Team v Tigers

Rich v StK
Lambert, Elton, Menadue, C Moore for Vickery, Miles, Drummond, Lennon.
Geary, Lonie, Holmes for Fisher, Hickey, Minchington.

Playon

Re: Team v Tigers

Wow on Holmes. Is he our second ruck, or do we need a second look? or are we trying to get some trade value into him and find him another home.

Will he be offered another contract?

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2016-08-1 ... v-richmond
Jason Holmes’ remarkable journey from Chicago to a foreign game in a foreign land will traverse a new chapter on Saturday, after the athletic ruckman was named for his first game of 2016 and just the fourth of his short career.

The American product was one of three changes ahead of this weekend’s game against Richmond at the MCG, with Jarryn Geary returning from a back injury and Jack Lonie recalled for his first senior game since the Round 15 loss to Gold Coast at Metricon Stadium.
Round 22 Premiership Team v Richmond
Saturday 20 August
2.10pm
MCG

B: D. Roberton, S. Dempster, J. Geary
HB: J. Newnes, S. Gilbert, S. Savage
C: L. Montagna, D. Armitage, B. Acres
HF: M. Weller, N. Riewoldt, N. Wright
F: T. Membrey, J. Bruce, P. McCartin
R: J. Holmes, S. Ross, J. Steven
Interchange: J. Lonie, J. Billings, J. Gresham, D. McKenzie
Emergencies: B. Longer, B. White, D. Minchington

IN: J. Geary, J. Lonie, J. Holmes
OUT: S. Fisher (Hamstring), T. Hickey (Calf), D. Minchington (Omitted)

Holmes will get the tap outs and it is up to our (improved) midfield to capitalize.

That said, we will seriously miss big Tom.

Ok....ah.....ok. I mean is this Holmes do or die thing? I'm glad Lonie gets another shot at the big show - he's done damn well in the VFL. Geary stiffens up our back half without Fish but we go in pretty short again. See ya later Tommy Lee - I think you are done buddy - Richo just doesn't want you in his motley crue.

Minch hasn't been great and deserves a rest. Again not the most experimental bold rotations or anything. Eli, Sincs, Pierce all deserve a game to reward their hard work and know the level they have to work towards. But hey Richo isn't exactly Mr Experimental. Still think #resttheegresh and #notquitewright could have a break.

WTF where is Webster and Sinclair???

Lonie what a joke!!!

Seriously Holmes ahead of Longer or Pierce??

And how is Webster not back in this side?

MC Gusto wrote:Seriously Holmes ahead of Longer or Pierce??

Tweaked it this morning

#tomleegone

carn_sainter

Interested to see how we go without Hickey. I've been saying to myself more and more as the season goes on that he might just be our most important player.

I prefer Sinclair to Lonie as a player in all respects, (and Minchington to both as of right now) but trust the selectors are making good calls...or at least calls with solid reasoning.

Holmes ahead of Longer :shock: :shock:

I don't reckon Holmes is a long term prospect. Very surprised to see him in ahead of Billy.
Agree with other posters about Tom Lee having his papers stamped.

Interesting to see at year's end which way they go with Delaney and Lee. Take them plus Chips out of our backline stocks and there's not much back-up there. Carlisle will come in, but still, we need more defensive key position depth.

Hampson is a really good tap ruckman, pretty ordinary around the ground. Holmes will compete well in the tap outs.

LTN16

Where is shenton and what else does he have to do to get a game?

Wasting our time with Holmes.. Longer or Pierce surely would have been better options
Last edited by LTN16 on Thu 18 Aug 2016 9:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

millarsaint wrote:#tomleegone
Saynta will crack open a bottle

tony74 wrote:Hampson is a really good tap ruckman, pretty ordinary around the ground. Holmes will compete well in the tap outs.
Christ I hope so. We need to finish off with a couple of wins

LTN16 wrote:Where is shenton and what else does he have to do to get a game?
I think his papers were stamped going into the season. Personally didn't think he had what it took though I will say he's played above the standard i thought he was capable of in the VFL.
I would have liked to have seen him get a shot but doesn't he essentially play the same position as Membrey? I think that was the nail in the coffin

tony74 wrote:Hampson is a really good tap ruckman, pretty ordinary around the ground. Holmes will compete well in the tap outs.
Thanks Tony. That would be why then. Tony, any opinion you're willing to share with us re Jason's prospects of staying a Saint?

Not sure why people want Longer in the side- he was pretty ordinary in his time as our main ruck, and has done nothing in the VFL. Holmes offers a bit of mobility where Longer has none. I think Pierce is a long term project and no hurry to put him in the seniors.
There's a spot in the team that Lonie, Sinclair and Minch are going to have to fight for. Minch disappears out the game a bit too much, Sinclair IMO should be played regardless- too much talent to ignore, and Lonie just needs to do a lot more when he gets into the seniors.

Johnny's inclusion helps celebrate the possible dream team vs boomers gold medal match

millarsaint wrote:#tomleegone

Forever known as #DudLee

st.byron wrote:
Thanks Tony. That would be why then.

Makes sense. 33 HOs per game compared to Hickey's 29 and ruckwise Hampso has actually hada pretty fair year. Holmes will have more ability to combat him in the ruck than Pierce.

I think that this selection shows that the club wants to finish on a high with 2 wins. But yes longterm I do not seea future for Holmes unless something remarkable happns with his ability to read the play better.

Good to see Lonie back after a fair stint out. Tigers do not always handle goal sneaks well.

Gordo'
Location: banned for a spell, things didn't turn out so well, every thread i played, ffs was lucky i stayed!!!

kosifantutti wrote:Rich v StK
Lambert, Elton, Menadue, C Moore for Vickery, Miles, Drummond, Lennon.
Geary, Lonie, Holmes for Fisher, Hickey, Minchington.
oh ffs!!! no vickery makes it a bit harder for them, but the boys will still beat those softc...k pretend tiggers. that vickery ain't no muso'. :roll: :roll: :roll:

go big jason!!! give those softc..k flukkers hell, mate!!! now holmesy, there's a muso! :D

and good to see no longer. we don't want to play billy and flowering devalue his currency before we trade him out at the end of the year. :roll: what did warney once say??? ffs, convert that from cricket speak to footy speak, and you get the flowering picture with billy. (though to be fair, he's better than flowering vickory, ffs. :roll: :roll: :roll: )

and a big happy flowering anniversary to me too. ffs!!! :twisted:

Fortitude Fidelity Sainta.

How is Holmes fitness? We could be in trouble as I don't think he's going to get round as much as hickey does as a solo ruck.

Poor Bruce .

Thought Billy Longer or perhaps Lewis Pierce could have replaced Hickey, and Webster could come in for Fisher. On the basis of those two being injuries, I am a little suprised that more changes weren't made - and just one omission.
We could struggle here. I don't see the stopper for Jack Riewoldt unless we cut off supply, and that will be difficult with Cotchin, Deledio and Martin in the centre of the ground all day. If Rance has a day out we will struggle, but right now it has to be all about next year.
Good luck to Holmes and Lonie tomorrow.

MC Gusto wrote:Seriously Holmes ahead of Longer or Pierce??

plus one.

some dud selections there.

C'mon Richo.