Holmes to debut?

Re: Holmes to debut?

The beginning of the Holmes era of AFL. Three premierships, one brownlow, six AAs! Retires at 34 a future HOF!
Begins a trend of American college stars coming over - none ever as good, but three later earn medals amongst st kilda's 17 premierships between now and 2050.
A must watch game!

Dr Spaceman wrote:It would be symbolism if we played Don Lane.

However this guy has been in the system for 2 years and is already playing the game to a very good standard.

Uplifting, good feel selection for the end of the season. Yep. Symbolism, no.

* Actually if we selected Don Lane it would be a token gesture for both Americans and for dead people Image
Don Lane was pretty tall, even taller standing on a glass coffee table.

howlinwolf

What's the chance of the club having Jason in the social club post match ?
It's a laid down mesere surely !
Should be done and should be publiscised by the club.
Give people more reasons to come to the footy !
Make it happen Saints.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

Enrico_Misso wrote:

However this guy has been in the system for 2 years and is already playing the game to a very good standard.

* Actually if we selected Don Lane it would be a token gesture for both Americans and for dead people Image
Too much information. And an image I can do without :shock: 8-)

Strange photo used by the Sun.

HitTheBoundary wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:

"I love your faeces"

Jason was on The Run Home this evening
http://www.sen.com.au/AUDIO

scroll down

Trixilver

desertsaint wrote:The beginning of the Holmes era of AFL. Three premierships, one brownlow, six AAs! Retires at 34 a future HOF!
Begins a trend of American college stars coming over - none ever as good, but three later earn medals amongst st kilda's 17 premierships between now and 2050.
A must watch game!

I hope he gets a 2nd game. His parents aren't going to make it this week but will be here for the Sydney game.

kosifantutti wrote:I hope he gets a 2nd game. His parents aren't going to make it this week but will be here for the Sydney game.
That's a pity they'll miss the first one. I'm sure he will get a second injury permitting.

No all we need is cheap hot dogs of Saturday night at Etihad to celebrate!

i hope he friggin blitzes it and has a blinder

been waiting to see him get a go

If I was the Geelong coach, I'd be firing up their ruckmen with disgust that some blow-in can waltz in and quickly pick up what they've been perfecting since they were kids.

Hope Holmes is prepared for the rough stuff, the melees, the dog acts, etc.

What's more, I hope his teammates are prepared to defend him and go into bat for him when he's being targeted by feral cats. Lots of youth in that Saints side, its imperative they aren't bullied.

Go Saints!

have a look at the bloke .... and look at the Cats players ...I reckon Holmes wouldn't give two hoots what a bunch of hillbilly rednecks have to say about him .. he spent time in the US college system I reckon he has had wittier sledges come his way then the stuff the geelong inbreds could come up with

Not thinking of sledges, more physical stuff. He is tall but is young and seems mild mannered, could be intimidated faced with the aggression of some snarlng bogan.

Hopefully he'd just laugh and play his game.

Austinnn wrote:Not thinking of sledges, more physical stuff. He is tall but is young and seems mild mannered, could be intimidated faced with the aggression of some snarlng bogan.

Hopefully he'd just laugh and play his game.
I don't reckon physicality will be an issue ... hes up against Vardy not Sandi or Goldstein

the dome

H o l m e s

'Oh star star spangled banner' .....
Great to see Jason have his opportunity. Look forward to seeing Jason on the big stage. I've enjoyed his story so far and keeping my fingers crossed.

G o F o r I t J a s o n. Have a great game and hope this is just the beginning. :D

saintbrat wrote:http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/s ... 7490508389
Holmes would become the first US-born player to reach the top level of AFL, following the footsteps of Canadian Mike Pyke at Sydney.

“He’s very close. He’s right in the mix,” Richardson said.

“ (Tom) Hickey came back in and was pretty positive for us. Billy (Longer) has been good for us all year but looked like he’s tiring a bit so we’ve got a decision to make.”
Herald Sun get it wrong again - Sanford (Matthew) Wheeler who played for the Sydney Swans in the early 90s was the first US-born player to play in the AFL

Saints.com.au are a little more accurate as they say Holmes is the first AFL player born and raised in the US - Wheeler moved to Oz with his family when he was 5

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sanford_Wheeler

Devilhead wrote:
Holmes would become the first US-born player to reach the top level of AFL, following the footsteps of Canadian Mike Pyke at Sydney.

“ (Tom) Hickey came back in and was pretty positive for us. Billy (Longer) has been good for us all year but looked like he’s tiring a bit so we’ve got a decision to make.”
Herald Sun get it wrong again - Sanford (Matthew) Wheeler who played for the Sydney Swans in the early 90s was the first US-born player to play in the AFL

Saints.com.au are a little more accurate as they say Holmes is the first AFL player born and raised in the US - Wheeler moved to Oz with his family when he was 5

You must have missed the link detailing thIs on page one....

Devilhead wrote:

Surely Don Pyke beat them both.

Austinnn wrote:If I was the Geelong coach, I'd be firing up their ruckmen with disgust that some blow-in can waltz in and quickly pick up what they've been perfecting since they were kids.

What's more, I hope his teammates are prepared to defend him and go into bat for him when he's being targeted by feral cats. Lots of youth in that Saints side, its imperative they aren't bullied.

Go Saints!

Two words: Bull Murdoch.

HitTheBoundary wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:

I remember those Brighton parties. Strange dude indeed.

Austinnn wrote:If I was the Geelong coach, I'd be firing up their ruckmen with disgust that some blow-in can waltz in and quickly pick up what they've been perfecting since they were kids.

Go Saints!
If I was Geelong I would cotton wool Vardy. A big cumbersome import with unpredictable movement patterns could play havoc with his knee. Big Billy Longer is usually the main remonstrator these days. He loves someone sniping so he can run over and cause some trouble. It might be left to Mav who also likes a little bit of a punch on.

desertsaint wrote:The beginning of the Holmes era of AFL. Three premierships, one brownlow, six AAs! Retires at 34 a future HOF!
A must watch game!
Love it!

ill get on that train 8-) 8-)

Only two touches but pretty impressive in the ruck. Has a lot of work to do but I wouldn't bet against him doing it!