Breaking the Hoodoos

It may come as surprise to some, but St Kilda have beaten 14 of the 17 other teams over the past three seasons. While that is impressive, there’s still some hoodoos to break in 2019, both head to head and otherwise….

Sydney
St Kilda hasn’t beaten Sydney since back in Round 9, 2012. Ironically, a premiership year for them. Only Armitage, Geary and Steven remain from that day, while Hannebery had 20 touches for the Swans. Since then Sydney have beaten the Saints 9 times by an average margin of 56 points. We haven’t been able to get near them. So what chance are we in 2019? We’ll have to wait until the very final round to find out, but at the SCG, with most than likely nothing but pride to play for, it’s hard to see that losing streak not extending to ten.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 15%

Adelaide
Yep, we’ve hated their guts since 1997, but more recently it’s been just as bad. St Kilda have chalked up eight consecutive losses to the Crows, with the last win coming way back in 2011. That night we held them to their lowest ever score, pumped them by 103 points and Neil Craig was sacked days later. It seems an eternity ago. Constant trips to the Adelaide Oval haven’t helped our cause, but not since 2012 have we even been close to them. In 2019 we face them in Round 6 at Docklands on a Saturday evening. Adelaide could go either way this year but I see this clash as the perfect opportunity to end this hoodoo.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 60%

Port Adelaide
It feels like they’ve been our bogey team since they entered the comp and recent history is no different. Seven losses in a row means our last win over Port dates all the way back to Round 16, 2011, the longest head-to-head drought we have. That should have ended in 2017 but we know all too well what happened there. 2019 presents a unique opportunity to beat Port Adelaide. Finally we’re away from the Adelaide Oval, far, far away, in China to be exact. They’re yet to drop a game in Shanghai and my gut feel is they’re due to lose one (and we’re due to win one overseas).
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 55%

The Adelaide Oval

St Kilda’s worst ground in history, by some margin. Nine games, zero wins, only once within five goals of the opposition. And you’ve just read how well we’ve recently performed against the co-tenants. 2019 presents one opportunity to finally win at the Adelaide Oval, Round 20 vs Adelaide. While I’d love to believe it can be done, I just can’t see it happening this year.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 20%

Hawthorn In Melbourne
While we did destroy Hawthorn in Launceston back in 2017, most Saints fans will be well aware that they haven’t witnessed a win over the Hawks since that famous Jason Blake inspired comeback in 2008. Yes, you read that right. Over ten years ago. We came oh-so-close last year but still couldn’t get it done. This year our chance comes early. Round 4 at home on a Sunday arvo. Revenge for last year must be fresh in the players minds. We’ve not had a better chance to knock over these privileged flogs (sorry, I really hate Hawthorn).
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 75%

2 - 0
We’ve only managed to start the season with back to back wins once since 2010. That came in 2014, a wooden spoon year funnily enough, but we did account for lowly Melbourne and GWS. This year there’s an even chance to repeat that feat. Gold Coast at home looms as a danger, but a must win nonetheless. Do as we should in Round 1 and that leaves us needing to beat the most hyped team of the off season, Essendon. And we all know how Essendon can crash and burn under the pressure. If they can’t beat GWS in Round 1, they’ll be under huge pressure in a must win vs St Kilda.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 50%

Finals
We know all too well that it’s been 8 long years since we saw any September action. Long gone are the days we just expected to make it. We came close in 2016-17 but fell away again. What chance in 2019? Stranger things have happened, and many a strange thing has happened in recent years (see Bulldogs, Richmond, Collingwood, etc). I doubt you’d find many St Kilda supporters predicting or expecting September action in 2019, but none would rule it out completely.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 25%

All-Australian
Four seasons have past since St Kilda were last represented in the All Australian team, marking the longest drought we’ve had since it’s official introduction in 1991. Unfortunately over those four years I can’t even name a player who was unlucky to miss out. Maybe Jack Steven a couple of times? Anyhow, there’s many candidates who may blossom in 2019 and take the step up to elite level. We know Steven is capable, likewise Seb Ross. Personally, I think an ever improving Jack Steele will go close this year.

Win In Geelong
1999 was the last time we knocked off the Cats down the highway. An unforgettable comeback, but an awful long time ago. Our last three attempts have resulted in losses of 47, 96 and 101. Not great cause for optimism, but we’re getting closer! In recent years the Cats hold on their fortress has loosened and they’re not the unbeatable threat they once were. It’ll be a tough ask in Round 17, but not beyond the realms of possibility.

Premiership
I won’t go there.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 3%

Re: Breaking the Hoodoos

geesh thats a comprehensive summation :idea:
Intrigued on how the % were calculated - do you have some form of super computer in the backroom there?

Im not all that much worried about the season starts in the past - as its a long fixture - but given the first two teams this year anything less than 2-0 would be disastrous

The shanghai game this year is interesting - is it the deal that Power is contracted to win all games there? We are only doing it for the cash after all .

And by gosh and by golly if we are going to win the premiership next year we had better at least make the finals this year...

Darth Vader

Brownlow - 1998.

Thanks Beno88 - great (although disturbing) read!

Beno88 wrote: Tue 05 Feb 2019 4:21pm

2 - 0
We’ve only managed to start the season with back to back wins once since 2010. That came in 2014, a wooden spoon year funnily enough, but we did account for lowly Melbourne and GWS. This year there’s an even chance to repeat that feat. Gold Coast at home looms as a danger, but a must win nonetheless. Do as we should in Round 1 and that leaves us needing to beat the most hyped team of the off season, Essendon. And we all know how Essendon can crash and burn under the pressure. If they can’t beat GWS in Round 1, they’ll be under huge pressure in a must win vs St Kilda.
One down.

Mark Robinson who I like and doesn't stick the easy knife into St Kilda reckons Gresham will be in his top 50 at seasons end. Plus Billings.

howlinwolf

I don't think your hawks history is correct.
I remember seeing us beat them in 09.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

howlinwolf wrote: Wed 03 Apr 2019 12:17pm I don't think your hawks history is correct.
I remember seeing us beat them in 09.
We did indeed beat them in 2009, but it was down in Launceston.

Saint wagga

Great post and really fun/head shaking reading! Bloody adelaide oval!! Hopefully we can put a line through a few of those hoodoos this season!! My personal favourite would be to knock off the swans...and in Sydney. They really seem to rub our faces in it every time they pump us! Guys like Parker, Rampe, Buddy...just treat us with Disdain! They day we pumped the hawks in tassie was special because I'll never forget that drubbing they gave us in 2014 at G, it marked the low point in our post GF era...breaking hoodoos is seriously sweet as a supporter, can only think how good it must feel for the playing group!!

SAINT-LEE

We definitely owe Geelong for the Round 17 loss in 1899...they beat us 162 to 1.
I'll never forget the humiliation riding my St. Kilda themed horse home from Corio Park.

Hawthorn In Melbourne
While we did destroy Hawthorn in Launceston back in 2017, most Saints fans will be well aware that they haven’t witnessed a win over the Hawks since that famous Jason Blake inspired comeback in 2008. Yes, you read that right. Over ten years ago. We came oh-so-close last year but still couldn’t get it done. This year our chance comes early. Round 4 at home on a Sunday arvo. Revenge for last year must be fresh in the players minds. We’ve not had a better chance to knock over these privileged flogs (sorry, I really hate Hawthorn).
Two down.

Beno88 wrote: Tue 05 Feb 2019 4:21pm It may come as surprise to some, but St Kilda have beaten 14 of the 17 other teams over the past three seasons. While that is impressive, there’s still some hoodoos to break in 2019, both head to head and otherwise….

Sydney
St Kilda hasn’t beaten Sydney since back in Round 9, 2012. Ironically, a premiership year for them. Only Armitage, Geary and Steven remain from that day, while Hannebery had 20 touches for the Swans. Since then Sydney have beaten the Saints 9 times by an average margin of 56 points. We haven’t been able to get near them. So what chance are we in 2019? We’ll have to wait until the very final round to find out, but at the SCG, with most than likely nothing but pride to play for, it’s hard to see that losing streak not extending to ten.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 15%

Adelaide
Yep, we’ve hated their guts since 1997, but more recently it’s been just as bad. St Kilda have chalked up eight consecutive losses to the Crows, with the last win coming way back in 2011. That night we held them to their lowest ever score, pumped them by 103 points and Neil Craig was sacked days later. It seems an eternity ago. Constant trips to the Adelaide Oval haven’t helped our cause, but not since 2012 have we even been close to them. In 2019 we face them in Round 6 at Docklands on a Saturday evening. Adelaide could go either way this year but I see this clash as the perfect opportunity to end this hoodoo.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 60%

Port Adelaide
It feels like they’ve been our bogey team since they entered the comp and recent history is no different. Seven losses in a row means our last win over Port dates all the way back to Round 16, 2011, the longest head-to-head drought we have. That should have ended in 2017 but we know all too well what happened there. 2019 presents a unique opportunity to beat Port Adelaide. Finally we’re away from the Adelaide Oval, far, far away, in China to be exact. They’re yet to drop a game in Shanghai and my gut feel is they’re due to lose one (and we’re due to win one overseas).
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 55%

The Adelaide Oval

St Kilda’s worst ground in history, by some margin. Nine games, zero wins, only once within five goals of the opposition. And you’ve just read how well we’ve recently performed against the co-tenants. 2019 presents one opportunity to finally win at the Adelaide Oval, Round 20 vs Adelaide. While I’d love to believe it can be done, I just can’t see it happening this year.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 20%

Hawthorn In Melbourne

2 - 0

Finals
We know all too well that it’s been 8 long years since we saw any September action. Long gone are the days we just expected to make it. We came close in 2016-17 but fell away again. What chance in 2019? Stranger things have happened, and many a strange thing has happened in recent years (see Bulldogs, Richmond, Collingwood, etc). I doubt you’d find many St Kilda supporters predicting or expecting September action in 2019, but none would rule it out completely.

All-Australian
Four seasons have past since St Kilda were last represented in the All Australian team, marking the longest drought we’ve had since it’s official introduction in 1991. Unfortunately over those four years I can’t even name a player who was unlucky to miss out. Maybe Jack Steven a couple of times? Anyhow, there’s many candidates who may blossom in 2019 and take the step up to elite level. We know Steven is capable, likewise Seb Ross. Personally, I think an ever improving Jack Steele will go close this year.

Win In Geelong
1999 was the last time we knocked off the Cats down the highway. An unforgettable comeback, but an awful long time ago. Our last three attempts have resulted in losses of 47, 96 and 101. Not great cause for optimism, but we’re getting closer! In recent years the Cats hold on their fortress has loosened and they’re not the unbeatable threat they once were. It’ll be a tough ask in Round 17, but not beyond the realms of possibility.

Premiership
I won’t go there.
Hoodoo Ending Chance : 3%
I've got another for ya: we have never won a match for points overseas.
EDIT: you already had that one. My mistake.
Think we're a sneaky chance of finally beating the two Adelaide sides this season. Three of our losses against Port have been by less than a goal, so we're due surely. What makes this particularly strange is that AR was an assistant coach there for years. :shock:

Beno88 wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 9:01am
Hawthorn In Melbourne
Two down.
2010 we drew with Hawthorn at Ethihad, but 2009 was that match where we rested half the team and won comfortably in Launceston only to come back and get our unbeaten bubble well and truly burst!

Yes, so satisfying to win against them. A few chips fell our way, and so be it!

And of course those Melbourne boys will be a new challenge as our history of beating them is now well and truly over.

I have a feeling that we must have a bruiser in standby this week, no idea who, but I suspect fiesty game. No reports and injuries pls Saints! Keep the vibe going, but melbourne will be punchy in front of home crowd after recent doubts!

shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 9:37am And of course those Melbourne boys will be a new challenge as our history of beating them is now well and truly over.

I have a feeling that we must have a bruiser in standby this week, no idea who, but I suspect fiesty game. No reports and injuries pls Saints! Keep the vibe going, but melbourne will be punchy in front of home crowd after recent doubts!
Melbourne's wins over us should be an anomaly, need to work hard to make sure we keep our great record against them intact. The media never seemed to work it out, but their finals downfall last year was mapped during our game against them at the MCG...every finals coach would have been poring over the replay. They seem to be generally portrayed as pretenders, so will be out to make a statement against a team they were closely compared to, up until last season.