Sponsor function Sunday - Sandy vs Bendigo

Anyone going?

It should be fantastic
Normally they have the matchday function at a senior game - at the MCG last year and Jihad the years before that.
Only problem is that all the senior players are out playing so you just get the backup or the injured.

But this time hopefully all the senior players will be there.
If the Sandy game is even half as exciting as last week it will be a ripper!

stkildathunda

Re: Sponsor function Sunday - Sandy vs Bendigo

Enrico_Misso wrote:Anyone going?

It should be fantastic
Normally they have the matchday function at a senior game - at the MCG last year and Jihad the years before that.
Only problem is that all the senior players are out playing so you just get the backup or the injured.

But this time hopefully all the senior players will be there.
If the Sandy game is even half as exciting as last week it will be a ripper!

We are playing Bendigo so it will most likely be a 70+ point thumping! Which will be good to watch us handing it out!

I'll be there with my nephew. Thanks to Bergholt.

Looking forward to it.

Excellent function.
Most senior players in attendance.
At least one player sat on each table.

Wakes interviewed a few of the boys including Tom Curran, Roo, Macca and Armo.
Tried to get Curran to admit the ball shaved the post but he held firm and said it was a clear go.
Roo spoke a bit ominously about needing to tick lots of medical boxes before playing on each year.

And Sandy after a slow start completed a great day stormed home against Bendigo.
I reckon Aussie Jones is 20kg above his playing weight.

jk23

Enrico_Misso wrote:Excellent function.

Tried to get Curran to admit the ball shaved the post but he held firm and said it was a clear go.
Roo spoke a bit ominously about needing to tick lots of medical boxes before playing on each year.

And Sandy after a slow start completed a great day stormed home against Bendigo.
I was unable to attend, was Kosi there ?

jk23 wrote:

Yes I was. Thanks for asking.

how did you find it Kosi?.
was better than game day functions held at saints games as those who sponsor the players more likely to be in the Saints team were able to catch up with their players ( unless injured and doing extra rehab,)

most of the players stuck around to watch the game and were there to support terry when he went down with a serious ankle injury

jk23

kosifantutti wrote:
jk23 wrote:

Yes I was. Thanks for asking.

saintbrat wrote:how did you find it Kosi?.
was better than game day functions held at saints games as those who sponsor the players more likely to be in the Saints team were able to catch up with their players ( unless injured and doing extra rehab,)

most of the players stuck around to watch the game and were there to support terry when he went down with a serious ankle injury
It was an excellent function. Daniel Markworth was supposed to be at the table but he had been given some leave. But we sat with Armo who is a pleasant young man.

The food was good. Much better than expected. I was a little disappointed with the organisation as we were supposed to be sent all the details by one of the staff but hadn't heard anything by Friday only to find he was on holiday. Eventually Enrico was able to provide the info but I still had some running around to do to ensure I was on the guest list.

My nephew for some unknown reason actually wanted to go out in the cold and watch Sandy rather than stay inside in the warmth and mingle with the players so not as many photos as I would have hoped.

I introduced myself to Jackson Ferguson and he was also a very pleasant chap.

And yes JK23. Kosi was there.

kosifantutti wrote:It was an excellent function. Daniel Markworth was supposed to be at the table but he had been given some leave. But we sat with Armo who is a pleasant young man.

The food was good. Much better than expected. I was a little disappointed with the organisation as we were supposed to be sent all the details by one of the staff but hadn't heard anything by Friday only to find he was on holiday. Eventually Enrico was able to provide the info but I still had some running around to do to ensure I was on the guest list.

My nephew for some unknown reason actually wanted to go out in the cold and watch Sandy rather than stay inside in the warmth and mingle with the players so not as many photos as I would have hoped.

I introduced myself to Jackson Ferguson and he was also a very pleasant chap.

And yes JK23. Kosi was there.
I agreee with your nephew- can't stand to be behind glass.
and many of the players ended up outside anyway- and were joined by many of the coaching staff.

The real Kosi had his finger either in plaster or heavily taped up.

Geary say he is right to play next week.
And Gilbo is running OK and on track to come back in a few weeks.

Jack Stevens looked embarassed when Armo announced that Jack is now A grade - but he shouldn't be - his 4th quarter was amazing.

SaintWal

My daughter and her friend attended in my absence, much to my own disappointment. They had a great time and had the two Jacks on her table. She said they were a good laugh and really good guys. I think her favourite moment, other than the numerous photos, was Newnes deciding he was not going to eat the calamari salad with the decorative moving bug on it!
I had the same problem as Kosi with trying to get details from the club but in the end it all worked out. Thanks to Kosi and the saintsational network on getting the information we required.
I do have a concern that the club is slipping off field in it's marketing and overall running. Numerous non returned phone calls on top of goods ordered over the net and not turning up is not great. I also feel that the club has greater opportunities to promote more boutique memberships, sponsorships and the like. I will write an email voicing my concerns for the betterment of the club. I am in no doubt that over the next few years the club is going to need to keep every potential dollar the club can get. We can all see what the floating, good times only, membership is having on home day match attendances.
A big thankyou to Saintsational and especially Mr Magic for all his organising of the sponsorships.
Cheers
SaintWal

Enrico_Misso wrote:The real Kosi had his finger either in plaster or heavily taped up.

Geary say he is right to play next week.
And Gilbo is running OK and on track to come back in a few weeks.

Jack Stevens looked embarassed when Armo announced that Jack is now A grade - but he shouldn't be - his 4th quarter was amazing.
The real Kosi mustn't have liked it, he spent the whole second quarter of the senior game on the Sandy bench out in the cold.
Many Sandy members were very pissed off at their social club being taken over by St Kilda on the coldest day of the year.

The function effectively finished when the game started
And many of the players were out near the change rooms by 1/4 time
Kosi is assisting with the young talls so not surprised he was near the action

Apart from missing the Presidents lunch opportunity, the social club was available soon after game start
A chance to mingle and chat with the saints players I would have thought

saintbrat wrote:The function effectively finished when the game started

Apart from missing the Presidents lunch opportunity, the social club was available soon after game start
That's fine for Saints supporters, but many Sandy supporters have no allegiance to St Kilda whatsoever.

saintbrat wrote:The function effectively finished when the game started

That's fine for Saints supporters, but many Sandy supporters have no allegiance to St Kilda whatsoever.
Well they should.
StKilda helps bankroll them.
I assume we are also contributing something towards the widening/extending of the ground.
And contributing to the resurfacing.
Plus many of "our" players are consistently in Sandy's best.

So it works both ways.
We support them.
In return they need to make the odd concession to StKilda.

Tend to agree with you EM

Given the performance if their development squad this year...they'd be a basket case on field without us right now.

stkildathunda

saint66au wrote:Tend to agree with you EM

Given the performance if their development squad this year...they'd be a basket case on field without us right now.
Injuries to Saints in AFL filter down to VFL Seniors and then that heavily impacts the Development Squad who then have to go to the Sandringham Dragons and pluck young guys from TAC Cup to make step up to VFL. Not an easy task. To say they'd be basket case is bloody ridiculous.

stkildathunda wrote:

Injuries to Saints in AFL filter down to VFL Seniors and then that heavily impacts the Development Squad who then have to go to the Sandringham Dragons and pluck young guys from TAC Cup to make step up to VFL. Not an easy task. To say they'd be basket case is bloody ridiculous.

stkildathunda wrote:

But surely every club has injuries and would be in a similar "Top up from the TAC Cup" scenario?..or are Sandy structured differently?

Saints seem not to want young Saints kids played in development squad this year? Seems to have been hardly a one this season but quite a number in previous years.

Oh and also...so the Dragons (or any TAC Cup side come to that) dont give their elite kids to the VFL? HaS Josh Kelly p0layed any development games for Zebs this year?

The elite of the TAC Cup are more than likely play AFL next year so you'd think a jump to VFLseconds wouldnt be that huge for them?

saint66au wrote:Oh and also...so the Dragons (or any TAC Cup side come to that) dont give their elite kids to the VFL? HaS Josh Kelly p0layed any development games for Zebs this year?

The elite of the TAC Cup are more than likely play AFL next year so you'd think a jump to VFLseconds wouldnt be that huge for them?

I think Saintsthunder was saying seconds is filled with ex dragons players. The good dragons players will always play in the Dragons and not VFL seconds. And the ones who cant get a game at the dragons usually go back to their local clubs. I havent heard of any playing in the VFL seconds but maybe they do if they are really short. Usually they would be much to young though. Our club has two at the dragons at the moment who are getting a game and they have never been invited to Sandy not that they would go.

I actually think the seconds comp should be scrapped. I wonder whet Saintsthunder thinks about that?

stkildathunda

saint66au wrote:Oh and also...so the Dragons (or any TAC Cup side come to that) dont give their elite kids to the VFL? HaS Josh Kelly p0layed any development games for Zebs this year?

I think Saintsthunder was saying seconds is filled with ex dragons players. The good dragons players will always play in the Dragons and not VFL seconds. And the ones who cant get a game at the dragons usually go back to their local clubs. I havent heard of any playing in the VFL seconds but maybe they do if they are really short. Usually they would be much to young though. Our club has two at the dragons at the moment who are getting a game and they have never been invited to Sandy not that they would go.

I actually think the seconds comp should be scrapped. I wonder whet Saintsthunder thinks about that?

This is what the Dev Squad coach, Brendan Allen said last week

“Injuries to both St Kilda and Sandringham has seen us use the full extent of our list to the point where against North Ballarat we had to call on some extra Sandringham Dragon players to the normal one player we have playing with us weekly, to help top us up. So our depth has been tested”

But yea its not the gun TAC Cup players that are going get drafted, its the 18-19 year olds that have been overlooked in drafts previously.

I think if they are going have Dev Squad competition, they shouldnt allow any AFL players to play in there. Otherwise you get a scenario like against Williamstown where you had 5 AFL listed guys like Easton Wood that were coming back from injury playing and you just get smashed by 100 points. Or at least cap it at max 2. Overall I dont mind it as it gives the young kids somewhere to play that cant quite make VFL Seniors.

stkildathunda wrote:

This is what the Dev Squad coach, Brendan Allen said last week

“Injuries to both St Kilda and Sandringham has seen us use the full extent of our list to the point where against North Ballarat we had to call on some extra Sandringham Dragon players to the normal one player we have playing with us weekly, to help top us up. So our depth has been tested”

But yea its not the gun TAC Cup players that are going get drafted, its the 18-19 year olds that have been overlooked in drafts previously.

I think if they are going have Dev Squad competition, they shouldnt allow any AFL players to play in there. Otherwise you get a scenario like against Williamstown where you had 5 AFL listed guys like Easton Wood that were coming back from injury playing and you just get smashed by 100 points. Or at least cap it at max 2. Overall I dont mind it as it gives the young kids somewhere to play that cant quite make VFL Seniors.

Whats wrong with their local clubs though. We have Tom cameraon and jesse Plostins playing in your reserves at the moment and i reckon neither will make it. jessie has been there about 4 years and Tom is just to small but if they came back to our club they would have a huge impact on our club and may even help us go up a grade in the Ammos. Im sure there are many others in the same boat. They could be listed by sandy and when injuries occur they could be called. We had Dylan Elkman playing there earlier in the year but he decided he would never make it and came back to us and has been great for us. And its going to get worse with more AFL sides joining the VFL.

Just to add my 2 cents worth into this;

Most of the "Elite" players at Sandy Dragons would be from the APS or AGS school system meaning that they would be required to play for their SCHOOL for most of the season. They normally only get to play TAC Cup for the 1st three games and the last three games each year. They are also released from school footy for the Nationals and the associated trial games.

Sandy Dragons are usually the most impacted by this in the whole TAC Cup competition due to the higher percentage of their players coming from the private school system !!