Josh Battle

Re: Josh Battle

The_President wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 12:33am How do they fit Membrey, Bruce, Battle and Paddy in the one forward line?
Pick the ones who kick the most goals.

Oh yes and he's got a bit of mongrel about him.

mr six o'clock wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:52am Already better than the spud
Oh just f*** off you ignorant <edited by mods >. I am so f****** sick of so called fans hanging s*** on our own players. You are probably some fat flog that hasnt done anything good with your own life so you insist on putting down blokes who actually have made something of themselves

<warning for abuse>

The_President wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 12:33am How do they fit Membrey, Bruce, Battle and Paddy in the one forward line?
They will just pick them based upon where they were taken in the draft.

axcellence

Potted all the way through the draft for his poor agility test results.

That’s why he slipped to 30s pick in the draft.

ace wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 3:06am
We have to be a meritocracy.

That said, Paddy is starting to show some merit. The last quarter goal he kicked, albeit from a free, was a real team lifter. He showed a bit of swagger afterwards, too, which is a good sign.

Batle’s kicked three, which will make it hard for Richo to drop him and bring in Bruce.

axcellence

bigcarl wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 8:19am

That said, Paddy is starting to show some merit. The last quarter goal he kicked, albeit from a free, was a real team lifter. He showed a bit of swagger afterwards, too, which is a good sign.

Batle’s kicked three, which will make it hard for Richo to drop him and bring in Bruce.
I wouldn’t be surprised if Battle is “managed”.

Very little surprises me about the saints these days. The first 3 quarters against the suns did surprise me though.

axcellence wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 8:42am
bigcarl wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 8:19am

I wouldn’t be surprised if Battle is “managed”.

Nor me. I like Bruce and he’s a senior man, but a kid kicks three in a forward line that hasn’t functioned all season ... and you drop him. What’s he going to make of that?

Yes trade Bruce to what ever club goes after Lynch and doesn’t get him. Take the best midfielder we can manage

Hopefully Richo is still on very thin ice. He’s still gone at some stage this year. Bummer GC can’t play last quarters.

Richo is lost. He hates playing kids because he’s deluded with he Road to 2020 thing. Sad that he can’t see other teams blooding players regardless of injuries

saintspremiers wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 9:15am Hopefully Richo is still on very thin ice. He’s still gone at some stage this year. Bummer GC can’t play last quarters.

Richo is lost. He hates playing kids because he’s deluded with he Road to 2020 thing. Sad that he can’t see other teams blooding players regardless of injuries
Harsh. While selection this week looked like a desperate attempt to get a coach saving win, with Armo in, Richo has been pretty good at playing kids overall. You have to have a balance.
How Weller keeps his spot is bewildering however.

axcellence wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 7:35am Potted all the way through the draft for his poor agility test results.

Agility is that why we took Pudding McCartin at pick No1 because he was AGILE.
A road train full of iron ore has more agility and at present prices for iron ore worth more.

axcellence

ace wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 1:02pm
axcellence wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 7:35am Potted all the way through the draft for his poor agility test results.

A road train full of iron ore has more agility and at present prices for iron ore worth more.
It’s always been a challenge for recruiters to value endurance and agility properly.

McCartin may have agility but endurance is not as much as required in the modern day. And does he have enough pace?

Riewoldt wasn’t agile as a midfielder (still good) but had elite endurance and pace.

Trying to figure out what elite thing McCartin offers?

I just think a battle, membrey and the top 5 pick saints will get as the best option.

We’ll be better off trading McCartin at the end of 2019.

the dome

Enjoyed the inclusion of Josh Battle

Deserves the game time.

Good luck Josh. :D

BringBackMadDog wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 1:26am
Oh just f*** off you ignorant prick. I am so f****** sick of so called fans hanging s*** on our own players. You are probably some fat flog that hasnt done anything good with your own life so you insist on putting down blokes who actually have made something of themselves
Paddy's gonnna be a gun. Loved his big banana and then the bird to some d**khead in the crowd, well done big fella.

axcellence wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 2:58pm

It’s always been a challenge for recruiters to value endurance and agility properly.

McCartin may have agility but endurance is not as much as required in the modern day. And does he have enough pace?

Riewoldt wasn’t agile as a midfielder (still good) but had elite endurance and pace.

Trying to figure out what elite thing McCartin offers?

I just think a battle, membrey and the top 5 pick saints will get as the best option.

We’ll be better off trading McCartin at the end of 2019.
Paddy's got elite hands, is an elite kick and has a high footy IQ.

He is (not yet) as fit as he needs to be.

Actually he is really very agile for his size, moreso than Tom Hawkins.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:11pm Year 12 last year????
Nope it was his first year last year.

Linton Lodger wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 3:48pm
Oh just f*** off you ignorant prick. I am so f****** sick of so called fans hanging s*** on our own players. You are probably some fat flog that hasnt done anything good with your own life so you insist on putting down blokes who actually have made something of themselves
Paddy's gonnna be a gun. Loved his big banana and then the bird to some d**khead in the crowd, well done big fella.
I'd like to see what Paddy’s like at the 80-100 game mark.

Linton Lodger wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 3:48pm
I'd like to see what Paddy’s like at the 80-100 game mark.
Indeed, and I hope he's still in a Saints jumper at that stage.

Finally a forward with a bit of pig in him, another preseason and he’ll be a ripper.

minneapolis wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 4:54pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:11pm Year 12 last year????
Nope it was his first year last year.
Battle was doing year 12 in his first season with the Saints, that's how i recall it.

repta

Looks good. Played one game last year and looked over awed by the situation. Got a better foundation and is looking good. Good body shape for key forward

I watched Bruce in the the Zebras match against Williamstown this afternoon. Fair to say he looked a bit rusty but never stopped trying. Poor and difficult conditions but the Zebras had 15 St. Kilda players in the side, failed to kick a single goal, thereby becoming the first team in 100 years in the VFA/VFL to achieve this dubious feat, and were the lowest scoring Zebras team in Sandringham's entire VFA/VFL history. Barring a calamitous injury run I think it's safe to say that anyone playing in the forward line for Sandy today will face a very long wait before they are considered for senior selection, particularly with Long and Acres still to return.
In the last quarter Willy kicked 8.5 to 0.1! :shock:
I'll bet the Sandy supporters are so very happy with our alignment right now. :lol:

Player development anyone :?

saintspremiers wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 9:15am Hopefully Richo is still on very thin ice. He’s still gone at some stage this year. Bummer GC can’t play last quarters.

Wrong. Richo aint going no where.

Supportstaff to get the flick though.