We are expected to finsh bottom this year!

Re: We are expected to finsh bottom this year!

Cairnsman wrote:
But what if the older players and playing better. You must have some idea who you think may miss out a bit because of age.
If older players are playing better then they play. It will be interesting to see how all of the older guys go to be honest. If they fail to perform or lead by example it will probably suggest that a change of coach was not the answer.

I dont see how it suggests that at all. I still dont know which older players underpreformed last year anyway. I think the change of coach had very little to do with how the older performed or how they felt about him. Got any older players who struggled last year?
Yeah from what I understand the coach had nothing to do with how the older players performed last year. I thought all of the older players performed ok last year, were they all on the park and performing up around their 2008-2011 performances? not really. 5 wins suggests something was wrong but I doubt it had anything to do with the older players.

Why do we place so much emphasis on the opinions of the average football supporter? What on earth would they know about how our list is training and performing? Most opposition supporters would struggle to name even a dozen of our players, let alone have information on how they are travelling. Strewth, even so-called football journalists and analysts have little or no idea. Let's check the "experts" time capsule predictions at the end of the season.

I take great heart from the fact they never get it right. None of them picked the Power's rise last year. I read with a bit of a chuckle a recent article in The Age about the unpredictable rise of "surprise" teams each year. I suppose they use the term surprise to justify their lack of expertise. Let's face it, everyone pays far more attention to their own team than the opposition. Even the "experts". I'd like to see where we are after 6 rounds before making a definitive call. Personally, I think we'll do better than many believe.

Our real problems may occur in two years time when we'll have lost our core of quality veterans. That is, of course, unless a few of the youngsters develop quickly. In the end, who knows? Far too many variables at play. Most just follow the pack.

i would say milne struggled last year pluggs but he's not there anymore... also Fisher struggled but that hopefully was more injury issues than a start of his form dropping away ...

i agree results of this year hold nothing in regards to how the coach is going its a building year we will get flogged in some games and we will go long preiods without a win so that in itself will cause a drop off from some players regardless of the coach ... i think Richo needs to be the teacher for the next two years and build a mindset into the players like Ross Lyon did where its about the weight of numbers if you win more contests then you will prob win more games if you make more tackles the opersition will find it harder to play against you if you have more shots at goal you have more chance to score ... its about breaking it down to the basics and getting the team to play like a team in our peak we were almost cult like in our following of the "golden rules" put forward by Lyon .. Richo needs to build new golden rules and get the players to live by them

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:i would say milne struggled last year pluggs but he's not there anymore... also Fisher struggled but that hopefully was more injury issues than a start of his form dropping away ...

i agree results of this year hold nothing in regards to how the coach is going its a building year we will get flogged in some games and we will go long preiods without a win so that in itself will cause a drop off from some players regardless of the coach ... i think Richo needs to be the teacher for the next two years and build a mindset into the players like Ross Lyon did where its about the weight of numbers if you win more contests then you will prob win more games if you make more tackles the opersition will find it harder to play against you if you have more shots at goal you have more chance to score ... its about breaking it down to the basics and getting the team to play like a team in our peak we were almost cult like in our following of the "golden rules" put forward by Lyon .. Richo needs to build new golden rules and get the players to live by them

Yep Milne struggled and Dal wasnt at his best but they arent there anymore. Fisher wasnt fit in any game he played last year. Who knows if he will be any better with his foot this year. All I hope is Richo has side and game plan that doesnt seem to change every week. By side i mean we dont need 4 small forwards one week and then one the next.

Glad I didn't play with a lot on this forum.When I played I went out there trying ,expecting to win,didnt always happen,but s*** I,we didn't give up before we started.

sainter#4 wrote:Every club Generally goes through this.

Hawthorn 03-06 = made finals in 07 flags 08/13
Richmond 08-12= finals 13'
North 08-11=finals 12' should have played finals last year too.

Im just disappointed we don't have priority picks after your first pick to assist us anymore. We could have done with one at the end of this year because i don't see us winning more then 5 games.
please don't include Richmond in any list in which you aim to make a point about strategies for long term success. They have made the finals twice since their last premiership almost 35 years ago, and have not made successive finals appearances in 40 years!!!!
They will slip this year with North and Essendon (unfortunately) montys to make up the eight. And maybe even Gold Coast too, if they have a break out year.

White Winmar wrote:Why do we place so much emphasis on the opinions of the average football supporter? What on earth would they know about how our list is training and performing? Most opposition supporters would struggle to name even a dozen of our players, let alone have information on how they are travelling. Strewth, even so-called football journalists and analysts have little or no idea. Let's check the "experts" time capsule predictions at the end of the season.

I take great heart from the fact they never get it right. None of them picked the Power's rise last year. I read with a bit of a chuckle a recent article in The Age about the unpredictable rise of "surprise" teams each year. I suppose they use the term surprise to justify their lack of expertise. Let's face it, everyone pays far more attention to their own team than the opposition. Even the "experts". I'd like to see where we are after 6 rounds before making a definitive call. Personally, I think we'll do better than many believe.

Our real problems may occur in two years time when we'll have lost our core of quality veterans. That is, of course, unless a few of the youngsters develop quickly. In the end, who knows? Far too many variables at play. Most just follow the pack.
Correct-amundo. Who selected us to finish on top and play off in a Grand Final in both 1997 and 2009? Not a soul.

sainter#4

samuraisaint wrote:
sainter#4 wrote:Every club Generally goes through this.

Hawthorn 03-06 = made finals in 07 flags 08/13
Richmond 08-12= finals 13'
North 08-11=finals 12' should have played finals last year too.

Im just disappointed we don't have priority picks after your first pick to assist us anymore. We could have done with one at the end of this year because i don't see us winning more then 5 games.
please don't include Richmond in any list in which you aim to make a point about strategies for long term success. They have made the finals twice since their last premiership almost 35 years ago, and have not made successive finals appearances in 40 years!!!!
They will slip this year with North and Essendon (unfortunately) montys to make up the eight. And maybe even Gold Coast too, if they have a break out year.

No The point i was making was that since hard wick got the job - they went on a path similar to the one we are on now. They played kids kids and more kids - the ones who didn't cut it got the chop and the older players were moved on. Thats my point. If i was talking about a blue print for success then i would just back the one pelican has planned.

The great thing about this year is that there is no real expectations being placed on the club other than the expectations set by Richo and the team. All I want is commitment and a hard working attitude from the boys. Win or lose its about the future of the guys coming through and what they can achieve!

bozza1980

Richter wrote:
WinnersOnly wrote:Perhaps I am biaised but i look at the 2014 draw and see us possibly winning 10 games - WHY have the opposition supporters written us off as this years competition easy beats?
You're biased. I see us having a chance in the first 2 games of the year, but am struggling to see where we can win another game all year. Hope I'm wrong but.
Serious chance against Brisbane.

Gold Coast and Bulldogs at Etihad are possibles too.

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.

Maybe Adelaide at Etihad too...

And throw in a possible win against Carlton on the Monday night and we are up to 7. Of course we do have to go out and win them, and who's to say that we don't cop several real pastings which could affect where we end up on the ladder.
Agree with the poster who spoke about Lee and Maister being back ups - if we finish bottom two or three we will definitely need to recruit two KPP. A full forward first and a full back specialist. We may need to trade once again to try to get a high second round pick. GWS or Melbourne, if they finish low enough, may trade a first round pick for experience - especially with Roos as coach. I think that is what Pelchen will try and do too.

We will have to come to grips with two clubs with a dozen or more first round draft picks in their Prime for the next 6 years... Along with Port, Essendon, WB, Melbourne, Freo and North... All plenty of good footy ahead of them

I'll be happy if we finish 14th, delighted if e finnishe between 13th and 10th. The facts are we are a far better team than the one that won 5 games last year - the lat two convincingly when Watters saw fit to bring Blakey back in to bolster our undermanned defence before showing him the door.

Our defence was sadly undermanned and always under pressure last season. We were competitive in most games. I put it down to an aberration and with natural improvement we will finish strongly this season. I base this on 50+ years of watching the Saints disappoint, delight and (sometimes) self destruct.

Get on board.

I think the unknown is what impact Richardson will have on the list. Clearly Watters's impact was not good.

We really don't know how this list will gel and as such I'll wait until the action starts.

White Winmar wrote:Why do we place so much emphasis on the opinions of the average football supporter? What on earth would they know about how our list is training and performing? Most opposition supporters would struggle to name even a dozen of our players, let alone have information on how they are travelling. Strewth, even so-called football journalists and analysts have little or no idea. Let's check the "experts" time capsule predictions at the end of the season.

yeah...i have seen to photos recently of saints players...but with the wrong name underneath......some jounos don't know their arse from their elbow.....

I really don't think we are as bad as a lot of people I(our own included) reckon we are.

Brisbane will slide, GWS will still be easy beats, Melbourne will win a few more games but they're a few years off being finals contenders again (if they make it that far), I still don't think the Dogs are any good, Gold Coast will be better but won't shock sides because now everyone else knows where they are at.

A large number of occasions last year we were beaten because of lack of height in the backline. We have that now. I'm not saying we will win a lot of games but an extra year into kids like Ross and Newnes and the like, good recruiting and some potential gun recruits with a respected coach who knows his stuff tactically and can get the goods from young players and we don't look all that bad.

Last edited by BackFromUSA on Wed 19 Feb 2014 8:45pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Swear word used in signature

Hurricane wrote:...with a respected coach who knows his stuff tactically and can get the goods from young players
Which coach is that?

U don't know who the coach is?

We won't finish bottom, I'd guess third last this year. I reckon we are still a better side than GWS & Melbourne (not by much though) Hopefully some of our new guys will gain experience this year and our early draft picks will be used wisely.

Good...I like low expectations

matrix wrote:U don't know who the coach is?
How does Richo count as "a respected coach who knows his stuff tactically and can get the goods from young players"?

He's been in the club for about fifteen minutes and hasn't coached a game yet. I loved Watters for most of his tenure, but he turned out to be shithouse. Who's to say Richo won't do the same?

Can't wait to finish last. That way I can look at the ladder upside down.

Furphy wrote:We won't finish bottom, I'd guess third last this year. I reckon we are still a better side than GWS & Melbourne (not by much though) Hopefully some of our new guys will gain experience this year and our early draft picks will be used wisely.

It's going to be an interesting year with Adelaide and WCE pushing up and possibly into the 8. Geelong, Carlton, Collingwood, North and Tiges could all be vulnerable if injuries hit and those two lift. Melbourne and GWS won't be easy games any more. A friend who knows a few insiders at the Saints reckons we are expecting about 8 wins. I'm not sure who's expectation that is or where we would finish with that but it wouldn't be last.

I dont think we will finish bottom.
Reckon gws and the lions might fight for that spot.
We still have enough senior players to help the youth.

No way bottom.