Welcome Dan!!!!!

saint-stu

Re: Welcome Dan!!!!!

If what Tony74 is right about the training this year, then we need him to teach the youngsters how an AFL player trains. All those hard trainers from the noughties are gone.

1ac46a38

dragit wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 10:05pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:56pm Correct. People will be pleasantly suprised at how well Dan turns out to be for the Saints.
Haha parkey has a new account, can't wait to be pleasantly surprised.
Reported for <baiting>

saint-stu wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 3:57pm If what Tony74 is right about the training this year, then we need him to teach the youngsters how an AFL player trains. All those hard trainers from the noughties are gone.
Yeah- we need an AFL standard coach to teach these guys how to train.

BenLong#21

Sounds like 2019 2nd round pick.
So a pick around 30.

Seems fair for both clubs imo. Id rather blow our salary cap on a banged up Hannebery than the likes of Newnes, Geary etc.

chico2001

Linton Lodger wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 3:40pm
chico2001 wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 10:56am If they wanted leadership well they are certainly paying for it, so by that reasoning we pay top dollar for someone to lead us...I dont know where this idea of being recruited just for his "leadership came from. That is f***ing bulls***. What happened to getting a very good player who can win the bull in the middle and deliver it accurately to our forwards. If you want a leader then bring back Goddard or someone like that on half the money. By my reckoning he would not have played with 50% of the current players and the other half are ready to be flicked so there is no residue left over for people to have a potshot at him for his finger pointing issues etc. So therefore the new players/recruits at the club would have a very good professional to provide leadership, he would probably still get a game with the saints actually.

This club has to have the balls to admit its mistakes regarding the leadership vacuum. Now we hear that the training professionalism was crap, faceless people running the club and the whole supporter base being led to believe that because we have recruited Ratten and Lade to assist our useless head coach we are going to rise up the ladder quickly.
Did you watch Hannebery in the Final last week? He isn't 100%, had bugger all of a preseason and was playing in a team been smashed. Yet he was impressive, in everything, he's a midfield general, something we haven't had since Lenny Hayes.
He got a few grabs and he was up against a good midfield but he is going to be up against them next year and he wont have Jack, Parker, Kennedy, Jones and Heeney to pave the way. I hope he absolutely fires but he will need some help. Forward line delivery is what I will be looking for, we really dont have anyone who is good at that.

chico2001 wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 6:37pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 3:40pm
chico2001 wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 10:56am If they wanted leadership well they are certainly paying for it, so by that reasoning we pay top dollar for someone to lead us...I dont know where this idea of being recruited just for his "leadership came from. That is f***ing bulls***. What happened to getting a very good player who can win the bull in the middle and deliver it accurately to our forwards. If you want a leader then bring back Goddard or someone like that on half the money. By my reckoning he would not have played with 50% of the current players and the other half are ready to be flicked so there is no residue left over for people to have a potshot at him for his finger pointing issues etc. So therefore the new players/recruits at the club would have a very good professional to provide leadership, he would probably still get a game with the saints actually.

This club has to have the balls to admit its mistakes regarding the leadership vacuum. Now we hear that the training professionalism was crap, faceless people running the club and the whole supporter base being led to believe that because we have recruited Ratten and Lade to assist our useless head coach we are going to rise up the ladder quickly.
Did you watch Hannebery in the Final last week? He isn't 100%, had bugger all of a preseason and was playing in a team been smashed. Yet he was impressive, in everything, he's a midfield general, something we haven't had since Lenny Hayes.
He got a few grabs and he was up against a good midfield but he is going to be up against them next year and he wont have Jack, Parker, Kennedy, Jones and Heeney to pave the way. I hope he absolutely fires but he will need some help. Forward line delivery is what I will be looking for, we really dont have anyone who is good at that.
He is from a midfield that has consistently smashed us and beat us up for the last few years, no matter how badly or well we were going at the various times. I think he can teach our mids why this has occurred and how to get to that level.

chico2001

That applies to every midfield that has played against us this year doesn't it?

chico2001 wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 4:57pm That applies to every midfield that has played against us this year doesn't it?
They did it to us in 2017 (twice) & 2016 in the same way they did it this year.

spert wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 4:13pm
saint-stu wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 3:57pm If what Tony74 is right about the training this year, then we need him to teach the youngsters how an AFL player trains. All those hard trainers from the noughties are gone.
Yeah- we need an AFL standard coach to teach these guys how to train.
I totally agree - I mean the guys need to buy in and they are all adults and must realise that you only get out from what you have put in - but the coaches have to set the tone and drive the program

Barrett was on SEN - Off the Bench yesterday and said there was a real stink about the Hannebery deal and that buyer (Saints) should beware!!!
Liam Pickering also said the deal had a bad stench to it.
Last edited by saintbob on Sun 16 Sep 2018 10:15pm, edited 1 time in total.

saintbob wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 9:51pm Barrett was on SEN - Off the Bench yesterday and said there was a real stink about the Hannebery deal and that buyer (Saints) beware!!!
Remimds me of the Andrew Lovett trade. We were oblivious to all the portents of disaster.

chico2001

yeah, wasnt that a beauty.

saintbob wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 9:51pm Barrett was on SEN - Off the Bench yesterday and said there was a real stink about the Hannebery deal and that buyer (Saints) beware!!!
Seems like everyone knows its a bad deal except for our recruiting team. I am happy to be proven wrong but it has a feel of a bad bad move from a team that is struggling at present

fugazi wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 9:57pm
Remimds me of the Andrew Lovett trade. We were oblivious to all the portents of disaster.
with Lovett, didn't the Injectors lie about him?
But we all know Dan couldn't do a preseason, and his 15 games + the final
has shown us all, that he is cooked, and his best years are behind him-
if we pay overs for him, the club is officially rooted.

saintbob wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 9:51pm Barrett was on SEN - Off the Bench yesterday and said there was a real stink about the Hannebery deal and that buyer (Saints) should beware!!!
Barrett always smells but IF we haven’t done our due diligence on Dan then we ought to just simply fold.
Last edited by Teflon on Sun 16 Sep 2018 11:17pm, edited 1 time in total.

derby Street wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 11:58pm
Jacks Back wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 11:54pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:32am
dragit wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:27am
Sainter_Dad wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 8:23am Word is that we have offered a future 2nd Rounder for Dan!

I like it

But knowing our luck - next year will be a stronger draft than this one - isn't it always?
Pick 19.
LOL - no there will be some compensation picks that push it back.
Pick 36?
36 - How does that work out?
We win the granny next year and our second round pick is then pick 36. :wink:

Teflon wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 11:17pm
saintbob wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 9:51pm Barrett was on SEN - Off the Bench yesterday and said there was a real stink about the Hannebery deal and that buyer (Saints) should beware!!!
Barrett always smells but IF we haven’t done our due diligence on Dan then we ought to just simply fold.
Lethers has a massive conflict of interest so don’t hold your breath about any ‘due diligence’ what ever that means. It’s a done deal.

Hopefully Hanners isn’t as banged up as everyone says that he is.

derby Street

Jacks Back wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 11:17pm
derby Street wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 11:58pm
Jacks Back wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 11:54pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:32am
dragit wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:27am
Sainter_Dad wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 8:23am Word is that we have offered a future 2nd Rounder for Dan!

I like it

But knowing our luck - next year will be a stronger draft than this one - isn't it always?
Pick 19.
LOL - no there will be some compensation picks that push it back.
Pick 36?
36 - How does that work out?
We win the granny next year and our second round pick is then pick 36. :wink:
Sh1t sorry. I wasn't heading down that track for some reason. Good call. :D

CarlD

SaintPav wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 11:26pm
Lethers has a massive conflict of interest so don’t hold your breath about any ‘due diligence’ what ever that means. It’s a done deal.

If this conflict does exist the Board should be stomping on the deal and showing Lethlean the door. To get anywhere the Saints must be professional in all they do. Enough of amateur hour.

CarlD wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 9:29am
SaintPav wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 11:26pm

If this conflict does exist the Board should be stomping on the deal and showing Lethlean the door. To get anywhere the Saints must be professional in all they do. Enough of amateur hour.

LOL...our board, showing an AFL plant the door? They can't even show Richo the door!

The Recruit

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:56pm
St Loxton wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:44pm All you negative Nellie's should probably wait until he at least plays a season for us before you write off this appointment.
I know this has been a horrid season and we are all spitting chips at our staff.
But FFS slap yourselves with a wet fish.
No one here knows how this will turn out. OR what this will cost our club in $$$$ or picks.
Correct. People will be pleasantly suprised at how well Dan turns out to be for the Saints. Recruitment won't stop with him also. Heaps of cap space left.
Agree with this. Great get for on and off the field. Money to us over the next two-three years literally means nothing...there is so much to spend. He will set standards off he field with training and attitude. If we can emulate some of the swans culture we will be doing well. Great get saints.

Not only that he will make us more competitive to attract further FA. What are the chances of his mate Parker flying down for our future first pick..?

If he was going to the hawks we would all be saying...’how do the hawks get all these great plaers’ But for once a real star of the game want to be a saint and we all s*** our pants about it. Seriously grow up. If we want to play with the big boys we have to take some risks....that lack of risk taking is what has got us in our current situation as a club. Safe and boring.

We should welcome Hanners with open arms and have faith that our fitness staff (who all things considered have done an excellent job) will get him right. Surly we all agree he is better than Armo and Weller even at 80% fitness.

And anyone jumping at shadows at the prospect of trading a first round pick for him serious just stop it!! We won’t give up anything more than a second rounder.

Let’s just hope the swans get Gaff because a Parker Hannebery selection at Moorabbin in 2019 will get me back to Marvel stadium round 1 with a smile on my face.

The Recruit wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 1:06pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:56pm
St Loxton wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:44pm All you negative Nellie's should probably wait until he at least plays a season for us before you write off this appointment.
I know this has been a horrid season and we are all spitting chips at our staff.
But FFS slap yourselves with a wet fish.
No one here knows how this will turn out. OR what this will cost our club in $$$$ or picks.
Correct. People will be pleasantly suprised at how well Dan turns out to be for the Saints. Recruitment won't stop with him also. Heaps of cap space left.
Agree with this. Great get for on and off the field. Money to us over the next two-three years literally means nothing...there is so much to spend. He will set standards off he field with training and attitude. If we can emulate some of the swans culture we will be doing well. Great get saints.

Not only that he will make us more competitive to attract further FA. What are the chances of his mate Parker flying down for our future first pick..?

If he was going to the hawks we would all be saying...’how do the hawks get all these great plaers’ But for once a real star of the game want to be a saint and we all s*** our pants about it. Seriously grow up. If we want to play with the big boys we have to take some risks....that lack of risk taking is what has got us in our current situation as a club. Safe and boring.

We should welcome Hanners with open arms and have faith that our fitness staff (who all things considered have done an excellent job) will get him right. Surly we all agree he is better than Armo and Weller even at 80% fitness.

And anyone jumping at shadows at the prospect of trading a first round pick for him serious just stop it!! We won’t give up anything more than a second rounder.

Let’s just hope the swans get Gaff because a Parker Hannebery selection at Moorabbin in 2019 will get me back to Marvel stadium round 1 with a smile on my face.
All correct. Well said.

It's not "correct", it's just an opinion parkey.

In fact on current form Armo is well ahead of Hannebery.

resaintlee

He will be 28 before he plays a game for us

resaintlee wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 2:14pm He will be 28 before he plays a game for us
...and has struggled with injuries and form for over two years.

👍