Intra club game

Re: Intra club game

One post says Sippos was disappointing. One says he was a class above the others. Anyone else see his game. Hard to get an indication from 2 posts so different.

Thought hickey was really good, bettered Big Mac
Wilkes was the best tall forward
Joey and Dal coasting.... As they should
Sip is going to have a great year, BJ who?
Vintage Milne, him Saad and Milera going to have some fun
You know it's pre season when CJ kicks a goal on the run

Carpe Diem
Unforgiven

8856brother wrote:One post says Sippos was disappointing. One says he was a class above the others. Anyone else see his game. Hard to get an indication from 2 posts so different.
Sippos was a class above, had a ripping kick to a leading Kosi, a few good intercept marks, disposal was very very sharp. He was anything but disappointing

Carpe Diem

8856brother wrote:One post says Sippos was disappointing. One says he was a class above the others. Anyone else see his game. Hard to get an indication from 2 posts so different.

i only heard that second hand so go with the folks that were there. I heard he needed to go harder and wasn't putting in but obviously someone had higher expectations than they should.

only an intra club game.....but out of the recruits from the last 2-3 years who do we see being regulars in the 22...?

Old Mate wrote:only an intra club game.....but out of the recruits from the last 2-3 years who do we see being regulars in the 22...?

Simpkin, Newnes, Stanley, Saad, Milera, Siposs

they guys I think will be pushing for A grade are Siposs, Steven and Armo. Not that recent but still improvers.

My smokies are Beaumeister Wilkes and the Hairy Shent who could take the back pocket role if Newnes doesn't play as expected.

I thought Dal was wearing 45?

Old Mate wrote:only an intra club game.....but out of the recruits from the last 2-3 years who do we see being regulars in the 22...?

Simpkin, Newnes, Stanley, Saad, Milera, Siposs

they guys I think will be pushing for A grade are Siposs, Steven and Armo. Not that recent but still improvers.

My smokies are Beaumeister Wilkes and the Hairy Shent who could take the back pocket role if Newnes doesn't play as expected.
cheers. i've got a feeling about beau...i think he could come out and kick 50 goals this year. he just seems real hungry.

#gosaintas

Hickey - great
Siposs - looked top class, fit and had plenty of time
Steven - good but tries to do too much. Disposal fine
Jones - same old
McEvoy - beaten and maybe got injured?
TDL - looked ok
Tom Lee - hopeless
Roberton - ?
Joey - good, crusied
Geary - same old
Ledger - did a bit
Newnes - oozes class
Gilbert - like a deer in the spotlights
Armo - BOG, looks v fit
Saad - lively
Ray - pretty good
Kosi - clunked a few
Fisher - same old
NDS - cruised
Blake - no good
Webster - ok
Simpkin - didn't do much but didn't need to
Milera - good
Gwilt - looked ok
Wright - looked pretty good
Sauders - ok
Lever - yeah Nah
Wilkes - best forward, tried hard, looks fit
Dunell - he was ok
Shenton - not gonna make it
Curren - dunno if he ever got the ball, looks fit though
Milne - same old
Ferguson - good size. Got towelled up by Wilkes and was moved off him for a bit

Was hard to pick from our position but Shenton seemed to work his way into the game well towards the end. Didn't see Hickey lose a ruck tap and Armo was clearly best of the mids. Wright impressed me, Curren got a fair bit of it later in the game but was a bit hit and miss on disposal. Newnes impressed with the amount of possession and quality of disposal, and I reckon Milney and Saad are working on a party trick - a grubbered pass from Milney like a cross in soccer for Saad to golal off the ground.
In general we seemed to move the ball much quicker, and seemed to hit many more targets than I'm used to. Curren looks really cut and solid and I reckon Armo and Beau have both trimmed down. Ledger looks a LOT fitter than last year, thinner through the core and more defined through the upper legs. He's done some miles in pre-season.

Staley could be a surprise packet.

St Lenny

Eastern wrote:There was a crowd of around 3,000 there. They had a Coffee Van, an Icecream van, sausage sizzle and the club had the merchandise and membership there too. People might whinge that its Saturday Morning, Seaford etc etc but lets compare it to some other clubs who have their Intra Club game on a Thursday or Friday morning. I think OUR club should be commended for the effort they put in for those who attended this morning !!
You are right Eastern, people are quick to criticise

8856brother wrote:Did we win?
The coach said we did

ozrulestrace wrote:
Eastern wrote:There was a crowd of around 3,000 there. They had a Coffee Van, an Icecream van, sausage sizzle and the club had the merchandise and membership there too. People might whinge that its Saturday Morning, Seaford etc etc but lets compare it to some other clubs who have their Intra Club game on a Thursday or Friday morning. I think OUR club should be commended for the effort they put in for those who attended this morning !!

Agreed, a Saturday morning was a good choice, and I left early and drove past on Peninsula Link towards the city and it was a great sight with the crowd and the players.
As long as you weren't one of the ones sho stopped for a look and had their number plate taken by peninsula link patrol

Always interesting how differant people see differant things

They played 8 x 8in sessions, I worried when first session finished that we may be all going home within an hour
Two teams one in trad jumper one in white with cross and centre logo except the players in NAB style jumpers or a couple of numberless jumpers, then the 4 or 5 sandy players sharing 2 jumpers

Unforgiven wrote:Sippos was a class above, had a ripping kick to a leading Kosi, a few good intercept marks, disposal was very very sharp. He was anything but disappointing
Spot on for mine.

Seaford_Saint wrote:I watched the first half.... some general observations
- Ferguson killing Tommy Lee (FB/FF).... Tommy looks a fair way off it.... Ferg is getting close (but does appear to be treacle slow at times)
- The following weren't playing... Roo, Lenny, Dal, Seany D, Stanley
- Hickey is a big boy - went 1 on 1 with McEvoy for most of the first half - seemed to pretty much nullify each other
- Sipposs will play HBF/Mid, and is clearly the new improved version of Goddard - he seemed a class above the rest
- It seems like the rookies are heading in the right direction - Staley is a good size and seems to read the play pretty well - Curren is ready to break through - Shenton has some smarts and is a good mover, he tried hard to keep Milney under control
- To be honest Gilbert continues to disappoint - takes too long to size up the situation - disposal remains very hit and miss
- Jacky Steven is up and about ready to go
- Ledger seems to have bulked up even more
- Poor Blakey is either cooked or is just slowing warming into a new season
- The old reliables down back remain reliable (Fisher, Simpkin)
- Jimmy Webster - I think he's going to get a chance this year
- Wilkes (or whoever he is these days) looks like he's keen to maintain a spot on an AFL list - presented well
- Kosi... clunked a couple, but hmmm... I hope someone else is coming along
- Milney - I'm very glad to report doesn't seem to have lost any sort of pace - so look out for another 50 goal season

And finally, Chelsea Roffy (Goal Umpire) - what a lovely down to earth chick - and not half bad on the eye either!
Thanks for the excellent report Seaford Saint

How big is ferguson, is he capable of being that big defender everybody thinks we need.
Also I have only seen Chelsea Roffy a few times on tv and I have to agree, she is quite tidy

Saints43 wrote:
Unforgiven wrote:Sippos was a class above, had a ripping kick to a leading Kosi, a few good intercept marks, disposal was very very sharp. He was anything but disappointing
Spot on for mine.

Agree

saint6

#gosaintas wrote:Hickey - great
Jones - same old
TDL - looked ok
Tom Lee - hopeless
Roberton - ?
Joey - good, crusied
Geary - same old
Ledger - did a bit
Newnes - oozes class
Armo - BOG, looks v fit
Saad - lively
Ray - pretty good
Kosi - clunked a few
Fisher - same old
NDS - cruised
Blake - no good
Webster - ok
Milera - good
Gwilt - looked ok
Sauders - ok
Lever - yeah Nah
Dunell - he was ok
Milne - same old

Would not agree about CJ - his disposal and decision making seems to have improved. Kicked a lovely goal on the run and was quite accurate in kicking to his team mates (and yes they were the ones wearing the same coloured jumpers not the other team) Tagging and effort was still 110%

Tom Lee - not as hopeless as some would suggest but needs to do a lot of work to break in to the senior side. Was played up forward initially but then went in to the centre and was also down back for a period. Took a couple of good marks in the backline.

Dunnel - got a lot of the ball but turned it over a lot - needs to work on this aspect of his game

Newnes was a real standout

Curren - got a lot of the ball and seemed to be one of the better players

Webster - initially played in the black team on saad and milera and was clearly beaten although he is in good company there, at half time swapped jumpers with siposs and played in the more experienced team - seemed to do much better with the better team structure and more experienced team mates. I guess it is much easier to play with saad and milera than against them

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/more-ne ... 6574414510
AGELESS Stephen Milne set the pattern for another productive AFL season as a standout performer in St Kilda's first intraclub practice match today.

Milne booted four goals and set up at least another three with his renowned crumbing work in the forward line at Seaford.

The form of the 258-game veteran was high on coach Scott Watters' list of encouraging signs from the workout that lasted nearly two hours.

lefty

#gosaintas wrote:Hickey - great
Jones - same old
TDL - looked ok
Tom Lee - hopeless
Roberton - ?
Joey - good, crusied
Geary - same old
Ledger - did a bit
Newnes - oozes class
Armo - BOG, looks v fit
Saad - lively
Ray - pretty good
Kosi - clunked a few
Fisher - same old
NDS - cruised
Blake - no good
Webster - ok
Milera - good
Gwilt - looked ok
Sauders - ok
Lever - yeah Nah
Dunell - he was ok
Milne - same old

I got there probably around 10:50, had a big night...

Armo was very good, always love armo.

Ray definitely is in the starting 22, his overhead marks are just too good to ignore, Armo even gave him a shove and he stood strong! Definitely need Ray.

Tommy Curren has to be upgraded, I watched him carefully, caught down Saad. His kicking was good, he's a big boy, I think hes ready. We lack midfield depth, he needs to be in the side.

Shenton I thought was pretty good tbh. Used it well.

Roberton was meh, I was watching him fill the whole in front of the FF/FB, and tbh didn't do much. Seemed to spread/peel off quickly, but bit quite. Bit disappointed.

I didn't even see McEvoy. I saw Tom Lee in the ruck though.

Kosi was good, still can take those pack marks.

Hickey didn't know what to do in the forward line. Definitely needs work there.

No 40 worked hard at FF, one of the new players, knocked over Kosi too, big kid, but couldn't get it, usually was a pack of 4 players every time it went to them.

Newness is a gun, starting 22 as well.

Sauders was alright, he used his run and carry well, and links up a bit, like his video clips, thought that was great signs.

Webster looks pretty good as well, seemed composed in the backline.

No. 40 should have been Jordan Staley. Did he do any good?

Mixed reports on Jackson Ferguson. Some say he was beaten by Wilkes, others say he beat Lee. Which or both correct? And how far away is he?

avid

I generally agree with #gosantas' summary (above) and truebeliever's counterpoints.
Some things that struck me were:

Kosi looked lively and marked extremely well in the first half. But he didn't do anything else at all.
The BeauMeister looks like our starting full forward. Lively all day -- good marking -- good kicking.
Tom Lee did a few good things and got into the play here and there. But he doesn't look anywhere near to it yet. Very little 'presence'. Looked frail next to Simpkin, and only about 1 cm taller.

Hickey dominated all day. Won every hit out I saw. Moved well. Marked well. Kicked big. To me he looks the goods.
McEvoy -- hardly noticed.

Armo -- looked like this season's real driving force -- just love the way he hits the ball.
Fazza -- he is a phenomenal around-the-ground / fill-the-gap overhead mark -- bobbed up to show his courage all day.
Siposs -- I missed the last few games last year (OS), but today I saw why he's supposed to be our new Quarterback General.

Milney -- classiest player on the ground I thought. Kicked several excellent trademark goals -- like it was mid-season.
Saad and Milera look classy, and very comfortable in combo with Milney too.

Ledger -- Looked lively in the thick of it, but didn't deliver as much as I'd hoped.
Newnes -- looks like a cool, intelligent player, but fairly underdeveloped still I think.
Webster -- got a bit of size on him for a winger type, and can roost a ball. But didn't see much of him
Curren -- Got a lot of the ball -- looked strong and fast -- ran down Saad to lay a great tackle -- ahead of Ledger at the moment

Dennis-Lane -- looked good, and fast, but rarely got into it.
Minchington -- strong, nippy and enthusiastic -- love his attitude! -- also rarely sighted.

Simpkin -- didn't see much of him, but everything he does fills me with confidence
Ferguson -- I'm afraid I came away very disappointed -- didn't see any life or run or hardness in him at all.
Roberton -- a bit more presence than Ferguson, but I'm sorry that I didn't see a bit more oomph there either. Looks like just a fill-in to me.
Lever -- I'm hoping he'll come on. Looked athletic and keen and balanced, but he's still a long way off making it.
Staley -- is he meant to be a forward or a back? Didn't see any sign of him making it as anything much. Don't wan't to dismiss him, but he's a mystery to me.

Dunell -- showed the class he oozed last year. Got crunched a few times, and didn't seem to be in the play much
Shenton -- to me, the surprize-packet of the morning. Showed a lot of real line-breaking dash several times coming out of defense -- and sometimes looked like he had a place in the team.

Wright -- didn't do a lot, but this guy looks like a real, classy, tough, determined footballer
Saunders -- looked a bit scrappy, but he's fast and hard at it, and I've got some hopes up for him too.

Disappointed not to see White, Murdoch and Pierce. But they did nothing to deter me from believing they're our next superstars
Last edited by avid on Sat 09 Feb 2013 3:44pm, edited 2 times in total.

lefty

Yea White, Murdoch, Pierce, Roo, Dempster, Stanley, Schneider, Lenny didn't play

Seaford_Saint wrote:- Sipposs will play HBF/Mid, and is clearly the new improved version of Goddard
Appreciate the report, but I think we might be expecting a bit much if we think he is going to a better player than Goddard next year… One is a 16 gamer with potential but who is still on the fringe of the senior side, the other is 200 game dual AA, in the top ten paid players in the comp.