Channel 7 News Story - Well Known Saint on the Move?

Re: Channel 7 News Story - Well Known Saint on the Move?

stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 9:28am I think we all know it's Weller, it's pretty obvious, that's why is is playing every week, to boost his stocks/value!!!!!
"well known Saint" though?

More like "Weller known Saint"

dragit wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 10:41am
stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 10:10am
dragit wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 10:07am
stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 9:28am I think we all know it's Weller, it's pretty obvious, that's why is is playing every week, to boost his stocks/value!!!!!
Boost his value?

His stocks are declining with every game he plays.
Not as much as they would be if he was playing VFL Connie D!!!!!

Think about it!!!!!
Thought about it… and yep his value is close to zero right now and could be higher if he was playing solid VFL football.
Ok, your opinion, your loss, bit above your pay rate obviously!!!!!

stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 11:01am Ok, your opinion, your loss, bit above your pay rate obviously!!!!!
Haha my loss, tell us what trade value you think he had prior to this season and what his boosted trade value is now after his 13 games?

dragit wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 11:20am
stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 11:01am Ok, your opinion, your loss, bit above your pay rate obviously!!!!!
Haha my loss, tell us what trade value you think he had prior to this season and what his boosted trade value is now after his 13 games?
Well, I'll tell you this, Mav's (like Hickey's or anyone else's) trade value is higher than if they were playing VFL!!!!!

If you carnt get your head around that, you have no clue!!!!!

stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 11:27am
Well, I'll tell you this, Mav's (like Hickey's or anyone else's) trade value is higher than if they were playing VFL!!!!!

Nice deflection, but a 26 year old who is really struggling at AFL level and shouldn't be getting a game isn't worth any more than a 26 year playing solid VFL football because the seniors are focusing on youth - like we should be.

Give us some numbers champ or you are just cupping farts, as per usual.

Yes...well...everyone knows good solid VFL form is worth far more to an opposition club than a recruit that's AFL ready. We'll probably get a first round pick for Freezer!

degruch wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 12:18pm Yes...well...everyone knows good solid VFL form is worth far more to an opposition club than a recruit that's AFL ready. We'll probably get a first round pick for Freezer!
I don't think anyone said it is worth far more. But very ordinary AFL form does nothing to boost value.

Mav is AFL ready like Dean Polo was AFL ready - delisted at 25.

dragit wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 11:51am
stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 11:27am

Nice deflection, but a 26 year old who is really struggling at AFL level and shouldn't be getting a game isn't worth any more than a 26 year playing solid VFL football because the seniors are focusing on youth - like we should be.

Give us some numbers champ or you are just cupping farts, as per usual.
What numbers do you want?????

Pressure acts, defensive acts etc?????

They are the ones most clubs hold in highest regard!!!!!

Do you think Hardwick and Richmond worry about other numbers?????

It's about players performing their role!!!!!

And, I have never Cupped you!!!!!

To be honest...

If I was an opposition recruiter, I’d pay more for Freeman right now then Mav.

I think Dragit’s point is that whatever perceived value Mav may have had due to ‘injury concerns’ or ‘not being played right’ is being whittled away by his 13 game mediocre streak.
If that’s a marketing ploy, it’s failed dismally.

I would say that if Mav was dominating in the VFL week after week, you could at least point to solid form and say it’s the club not the player.
Unfortunately in Weller’s case, he’s the one player on the list you can categorically say you’ve see what he can produce

stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 1:01pm What numbers do you want?????
A rough gauge on what you think Mav's trade value is both pre and post his 2018 boost :D

dragit wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 1:16pm
A rough gauge on what you think Mav's trade value is both pre and post his 2018 boost :D
I would suggest, hasn't changed since last season , so very late 2nd Rnd at very best, otherwise 3rd Rnd, Gold Coast will pay slightly 'overs', given him and Lachie want to play together!!!!!

stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 2:05pm
I would suggest, hasn't changed since last season , so very late 2nd Rnd at very best, otherwise 3rd Rnd, Gold Coast will pay slightly 'overs', given him and Lachie want to play together!!!!!
Okay cool, so his value has not been boosted at all - agreed

A late second would be incredible, but I think probably a little optimistic… a third would be very good value IMO.

SaintPav wrote: Mon 30 Jul 2018 7:59pmWeller?
Weller would be begging to stay.
Richo wants to hump him making the Saints the only club in the AFL he would get a game.

LOL.

dragit wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 2:26pm
Okay cool, so his value has not been boosted at all - agreed

A late second would be incredible, but I think probably a little optimistic… a third would be very good value IMO.
Value not boosted, holding, we would have to get lucky to get a 2nd round pick, so don't hold your breath, Gold Coast will pay 'overs' though, given the situation!!!!!

They are our best bet, Hickey may go back there as well, not saying he will, but may!!!!!

If Mav wants to go back to GCS, he would go for a 3rd rounder only so hopefully in the early 40's if my math is right. They need to look at including Aaron Hall in the deal somehow. Maybe it will involve a swap of later picks.

parkeysainter wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 2:42pm If Mav wants to go back to GCS, he would go for a 3rd rounder only so hopefully in the early 40's if my math is right. They need to look at including Aaron Hall in the deal somehow. Maybe it will involve a swap of later picks.
Through in Mav, Hickey and Armor for Hall and a pick or two!!!!!

If we are seriously playing a s*** player in the ones to boost his potential ‘nothing’ trade value whilst holding back the development of an up and coming kid we are more f***ed than even I thought we were
What I am trying to say is I highly doubt Weller is getting games to boost his value

Cairnsman wrote: Mon 30 Jul 2018 9:54pm Is it just me or does Tom Browne strike you as that unlikable creepy dobber kid at school. Would climb over your grave to rob another.
That'd be most journalists.

MC Gusto wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 3:11pm If we are seriously playing a s*** player in the ones to boost his potential ‘nothing’ trade value whilst holding back the development of an up and coming kid we are more f***ed than even I thought we were
What I am trying to say is I highly doubt Weller is getting games to boost his value
It's common practice at most lower clubs, nothing unusual about it!!!!!

i reckon we'd be lucky to get a fourth rounder for him.
the suns delisted him - considered he wasn't even worth trying to trade. since an okay start he hasn't shown any value at all.
why would they trade him back in?

MC Gusto wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 3:11pm If we are seriously playing a s*** player in the ones to boost his potential ‘nothing’ trade value whilst holding back the development of an up and coming kid we are more f***ed than even I thought we were
Sadly, agreed.

The scary part is I think Richo genuinely values Mav’s contribution. I think he’s so emotionally mixed up that he can’t rationalise btw what he likes and what he sees to the point that he seeks out & makes rationalisations to justify some of the ridiculous things he decides.

This is a guy that played Bruce, Gilbert, Steele, Acres, and Paddy in the ruck and hasn’t found a way to give Pierce more than 1 game in 3-5 years

stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 3:34pm
But it is unusual apparantly for coaches to try and pump up players with best on ground votes

Scollop wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 4:00pm
stonecold wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 3:34pm
But it is unusual apparantly for coaches to try and pump up players with best on ground votes
Two different things all together!!!!!

Talk about the shortest of short straws!!!!!

Third man up again I see!!!!! ;)

Getting back to the topic, I think the report was definitely referring to David Armitage

Unfortunately his age means that he is probably going to be moved on. Would be different if we didn't have Dunny, Steele, and Ross all in the same team. Hunter Clark is also probably more an inside mid rather than someone you'd associate with outside run or with explosive speed.

As usual for this club and this footy department this is a decision that is 3-4 years too bloody late. Are those in charge now the same people that knocked back a trade with the Tigers for a first rounder? Hope we can still get something decent and hope Armo gets another contract somewhere