Jarryn Geary is a list clogger

Long Term Injury

Re: Jarryn Geary is a list clogger

Really interesting Richo's press conference after the game, basically talked about how much we missed Geary in the last with his run. I think he is more important to us than a lot recognise. And as another poster mentioned, where was Cyril.

Long Term Injury wrote:Really interesting Richo's press conference after the game, basically talked about how much we missed Geary in the last with his run. I think he is more important to us than a lot recognise. And as another poster mentioned, where was Cyril.
Richo at his presser :

"We thought he had a good game. He did a good job on Cyril. Some of his rebound was pretty positive. His ability to win the ball was positive. That hurt us late not to have Gears out there, given that Jimmy Webster and Robbo went out of the team with injuries. We missed him."

carn_sainter

People having a go at Geary all the time, and the severity with which they do so, is just ridiculous.

The players he play with elect him to the leadership group and the coaches endorse that election! I think those 50 or so guys have a better idea about what Geary provides the team than spectators who, I am sure, are not 100% objective in their assessment of the game.

The thing is, they'll see Geary turn the ball over and say 'Oh, he does that all the time!!' but never acknowledge his good disposals. Every player turns the ball over but for some reason some people want to highlight every time that Geary does it. His contested work yesterday was brilliant and he saved us some goals with tackling pressure and bottling up the dangerous groundballs.

Yesterday Jack Billings tried to lay a tackle on the wing and it didn't stick. Where are all the people screaming that Billings can't tackle! Oh, he never lays tackles!! See how ridiculous it is?

People that keep trying to flog Geary are not objective, they don't assess facts, they don't consider the whole game of football and they're unwilling to admit these things.

this thread is a forum clogger.

The problem is as originally stated "Good ordinary player, tough as old boots", but this stops someone potentially excellent getting the role. We've had other cloggers, Farren Ray and Fiona come to mind. Sam Gilbert may be one too, but he does do a lot of positive stuff to balance out his consistent clangers .
Most of these guys are great loyal servants and the fact that they are good players means they keep getting a go - but you don't win flags with these blokes. Billings and co spilling the ball can be easily forgiven at this early stage of their careers. But seasoned veterans need to be able to deliver a quick first option and set up the repelling play in Geary's case.

Bowey Boy wrote:The problem is as originally stated "Good ordinary player, tough as old boots", but this stops someone potentially excellent getting the role. We've had other cloggers, Farren Ray and Fiona come to mind. Sam Gilbert may be one too, but he does do a lot of positive stuff to balance out his consistent clangers .
Most of these guys are great loyal servants and the fact that they are good players means they keep getting a go - but you don't win flags with these blokes. Billings and co spilling the ball can be easily forgiven at this early stage of their careers. But seasoned veterans need to be able to deliver a quick first option and set up the repelling play in Geary's case.
Utter tosh. For a start Ray stopped a rampant Swan dead in the 2010 GF.

Geary killed Rioli yesterday and Rioli only did s9mething once he was injured.

You want every player to be Billings. Who stops the opposition match winners?

Dont think you understand football in any way shape or formm

Bowey Boy wrote:The problem is as originally stated "Good ordinary player, tough as old boots", but this stops someone potentially excellent getting the role. We've had other cloggers, Farren Ray and Fiona come to mind. Sam Gilbert may be one too, but he does do a lot of positive stuff to balance out his consistent clangers .

Happy to hear your opinion. See if you can do it without attacking the poster for even more effect.

Bowey Boy wrote:

Happy to hear your opinion. See if you can do it without attacking the poster for even more effect.
That's rich after calling Geary a list clogger.

That is disrespectful and is a disgrace especially considering the way he goes in and what happened to him yesterday.

Maybe use less inflammatory language to get your point across rather than blaming everyone else.

Disgraceful.

Geary makes the odd turnover but if you look at his season he has been a very valuable defender.
He kept Wingard fairly quiet in the first match, blanketed Dalhaus of the Bulldogs. Then soundly beat Fasolo and yesterday beat Rioli.
I think those players would have been a bigger problem if Geary wasn't there.
Yesterday we missed Webster who teams well with Geary and provides run and accurate disposal.
If Webster had played instead of Templeton I think we would have beaten Hawthorn.

longtimesaint wrote:Geary makes the odd turnover but if you look at his season he has been a very valuable defender.
He kept Wingard fairly quiet in the first match, blanketed Dalhaus of the Bulldogs. Then soundly beat Fasolo and yesterday beat Rioli.
Yesterday we missed Webster who teams well with Geary and provides run and accurate disposal.
If Webster had played instead of Templeton I think we would have beaten Hawthorn.
That's 4 decent scalps and deserves credit.

longtimesaint wrote:Geary makes the odd turnover but if you look at his season he has been a very valuable defender.
That's 4 decent scalps and deserves credit.
It certainly does.

Hes been great so far this year

Mccartin kicks the goal and gears has a brillant game.

He missed so gears is rubbish.

Go figure.

Ah the mandatory Geary thread. It doesn't really make sense this week because he was pretty good. Did did a good job on Cyril and was actually hitting his targets with his kicks even if they were mostly chippy type kicks to guys who ran hard to make space (all players kicking looks better when guys gut run to get themselves into open space). The ongoing issue is like with Dempster - they don't have penetrating kicks. In the first qtr against the win we struggled to get it out from the back. But both Dempster and Geary were great yesterday in providing solid defence when we needed it including marks, physical courage and mopping up. Richo sees them as integral at the moment to his defensive system and its hard to argue with the result we've had this year.

But lee and Micnch have showed that if players can show good consistent form in the VFL they put themselves in line for selection in the firsts. Players like McKenzie, White, Rice, Murdoch, Wright need to try and put pressure on Geary by showing they can use the ball well from the back over a period of time.

mightysainters

To answer the question, yes he is..

Once Geary has been replaced by some of our higher skilled players it will be a very good sign.

mightysainters wrote:To answer the question, yes he is..

Once Geary has been replaced by some of our higher skilled players it will be a very good sign.
Bravo.

List clogger? Absolutely not. Keeping Cyril quiet is no mean feat.

But make no mistake that we beat the Hawks in almost every facet of the game yesterday except that we gifted them at least 4 goals and they gifted us none.

Unfortunately at present Geary tends to give a "gift" every week. Now mistakes will happen. All players make them. But you cannot do it as regularly as that if you want to be the best of the best.

Now Geary is no lone ranger in making mistakes. But at present he seems to do it more often, and there is the rub.

On the plus side he is our best small defender. Wright looked good till he broke his jaw...and he sprays the ball around as well.

Maybe we need to boost our midfield so that Newnes can become the attacking small defender, and then we may well be a Top 4 team again (Though make no mistake we needa lot more right than merely a Geary upgrade).

Bowey Boy wrote:

That's rich after calling Geary a list clogger.

That is disrespectful and is a disgrace especially considering the way he goes in and what happened to him yesterday.

Maybe use less inflammatory language to get your point across rather than blaming everyone else.

Disgraceful.
Exactly. Imagine being so disrespectful about Geary then trying to take the moral high ground.

My post was a response post calling Both Geary and Fay a list clogger when they played specific shut down roles.

Obviously the poster doesnt understand that. That not an attack it is a reasonable perception based on his post.

Bunk_Moreland wrote: Exactly. Imagine being so disrespectful about Geary then trying to take the moral high ground.

My post was a response post calling Both Geary and Fay a list clogger when they played specific shut down roles.

Obviously the poster doesnt understand that. That not an attack it is a reasonable perception based on his post.
More hypocrisy again Bunk. You just called our Tassie players in-breds and spread an unfounded rumour that Freeman was psychologically shot (who then had a lazy 47 touches in 3 qtrs - he is totally shot!). "List Clogger" is a common phrase used in footy discussions. Yes it has a provocative tone to it but it's do with a players age, current ability, deficiencies and if they are blocking young players coming through. It's a valid debate (I actually don't think Geary is a list clogger at this stage and yesterday he had a damn good game).

People show a lot of double-standards on here where they will throw out ruthless insults and then when their favourite player is criticised get up on their high horse about "showing respect".

BS. Just because the phrase is used in football discussion it doesn't mean it's not negative or disrespectful.
Bluthy wrote:
Yes it has a provocative tone to it but it's do with a players age, current ability, deficiencies and if they are blocking young players coming through.
Now if that's not pejorative or insulting, what is?

Bluthy wrote:
Bunk_Moreland wrote: Exactly. Imagine being so disrespectful about Geary then trying to take the moral high ground.

People show a lot of double-standards on here where they will throw out ruthless insults and then when their favourite player is criticised get up on their high horse about "showing respect".
I guess it's all about being smart enough to know when someone is just taking the piss or not.

Gee these threads that are designed to denigrate our players and force the bood pressure to rise cost me a lot of money in toilet paper.

I have already forgotten who started this rubbish thread but it was obviously done by somebody who either did not watch the match or, if they did, comments without any objectivity.

For what its worth Jarryn seriously clogged Cyril yesterday and deserves credit for his game, not derision.

Seems Geary has become Saintsational's number 1 whipping boy for 2016.

Perhaps the people accusing him of list clogging are forgetting how much experience and toughness he brings to the team.

Sainternist wrote:Seems Geary has become Saintsational's number 1 whipping boy for 2016.

Perhaps the people accusing him of list clogging are forgetting how much experience and toughness he brings to the team.
I am forgetting nothing. He is is a good player. That is the problem.

Thanks too for all of my fellow Saints who have indicated I know nothing about the game. Been following the Saints since 1969 and passionately since the infamous 1978 season. I am trying to create a discussion, not become a punching bag. Disagree with me - passionately - if you like - but seriously - I have an opinion and am basing this opinion on several years - not yesterday's game - where clearly others were better and others were worse.

The Fireman wrote:
Bluthy wrote:

I guess it's all about being smart enough to know when someone is just taking the piss or not.
Hit the nail on the head Fireman. Poor Bluthy

Bowey Boy wrote:
Sainternist wrote:Seems Geary has become Saintsational's number 1 whipping boy for 2016.

Thanks too for all of my fellow Saints who have indicated I know nothing about the game. Been following the Saints since 1969 and passionately since the infamous 1978 season. I am trying to create a discussion, not become a punching bag. Disagree with me - passionately - if you like - but seriously - I have an opinion and am basing this opinion on several years - not yesterday's game - where clearly others were better and others were worse.
From list clogger to good player. Beep beep beep.

Bowey Boy wrote:

From list clogger to good player. Beep beep beep.
Did you read my initial post? He is a good player. It is not enough.