27,488 members as of 12/03/2013?

murray 66

27,488 members as of 12/03/2013?

Are we in danger of not making 30,000 members in 2013.I know we have been up since 2004, but I have concerns that if we can't notch past 30000 members this year how can we expect to be considered as one of the big clubs in Victoria and carry any clout in the Afl?

We need members to renew their memberships fast.............................

P.s Signed up Social club member since 2003

Go Saints........................

Re: 27,488 members as of 12/03/2013?

They don't like Seaford!

they didn't like waverley either..

Think you'll find many don't renew until the start of the season. I rarely renew until the week before, or if we are not at home in the first round I will sometimes renew at the start of the season.

saintbrat wrote:they didn't like waverley either..
We only had 20,000 then!

murray 66

I hope your right True Believer?

True Believer wrote:Think you'll find many don't renew until the start of the season. I rarely renew until the week before, or if we are not at home in the first round I will sometimes renew at the start of the season.
Okay let's look at our draw then.

Round 1 @ Gold Coast, no new members;
Round 2 Richmond our home game @ their home MCG, stuff all new members;
Round 3 GWS @ Manuka, no new members;
Round 4 Essendon @ home, bugger all new members;
Round 5 @ Wellington, no new members;
Round 6 Pies away at Etihad, no new members;
Round 7 Carlton @ home, it's probably too late unless we're 6 and 0;
Round 8 Adelaide @ AAMI, no new members;
Round 9 Bulldogs @ home, who cares;
Round 10 North away, Kosi retires;
Round 11 West Coast @ home;
Bye.

30,000 looks like a good result. We are rooted financially members wise. Even the lack of interest in Saintsational player sponsorship shows this club is in decline. I have no idea why.

The way to get members, is to target those that have unrenewed and for whatever reason, were not satisfied.

Wasn't there something like 7000 unrenewed members in 2011?

That's your best chance IMO.

Throw in the fact we have no new major sponsor and yep, it aint great.....yet we reckon we are one of the big boys??????

We need a new Prez that can drum interest in thfis club - like it or not but a chief role of the Prez is spokesperson/marketer for the organistion and weve had marcel marso for a few years while we slowly die.

I reckon we need real profile/acumen on the board.....hopefully not in-bred mates rate jobs.

SainterK wrote:The way to get members, is to target those that have unrenewed and for whatever reason, were not satisfied.

Wasn't there something like 7000 unrenewed members in 2011?

That's your best chance IMO.

there's about that many that ' churn' every year.

it's the replacement and the hang on that count..

How many at this time last year?

White Winmar wrote:How many at this time last year?
30,643 at 27 March last year.

Wow.

Not going to be good.

StGoddard18

Lets start a petition now. Eric Bana for president :p.

Follow me on Twitter @Prestie18

I just added 4 to the total - normally do it before Xmas but just got distracted this summer.

Bernard Shakey wrote:[Okay let's look at our draw then.

Round 1 @ Gold Coast, no new members;
Round 2 Richmond our home game @ their home MCG, stuff all new members;
Round 3 GWS @ Manuka, no new members;
Round 4 Essendon @ home, bugger all new members;
Round 5 @ Wellington, no new members;
Round 6 Pies away at Etihad, no new members;
Round 7 Carlton @ home, it's probably too late unless we're 6 and 0;
Round 8 Adelaide @ AAMI, no new members;
Round 9 Bulldogs @ home, who cares;
Round 11 West Coast @ home;
Bye.

30,000 looks like a good result. We are rooted financially members wise. Even the lack of interest in Saintsational player sponsorship shows this club is in decline. I have no idea why.
That's actually a very valid point about the draw - lots of people undecided would sign up going along to an early season home game at the docklands. But we don't have any of those and the Essendon game will probably be fully ticketed. We needed to either have the Bulldogs game much earlier or play one of the expansion teams at home. As each game passes, casual fans would become less likely to buy a membership at the ground because they wouldn't want to pay for a season that started weeks ago.

Crazy our first "real" home game is Round 4!

The Richmond home game will feel like an away match!

saintspremiers wrote:Crazy our first "real" home game is Round 4!

Im sure I have read on here many times that we should play more home games at the G. If we beat GC and the weather is good we will get plenty of numbers there. And anyway these days you sell the majority of members tickets before the season. We only got 4k after the season started last year. We just dont have many members as proven by never breaking 40k even in the very good years.

saintspremiers wrote:Crazy our first "real" home game is Round 4!

Im sure I have read on here many times that we should play more home games at the G. If we beat GC and the weather is good we will get plenty of numbers there. And anyway these days you sell the majority of members tickets before the season. We only got 4k after the season started last year. We just dont have many members as proven by never breaking 40k even in the very good years.
Correct you have read that. But reality is Saints fans hate going to the G unless it's a final. You'd be aware of that fact I'm sure.

How many members do you think we will end up getting?

If your 4K estimate is close then 32K would be tops.

Wow.

Not going to be good.
Is it the 27th already? Lots of memberships sold this time of year I would think.

True Believer wrote:Think you'll find many don't renew until the start of the season. I rarely renew until the week before, or if we are not at home in the first round I will sometimes renew at the start of the season.
i have never laughed so hard this early in the morning. :lol: :lol: :lol:

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
GSG

Bernard Shakey wrote:They don't like Seaford!

That’s rubbish. It doesn’t matter Seaford or Frankston itself. The point is that they want to capture the market down there. From St Kilda down the coast has traditionally been Saints territory, and many in the Frankston area. It might take a while, but Frankston could become a city for the Saints, a little like Geelong for the cats. To have the Family Day on the Frankston foreshore open to everyone was a start.

Unfortunately, Saints supporter have always been very fickle, more so than other supporters – the club does well, they sign up, club slides down the ladder, they drop out. Look at Richmond, a crap club for more than 30 years, with hardly any finals appearances, and they still seem to get the same membership every year. It always amazes me – one year we have almost 40,000 and now just over 27,000. Yes more will sign up, but we’ll be lucky to get 30,000.

I know a lot of saints supporters, but none of them are members.

Bernard Shakey wrote:30,000 looks like a good result. We are rooted financially members wise. Even the lack of interest in Saintsational player sponsorship shows this club is in decline. I have no idea why.
We've just been through an extended good period; we're about to enter a "rebuilding" phase. Many less committed fans drop off at this point in the process and will pick it up again when we're back on the upswing, in about five years (hopefully).

Makes NZ look really good now for the money.

Shame that it wasn't Tassie, but we simply couldn't handle it at the time. GT's fault squarely.

We as a club need to to keep earning respect, and keep winning, and that's one way to boost membership. I still think the club is not marketing itself as well as it could. Clubs with strong memberships like Richmond, Geelong, Hawks to name a few, seem to be out there a lot more in public pushing memberships.