Official Trade Rumours thread (all in here please)

Re: trade rumours

matrix wrote:Is Tim Mohr related to the Mohr that played for us five hundred years ago?
Great grandson maybe????

No one can work that out- he's a player though. The one everyone is thinking of is Josh Bruce. They have Corr and Jaksch still to come in and Mohr is a very good KPB.

mohannair

saintly wrote:
kos wrote:Now currently favorites to sign Eddie betts as a replacement for Milne.

How old is Eddie Betts?
Betts will sign with Crows for 500K per year, its a 4 year deal that Crows have put in front of Betts.

SaintTom wrote:
Ralphy wrote:we have been strongly linked with Martin apparently its a 4 year deal 650 k a year...
we will land a big fish this year i think,
Pick 9 for north is being used on mcdonald who is a father son pick.
Is that a rumour you hope to be true or does it have any substance?
I thought I saw on footy classifieds north would not be using the pick 9 on mcdonald.

SaintTom wrote:
Ralphy wrote:we have been strongly linked with Martin apparently its a 4 year deal 650 k a year...
I thought I saw on footy classifieds north would not be using the pick 9 on mcdonald.

You obviously dont play cards.

mohannair wrote:
saintly wrote:
kos wrote:Now currently favorites to sign Eddie betts as a replacement for Milne.

How old is Eddie Betts?
Betts will sign with Crows for 500K per year, its a 4 year deal that Crows have put in front of Betts.
Ha! Good luck to them.

It'l be a travesty if North get McDonald with their second round pick. He's clearly a top 5 player in this years draft. I can see the Bulldogs bidding on him with their first selection. They have some good young clearance players and need a bit of outside class and good users in their team. McDonald certainly addresses that need.

lloyd21

McDonald is top 10 everyone at North knows it will cost them 1st Round everyone playing games

SaintTom wrote:
Yes they will be 'forced' to use pick 9 on mcdonald. just like essendon where forced to use it on daniher

Megamaguire

I hope the recruiters are hot on the trail of a KP backman who can reliably pass and make good decisions.
I would not wait on Sam Gilbert to 'make it' as a KP defender. I'm not knocking Sam as i think he can keep improving as a valuable tall. I just haven't seen improvement in his disposal and if it was up to me i would't bank on it either. Roberton is different but i think the recruiters are right in searching for a big presence and highly skilled defender.

I'm assuming the club has locked in Kelly as best option @ pick 3 if he is available and Aish is gone in the top 2.
If it was Kelly and Aish both available I really wonder which player our recruiters rate higher.
The achievements of Hodge and Judd over Ball over the years since they went 1; 2 & 3 in the same draft worries me a bit here. Letting Judd slide because of shoulder reconstructions is perhaps understandable but would the Saints have picked Hodge over Ball and even Judd over Ball without the shoulder probs?
Not really interested in Betts - partly the expense. Not relying on Gilbert but hoping we land two class acts - a formidable and highly skilled KP Defender and magnificent centre player.

G O S A I N T S !

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

Megamaguire wrote:I hope the recruiters are hot on the trail of a KP backman who can reliably pass and make good decisions.
I would not wait on Sam Gilbert to 'make it' as a KP defender. I'm not knocking Sam as i think he can keep improving as a valuable tall. I just haven't seen improvement in his disposal and if it was up to me i would't bank on it either. Roberton is different but i think the recruiters are right in searching for a big presence and highly skilled defender.

I'm assuming the club has locked in Kelly as best option @ pick 3 if he is available and Aish is gone in the top 2.
If it was Kelly and Aish both available I really wonder which player our recruiters rate higher.
The achievements of Hodge and Judd over Ball over the years since they went 1; 2 & 3 in the same draft worries me a bit here. Letting Judd slide because of shoulder reconstructions is perhaps understandable but would the Saints have picked Hodge over Ball and even Judd over Ball without the shoulder probs?
Not really interested in Betts - partly the expense. Not relying on Gilbert but hoping we land two class acts - a formidable and highly skilled KP Defender and magnificent centre player.

G O S A I N T S !

Think Kelly is way to high at pick 3 and im unsure we need a small outside mid.

They mentioned Pears and Griffiths again in the 2013 report card.

Megamaguire wrote:I hope the recruiters are hot on the trail of a KP backman who can reliably pass and make good decisions.

G O S A I N T S !

Think Kelly is way to high at pick 3 and im unsure we need a small outside mid.
Although if he can pinch hit as a small forward he may fit the game plan.

As steak knifes maybe GWS can add Jonathon Paton to the deal.

You can tell their recruiting man was a full back can't you. Plowman looks like he could be a tall midfielder long term though. Not sure he's a key backman at least.

duckduckduckgoose

betts??
we have a hundred small forwards- and the only time Eddie "runs through the midfield" is on the way to the bench.
sheesh

I bought a shirt from Target once.
It had a hard tag on it too.

I know how Dal feels.

duckduckduckgoose wrote:betts??
we have a hundred small forwards- and the only time Eddie "runs through the midfield" is on the way to the bench.
sheesh

I hope that's crap. I heard he will go to adelaide anyway. They are restricted in the draft so probably not a bad move by them.

I reckon there is a serious chance we will get Bruce.
Id be very happy with Aish.
No way to Betts. Id be ropeable. Id rather develop the Minch.

Blake Acres at pick 20?

We draft Betts and you have to really wonder bout choices- we have glaring midfield and back spots to be filled - I'm not even convinced specialist small forwards are the way to go

Hope it's crap

Teflon wrote:We draft Betts and you have to really wonder bout choices- we have glaring midfield and back spots to be filled - I'm not even convinced specialist small forwards are the way to go

Hope it's crap

Pretty sure we have no interest in him. isnt he going to the crows?

Blake Acres at pick 20?
He's not that fiery little 120cm bloke we've been reading about is he?

Con Gorozidis wrote:I reckon there is a serious chance we will get Bruce.
Id be very happy with Aish.
No way to Betts. Id be ropeable. Id rather develop the Minch.

Blake Acres at pick 20?

I hope so I thought we should be looking at him earlier in the year. SOS went mental buying up tall backs. Jakshe can play up forward too but Corr is a potential gun back,
Mohr, Davis etc all tall KPP backs. Bruce only got a run because of injuries but held his own. We should be on him and could be a better option than Brown if we can snare him- he's got a bit more dash than Brown.

I still love Scharenberg but am warming to going Billings with our third pick. He's one If melbourne got Aish and Boyd as priority- the afl will do anything for their bitch Roos to get a leg up- GWS take Schaz and we get Billings I'd be very happy.

From Callum Twomey "Still managing a knee injury, but Billings had 32 disposals for the Oakleigh Chargers on the weekend and showed his class through the midfield. Has also been used off half-back, where his elite disposal and smarts help set up the play. Has the talent to be an even higher pick."

He could go in the midfield and be the steal of the draft this guy. Goddard like in that he can use the ball so well he's also kind of wasted in the coal face.

gringo wrote:I still love Scharenberg but am warming to going Billings with our third pick. He's one If melbourne got Aish and Boyd as priority- the afl will do anything for their bitch Roos to get a leg up- GWS take Schaz and we get Billings I'd be very happy.

From Callum Twomey "Still managing a knee injury, but Billings had 32 disposals for the Oakleigh Chargers on the weekend and showed his class through the midfield. Has also been used off half-back, where his elite disposal and smarts help set up the play. Has the talent to be an even higher pick."

He could go in the midfield and be the steal of the draft this guy. Goddard like in that he can use the ball so well he's also kind of wasted in the coal face.

Isnt he less than 6 foot tall. hard to BJ like at that height. from what I have seen which is very little he seems a small forward/ mid type. I would have thought at the moment he is closer to pick 10 than pick 5.

gringo wrote:I still love Scharenberg but am warming to going Billings with our third pick. He's one If melbourne got Aish and Boyd as priority- the afl will do anything for their bitch Roos to get a leg up- GWS take Schaz and we get Billings I'd be very happy.

Isnt he less than 6 foot tall. hard to BJ like at that height. from what I have seen which is very little he seems a small forward/ mid type. I would have thought at the moment he is closer to pick 10 than pick 5.
He isn't tall but he plays tall. He's a tall small forward if that makes sense but can play both sides and good kick, got 30 disposals when they gave him a run in the midfield but he scores well so gets sent forward but was used back as well. My mate who watches lots of TAC says he thinks he could be a bolter and has got me a bit excited about him. Goddard like in the can play anywhere and his disposal is so good he almost is wasted in close in the midfield.

plugger66 wrote: Isnt he less than 6 foot tall. hard to BJ like at that height. from what I have seen which is very little he seems a small forward/ mid type. I would have thought at the moment he is closer to pick 10 than pick 5.
I think the events of 3 days ago were a cryptic reminder that the club really doesn't need any more midgets around the place.

We had several draft periods with blokes in the 175 - 183cm range and it's time we try to get some height and brute force into the midfield.