What's Jake up to ?

JAKE Carlisle is eager to return to St Kilda on September 13 — the first day he is permitted — to start a massive pre-season after recent hip surgery.
The St Kilda defender has been banned by WADA, with ongoing concerns over the club’s key talls heightening the urgency of his return.

Hugh Goddard is out for a season with an Achilles rupture, Sam Fisher’s year has been interrupted by a hamstring issue and 32-year-old Sean Dempster has had knee surgery.

Carlisle is back running as he nears the end of a 12-week recovery from hip surgery, and meets St Kilda’s physiotherapy off-site once a week as permitted.

He is spending three days a week as an assistant site manager in construction, a day in full rehab and another day catching up with St Kilda teammates.

St Kilda head of football Jamie Cox said the former Bomber sat in the outer most St Kilda home games and was keen to return.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/t ... a0504b208f
Carlisle’s manager Anthony McConville told the Herald Sun his client was desperate to make an impact next year.

“He will be guided by the club but he is 100 per cent keen. It’s been difficult for him not being able to play.

“He will get that opportunity again next year and he wants to get back into the main workload of the club and the day-to-day interaction that comes in September.”

Carlisle has not been paid by the club since his ban started in mid-January, with a financial settlement with Essendon still some way off.

“He hasn’t been paid since the start of the year, so it would have been nice but we are working through that with the lawyers.

“It is a long way from being resolved.”

Re: What's Jake up to ?

If he had hip problems this morning might be a blessing in disguise. I can see him dominating games.

Con Gorozidis wrote:If he had hip problems this morning might be a blessing in disguise. I can see him dominating games.
Well with no cashflow he won't be able to afford cocaine.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:If he had hip problems this morning might be a blessing in disguise. I can see him dominating games.
Well with no cashflow he won't be able to afford cocaine.
Come off it !
It says he's working three days a week in construction .
He's probably earning heaps and access to the Mexican marching powder would never have been easier for him .

Considering the Herald Sun's positivity thus far regarding all things Carlisle (ie. none!!), do you get the feeling this piece is an apology for the hatchet job on Roo from 2 weeks ago??

Selhurst Saint

I have seen him at two saints games this year.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

Key defender Jake Carlisle has returned to Linen House Centre today to begin a two-month transition period ahead of his anti-doping suspension ending on 13 November 2016.

As one of 34 past and present Essendon players serving the suspension, Carlisle will be permitted to train at St Kilda until the full period of ineligibility concludes in two months’ time.

St Kilda Football Club has sought advice from ASADA regarding remaining restrictions including his inability to participate in club directed media, commercial and promotional activities during this period.

The 24-year-old will meet with members of the football department today to devise a training program ahead of joining the first to four year players when they return for pre-season training on Monday 7 November

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2016-09-1 ... le-returns

oh when the

He came into my cafe a while back.

He is a very good strong big build
I can see why Richo wanted him
I cannot recall a Saints player of that build.

He was also very polite and respectful customer.

Is Jake available for selection in round 1 or does he have to serve the two week suspension for doing coke? Or should I say being publicly not privately caught doing coke.

Goose is king wrote:Is Jake available for selection in round 1 or does he have to serve the two week suspension for doing coke? Or should I say being publicly not privately caught doing coke.
I think that was a club imposed suspension. I reckon they would be simultaneous.

Not in a Las Vegas hotel, taking illicit substances, I hope. Seriously, this guy could hold the key to us advancing significantly on last year.

kp83

Goose is king wrote:Is Jake available for selection in round 1 or does he have to serve the two week suspension for doing coke? Or should I say being publicly not privately caught doing coke.
The club has said that suspension was served concurrently with the WADA ban, so he is right to play from the start of next year!

welcome back big fella

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2016-09-1 ... le-returns

"

Key defender Jake Carlisle has returned to Linen House Centre today to begin a two-month transition period ahead of his anti-doping suspension ending on 13 November 2016.

As one of 34 past and present Essendon players serving the suspension, Carlisle will be permitted to train at St Kilda until the full period of ineligibility concludes in two months’ time.

St Kilda Football Club has sought advice from ASADA regarding remaining restrictions including his inability to participate in club directed media, commercial and promotional activities during this period.

The 24-year-old will meet with members of the football department today to devise a training program ahead of joining the first to four year players when they return for pre-season training on Monday 7 November.

General Manager – Football Performance Jamie Cox said the club has been looking forward to Carlisle’s return in adherence with the terms of the transition period.

“Both the club and Jake are excited for his return and we think this period will be the perfect opportunity for him to keep learning about our club and get himself into the best physical condition for day one of pre-season,” Cox said.

“In compliance with ASADA directions, Jake will take part in activities such as training and team meetings allowing him to prepare for his return to playing football once the ban is lifted.”

During his period away from the club, Carlisle has worked in construction, undergone a minor hip procedure and caught up with St Kilda teammates socially.

“Jake’s used this period to develop himself away from footy as well as prepare for his return,” Cox said.

“He’s made a full recovery from the hip procedure that he underwent earlier this year and will be looking to make up for lost playing time.

“It’s been an exciting year both on and off the field for the Saints and while Jake has been attending home games and catching up socially with teammates, I’m sure he’s eager to be properly involved with the club again.”

St Kilda secured Carlisle during the 2015 trade period in a move that allowed the club to retain a first round selection (pick No.14) used to recruit exciting midfielder Jade Gresham.

Carlisle’s St Kilda-imposed two-game sanction has been served concurrently as part of his anti-doping suspension, allowing him to be eligible for selection for 2017 pre-season games.

All sounds positive for Jake

there were some predicting that the wheels would fall off and he would lose th eplot this year
Looks to be in a good mental space from all reports and keen to get going :)

there were some predicting that the wheels would fall off
watch the SSC hickenlittle Society's membership evaporate from here on in :)

Everyone slipp'n onto the 'told ya it was a great trade' bus.

WindSister wrote:
there were some predicting that the wheels would fall off
watch the SSC hickenlittle Society's membership evaporate from here on in :)

Everyone slipp'n onto the 'told ya it was a great trade' bus.

Onya Gaz

he looks healthy - news vision
and thankfully- got rid of that silly mustache-

Welcome back BigFella!!!!!

Now the Mods on here can get rid of the stupid Essendope thread out of respect to our
'Gun Recruit'!!!!!

stonecold wrote:Welcome back BigFella!!!!!

Now the Mods on here can get rid of the stupid Essendope thread out of respect to our
'Gun Recruit'!!!!!
They're unlikely to listen to you cobber

This report has the vision of Jake at the club today
http://tenplay.com.au/sport/sport-news/ ... o-alberton

Ran into him yesterday in a Port Melbourne coffee shop.

Bigger than I thought he was. Massive set of shoulders on him.

What is it with these young blokes and skinny jeans?

Seriously s*** look.

Great to see him back.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2016-09-14/ ... yfes-fault

vision of Jake in the first minutes here

[Jake Carlisle walks into Richo's office]

Jake "the snake" Carlisle! Sit your rebel ass down. Now listen up Carlisle. I've heard all about you and the s*** you pulled at the other precinct. You're a cowboy, a loose cannon. Yeah you're a damn good footy player - you get stuff solved out on that field. But you think that means you need to play by the rules. Well maybe you got away with that wild horseshit in the other jurisdiction, but here it won't fly.

Ok every now and then we might burn a dwarf. But thats a "sometime" act. I don't want no snorty-snort. I don't want no late to training cos you're stuck in traffic or were about to go to the Institute in Fallout 4. Here you do things my way, or its the highway. I'm gunna be all over you like a rash Jakey. You open your locker and I'll be there staring at you from underneath your jockstrap. You screw up just once and I'll be on you like Mummy on a Tippet. Now get the f&^k out of my office and start hittin that gym - you're giving me a an ulcer just looking at your slacker cardigan.

[Jake leaves office and Richo sits down in chair with head in hands] I'm gettin too old for this s***.