saints v gws

Re: saints v gws

The good news...The 3 highest possession winners for us were Dunstan, Newnes and Webster.

Len dog - one year too many for the great man.
Gwilt - no longer AFL standard.
Dempster - no longer AFL standard
Schneider - no longer AFL standard
Geary - GOP
Armo - GOP
Ray - GOP

We can't finish any lower than bottom lets just play the kids.
Worked for GWS.

Horrible

Let's find some positives,hard I know

Dunstan will be our captain going into our next finals campaign, not going over the top to say he'll be a superstar just yet,but there is no doubt he will be a hard hitting midfield warrior for our club. I can't recall someone his age being so physically imposing,Riccuito probably the only exception?

Billings,didn't do much,but at least got a bit of clean ball late. Last week he looked off the pace

Longer shows glimpses in the ruck.

That's about all I got

Con Gorozidis wrote:Len dog - one year too many for the great man.
Geary - GOP
Armo - GOP
Ray - GOP

Worked for GWS.
GWS kids are better.............

not really thinking at the moment Con

andrewg

When is the draft?

Geary - GOP
Armo - GOP
Ray - GOP

Worked for GWS.
Terrible call on Dempster, first run, early on when he had legs he was a level above. Not far off on the others,Schneider just needs to put 6 weeks of footy together and he'll be ok for us

We had a few good players missing - the were full strength - they had 7 more scoring shots than us - it was a practice match - meh

Junior

Geary - GOP
Armo - GOP
Ray - GOP

Worked for GWS.
Con at the end of the season you may well be proven right but there is no one on this forum that goes as early as you. Certainly can't be called for making calls with the benefit of hindsight.

First run of the season for Hayes, Dempster and Schneider.

Terrible performance but we should not be surprised their kids are better than ours and most of our senior players were haing their first run.

A champion team will always beat a team of champions.

Devilhead wrote:We had a few good players missing...
The problem is BJ, Dal, Milney, Bally and Zac aren't coming back.

The only players currently on our list who will improve us are Steven, Fisher, maybe Roberton. Looking pretty close to full "strength" to me.

Devilhead wrote:We had a few good players missing - the were full strength - they had 7 more scoring shots than us - it was a practice match - meh
they were not full strength

Devilhead wrote:We had a few good players missing - the were full strength - they had 7 more scoring shots than us - it was a practice match - meh
If mwah = a light friendly kiss
Does meh = the kiss of death
???

BringBackMadDog wrote:The good news...The 3 highest possession winners for us were Dunstan, Newnes and Webster.
That and the centre square work was the positives. Ruckman worked hard against a very good ruckman. Longer will be a player and hickey will be a very good seconder.
Dunstan had 15 contested balls, sheesh not bad for a kid who hasn't played a game yet. Webster is a big find IMO
Only one ongoing injury concern is the lenny hammy

negatives
still beaten in clearances, lacking a class midfielder or two. Being killed in the spread, both from the contest and the rebound. This is two things IMO, one is the make up of the numbers at the ball meaning that there is heaps of space defensive end of the pack. Second the half forwards were lazy or did not come up to defend this space. If this game plan is to work, the half forwards need to work harder.

Skills, terrible use of the ball. Youngsters like dunstan, curren, savage etc. can be forgiven but the senior players are just not good enough anymore.
Jones, ray, meister, gwilt are all out of form or do not have the skills needed. Will need to be slowly replaced over the year.

Will be a long year if richo can't turn this around

How did the pricks end up with 7 super goals! If it weren't for super goals, it wouldn't have looked like so much of a thrashing.

joffaboy wrote:Lenny hamstring???
Yes

joffaboy wrote:Lenny hamstring???
Yes
OH, FFS! :(

So where does Hickey (the seconder) play when Longer is in the ruck?

BigMart wrote:So where does Hickey (the seconder) play when Longer is in the ruck?
At your place

BigMart wrote:So where does Hickey (the seconder) play when Longer is in the ruck?
It's one of many headaches we have. But perhaps it's a case of just allow both to play every game and learn on the job. Similar to playing young players who are not ready. Does not make sense if you want to win every game but could fast track them.

lefty

Geary - GOP
Armo - GOP
Ray - GOP

Worked for GWS.
Yeah, judge players on one game, a NAB game, and then claim x, y, z.

Maybe we'll go back and see where Carlton or Brisbane ended up after winning the NAB cup. Or maybe Freo has s*** players too loosing to WC by what, 100 points roughly?

I don't like getting belted but I know not to judge NAB games or players after one or two practice games, thought that was common sense...

There are two sides to every story .

One side is their kids are better than our kids and some of our old timers are past it.

The main side is they have a ridiculous amount of young talent.

They probably have 5 jack billings 5 Luke dunstan and 5 Blake acres plus 3 genuine power Fwds .

They are going to seriously rock the finals in two years or so ...

#gosaintas

You guys are pathetic. Saints are rebuilding and are a bottom 4 side. It's a praccy match.

Time for the cricket.

Footy starts in a few weeks.

Get a life you sooks

ralphsmith

7 super goals to Gws? What the hell!

I didn't see the game, but what the hell?

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

ralphsmith wrote:7 super goals to Gws? What the hell!

I didn't see the game, but what the hell?
Neither did I. Would be interesting to know how many of those came from giving away 50m penalties from outside of the 50m arc to put them in easy range.

We weren't too bad and there's a lot to like about GWS.

Freo got done by more than us last week. They are only practise games, and we all know we're in for a torrid year.

GWS will finish ahead of us this year, as they should, their kids have close to fifty games under their belt.

Saint 58

joffaboy wrote: true chook, the ones that I dont understand are like Saint58 who proclaims a winless season off one quarter of a practice match, or others claiming a certain wooden spoon.
Really really dumb infantile hysterics.
That quarter was a disgrace, like qtr one last week. And if they do that during the season we will lose many many games, but do you think we will be winless?
Hey that was 58Saint who said that not me !!
I ... Saint 58 don't expect miracles & will be patient & will enjoy watching the kids & the team develop
Maybe 58Saint and I are opposites .. -ive & +ive ;)

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]