Patton

Die Hard 7

Patton

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-07-08/g ... -on-sunday

Back from Injury, does he appeal to us seeing as the Giants seem happy with Stewart, Cameron and McCarthy? Would we send out any feelers????
1. Whats he worth, when is he contracted till?
2. What are we willing to give up (risk vs reward)?
3. Do we need him, where does he fit in?

Re: Patton

I would def suss him out

Would be good to have a few options up forward

Can't see why he would come to us though

A lot of players would love to be a part of St. Kilda's second premiership. I think the reason Roo and Joey are having such an excellent second wind is that the hunger to win a premiership still burns. After all the near misses we have had we have to crack it one day, and the players who are in that team will go down in footy history.

Patton would be good. Lachie Whitfield would be great. Think we may have missed the boat with Rory Sloane now though. Don't think he will ever leave the Crows now, same with Dangerfield.

A lot of players would love to be a part of St. Kilda's second premiership. I think the reason Roo and Joey are having such an excellent second wind is that the hunger to win a premiership still burns. After all the near misses we have had we have to crack it one day, and the players who are in that team will go down in footy history.

Patton would be good. Lachie Whitfield would be great. Think we may have missed the boat with Rory Sloane now though. Don't think he will ever leave the Crows now, same with Dangerfield.

No. We need elite mids more.

Besides I prefer key forwards who are more mobile.

Knees are s.hit

We have Bruce and McCartin.

We need mids.

No

pass, we got 2 big fowards, none of them will want to play reserves so won't retain them all anyway.

Prefer Saving Private Ryan

If people want Patton they are saying that one of McCartin or Bruce aren't going to make it. I would suggest we need to think they will. Not interested at all. If we want players we will pay a fortune for then get an elite mid.

plugger66 wrote:If people want Patton they are saying that one of McCartin or Bruce aren't going to make it. I would suggest we need to think they will. Not interested at all. If we want players we will pay a fortune for then get an elite mid.
Spot on.

It's all about the mids. Turning down The Tractor for Paddy forces our hand for this year's draft. Thank god Armo stepped up this year and Joey is also in rare form!

Pass, forward line looks set going forward, we need a couple of KPDs and gun mids more.

Throw 750k/6 years at Treloar and take the best defender available with our second pick.

#gosaintas

Mids from now on - fwd line looks set

His knees are rooted.

Coulda, shoulda been a monster.

Someone will pay massive overs when GWS chuck him though.

His family were mad keen Saints.

No give it a ,miss, go for mids with speed & high kicking efficiency.

Mids for his price

Straight swap Patton for Carlisle I reckon.

Patton may not be the answer but we're hardly set for forwards

We've got a retiring Roo... 2 seasons they say

Bruce is set i'll grant you...

Then we have an unproven player in McCartin... That's it.

White looks unlikely

Lee is playing as a defender

Hickey cant crack into the team

Stanley is gone

Bruce, McCartin and Membrey as tall forwards with Lonie, Billings and Sinclair rotating forward/midfield. The forward like is our strength across the field.

Except McCartin hasn't made it and we have no one else

#33 ?

skeptic wrote:Except McCartin hasn't made it and we have no one else
A lot of our players haven't 'made it' however they are 'projected' to do so.

We also have Bruce AND Membrey, Paddy isn't the only one.

#gosaintas

skeptic wrote:Except McCartin hasn't made it and we have no one else

He looks a better bet than Patton and we already have him on our list.

By that logic why get new mids when we already have young unproven mids on the list

Membrey isn't a KPP, Bruce is on,y one player... I'm not dissing Paddy, but surely ppl have learnt by now not to put all our eggs in the one basket

skeptic wrote:By that logic why get new mids when we already have young unproven mids on the list

Membrey isn't a KPP, Bruce is on,y one player... I'm not dissing Paddy, but surely ppl have learnt by now not to put all our eggs in the one basket
But this is in the context of making a play for Patton who is himself largely unproven (IMO), who has had several significant injuries and who would cost us a lot to land.

Even if you think we could still use another key forward option, I'm not sure the General is the way we should go.

citywest

Die Hard 7 wrote:http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-07-08/g ... -on-sunday

Back from Injury, does he appeal to us seeing as the Giants seem happy with Stewart, Cameron and McCarthy? Would we send out any feelers????
1. Whats he worth, when is he contracted till?
2. What are we willing to give up (risk vs reward)?
3. Do we need him, where does he fit in?
No way. Mids, mids and more mids......simple as that.