Best 5 home and away wins of the modern era

Re: Best 5 home and away wins of the modern era

Enrico_Misso wrote:
samuraisaint wrote: Now this one was a beauty - I remember it cos I was there - 1978 versus North at Arden Street - goal after the siren win against the reigning premier on their own dungheap.
Was there also.

It was a point, kicked by Robbie Elliott, that was given as a goal. Was directly behind the kick and when I saw it going off course I bent down to pick up my stuff to leave.

Then saw the ump waving two flags!

It got a fair bit of media coverage in the papers at the time :lol:
You may be right about the line, but I thought the length was also an issue.
Time distorts memories.
My recollection is that the siren had gone and people were jumping the fence.
The kick fell a bit short and bounced in the square but with people everywhere no player was able to stop it.
Certainly a controversial finish.
And we had come from nowhere - I think we were over 3 goals behind deep in to time on but bang, bang, bang and then R Elliott.
And we didn't repeat that effort until the final round of 2001 against the Hawks at the G. Another come from nowhere effort.

ripplug66 wrote:
samuraisaint wrote:I have just gone back and had a look and Sarau and Ditterich played, but I am sure I read somewhere that Muir rucked during that game. It may have even been in The Point Of It All. Obviously with those two in he didn't ruck all day though.

He didn't win a hit out so he didn't do it long, if at all. What he did do though is get 7 frees which in todays footy is unbelievable.
The key issue from that game was the boys were inspired after an unseen incident before half time where a Hawthorn sniper felled Callery who was taken off unconscious on a stretcher.
It was only after the game that The Cat admitted it was he who accidentally collided with his midget teammate.

George27

Greetings , Ladies and Gentlemen. George27 here- in honour of my all-time-favourite player, George Young. I have followed this forum for a number of years, but have resisted until now the temptation to join in. You are all very passionate, but you do tend to get stuck into each other from time to time. I get enough abuse from the rest of the universe , without inviting it from Saints fans!

Anyway, this topic is such an interesting one, so I thought I would sign up and share my memories with you all.

I am about to saddle up for my 52nd season as a Saints fan. I have seen many, many heartbreaking defeats, but some really special wins, and have listed below the best 13 home-and-away wins in chronological order.I was at the ground for all of them, and the memory of each is still strong. I used to be pretty good with the stats, but have resisted the temptation to check my memory by accessing records, so forgive me for any errors. Please note also there were many great wins which I only saw on TV or not at all - I thought it best to stick with what I experienced live. There is nothing like being at the ground when the boys really fly.

1. StK 20.15 - Coll 10.12 , Moorabbin 1971. People rightly say the injuries to Spider and Lazar cost us the 97 flag , but John McIntosh's knee definitely cost us the 71 flag. He only played a couple of seasons for us, but what a star ! That day he was hitting Allan Davis with stab passes off both feet. Davis kicked 10.

2. StK 24.21 - Rich 10.16 or so. Moorabbin 1972. Already mentioned on this thread. We had a super team from 65-73, but this was the best game they played in that era. Total domination. Broke the then club record, and Probably sprayed another 7 shots out on the full.

3. Stk 16.18- Foots 5.16. Western Oval 1975. George had the flu, so Yab put him to full forward. Kicked a lazy nine. We kicked 7 goals to nil into the wind ( up to the northern end ) in the last quarter.

4. StK 14.18- Rich 13.12. Waverley 1976. Tiges led 9.8 to 1.8 at half time. Extraordinary comeback.

5. StK 18.14- Haw 13.19- Princess Park 1976. Already mentioned in this thread. After Callery went down thanks to Cat, 19th man Mick Malthouse went into the ground before Paul had been stretchered off. Don Scott, showing all his class, pointed to the scoreboard and argued to the umpires that our score ( which at the time was about 4.5 to 11.13) should be wiped. Prick. From that moment , the Saints were glorious. Russ Reynolds on fire. Unbelievable - we never won at that place.

6. StK 31.18 - Melb 21.15 - G. 1978. That was the weirdest season ever. We won five and drew one of first seven, then won only one of next eight ( the win at NM - see below ) after the Baby Bombers rubbish, then stormed home to miss the finals by only two points. Would have won the thing. Anyway, in this early season game we had 19 goals by HT and coasted to a club record score. George kicked seven, Rexy Hunt five and Gary Lofts four.

7. StK d NM by 3 points at Arden St , 1978. The earlier post had this spot on. I too was behind the goals ( I used to follow George around from goal to goal), and had given up on Rob Elliott's kick. We really did steal that one- away against the reigning premiers.

8. StK d Foots at Moorabbin 1987 by about 4 points, round 19. It is hard to describe the emotion that day. We had been crap for so many years- bottom three for eight years in a row. At last we were coming good, riding on the back of the electric young Tony Lockett. He started the day on 93 goals - remember we had not had a 100 goal a season player since Billy Mohr. He got to the ton in the last quarter. The dogs then hit the front again, so the fat boy slotted his 101st to claim the win. Euphoria.

9. StK d Carl at Moorabbin.1989. Already mentioned a number of times on this thread. Lockett 10.7 out of 13.18. Made SOS look second rate. I can still see Cuz hit him on the lead out on the scoreboard flank. Tough shot,never in doubt.

10.StK d Coll at Waverley , round 21 1994. Plugger's last game. I took my eldest- then 4 - to his first game, just to see the great man play for us. Kicked a lazy eight, and bowed out in style ( could not be bothered playing against Fitzroy in last round) .

11. StK d Swans by 101 points, In Sydney, around 1998. Took the young bloke up to see his first interstate game. We crushed them. I think Plugger kicked 5 for them, but Steve Sziller kicked six for us in a very surprising win.

12. StK d Carl by 100 points 2004, at Etihad. The 2004/05 team, when at their best , were beautiful to watch. The best of many great wins was when we crushed Carlton - I hate Carlton - and Fev played full back. Hilarious . Loved it. Did I mention that I hate Carlton?

13. StK d Gee, Etihad, 2009. In 2009 we obviously played a different brand from 04/05. The pressure early in the season on the opposition was extraordinary . It may not have been pretty, but it produced results. However the match against the Cats was football at its best. Amazing game. Amazing finish.

So that is it from me. I hope that was of interest to some. Be good to each other. We are all on the same journey, we are well led by Richo and Roo. We have hope, let's enjoy the ride together.

George.

George27 wrote:Greetings , Ladies and Gentlemen. George27 here- in honour of my all-time-favourite player, George Young. I have followed this forum for a number of years, but have resisted until now the temptation to join in. You are all very passionate, but you do tend to get stuck into each other from time to time. I get enough abuse from the rest of the universe , without inviting it from Saints fans!

Anyway, this topic is such an interesting one, so I thought I would sign up and share my memories with you all..............
George Young was also my first favourite and I've been on a similar journey to yours.

Most enjoyable post.

Well I'd have to say 2009 - believe it to be not just ours, but the greatest game of afl footy ever.
Harv's 350th in Perth.
The Schwarze moment vs Brisbane.
The Bulldogs win this year.
And not the modern era, but the first game I ever cheered the saints, so it's special to me - rnd one win over reigning premier Hawthorn in 79.

But saw some great games in the plugger era and the 2004-5 seasons. Also shook my head in wonder at our sheer dominance in the first half of 09 - no team had ever played such frantic, but disciplined team footy. Despite the style it was pure joy to watch at times.

George27 wrote:Greetings , Ladies and Gentlemen. George27 here- in honour of my all-time-favourite player, George Young. I have followed this forum for a number of years, but have resisted until now the temptation to join in. You are all very passionate, but you do tend to get stuck into each other from time to time. I get enough abuse from the rest of the universe , without inviting it from Saints fans!

Anyway, this topic is such an interesting one, so I thought I would sign up and share my memories with you all..............
George Young was also my first favourite and I've been on a similar journey to yours.

Most enjoyable post.

My sentiments exactly, Doc.

Reckon it would be a big day out if George, Doc and Trev hooked up at Etihad for a quiet beer and a chat :D

Merry Christmas to all Saintsationalists.

The roar when we beat Cats by 6 in 2009 at Etihad shook the joint (one of the loudest I've heard at footy)

Swarze goal against Lions was responsible for my first born

Amazing night - great footy too..

aaron82

My memory can be hazy at times but I'll bring up a couple of left field games from 1992 to 2003 that people may have forgotten about.

1992 - Rd 12 Saints 10.17.77 vs Pies 11.10.76 huge Queens birthday crowd remembered for a half time brawl time and the infamous Ken Sheldon spray to Devenport. He ends up kicking the winner "Craven's on his own in the goal square" as Devenports left foot snap sails through the punt road goals.

1993 Rd 17 Saints 16.16.112 vs Roos 14.13.97 - Friday night at the 'G' with a very average side knocking of the Friday night specialist in the kangaroos with Carey and McAdam running hot for them at the time. We came off a big win over the cats and stunned Denis Pagan's men with Craig O'Brien and Gordon Fode as our main forwards. Top win

1994 Rd 18 Saints 18.2.110 vs Bombers 15.10.100 - We stunk this season but on a warm day at the 'G' we had a rare win over the bombers who were reigning premiers. Remarkable kicking for goal as we snuck home by 10 pts with Craig O'Brien slotting 6 goals. Didn't see that win coming

1995 Rd 9 - Saints 11.14.80 vs Blues 3.6.24 - Typical freezing cold wet day at Waverley, froze my 13 yr old nuts off. A bizarre win, you'd swear some match fixing was involved as Carlton would lose 2 games all season and we stunk. Mil Hanna flattened early by Rod Keogh set the tone as a youthful saints routed a strong blues side. From memory their 3 goals came late in the game.

1995 Rd 15 13.15.93 vs Cats 13.7.85 - a game that many people forget. We were coming of some floggings and weren't expected to get near eventual Grand Finalist Geelong. We kept Ablett quiet again and Harves played a cracker. He kicked the winner on a tight angle 40m out punt road end after a few typical baulka around players. Enjoyed that win

1997 Rd 3 - 19.11.125 vs Pies 17.16.118 - We'd end up playing off for a flag but at round 3 we were coming off a 97 pt flogging at Gabba in the heat. We were not expected to get close to a pies side many were saying were the team to beat at that stage. Probably the fastest game I seen at Waveley, Heatleys first game in saints colours as he slots 5 and Spider 6. Absolute cracking game as a few late goals sneaks is over the line in front of a big crowd. Who would have thought we'd finish on top at the end of the home and away season.

1999 Rd 10 - 18.10.118 vs Cats 16.12.108 - caught the train down with the old man. Spider kicks 9.6 in a huge come from behind win. The ugly flog Hocking takes out an unsuspecting Harves at a ball up. It seems to inspire us as we kick a few into a strong wind in the last term to win. Tim Watson best win as coach for sure.

2003 Rd 11 13.12.90 vs Lions 13.7.85 a year before the Wool bomb we knocked off the eventual premiers in a high quality game by 5 pts. I see a small parallel with our current squad to the team we had then. We were just starting to get it right and hung on to win by 5 pts to the team who won 3 in a row.

2003 - Rd 20 - 26.10.166 vs blues 11.9.75 one of my favorite wins of all time. We were on the rise but still inconsistent. Carlton were stuffed and were about to hit a lot of pain. Dragged my old man who was extremely crook along, we kicked 10 in the first qtr in the pura yellow jumper. Dal, Bally and a host of young guns dominated. I reckon we were close to 80 pts up at half time. I reckon this was the game the players started to believe. Gehrig played forward and kicked 7, a signal of things to come next season. I loved this game, to slaughter them on their hole after the belting a they'd given us over the years was extremely satisfying.

My best memories are of watching Plugger tear apart opposition at Moorabbin as I stood on empty beer cans trying to look at this mythical God of a footballer. I may never see a flag but I saw the greatest forward carry a team. Footy is a different beast these days, I'm thankful I had the chance to experience the suburban grounds growing up. My boys won't get to see anything like it but hoping like hell our current crop of young guns bring us home that 2nd flag

and that's the bottom line
aaron82

My memory can be hazy at times but I'll bring up a couple of left field games from 1992 to 2003 that people may have forgotten about.

1992 - Rd 12 Saints 10.17.77 vs Pies 11.10.76 huge Queens birthday crowd remembered for a half time brawl time and the infamous Ken Sheldon spray to Devenport. He ends up kicking the winner "Craven's on his own in the goal square" as Devenports left foot snap sails through the punt road goals.

1993 Rd 17 Saints 16.16.112 vs Roos 14.13.97 - Friday night at the 'G' with a very average side knocking of the Friday night specialist in the kangaroos with Carey and McAdam running hot for them at the time. We came off a big win over the cats and stunned Denis Pagan's men with Craig O'Brien and Gordon Fode as our main forwards. Top win

1994 Rd 18 Saints 18.2.110 vs Bombers 15.10.100 - We stunk this season but on a warm day at the 'G' we had a rare win over the bombers who were reigning premiers. Remarkable kicking for goal as we snuck home by 10 pts with Craig O'Brien slotting 6 goals. Didn't see that win coming

1995 Rd 9 - Saints 11.14.80 vs Blues 3.6.24 - Typical freezing cold wet day at Waverley, froze my 13 yr old nuts off. A bizarre win, you'd swear some match fixing was involved as Carlton would lose 2 games all season and we stunk. Mil Hanna flattened early by Rod Keogh set the tone as a youthful saints routed a strong blues side. From memory their 3 goals came late in the game.

1995 Rd 15 13.15.93 vs Cats 13.7.85 - a game that many people forget. We were coming of some floggings and weren't expected to get near eventual Grand Finalist Geelong. We kept Ablett quiet again and Harves played a cracker. He kicked the winner on a tight angle 40m out punt road end after a few typical baulka around players. Enjoyed that win

1997 Rd 3 - 19.11.125 vs Pies 17.16.118 - We'd end up playing off for a flag but at round 3 we were coming off a 97 pt flogging at Gabba in the heat. We were not expected to get close to a pies side many were saying were the team to beat at that stage. Probably the fastest game I seen at Waveley, Heatleys first game in saints colours as he slots 5 and Spider 6. Absolute cracking game as a few late goals sneaks is over the line in front of a big crowd. Who would have thought we'd finish on top at the end of the home and away season.

1999 Rd 10 - 18.10.118 vs Cats 16.12.108 - caught the train down with the old man. Spider kicks 9.6 in a huge come from behind win. The ugly flog Hocking takes out an unsuspecting Harves at a ball up. It seems to inspire us as we kick a few into a strong wind in the last term to win. Tim Watson best win as coach for sure.

2003 Rd 11 13.12.90 vs Lions 13.7.85 a year before the Wool bomb we knocked off the eventual premiers in a high quality game by 5 pts. I see a small parallel with our current squad to the team we had then. We were just starting to get it right and hung on to win by 5 pts to the team who won 3 in a row.

2003 - Rd 20 - 26.10.166 vs blues 11.9.75 one of my favorite wins of all time. We were on the rise but still inconsistent. Carlton were stuffed and were about to hit a lot of pain. Dragged my old man who was extremely crook along, we kicked 10 in the first qtr in the pura yellow jumper. Dal, Bally and a host of young guns dominated. I reckon we were close to 80 pts up at half time. I reckon this was the game the players started to believe. Gehrig played forward and kicked 7, a signal of things to come next season. I loved this game, to slaughter them on their hole after the belting a they'd given us over the years was extremely satisfying.

My best memories are of watching Plugger tear apart opposition at Moorabbin as I stood on empty beer cans trying to look at this mythical God of a footballer. I may never see a flag but I saw the greatest forward carry a team. Footy is a different beast these days, I'm thankful I had the chance to experience the suburban grounds growing up. My boys won't get to see anything like it but hoping like hell our current crop of young guns bring us home that 2nd flag

George27 wrote:2. StK 24.21 - Rich 10.16 or so. Moorabbin 1972. Already mentioned on this thread. We had a super team from 65-73, but this was the best game they played in that era. Total domination. Broke the then club record, and Probably sprayed another 7 shots out on the full.
Great first post George27.
Saint George was a favourite of everyone who followed the saints in the 70s!
Look forward to more of your insights.

Your No. 2 brought back great memories.
I stood at the South Rd goals behind the Richmond cheer squad where we were packed in like sardines.
It rained goals as we destroyed them in an even 4 quarter effort.
Sadly a poor last quarter in the Prelim that year prevented us from issuing a second dose to the Tigers in the GF.

So which ones do we think will actually be named as our top 5 games of the modern era?

I reckon the Richmond match which we won by 15 goals at Moorabbin 1972
Mothers Day Massacre Against Sydney at the SCG 1994 - coming back from 50 points behind in the final quarter
Nicky Winmar lifting the jumper at Vic park v Collingwood in 1993.
The Brisbane game at Docklands 2004
Versus Geelong at Docklands 2009

Edit: Destroying the team of the 90s - North Melbourne in 1997 at VFL Park also deserves honourable mention.

Anyone who was at THE 1989 Carlton game will tell you it not only has to be in there, but needs to be in the number 1 spot.
We worked so hard to get in front and keep in front of the fancied Blues only for them to almost steal the game with a goal from that Fraser Murphy rodent deep in to time on.
Then came that moment of legend forever ingrained - the Jack Daniels handball to the running Winmar and you know the rest.
The whole place went berserk.
Definitely the most emotional H&A game I've ever seen.
(Though the Blues got revenge later in the season with a one point win in the return match at Princes Park when the StK timekeeper was tied up and gagged).

I was at that game Enrico - and remember the whole place going beserk when Lockett kicked what was the winner. Special game, especially as it was Carlton, a side we had beaten only 18 times in 120 games up until that point.

One game that I don't think anybody has mentioned this forum though, not even me, is the game against Footscrazy at Moorabbin in 1987, when Lockett kicked his 100th goal for the season, the crowd invaded the ground as was tradition at that time, we won our fifth game in a row for the first time in 20 years, and it topped off our best season for a decade. We were absolutely gawn in that game - and when you watch that game even now, it's pretty hard to see how we won.

Remember that it was only the second time a St KFC player ever kicked the ton and the first in half a century. Deserves at least an honourable mention.

EDIT: George Young 27 had mentioned it.

ripplug66

samuraisaint wrote:I was at that game Enrico - and remember the whole place going beserk when Lockett kicked what was the winner. Special game, especially as it was Carlton, a side we had beaten only 18 times in 120 games up until that point.

One game that I don't think anybody has mentioned this forum though, not even me, is the game against Footscrazy at Moorabbin in 1987, when Lockett kicked his 100th goal for the season, the crowd invaded the ground as was tradition at that time, we won our fifth game in a row for the first time in 20 years, and it topped off our best season for a decade. We were absolutely gawn in that game - and when you watch that game even now, it's pretty hard to see how we won.

Remember that it was only the second time a St KFC player ever kicked the ton and the first in half a century. Deserves at least an honourable mention.

It has been mentioned. I too was at both games. Rate the Carlton game better but I can honestly say Plugger won both games for us. I'm pretty sure Plugger kicked 2 goals every quarter against the dogs and his hundredth was the winning goal. Still have the swans win ahead of them all as were something like 49 points down with less than 11 minutes on the clock. I don't think any side has come back from that far with such little time left and I don't think any side will. It was also remembered for the Cavern incident which isn't great but memorable and the trying to drill the ball into that guy Williams behind the goal. I also think Plugger may have got upset with a few spectators as he left the ground that day. Probably the worst mood Ive seen Plugger play in and that's saying something.

Yep, I am ashamed to say that I didn't go up to Sydney for that one. I was watching it on TV and we were 39 points down at 3/4 time. When the Swines kicked the first goal of the last quarter we were 8 goals down and I switched the TV off and walked away in disgust. Little did I know ...
I turned the TV back on nearly half an hour later to see if we had made the scoreboard look respectable, just in time to see Lockett take his last mark of the game beating two players in a contested marking situation, one if the players being Derek Kickett. Then I saw him spear the goal at Kenny and the rest of the old timers behind the goals there, and pumping his fists at the crowd, while one of the commentators was laughing and saying 'they're going to win this by a point!'
I saw the score on the tele and had to rub my eyes in disbelief. Then I saw Stan go ballistic in the box and Danny Frawley was in the centre (I think).
Needless to say I made sure I was at the SCG in 2005.
In terms of sheer onfield drama, the other H&A games which come close to that are the "Nicky Winmar" win at Vic Park and beating Essendon in "the Animals Match" at Moorabbin in 78. I was there for both of those so can remember the atmosphere pretty well.

ripplug66 wrote:
samuraisaint wrote:I was at that game Enrico - and remember the whole place going beserk when Lockett kicked what was the winner. Special game, especially as it was Carlton, a side we had beaten only 18 times in 120 games up until that point.

It has been mentioned. I too was at both games. Rate the Carlton game better but I can honestly say Plugger won both games for us. I'm pretty sure Plugger kicked 2 goals every quarter against the dogs and his hundredth was the winning goal. Still have the swans win ahead of them all as were something like 49 points down with less than 11 minutes on the clock. I don't think any side has come back from that far with such little time left and I don't think any side will. It was also remembered for the Cavern incident which isn't great but memorable and the trying to drill the ball into that guy Williams behind the goal. I also think Plugger may have got upset with a few spectators as he left the ground that day. Probably the worst mood Ive seen Plugger play in and that's saying something.
not meaning to be pedantic but I remember that the hundred and first was the winning goal.

ripplug66

samuraisaint wrote:
ripplug66 wrote:

not meaning to be pedantic but I remember that the hundred and first was the winning goal.
How can the first be the winning goal when he kicked 8 or do you mean the first was the hundredth? Looked it up and it was his 7th for the hundred and the 8th won us the game.

ripplug66 wrote:
samuraisaint wrote:
ripplug66 wrote:

How can the first be the winning goal when he kicked 8 or do you mean the first was the hundredth? Looked it up and it was his 7th for the hundred and the 8th won us the game.
He meant Plugger's 8th, or his 101st (hundred and first) for the year .

Enrico_Misso wrote:Anyone who was at THE 1989 Carlton game will tell you it not only has to be in there, but needs to be in the number 1 spot.

I'd have to agree, Enrico. Just watched the last quarter again on YouTube.

I'm still astonished all these years later that Lockett didn't get the three Brownlow votes. They went to little Brett Bowey who played a handy game, but hardly spectacular or match-winning.

I mean 10.7 on the fullback of the century, including the match-winner with 40 seconds to go. What were the umpires thinking?

It was the definitive best afield FFS. You can't get more best on ground than that. Extraordinary stuff.

ripplug66

ripplug66 wrote:
samuraisaint wrote:
ripplug66 wrote:

He meant Plugger's 8th, or his 101st (hundred and first) for the year .

Now I get it. Not used to people writing like that and as I cant read it makes it hard to understand. I am undertaking my first English course this year so I can comprehend English. That's the problem when you have only learnt a bit of English since I came over here from Norway.

ripplug66

Enrico_Misso wrote:Anyone who was at THE 1989 Carlton game will tell you it not only has to be in there, but needs to be in the number 1 spot.

I'm still astonished all these years later that Lockett didn't get the three Brownlow votes. They went to little Brett Bowey who played a handy game, but hardly spectacular or match-winning.

I mean 10.7 on the fullback of the century, including the match-winner with 40 seconds to go. What were the umpires thinking?

It was the definitive best afield FFS. You can't get more best on ground than that. Extraordinary stuff.

Bob Pratt didn't even win his clubs best and fairest when he kicked 150 goals in a year. Also I'm unsure the umpires knew Silvagni was FB of the century back then. Maybe the umpires thought he missed to many to get BOG.

ripplug66 wrote:

Bob Pratt didn't even win his clubs best and fairest when he kicked 150 goals in a year. Also I'm unsure the umpires knew Silvagni was FB of the century back then. Maybe the umpires thought he missed to many to get BOG.
Maybe the umpires were just plain stupid. I was there, I'll go with stupid. And that's being generous.

ripplug66 wrote:

Its a bit like saying Plugger was too fat and has no defensive side to his game to play modern footy.
It all comes down to opinion

aaron82 wrote: 1999 Rd 10 - 18.10.118 vs Cats 16.12.108 - caught the train down with the old man. Spider kicks 9.6 in a huge come from behind win. The ugly flog Hocking takes out an unsuspecting Harves at a ball up. It seems to inspire us as we kick a few into a strong wind in the last term to win. Tim Watson best win as coach for sure.
Sure about Spider kicking nine that day? I thought that was another Kardinia Park game?

aaron82

I stand corrected, it was 2000 he kicked 9. I was at that game but certainly didn't realise it was 2000. The 1999 game Ben Walton and I think trianidis had big last qtrs. We were a long way down and it was a super win