Amett Bains on SEN after 11.00 !!

Bartlett is telling that Amett will be on air in a few minutes !!

Re: Amett Bains on SEN after 11.00 !!

heard him on trade radio
no way am i tuning into that peanut station thats full of peanuts

lets us know what he says :)

matrix wrote:heard him on trade radio

AGREED!

Here's the Trade Radio summary. I'm sure he'll say the same thing twice. No need to add to Bartlett's ratings ...

"10.50am: St Kilda list manager Ameet Bains on Gillette Trade Radio, explaining why the club traded Ben McEvoy for Shane Savage and pick 17:

"We're in a position to rebuild our list for the future, and that's what this decision was based on," Bains said.

"One of the strategic drivers that we set ourselves coming into the trade period was to finish up with three picks inside the first 20. We now have picks three and 17. We think that's the quickest way to transition our list."

Bains said the Saints would now contemplate bringing in some extra ruck support for Tom Hickey but, given how quickly the deal happened, they have not yet identified specific candidates.

"We recognise it's a short-term issue with Ben's departure, and it's something we'll need to address," he said.

Bains said the deal with Hawthorn came about very quickly, with the Hawks making a "very aggressive" pitch for McEvoy. He said trading McEvoy hadn't been in the Saints' plans at the beginning of the trade period, but the ruckman had been open to the move once it was raised.

"A deal couldn't have taken place if he hadn't agreed to move," he said.

"He certainly wasn't pushed by the club. The idea of going to a club that is competing for a premiership was attractive to him."

Bains said discussions with North Melbourne about Nick Dal Santo are still happening, but there was a "big chance" he could stay with the Saints next year.

He said St Kilda was keen to secure key defender Josh Bruce from GWS if a trade could be done."

matrix wrote:heard him on trade radio

The main thing I got out of it was that he said that the Club's strategy was to get THREE FIRST ROUND PICKS this year.

Two down- One to go. Will it involve DalSanto, Fisher or someone else? !!

dunno mate
at a guess ill say chips
basically as id rather keep dal over chipper

class of 2010

I reckon it will be swapping our second rounder 21 for the buddy compo 18 as the end of this trade...just needs the pick to exist before it could be done

oh when the saints

SemperFidelis wrote:.

Bains said the deal with Hawthorn came about very quickly, with the Hawks making a "very aggressive" pitch for McEvoy. He said trading McEvoy hadn't been in the Saints' plans at the beginning of the trade period, but the ruckman had been open to the move once it was raised."

well that's a blatant lie for a start. :roll: :roll: :roll:

mordi

Bains said the deal with Hawthorn came about very quickly, with the Hawks making a "very aggressive" pitch for McEvoy. He said trading McEvoy hadn't been in the Saints' plans at the beginning of the trade period, but the ruckman had been open to the move once it was raised."

which bit?

What's the Point of it All?

Why? And how would you know?

Serious question btw. Not taking the piss.

mordi wrote:

which bit?
about big mac not being on the trade table.........a source inside the club put his name up well before trading started...along with chips and dal........

fingers wrote:

Why? And how would you know?

Serious question btw. Not taking the piss.
...i was told....from an insider....as were a number of others who also post here.....

i'm not sure of the details but i think he was offered to gws along with chips for the number one pick....buddy going to sydney torpedoed the deal.....no buddy to gws and then getting mumford made it certain that they would not trade the no1 pick and they got their ruckman anyway.....makes sense to me.....

Comment I found interesting was the referance to the club which was connected with Nick R-
and certain individual connected to that club- BUt the Club concerned went out of their way to let the saints know that at no time and in no discussion had any Idea of Nick R being approached been talked about..

Individual concerned mixing his 2 careers again- President Vs radio commentator.

Amett is a shrewd operator and I think we have a very qualified person in charge of list management. Who was the first club to install a lawyer as their list manager?

I heard on the radio Ashley Clowne asking Ameet Bains if he'd trade GWS's pick 1 for Pick 3, 21 and Sam Fisher. Ameet should have told him to get knotted, but he was polite. That deal is rooted!

After all he did say we need to fill the gaping hole in our list in the age demographic of Age 23-27

Then traded a 24yo in the leadership group?!

But the recruitment of Milera, Lee, Saad, TDL, Savage, Dunnell and Shenton has addressed that issue I suppose?!

BigMart wrote:After all he did say we need to fill the gaping hole in our list in the age demographic of Age 23-27

But the recruitment of Milera, Lee, Saad, TDL, Savage, Dunnell and Shenton has addressed that issue I suppose?!

Im not happy BM about Ben being traded but I think after 10 negative posts and 10 different threads is way over the top. we get it. You arent happy. it wont change a thing how unhappy you are. Lets hape savage can play and pick 18 is a good player. Im will be happy to be proved wrong. Im not sure you would be though.

class of 2010 wrote:I reckon it will be swapping our second rounder 21 for the buddy compo 18 as the end of this trade...just needs the pick to exist before it could be done

What else do you know?????

BigMart wrote:After all he did say we need to fill the gaping hole in our list in the age demographic of Age 23-27

Im not happy BM about Ben being traded but I think after 10 negative posts and 10 different threads is way over the top. we get it. You arent happy. it wont change a thing how unhappy you are. Lets hape savage can play and pick 18 is a good player. Im will be happy to be proved wrong. Im not sure you would be though.
Don't forget the upgrade of our 2nd rounder once the Buddy compensation goes through.

Ameet is a good operator.

saintsrus

SEn reporting hes coming on soon 21/10/13

Before Im 85
saintsrus

Fisher wont be traded
Still negotiating with Lions for Longer
Pick 3 will be used in draft

Before Im 85

http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer
saintsrus wrote:Fisher wont be traded
Audio up

saintbrat wrote:http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer
saintsrus wrote:Fisher wont be traded
Audio up

Thanks brat. He seemed pretty definite about Chips, didn't he.

As a matter of interest on that same page there is a link to an interview with Luke Delaney, might have been on Friday. Worth a listen if you've never heard him open his mouth before (which I hadn't).