Team v Swans. Billings dropped

saint64

Re: Team v Swans. Billings dropped

Great to see Battle in. I agree that Lonie is the puzzling one. Its a good opportunity for Billings to go back and find some form. Also good to see Coffield back in. I didn't think Weller was that bad last week (apart from the missed goal). Overall I think they are good selections.

Bruce G McAbee

Marshall didn't deserve to be dropped and shouldn't
have.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.
derby Street

saintbob wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 7:59pm I’d rather an out of form Billings than f****** Lonie, he’s got to be Richo’s love child.

Hopefully there’s a late change on Saturday night, Billings in for Lonie.
Agree on both points - that would do me nicely.

Can't help Billings's mind has been somewhere else....perhaps Essendon?

saint64 wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 8:18pm Great to see Battle in. I agree that Lonie is the puzzling one. Its a good opportunity for Billings to go back and find some form. Also good to see Coffield back in. I didn't think Weller was that bad last week (apart from the missed goal). Overall I think they are good selections.
Weller also took the ball off McCartin's hands spoiling a certain mark, dead in front.

As I said before Disgraceful.

The surprising thing about this selection is that Richo was trying to defend Billings 2 weeks ago and stating that he had turned the corner. Billings plays a better game again last week and NOW he drops him??

Moods wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 8:51pm The surprising thing about this selection is that Richo was trying to defend Billings 2 weeks ago and stating that he had turned the corner. Billings plays a better game again last week and NOW he drops him??
Yes puzzling to say least
It's like coming out sellin top 4 by 2018 and flag by 2020 just to confuse the shyte out of members but luckily we don't do those sorta stunts....... :shock:

stonecold wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 7:51pm As posted on Saints.com

B: Jimmy Webster, Nathan Brown, Shane Savage
HB: Hunter Clark, Logan Austin, Bailey Rice
C: Jack Newnes, Jack Steele, Ed Phillips
HF: Jack Sinclair, Paddy McCartin, Josh Battle
F: Jade Gresham, Tim Membrey, Jack Lonie
FOL: Tom Hickey, Sebastian Ross, Jack Steven
I/C: Luke Dunstan, Daniel McKenzie, Nick Coffield, Maverick Weller
E: Billy Longer, Darragh Joyce, Ben Paton
They are last weeks emergencies.

Billings, White, Marshall and Paton are the 4 named this week.

Teflon wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 7:45pm Lonie and Weller wtf?
Either we are tankng or Richo has lost the plot.

"They were strong in the contest and their effort can't be questioned" Are they the only kpi's that Richo looks at?

Doesn't matter that they couldn't kick properly to a team mate. Doesn't matter that they turn it over.

As far as Billings is concerned, jsut when you think he's about to turn the corner, he gets dropped. Very strange

resaintlee

Will be interesting to see if Billings plays in the twos or is rested.
So long as he isn't doing a Luke Ball to get to Collingwood

The best news is Freeman's selection for Sandy, should be able to pick up where he left off, as he only missed a couple.

Billings has me scratching my head. Sure a few weeks ago there was an argument that he should have a spell in the VFL, but he has slowly been returning to form. I would have backed him in and also not played him so bloody close to goal (a complete waste). White's omission is lamentable, what's their bloody problem with him?

I don't reckon Battle has actually kicked the door down for selection. Lonie has actually been OK, but I still would have dropped him ahead of Billings.

Edit: I have just noticed we play Franksion in the VFL who I believe are struggling. Looks like they want Billings to go back, get a heap of the footy and get his confidence back. Still, I hope they're not getting too clever by half.

realdeal

If Billings was dropped 4 weeks ago like he should've then he could've been back in by now. He's been underachieving for too long.

Hopefully this is the turning point in kickstarting his career to where it should be, ala Dal Santo and Milne all those years ago.

Him doing better than others is irrelevant, it's about reaching your potential and sending a message to the rest of the team.

Freezer will play but will need a jab. Gilbo wants to but the Doc has told him the week after. Ricey is still pretty sore.

George27

tony74 wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 9:28pm Freezer will play but will need a jab. Gilbo wants to but the Doc has told him the week after. Ricey is still pretty sore.
Thanks Tony. So perhaps a reprieve for White if Rice does not come up. Perhaps even a debut for Paton..

Billings will be back, a much better player for the experience.

tony74 wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 9:28pm Freezer will play but will need a jab. Gilbo wants to but the Doc has told him the week after. Ricey is still pretty sore.
Of all the players not to play with a jab it is freeman. Jhe is so injury prone and playing while numb will most likely lead to another injury

DJ Higgins wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 9:42pm
Of all the players not to play with a jab it is freeman. Jhe is so injury prone and playing while numb will most likely lead to another injury
Seems very odd to me.

The jab would be to his shoulder, its his hammys we need to be cautious with.

Not odd at all. Lot of players have jabs. I can pretty well guarantee Dunny will have a jab as well. They just want games into Freezer. We’re not worried about his shoulder.
Edit. The jab is in his shoulder. As it was at training today. Both of them
Last edited by tony74 on Thu 07 Jun 2018 10:13pm, edited 2 times in total.

suss wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 9:49pm
Seems very odd to me.
Glad I wasn’t the only one that cringed when I read that

Quite excited to finally see Battle in the team.

Brown is an interesting selection, reckon he plays on Buddy. Also reckon he should just about be playing for his future, 'cause when Carslile comes back I'd be keeping Logan Austin not Brown.

It's very disappointing Billings has been dropped, I had a gut feel he was about to come good.

Rocket

Billing’s needed some tough love. Must work harder and this is the kick in the teeth he needs. It may define him like it did to Dal / Milney.

Good move.

wasoncestkil58

Can't believe some of the comments here. I think Billings needed to be dropped, should have been a couple of weeks ago. His efforts generally this year have been sub par for someone with that amount of talent. A kick in the backside won't help him. Should be more of it. I have never been a Lonie fan, enough said there.
I am pretty happy with the selections this week and am looking to see what Battle can offer. I at least hope he has a leap because that is one thing that Paddy doesn't have. I watched the game last week behind the goals and I noticed that Paddy was too easily pushed off the ball and he couldn't get his frame off the ground in marking contests. He either has to get leaner and be more athletic or build himself to a beast and show some strength.

elizabethr

tony74 wrote: Thu 07 Jun 2018 10:06pm Not odd at all. Lot of players have jabs. I can pretty well guarantee Dunny will have a jab as well. They just want games into Freezer. We’re not worried about his shoulder.
Edit. The jab is in his shoulder. As it was at training today. Both of them
They are only "cattle" after all.

nothing to say

Geary out with illness?? (well that's what the OP says).

And McCartin is in for the swines so the brothers shall meet.