There's mistakes but then it gets to being cheating.

Four frees that sum up the bias against us.

Geary's deliberate. How often does this rule get enforced let alone for a bloke on his guts in a desperation.

The push out free against Dempster. Really poor free with Dempster attacking the ball in the air and accidental contact made which happens at all contests. Remember we got none of these frees our way even though Bruce and Roo were blocked and held at every chance.

Lewis being blocked from being third man up. Joke no need to comment.

Armitage no free for in danger. Armo dives arms out a Hawk player boots it out of his arms. Twenty out from goal no free.

At one stage Dempster took a mark went to kick and a Hawk player ran in from the side and then umpire stopped play to not give 50 but to again set the mark.

15-3 with 6:34 left in the third just odd really.

Re: There's mistakes but then it gets to being cheating.

Either we are one of the worst teams in AFL history for giving away frees or those arsewipes are CHEATS.

I just wish the media would get stuck into those maggots so they'd give us a FAIR run FFS.

Just send them to bloody ISIS for a bit of "retraining" may do the trick.

Also why can Gibson put his hand on Bruces shoulder to hoist himself up every contest and no free kick?

Why can Rioli hold the arms of an opponent in a contest and no free

Can someone explain the blocking on the mark? Thought you couldn't block.

saint-stu

I generally hate umpire bashing and ignore it, but I would really like to know what's going on. Some really unfair calls today and over the past few weeks. It's really noticeable.

Are we really that sloppy?

1ac46a38

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Also why can Gibson put his hand on Bruces shoulder to hoist himself up every contest and no free kick?

It's all beyond logic Bunk, that's where you're getting confused.

It's beyond a joke. We have a fair dinkum admin and coach and we are doing everything right. Why the hell are the umps playing these dirty tricks on us? Why the grudge? It's plain wrong. There needs to be an inquiry.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Also why can Gibson put his hand on Bruces shoulder to hoist himself up every contest and no free kick?

Hawthorns blocking tactics today were a disgrace. Hale didn't even try to hit the ball, he scragged or blocked longer at every bounce.
there was also a lot of blocking on our guys going in to get the ball.

The one that got me the most was when the umpire 60 metres away paid a throw. It was in the last quarter. The free went to us, but the umpire so far
away had to pay it.

The umpires wrecked a good game of football

Insane umpiring. It was worse at the ground. The hawks held constantly. Bruce tackled before the ball arrived overtime without fail. Missed Hawks deliberate OOB. Was a bizarre one sided display. I took an international guest who was bemused. Longer got a punch in the guts and arms held for no free.

wolfpup

well i have calmed down now after the game, and really the umpiring whilst one sided in my mind didnt impact the end result by much.

but how many goals did they get from free kicks? i counted around 5.

-----------

St.Kilda Forever!

wolfpup wrote:well i have calmed down now after the game, and really the umpiring whilst one sided in my mind didnt impact the end result by much.

but how many goals did they get from free kicks? i counted around 5.
Not sure about goals but they had at least 5 shots. 3 within 20m.

The ridiculous lack of frees that should have been paid was bewildering. The Saints would get manhandles nothing, the Hawks could hold the ball, kick in danger, infringe in the ruck for no penalty. They would guess we infringed the other way

20-10 is just BS.
I mean you can say thats how the game was played. But week in week out we lose the free count - regardless of the actual game and week in week out sides like the Eagles win the free count regardless of the actual game.

Freebird

Don't forget roughhead taking 3 of our players (in good position to mark) out and they marking at back of pack in front of goal...roughhead not in good position had no choice, some would say good play but you can't do that or maybe they could.

When they pay a deliberate out of bounds call in the first ten minutes they set the tone for the whole game. They never paid it again. BS!
Last edited by samuraisaint on Sun 07 Jun 2015 10:58pm, edited 2 times in total.

Freebird wrote:

Don't forget roughhead taking 3 of our players (in good position to mark) out and they marking at back of pack in front of goal...roughhead not in good position had no choice, some would say good play but you can't do that or maybe they could.
Bruce would jump up for a mark and the defender would hold him around his waist so he could get up high enough. Blocking, pushes in the back to put them out of a contest etc. The hawks actually started doing more illegal tactics as the umpires seemed to give them licence. They must be on the take. I reckon someone had the hawks by 100 points.

linz

I agree, some of the frees given were petty and perplexing.
I hope it doesn't mean we need to do more acting lessons to win a game of football.
Duck your head and diving at the opportune time could mean the difference between winning and losing.
Bit sad really if that's the way the game is heading.

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.

samuraisaint wrote:When they pay a deliberate out of bounds call in the first ten minutes they set the tone for the whole game. They never paid it again. BS!
It was the most deliberate out of bounds I've ever seen.

Freebird

A couple of weeks back in the morning we played Westcoast they had the replay of a st kilda wc game on foxtel...we were slaughtered by the umps with number 1 (Donlon?) being the worst offender. I was yelling at the TV even though it was a replay. Then a couple of hours later I had to watch another group of turkeys screw us.
Are the AFL wanting us on the goldcoast/Tassie or are the umpires just like the general public and dislike us

kosifantutti wrote:
samuraisaint wrote:When they pay a deliberate out of bounds call in the first ten minutes they set the tone for the whole game. They never paid it again. BS!
It was the most deliberate out of bounds I've ever seen.
bulls***.

What really pissed me off was that at quarter time we had had enough of the play to be in front and must have been ahead in every key metric except one.
But instead we already found ourselves a few goals down due to inept? Umpiring decisions - the "soft frees in front of goal" metric.

linz wrote:I agree, some of the frees given were petty and perplexing.
I hope it doesn't mean we need to do more acting lessons to win a game of football.
Duck your head and diving at the opportune time could mean the difference between winning and losing.
Shenton bent to pick up the ball and a Hawks player dropped his knees into the front of his head and couldn't win a free but the Hawks dropped the knees and won frees after the AFL said they were getting rid of the rule. The kicking in danger must have ben taken out of the rules as they twice did very dangerous kicks out of the hands of our players including Jack Steven. It ruins the enjoyment for fans and adds nothing to the game. The umpiring is getting worse. I actually think I hate the whole AFL now. They are incompetent idiots with no focus or ability to run their competition. Is there a way an alternative ticket could get up and sack them all?

lennyhaze

Shenton bent to pick up the ball and a Hawks player dropped his knees into the front of his head and couldn't win a free but the Hawks dropped the knees and won frees after the AFL said they were getting rid of the rule. The kicking in danger must have ben taken out of the rules as they twice did very dangerous kicks out of the hands of our players including Jack Steven. It ruins the enjoyment for fans and adds nothing to the game. The umpiring is getting worse. I actually think I hate the whole AFL now. They are incompetent idiots with no focus or ability to run their competition. Is there a way an alternative ticket could get up and sack them all?

Weird person. Hate the afl? Got to laugh and there is this guy called curly who thinks the geary deliberate wasn't. Of course it was one of the most deliberates I have seen. Umpiring struggled today though

lennyhaze

Weird person. Hate the afl? Got to laugh and there is this guy called curly who thinks the geary deliberate wasn't. Of course it was one of the most deliberates I have seen. Umpiring struggled today though

lennyhaze wrote:

It was deliberate but so is jogging over the line with the ball or the other hundreds of times over the weekend blokes tap it over. The point is this one was paid from no where then all others ignored.

When we're a better team, we'll get a better run from the umps.

sainters4eva

There have been 3 or 4 games this year when the umps have given a series of free kicks close to goal,to the opposition,within a ten minute period and at a critical time in the game.This prompts the question as to whether our defensive skills are very bad under pressure or the umps are trying to give the other team an advantage.