career and RoMa will probably be A grade before too long so credit to Alan in that regard too.

Cairnsman wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:18pm
I've been told Alan was allowed to stay in charge of the ruckman and it looks like he's nailing it. Probably is revolutionising the ruck position and how it is played in modern game. Blake Acres is playing the best footy of his career and RoMa will probably be A grade before too long so credit to Alan in that regard too.

Told by whom?

Richo's track record at the Saints that he preferred a non mobile ruck like Longer over Longer than a more mobile ruck like Hickey.

Maybe Richo has seen the light.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:42pm, edited 1 time in total.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 5:05pm The Saints sacked Alves after making the finals in '98. And GT after making the finals in '06.

And in the past it was 'Idiot' St Kilda. Particularly with Stan Alves and I would say Ross Lyon. I think with GT it was more a case of training services and underachievement due to soft tissue injuries. A training services issue. I thought overall, GT was a good Coach and did well for us, however maybe we were going no further with him at the end of 2006.

At this stage, assuming our Club is competent, there is no need for them to worry about Richo. You'd expect Richo gets the credit he deserves for our first 5 games. No need to worry about contracts, he's got over a year to go. It would be idiotic to even think of moving on him, whether that be to dismiss him or extend his contract beyond the current one.

saintsRrising wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:23pm
Cairnsman wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:18pm

Told by whom?

Richo's track record at the Saints that he preferred anon mobile ruck like Longer over Longer than a more mobile ruck like Hickey.

Maybe Richo has seen the light.

The same bloke that told Alan he wasn't allowed to interfere with the plan. Clearly it's given him more time to focus on the ruck division.

Cairnsman wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:33pm
The same bloke that told Alan he wasn't allowed to interfere with the plan. Clearly it's given him more time to focus on the ruck division.

How much time is required to decide on pick Longer/Pierce v Marshall?
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 21 Apr 2019 10:12pm, edited 1 time in total.

saintsRrising wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:45pm
Cairnsman wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 8:33pm

How much time is required to decide on pick Longer/Pierce v Marshall
Are you suggesting Longer and Pierce should ask Mav Weller if they can borrow the goat pics?

There's a well worn cliche' "never change a winning side" that springs to my mind. As I've said in other threads: I really care very little for Alan Richardson's win-loss ratio/percentage for the past seasons..... all history now! The point that I would bring to peoples attention is the record for THIS season. I agree 100% that its not down to just AR becoming a better coach (?!?!) but rather, being the senior partner in a very good coaching TEAM! I give full credit to Brett Ratten, Brendon Lade, and Billy Slater for their contributions to a fine start to our season, however, the manner in which Richardson has embraced the changes in the coaching panel, has I'm sure also contributed to the good start. SO! I would not dismiss AR.

twirlyhair wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 7:27pm
I just love how someone who has never met the guy, nor stepped inside the organisation to see what work they actually do, could be so arrogant to post such an imbecilic comment.
can you be crap at being retired ?

Agree with the op

We have a very strong football department and if there are any weak links in our coaching team they can be accommodated

Did anyone mention Henry Playfair? Congrats to the recruting team for grabbing Wilkie.

Shaggy

The Fireman wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 10:42pm
A lot of people cause chaos on social media when they retire. They have nothing better to do.

Just sayin.

Many of us have been critical of how the team was coached last year - including Richo himself.

Hard to say if the obvious improvement this year is due to
- the new assistants
- or Richo evolving
- or the players maturing
- or the addition of new players
- or improved fitness
- or some or all of the above

But three things are clear
- we are playing well and improving each week
- there is a real sense of team spirit and belief
- the playing group respect Richo

So let's put an end to all this talk of Richo being sacked.
Last season is ancient history.

We are on a new and exciting journey.
Let's unite behind the group and ride it out together.

Shaggy wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 12:55am
The Fireman wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2019 10:42pm
A lot of people cause chaos on social media when they retire. They have nothing better to do.

Just sayin.
A lot of people have nothing better to do than respond to retirees..just sayin.

PS I just love how someone who has not met me and does not know if i have stepped inside the organisation to make such an arrogant and imbecilic accusation.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 1:34am Many of us have been critical of how the team was coached last year - including Richo himself.

Hard to say if the obvious improvement this year is due to
- the new assistants
- or Richo evolving
- or the players maturing
- or the addition of new players
- or improved fitness
- or some or all of the above

But three things are clear
- we are playing well and improving each week
- there is a real sense of team spirit and belief
- the playing group respect Richo

So let's put an end to all this talk of Richo being sacked.
Last season is ancient history.

We are on a new and exciting journey.
Let's unite behind the group and ride it out together.
Well said.