Round 22 Adam Goodes

Re: Round 22 Adam Goodes

why do so many people insist on telling other people what should be. put all the whingers together in a stadium and it would sound like a giant booooo! which is exactly what it is.

Jacks Back wrote:I'll preface this by saying I am late to this thread and therefore have not had a chance to read it all so apologies if this has been listed before but here goes.

Time Line:
Australian of the Year - 26/01/2014
13yo girl (face of racism) - 24/05/2013 (Round 9 v Collingwood)
Round 7 v Hawks 11/05/2013 (2 week prior to Collingwood game) 2 minutes in
Round 5 2012 v Hawks (first 2 minutes I've watched with two goals to Goodes but also booing by the crowd)

It appears this booing started in at least 2012 and possibly by the Hawks fans (although I'm not sure of that). Having said that the booing started well before the racism remark by the 13 yo girl and also well before the Aussie of the year award. It appears that the pointing out of the 13 yo girl as the face of racism sent the booing over the edge to then occur by most team's supporters (which would make it racist) however there was booing well prior to this incident.

A very complex issue!

Interesting. you are right, and whilst the second clip shows Adam at his best, the first clip shows Adam at his worst and gives some credibility to certain arguments.

A very complex issue indeed, which unfortunately has been hijacked by the extremists, both left and right for their own ends. It has created a field day for flogs to pontificate and lecture to the general populace.
Finey said he went over hours of tapes and games and social media and his theory is that it came to a head with hawthorn and WC because they and the swans have recent GF history, and goodes has been seen as a damaging, strutting, dirty player, and as he is still a potentially damaging player and also now a forward (less time/chance to boo mids and backs) there's more opportunity to boo him.

I think if booing him is so blatantly racist then anyone who does it should obviously be kicked out. Simple.

But how would people feel if goodes is booed by a couple of thousand idiots at our game, and all saints fans, them included, are publicly branded as racist?

It's a complex issue being painted (badly) as a simple one so it can be dealt with simply and quickly... but if this doesn't work the afl will be up shyte creek.

Hopefully it works, but if it does and in years to come they try paint this as goodes' winmar moment I will just about spew up.

Austinnn wrote:It's interesting how the Booers seem to be angry or upset with the 'chattering classes' (as Johnnie Howard used to call some of us.)

Just put aside your opinion on the issue and actually consider why things panned out this way, and how anyone could have hoped for a different outcome.

I suppose I'm a fully paid up member of the chattering class, whatever the hell that means. So here's a message to the pro-boo faction, and its not a challenge or an insult:

I'll give you guys a red hot tip: your beef isn't with us. It's with the legion amongst you who have spoilt all your fun. I agree that you should be able to boo players you don't like, within limits of decency of course.

But because a pack of throwbacks have hidden amongst you and used you as cover for them to release what has been openly frowned on for years now, now you are accused of being something you are not, and you may not even be free to enjoy your footy the way you like.

Thanks to them, not us.

Just like the number one enemy of moderate Muslims is Islamic terrorists, your number one enemy should be the racists who've swallowed you up and made you monsters like them in the eyes of the rest of us.
You're as bad as the racists on that logic
So some rednecks boo we all have to stop cause we're all redneck ??
Great logic
Stick to knitting I think

Austinnn wrote:It's interesting how the Booers seem to be angry or upset with the 'chattering classes' (as Johnnie Howard used to call some of us.)

Just put aside your opinion on the issue and actually consider why things panned out this way, and how anyone could have hoped for a different outcome.

I suppose I'm a fully paid up member of the chattering class, whatever the hell that means. So here's a message to the pro-boo faction, and its not a challenge or an insult:

I'll give you guys a red hot tip: your beef isn't with us. It's with the legion amongst you who have spoilt all your fun. I agree that you should be able to boo players you don't like, within limits of decency of course.

But because a pack of throwbacks have hidden amongst you and used you as cover for them to release what has been openly frowned on for years now, now you are accused of being something you are not, and you may not even be free to enjoy your footy the way you like.

Thanks to them, not us.

Just like the number one enemy of moderate Muslims is Islamic terrorists, your number one enemy should be the racists who've swallowed you up and made you monsters like them in the eyes of the rest of us.
You're as bad as the racists on that logic
So some rednecks boo we all have to stop cause we're all redneck ??
Great logic
Stick to knitting I think
Yes, and according to that logic it's also reasonable to blame all Muslims for Islamist terrorism.

bigcarlosis

THE SERMON AT THE "G"!

Scratch the surface of many a so called footy "racist" and you probably find
memories of this day at the MCG!
To them this was the day Goodes showed his unsuitability as a spokesman for "anything"
other than how to kick a football. An immature man hopelessly out of his depth.
They will tell you this was the day Goodes finally choked on his own halo and booked
himself a permanent seat on the karma bus!

citywest

bigcarlosis wrote:Image

THE SERMON AT THE "G"!

Scratch the surface of many a so called footy "racist" and you probably find
memories of this day at the MCG!
To them this was the day Goodes showed his unsuitability as a spokesman for "anything"
other than how to kick a football. An immature man hopelessly out of his depth.
They will tell you this was the day Goodes finally choked on his own halo and booked
himself a permanent seat on the karma bus!
Post of the year!!!!!

mullet wrote:
Austinnn wrote:Seems to be a generational thing. A lot of the old farts on here seem to be the ones who want to boo. Different world back then I guess. Let's hope their descendants have more decency.
be careful about putting people into boxes. That is what this whole thread is about. Rash generalisations.
what constitutes being an "old fart"

Someone old who farts a lot.
or.... is it a really horrible smell as in an old fart but you can still smell it. does one indeed have to be old in age to be an old fart

facinating

IanRush

Round 3 2001, Swnas orchestrated Boo a Roo campaign against North Melbourne

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/b ... -scg.5223/

I have just read the Sydney hearld - Sun this morning and it seems that the negative attitude of the Sydney Swans Football Club and supporter is going to continue.

The basis of the article is the roos have given up home status and have been given $170,000. They are trying to attracted people to go tot he game before they taken most swans supporters won't show up because its a North home game

Any north fans going into the game in Round 3 expect anothet tough time

Paul

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

Looks like the booing of Adam Goodes will have a positive outcome. If anything it's brought the racism issue to the forefront of everyone's thinking. It will cause positive change.

magnifisaint wrote:Looks like the booing of Adam Goodes will have a positive outcome. If anything it's brought the racism issue to the forefront of everyone's thinking. It will cause positive change.
Yeah, just like princess Diana's death highlighted the behaviour of the paparazzi.

Jacks Back wrote:I'll preface this by saying I am late to this thread and therefore have not had a chance to read it all so apologies if this has been listed before but here goes.

Time Line:
Australian of the Year - 26/01/2014
13yo girl (face of racism) - 24/05/2013 (Round 9 v Collingwood)
Round 7 v Hawks 11/05/2013 (2 week prior to Collingwood game) 2 minutes in
Round 5 2012 v Hawks (first 2 minutes I've watched with two goals to Goodes but also booing by the crowd)

It appears this booing started in at least 2012 and possibly by the Hawks fans (although I'm not sure of that). Having said that the booing started well before the racism remark by the 13 yo girl and also well before the Aussie of the year award. It appears that the pointing out of the 13 yo girl as the face of racism sent the booing over the edge to then occur by most team's supporters (which would make it racist) however there was booing well prior to this incident.

A very complex issue!

Interesting. you are right, and whilst the second clip shows Adam at his best, the first clip shows Adam at his worst and gives some credibility to certain arguments.

A very complex issue indeed, which unfortunately has been hijacked by the extremists, both left and right for their own ends. It has created a field day for flogs to pontificate and lecture to the general populace.
Good work to JacksBack for that research but are we talking about the incident with Gibson in the 3rd quarter?
You have to be kidding me right? That wasnt even close to dirty and was a 50:50. He was clearly involved in the contest. Mitchell has been doing much worse off the ball. Surely Goodes isnt being booed 3 years on from that? Gibson wasnt even injured.

Looking forward to The Age publishing six page supplements on Jason Akermanis and Stephen Milne.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Looking forward to The Age publishing six page supplements on Jason Akermanis and Stephen Milne.
Gold.

They're doing some silly standbyGoodes campaign on The Age tomorrow.

I guess it will get the jollies up for the pro-Goodes brigade and the non football followers who will use the pro-Goodes campaign as both an anti-racist vehicle as well as anti-footy in general

stjay

Comparing Milne to Goodes? Really???
He was accused of rape!
If you can't discern the difference between these two what hope do you have of working through the issue and coming to the right answer?

stjay wrote:Comparing Milne to Goodes? Really???
He was accused of rape!
If you can't discern the difference between these two what hope do you have of working through the issue and coming to the right answer?
Alas stjay, in some people's eyes, being black and uppity is akin to rape - the rape of white man's privilege to do whatever to whoever he pleases.

Here is some of the Swans President's address today:

"Some find his message and actions confronting. But the issue of racism is so deep-seated nothing short of confronting can change the tide of generations of prejudice," Pridham said.

"Some disgraceful media commentary from people of some profile, either seeking ratings or relevance, have taken the contrary view for its sake, even if the contrary argument is hopelessly outdated and flawed. These people claiming it's Adam's fault, he needs to change his behaviours … it's akin to blaming a victim of rape for the way they dress, walk, talk. It is totally unacceptable.

"Some say it's political correctness gone mad. It's not political correctness, it's just correctness, it's just decency. The handful of media commentators and high profile sportsmen who have used these arguments are so hopelessly out of step with today's community standards it's frightening. History will judge them very harshly if they are remembered at all."

Pridham used the example of Rosa Parks, who refused to stand for a white person on a bus in Alabama in 1955, helping spark the US civil rights movement.

"The media of the day claimed it was her own fault, that she was divisive, she was uppity, she was refusing to conform to the good ways of society. Does this sound familiar? It does to me."

He then dismissed the argument that the booing of Goodes was not racially-motivated as other footballers were jeered at times.

"This is extraordinary logic. It is unfathomable," he said. "Adam Goodes has been booed relentlessly because he is Aboriginal and because he's had the courage to stand and speak about matters close to his heart.

"The Swans position on this matter is very clear: you cannot be a little bit racist. If you boo Adam Goodes you unequivocally know this behaviour is hurtful and discriminatory. There is no excuse. None.

"Paying $30 to come to a game of football does not give somebody the right to humiliate, to taunt, to bully, to racially vilify anybody and we will not accept it and the game will not accept it.

"Adam and the Sydney Swans have not sought to be in the middle of this maelstrom of public debate. Regardless, we embrace the opportunity to assist in defining the issue and to challenge outdated views and hopefully to educate. Hopefully this whole distressing saga is educating millions of people to think about the issues of racism and bullying and to re-consider their thinking and their actions.

"We all now need to move forward, we need to learn from these events, to be a better game and to be a better nation. I'm confident that we'll come out better, stronger and more compassionate."

http://www.smh.com.au/afl/sydney-swans/ ... z3hYFG4Gwj

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

perfectionist wrote:
stjay wrote:Comparing Milne to Goodes? Really???
He was accused of rape!
Alas stjay, in some people's eyes, being black and uppity is akin to rape - the rape of white man's privilege to do whatever to whoever he pleases.

Here is some of the Swans President's address today:

"Some find his message and actions confronting. But the issue of racism is so deep-seated nothing short of confronting can change the tide of generations of prejudice," Pridham said.

"Some disgraceful media commentary from people of some profile, either seeking ratings or relevance, have taken the contrary view for its sake, even if the contrary argument is hopelessly outdated and flawed. These people claiming it's Adam's fault, he needs to change his behaviours … it's akin to blaming a victim of rape for the way they dress, walk, talk. It is totally unacceptable.

"Some say it's political correctness gone mad. It's not political correctness, it's just correctness, it's just decency. The handful of media commentators and high profile sportsmen who have used these arguments are so hopelessly out of step with today's community standards it's frightening. History will judge them very harshly if they are remembered at all."

Pridham used the example of Rosa Parks, who refused to stand for a white person on a bus in Alabama in 1955, helping spark the US civil rights movement.

"The media of the day claimed it was her own fault, that she was divisive, she was uppity, she was refusing to conform to the good ways of society. Does this sound familiar? It does to me."

He then dismissed the argument that the booing of Goodes was not racially-motivated as other footballers were jeered at times.

"This is extraordinary logic. It is unfathomable," he said. "Adam Goodes has been booed relentlessly because he is Aboriginal and because he's had the courage to stand and speak about matters close to his heart.

"The Swans position on this matter is very clear: you cannot be a little bit racist. If you boo Adam Goodes you unequivocally know this behaviour is hurtful and discriminatory. There is no excuse. None.

"Paying $30 to come to a game of football does not give somebody the right to humiliate, to taunt, to bully, to racially vilify anybody and we will not accept it and the game will not accept it.

"Adam and the Sydney Swans have not sought to be in the middle of this maelstrom of public debate. Regardless, we embrace the opportunity to assist in defining the issue and to challenge outdated views and hopefully to educate. Hopefully this whole distressing saga is educating millions of people to think about the issues of racism and bullying and to re-consider their thinking and their actions.

"We all now need to move forward, we need to learn from these events, to be a better game and to be a better nation. I'm confident that we'll come out better, stronger and more compassionate."

http://www.smh.com.au/afl/sydney-swans/ ... z3hYFG4Gwj
Yes.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

To all those people who reckon they are 'good blokes' and have decided Goodes is a 'bad bloke' what makes you think you are a such a great judge of character? You keep whinging about the thought police. Who the f*ck made you the 'good bloke' police? What makes you so sure of your unassailable 'good blokedness' anyway? Do you have a certificate or something? Some kind of accreditation?

Con Gorozidis wrote:To all those people who reckon they are 'good blokes' and have decided Goodes is a 'bad bloke' what makes you think you are a such a great judge of character? You keep whinging about the thought police. Who the f*ck made you the 'good bloke' police? What makes you so sure of your unassailable 'good blokedness' anyway? Do you have a certificate or something? Some kind of accreditation?
I have endeavored to find a clear view of this-- but I still have an emotional reaction to a war dance directed at football fans with spear throwing- when flipping the bird in the same direction would get a 'please explain'

But this type of explanation will not clarify it for me
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/sydney-swa ... 801-gipfep

The worst excuse is the 13 year old girl one..
The girl repeatedly called him an ape. 13 year olds are fully aware of what racism is, and are fully aware not to call aboriginals apes..

Now, I agree with Goodes, most of the responsibility lies with the parents, and the adults around her... what Goodes said in the interview was spot on... and he DID NOT PUT THE BLAME ON THE GIRL

people keep using this quote:
"Racism had a face...and it was a 13-year-old girl"
without quoting the next sentences...
“To be able to make a stand myself and say ‘racism has a face’ last night and, you know, it was a 13-year-old girl but it’s not her fault. She's 13, she's still so innocent, I don’t put any blame on her. Unfortunately it’s what she hears, the environment she’s grown up in that has made her think it’s okay to call people names. I can guarantee you right now she would have no idea, you know, how it makes anyone feel by calling them an ape … But I think the person that needs the most support is the little girl, you know. People need to get around her, she's 13, she’s uneducated.”

he also said later
"I've had fantastic support over the past 24 hours,' Goodes said.
'I just hope that people give the 13-year-old girl the same sort of support because she needs it, her family needs it, and the people around them need it.
'It's not a witch-hunt, I don't want people to go after this young girl.
'We've just got to help educate society better so it doesn't happen again.'

Now, for the mother of this girl to be still moaning about Goodes, and asking him to apolgise.. is unbelievable
And for people to justify boo-ing Goodes due to this incident.. well what a joke

saintbrat wrote: I have endeavored to find a clear view of this-- but I still have an emotional reaction to a war dance directed at football fans with spear throwing- when flipping the bird in the same direction would get a 'please explain'
Then you need to get your head out of your arse and do a bit more research - something you are rather good at.

Hint: Motivation is the key.

Con Gorozidis wrote:To all those people who reckon they are 'good blokes' and have decided Goodes is a 'bad bloke' what makes you think you are a such a great judge of character? You keep whinging about the thought police. Who the f*ck made you the 'good bloke' police? What makes you so sure of your unassailable 'good blokedness' anyway? Do you have a certificate or something? Some kind of accreditation?
It's because we like Schneider. That makes us good people.

It's ok, we're saved... it's now a hashtag campaign.

#ivedonemybit

markp wrote:It's ok, we're saved... it's now a hashtag campaign.

#ivedonemybit
I'll donate my "make poverty history" wrist band and my "be alert not alarmed" fridge magnet.

Hope I'm doing this right!

Sorry almost forgot "be how I want to be".

SaintPav wrote:Image
Yes, but let's not bring facts into a good old fashioned racist campaign. "White" men and women never "agitate" for things that are important to them, at least in public - unless they buy a media outlet of course.