New CEO

Re: New CEO

Con Gorozidis wrote:Oh yeah cos recruitment is just like such a sophisticated specialty.

Spare me.
at that level...yes

Would take about ten minutes to sort out a Short list.
So far all we have heard are names of blokes who have worked at other clubs - no matter how s***.
Idiots like 'swanny' 'robbo' etc etc . Just the usual boys club.
We have also been looking for over 6 months. So I'd suggest you are kidding if you think we are handling this with the precision you are suggesting .

I reckon mokes might be a good get . How long is he in for ?

Think about it -
stakeholder mgt - tick.
Financial nous - tick
Logistics - tick
Getting supplements through customs - tick

Micky G would get us a better stadium deal and then renovate Moorabin quick smart and cheap !
I'm pretty sure no Councillor would stand over us over pokies either .

Gatto and Mokbel - the dream team.
Targeting people is really different from getting them to say yes!

And the crappy names that have been out there so far....well they haven't come from the club....at least not in any official capacity.

So in essence we are assessing the progress of the club on nothing other than rumour....except that it's taken too long. But there might be a reason for that too. Recruiting senior execs is very rarely a straight forward process.

defacto wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Oh yeah cos recruitment is just like such a sophisticated specialty.

Spare me.
at that level...yes

Not sophisticated but far more involved than for most other roles.

fingers wrote:
defacto wrote:

Spare me.
at that level...yes

i said sophisticated because you're hardly going to go to someone like a skilled engineering to get your next CEO

there are recruitment agencies you go to for executive appointments and there are ones you just wouldn't consider. hell i think theres a couple of agencies out there that only deal in senior management and above recruitment. it is a SPECIALITY if you use the OP's original comment.

I looked in the Employment section of the Age on Saturday and didn't see it advertised.

We are a rabble.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Correct Fingers. I reckon every single CEO is targetted. You would never advertise in the AFR. What a waste of money and time.
hahaha - like you would know.
Coming from a guy who also thinks weights are a waste of time. I hope you have called Jeremy Cameron, Taylor Walker, Nick Riewoldt, Cameron Cloke, Kurt Tippett etc etc etc and told them to stop wasting their time in the gym. Pretty much every large company put job ads in the AFR on a Friday.

But hey the club do everything right apparently so what would I know. I mean Michael Nettlefold was a bright bloke and commercial genius :roll:

Yes we all know print media is in decline - but it is hardly a big deal. So you get some 'corporate headhunters' to contact Greg Swann or scan linkedin?
What a pile of crap.

Don't try and make it is sophisticated cos its not.

Why do you lie to prove you are wrong. Show me one single post where i said they were a waste of time. What a stupid and pathetic comment to try and score some sort of point.

Some of things you say are just plain funny. This is one of them. ferg says hello. Bull says he is big so he is good. Milera and TDL still havent gone to training because they embarressed about their size. Now either comment on what I actually say or dont comment at all but please dont lie. But hey you were saying sprinters do weights and then comparing to footy. Law pfft.

I heard we will be putting a golden ticket in the Herald-Sun.

defacto wrote:
defacto wrote:Some posters are embarrassing them selves:
"I didn't see the ad in my local paper for the job"
"I can't see it on seek"
We don't even have a careers section on the Saints website.

That's so embarrassing in this day and age.
true and valid point, but how often do you see the CEO position advertised under the careers section of a companies websites? its rare

I can see why you would think that but we need to be innovative. We can no longer afford to sit still. To hell with mediocrity. It’s a 24/7/365 global world.

joffaboy wrote:I looked in the Employment section of the Age on Saturday and didn't see it advertised.

We are a rabble.
I didn't see it on the Centrelink job board either.

Interesting that Ian Mc.Leod ( current board member) has stepped down as CEO of Coles. Read into that what you will.

tony74 wrote:Interesting that Ian Mc.Leod ( current board member) has stepped down as CEO of Coles. Read into that what you will.

Doubt he will 2 jobs.

tony74 wrote:Interesting that Ian Mc.Leod ( current board member) has stepped down as CEO of Coles. Read into that what you will.

Doubt he will 2 jobs.
What is he doing now?

Just what we need. A parking Nazi. Maybe he could handle traffic control around the LHC.

CEO of Coles would pay at least 2 to 3 times CEO job at Saints.

Craig Thompson can be now crossed off.
Last edited by SaintPav on Tue 18 Feb 2014 7:43pm, edited 1 time in total.

Buckets wrote:

Doubt he will 2 jobs.
What is he doing now?

Another job at Westfarmers. And my guess is he would getting well over a million to lead Coles. probably more like 2 million. Its a real guess though. He could be getting $1.98 but Coles is a very big company.

SaintPav wrote:CEO of Coles would pay at least 2 to 3 times CEO job at Saints.

Maybe he doesn't need as much after his stint at Coles?

"Wesfarmers boss Richard Goyder said today he was delighted Ian McLeod would continue to contribute to the future growth of Wesfarmers as group commercial director, building on his leadership during the successful first six years of the Coles turnaround."
http://www.smh.com.au/business/retail/c ... 32y69.html

Buckets wrote:

Maybe he doesn't need as much after his stint at Coles?
Given this board's less than excellent record over the past few years, might it be better if we go for some fresh talent?

defacto wrote:
fingers wrote:
defacto wrote:
at that level...yes

i said sophisticated because you're hardly going to go to someone like a skilled engineering to get your next CEO

there are recruitment agencies you go to for executive appointments and there are ones you just wouldn't consider. hell i think theres a couple of agencies out there that only deal in senior management and above recruitment. it is a SPECIALITY if you use the OP's original comment.
I'm agreeing with you.

howlinwolf

Craig Thompson can be now crossed off.

Try $50 million for 6 years pay. I think we can safely rule Ian McLeod out.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

I can't see too much evidence of anything great that he has contributed to the Saints, over his several years on our board - maybe we were not paying enough !!

Junction Oval wrote:I can't see too much evidence of anything great that he has contributed to the Saints, over his several years on our board - maybe we were not paying enough !!

We get fresh fruit at training every second session.

What more do you want?

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

From joffaboy :
That's about the expectation level of the contribution from our directors. :roll:

Junction Oval wrote:I can't see too much evidence of anything great that he has contributed to the Saints, over his several years on our board - maybe we were not paying enough !!

What more do you want?

FRESH fruit that hasn't been in cold storage for 11 months.

So are we going to hire a CEO this year? Considering the likes of Nettlefold are absolutely useless, perhaps we're better off without one.

Apparently Essendon are without one also.