We Must Now Sack Jake Carlisle

Re: We Must Now Sack Jake Carlisle

We must NEVER EVER forget or forgive the Essendon football club.

Re: We Must Respond To The Carlisle Allegations Now

philtee wrote:Please please please let there be a morals clause in the contract that lets us get out of this now, TODAY.
For past behaviour, current behaviour, future behaviour.
St Kilda has been served a turd sandwich by JC, his manager, and EFC; and Hawthorn has dodged a bullet
which would have torn up their family club credentials, on top of the other current Hawks-related allegations

Well said. Hit the nail on the head.

I think it'll be a 6 week suspension and a $10,000 fine. Move on.

damienc wrote:We must NEVER EVER forget or forgive the Essendon football club.
I concur. Scumbag, cheating footy club. Shouldn't trade with them for a very long time.

Life Long Saint wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
gringo wrote:It sounds like on SEN most expect he gets a lengthy ban during the season.
for what?
Have to agree with that.
It's not a good look but he is changing clubs and I think a fine will be imposed on him. But it is ludicrous for the new club to impose a suspension on him as he is not a listed St Kilda player. The league would be keen for his new club to clean up his image and turn this into a redemption story. At the same time painting the picture of the poor culture of the Essendon Football Club.
I think James Hird should quietly leave the country. He has no credibility left and is totally responsible for the culture at Essendon.

Yeah Essendon are the one's that look like arse picks in all of this. Carlisle will play at StKilda and will be great asset to us going forward. Is Essendon going to try and smear the image of every player that wants to leave there.

CURLY wrote:Yeah Essendon are the one's that look like arse picks in all of this. Carlisle will play at StKilda and will be great asset to us going forward. Is Essendon going to try and smear the image of every player that wants to leave there.
Yeah, I still find it pretty amazing that video came out the day the trade was complete. Pretty good mates whoever threw him under the bus. Mind you, if you're going to smash the rack probably best not to film yourself. :(

CURLY wrote:Yeah Essendon are the one's that look like arse picks in all of this. Carlisle will play at StKilda and will be great asset to us going forward. Is Essendon going to try and smear the image of every player that wants to leave there.
Yeah, good luck to the young kids that they draft. I wonder how much footage of other players they have? And were there other players present when Jake crossed the line?

Wonder if Jake will bring his mate a present from his trip over seas. He must be so happy he has such great mates.

He is still a nong

Re: We Must Respond To The Carlisle Allegations Now

damienc wrote:
I think you will find that the statement was written by Jake's manager and not the football club. They (as in he and Jake) are both hoping that all will be forgiven and we can move on and forget this ever happened. They are dreaming. He is gone IMO.
How will you cope if he stays?

philtee

JC news story is still up at saints.com.au. That would indicate he's staying.

philtee wrote:JC news story is still up at saints.com.au. That would indicate he's staying.
As would this...
The St Kilda Football Club is incredibly disappointed in Jake Carlisle and this behaviour is not acceptable.

Our Board, players and staff are united in the direction we are going and we will not allow this progress to be undermined.

Jake has signed a contract with the St Kilda Football Club but he is aware that he is now on notice and behaviour of this type will not be tolerated.

Every player on our list has an obligation to live up to our values and to commit themselves to delivering to their best ability, on and off the field.

But Jake will start at our club next month with an added obligation to prove that he will live within those values in order to fulfil his potential with St Kilda.

- St Kilda CEO Matt Finnis

If we can't reverse the deal we should seriously consider sacking this piece of scum.

Does any StKilda supporter seriously want this drug infested piece of low life representing our club?
Sacking this brainless @rsehole would make a strong statement.

Enrico_Misso wrote:If we can't reverse the deal we should seriously consider sacking this piece of scum.

Does any StKilda supporter seriously want this drug infested piece of low life representing our club?
Sacking this brainless @rsehole would make a strong statement.
Is this a piss take??

He'll lose us far more in sponsorship than his salary.

A fresh start for Jake away from the Essendon druggie culture is obviously going to be good for the kid. This storm will blow over in a couple of days and we have on our list a rueful and talented player who will want to make amends.

bigcarl wrote:A fresh start for Jake away from the Essendon druggie culture is obviously going to be good for the kid. This storm will blow over in a couple of days and we have on our list a rueful and talented player who will want to make amends.
That is the only approach that works. We know the risk in dealing with that putrid club. Thankfully for Jake, he has escaped the drug culture and can now rehabilitate himself in a wholesome environment. It's like saving puppies from puppy farms.

There's no grounds to suspend or fine Carlisle. The illicit drug policy is collectively bargained. His punishment will be a severe finger-wagging and some mandatory counselling. He'll cop some extra abuse from the outer. That's it. Assuming he's fit, he'll play round one.

In the meantime, I assume the usual talking heads will have kittens over the fact he isn't being punished harder. For the children, or something.

Maybe Fisher can sit down with him and have a heart to heart. From all the stories it sounds like Chips has had similar issues. Some sage advice from a good backman looking back on his career with regrets about not getting the best out of himself in the short time you play AFL might get through to him.

Focus on the footy for the next 10 years and you can retire a legendary premiership player, have a full bank account and THEN go full Scarface if you want

I think the club has made a serious mistake in keeping Carlisle. The wrong message has been sent IMO.

Saint wagga

Drug use in the off season would be so rife amongst AFL players it isn't even funny. Why anyone in their right F******* mind would ever take a photo let alone record doing it is just completely beyond me! Suggesting Carlisle using drugs in the offseason because he's from the bombers and they have a far worse drug culture than any other club is ignoring the greater problem of drug use by AFL players, and my opinion is, it's a load of garbage that they are any worse than any other club. Carlisle must be F****** retarded (quoting Lleyton Hewitt from hius early days), and it appears we haven't recruited a future rhodes scholar, but if we can bring him into the fold and turn him into less of a drongo, then it'll look good. Plus the guy can serioulsy play and as soon as he gets out on the park and puts in some good performaces, all will be forgotten as long as he can stay out of the backpages for the wrong reasons!!

Saint wagga

Bluthy wrote:Maybe Fisher can sit down with him and have a heart to heart. From all the stories it sounds like Chips has had similar issues. Some sage advice from a good backman looking back on his career with regrets about not getting the best out of himself in the short time you play AFL might get through to him.

Focus on the footy for the next 10 years and you can retire a legendary premiership player, have a full bank account and THEN go full Scarface if you want
I think Chips certainly got the best out of himself as a player. Gun defender. 2 x B and F in gun teams. Couldnt' have done much more. some people are the way they are, you have to take the good with some bad. Try to minimise the bad and maxmise the good. I don't think i'd be getting chips to give anyone 'life' advice. 'Footy' advise 100%, but leave the life coaching to someone like Alan 'cleanskin' Richardson or give Lenny a call ;-)

ripplug66

Re: We Must Act And Act Fast

suss wrote:
ripplug66 wrote:If its cocaine we know we have a user. He must not be sacked unless we find out all our other drug users and sack them. We do need to find out if he has a brain though. That is looking doubtful based on sending that video to a mate. Its funny though I told my daughter who knows a few AFL guys and she said it is something at least one of them would do. Players are recruited for their brains.
I like your logic. I'm sure it will go down well with the sponsors.

So sacking him will solve everything? Emotive I reckon if its a one off.

Re: We Must Act And Act Fast

ripplug66 wrote:
suss wrote:
ripplug66 wrote:If its cocaine we know we have a user. He must not be sacked unless we find out all our other drug users and sack them. We do need to find out if he has a brain though. That is looking doubtful based on sending that video to a mate. Its funny though I told my daughter who knows a few AFL guys and she said it is something at least one of them would do. Players are recruited for their brains.
I like your logic. I'm sure it will go down well with the sponsors.

So sacking him will solve everything? Emotive I reckon if its a one off.
Sacking him would mean that we traded our #5 pick so that Carlton get a KPD.

Tom_Sainter

It is incredible this comes out the night he is traded. What's the chances someone at Essendon has something to do with this? Any logical person should see this as it happening on essendons watch really. Had this video come out 24 hours earlier he wouldn't be a st kilda player. Can't see any benefits in sacking him now, only way to spin this is to show how he can grow as a person as a st kilda player and in turn show how poorly he was managed at that drug f*cked club