Add in Lycett and Hannerbrey for 2019

IF this comes to pass...that is an if...then we are looking alot better already around the midfield area.

Lycett, Marshall and Pierce could be a good combo going forward.

Chuck in Hanners into the middle also. Plus pick 4 in Bailey Smith or Sam Walsh from the draft. Hunter Clark to step up. Gresham and Billings to play more midfield along with Steele, Ross and Steven who are regulars.

We are looking much better already.

Re: Add in Lycett and Hannerbrey for 2019

These sort of scenario's always pop up after we've actually bothered to turn up and play...but in reality I think we need a lot more than some old bloke, a better ruck, some 'as expected' incremental player improvement and a draft wildcard to push us along in 2019. At the very least, a metric ton of patience will be required on this forum! That said, I am always in hope that this year is a hiccup.

chico2001

At this early stage we are generally covered ruck wise- no stars but 2 up and comers. Wont get Lycett , that is just dreaming. A good key position backman would help and a very good midfielder with pace.

Hemi Baxter

Someone who can break the lines and kick it to a team mate would be good. That’s not Hannebery.

We've already got 2nd tier ruckman, why do we need more.

We've already got slow inside mids, why do we need Hannebury?

Lycette done deal according to BF which means 1 or both Longer or Hickey gone
Hannebery less convinced on . ...

Let's not get too carried away about Lycett- he's a handy player and could be used in a number of positions, but just a standby ruck. We do need strong small middle size players- I noticed last night against the Hawks, that some of those middle rung Hawk players seemed stronger bodied and could extract the ball better from contests. I feel Hannebery might be a year or two too late to have much impact. We also need runners- speed in the midfield, as Sinclair and Gresh are skilled but haven't got breakaway speed- I prefer Gresh in the forward half.

I'm enthusiastic about Hannebery, Menzel & Polec. Lycett on the other hand, is simply not worth the touted 4 years at $800K.

Given what we've seen in the last couple of weeks, I think we stick with Pierce and Marshall. I'd also keep Longer and trade Hickey. I don't think we need to invest in a long term ruckman. An older one for a year or two would suffice if necessary. Lycett has hardly played as a number one and the big question is, how long before Marshall might go past him?

Leo.J

Imo you get a ruckman in when you have far more midfield depth than we have, the ruckman is one of the last pieces of the puzzle. So no thanks to Lycett.

And yes to Hanaberry provided we don’t pay overs...with any sort of luck we do a Hawthorn/Burgoyne with him and get at least 5-6 years out of him.

We need midfielders. Quick, with evasive skills and excellent disposal. That should be our priority.

Leo.J

Teflon wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 11:50am Lycette done deal according to BF which means 1 or both Longer or Hickey gone
What has Lycett got to offer that any other average ruckman can’t?

Why a ruckman at this stage of our list development?

Look. I think the club just wants to reinvent the ruck department. Something needs to be done. I can honestly see a good future with Lycett, Pearce and Marshall. They can all play forward and are good around the ground. Please remember that Marshall and Pearce have played under 10 games of footy each so a bit of expierence in Lycett would help who could also be able to play the entire season. Longer and/or Hickey may not be on the list next year too.

As for Hannerbrey, we need a tough mid and leader. Koby Stevens is gone, Armitage probably only has a year or two left and will probably play half back/forward if anything and Dunstan is a bit iffy at this stage. Hannerbrey is an upgrade on all 3 players.

And yes...we do need a skilled and quicker mid or two. Who said we are stopping at Lycett and Hannerbrey anyway. Plus I'm tipping we are going to get a mid in the draft that fits that criteria. Hopefully Gresham and Clark step up to play midfield too. Freeman might even come on as a bonus.

We have money in the cap. Bloody use it.

Toy Saint wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 10:38am We've already got 2nd tier ruckman, why do we need more.
Because we need a 1st tier ruckman...of which we have none. Having said that, Lycett not looking 1st tier against Gawn right at the moment.

He's not setting the world on fire today - If he is a ruck/forward type I would rather keep putting the time into Marshall - if we want a ruck try to offer Preuss some big bucks - offer north Hickey or longer and newnes and get a genuine big athletic ruckman onto the list - Hickey and longer out - preuss,pierce and marshall to work with - maybe rookie a n 18 year old kid as well

Any hacks we get in will come at the cost of player development.

Ok.I just watched the Dees vs WCE Game purely to watch Lycett in action.

I did not really see anything to suggest that he is an upgrade on Hickey. Now I will admit that it is only the one game and that I have not really watched him much before, but looking at his stats it does not suggest much better. So why the love?

Only way it would really make sense to me is if they know they can get a reasonable trade deal for Hickey so that in effect we lose Hickey, but gain Lycett (FA) plus something.

degruch wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 12:58am These sort of scenario's always pop up after we've actually bothered to turn up and play...but in reality I think we need a lot more than some old bloke, a better ruck, some 'as expected' incremental player improvement and a draft wildcard to push us along in 2019. At the very least, a metric ton of patience will be required on this forum! That said, I am always in hope that this year is a hiccup.
Maybe it would help if we actually bother to turn up to and play EVERY game.
Coming out of defence it takes a little bit of courage to kick the ball forward, to handball the ball forward, when it is so easy to get an easy safe disposal by going backwards and sideways.
How much easier it is to trot toward the defensive goal square to get an easy receive.
If a couple of you run past the player with the mark to provide an attacking handpass option you may get a bit tired.
Easy for the player with the mark too, you are the easiest target to hit alone in the defensive goal square.

Easy for the midfielders and forwards too.
No need to run hard to create a loose target for the guy with the mark to kick too.
So much easier to trot around with your opponent in tow.
Gee if you run hard you will have to go test your blood sugar again.
The forward may even have to risk taking a mark.
Don't kick to me, my opponent is standing next to me.
I would love to whack defenders in the face every time they look backward to see if there is an easy option.
Turn up to play EVERY game and PLAY.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

Just play Marshall and Pearce week in and week out.

Hickey
Longer

Draft bait

If Lycett is any good he won't be looking to come to us. But who would turn down big bucks if we offer.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 7:34pm Just play Marshall and Pearce week in and week out.

Hickey
Longer

Draft bait
What he said.

Leo.J wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 1:55pm
Teflon wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 11:50am Lycette done deal according to BF which means 1 or both Longer or Hickey gone
What has Lycett got to offer that any other average ruckman can’t?

Why a ruckman at this stage of our list development?
Don’t know
Didn’t advocate it
Just heard it

SaintPav wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 7:34pm Just play Marshall and Pearce week in and week out.

Hickey
Longer

Draft bait
If we dont get a Lycett or Preuss then we need to keep one of them. You need 3 rucks on your list in case of injury. Longer gone for mine. If we do then yes, trade them both. Personally I'd be going after Preuss also. Reckon he'll be the better of the two.

We should target Josh Hunt from Melbourne...has speed and not getting a game at Dees.

fugazi wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 10:55pm We should target Josh Hunt from Melbourne...has speed and not getting a game at Dees.
I think Goodwin prefers delivery over leg speed, which is why Hunt's been squeezed...he's a bit of a scatter-gun.