Goddard(Is he Elite)

Verdun66

Re: Goddard(Is he Elite)

Not in the first half of that game.

hes playing like this because he is leaving stkilda .

He's not worth blowing the salary cap for.

andrewg

Drop him bring in ledger.

No i dont think he is worth what he would be asking any more -

Perhaps he is not playing well because he really wants to re-sign with the club he loves, is nervous waiting for the deal to get done.

Not sure what definition you put to elite, but he is a very good footballer.

If he stays, he will be our captain next year, so don't get too used to hating him…

i dont hate him but if he wanted to stay then he should hurry up and get the contract over and done with.

saintpeter

goddard has been very ordinary since the 2020 grand final

felix

Has been very average seems to be slow cumbersome lumbering , if he wants to leave ,see you later.

saintpeter

bye brendon

As for gram post 2009 gf, so with Goddard post 2010.
Reputation outweighs the reality.

saintpeter

far too much money for a GOP that he has been in the last 2 years

We have two options with Bj , trade him or get free agency compensation picks for him .
Looking at his preformance tonight and this season in general , its clear that sides have worked out how to play him .
When a hard tag is applied , he seems to spend most of his time sooking , directing other players and his disposal becomes average at best !
Those two shots he missed in the third quarter had the look of someone who clearly doesn't care if their at the club or not !

Let's not forget 2009/2010

All australian, averaged 28 a game.... He has been rocked by taggers this year...

Very avg this year

tweedaletomanning

saintpeter wrote:goddard has been very ordinary since the 2020 grand final
May I please borrow your time machine? :shock:

Kevin Sheedy needs to ring BJ soon to tell him "look, son, we won't make you an offer if u keep playing like THAT! "
That's the best way for us to get some value out of him before he leaves.

BJ closer to a flag at GWS than us. For both his and our sakes he should go.
I want a young gun Tall fwd and a high pick for him please!

We bring Ferg and Simpkin in down back next year and we will be ok!

Glad he didn't give up on trying to win a flag for St Kilda as easily as some give up on him.

On current form BJ is not elite.

His stocks have probably taken a dive this year so clubs will be wary about offering him too much. GC & GWS will probably be watching his temperament in games when considering him as a club leader and someone there to assist the development of their youth. Currently this is also not good.

This may actually end up influencing whether he stays a saint. If he goes we may not get as much for him as people think. It depends on who does the rating or decision making with regards to compensation picks.

wallbanger

Elite? A couple of years back he might've been approaching that status....now is nowhere near IMO.

Appers to have no desire at the moment, no competitive aggression...whether that is because he is leaving or is just badly out of form who knows, but it is very frustrating to watch such an integral part of the team perform so lachlustrely (if that is even a word). Whilst he was never lightning quick, his lack of pace at the moment is a concern. To me it looks like he thinks he is still a superstar and can just wander around doing as he pleases - which unfortunately is very little at the moment.

The ironic thing is I'm sure Sheedy and the GWS crew are wtaching his output this year and wondering about offering him much at all. Absolutely needs to lift and rid himself of his superior attitude - spend a week with Lenny and learn about real hard work, get back to basics and start playing some decent footy again.

Please...let's win a Premiership before GEELONG!!!! (O.k., so we've missed that opportunity...maybe let's win the next one before Geelong????)

Looks slow and unfit to me.

IMO Goddard will be a great player again - in a good side and right now that aint us. IF he was to end up at say Essendon..........hed complement them enormously...I notice the Bombers are now talking of offering up their first pick....you do that when you are top 4 and your first pick is 20 something....they love to snag a Goddard.....I think wed be silly.

GWS is our best bet but I reckon he wont want to go there.

Gram is done and dusted - despite the Gram apologists here, Ive said so for some time. IF you want to move forward it aint with him. Milne too - just way to 1 dimensional and poor decision maker...been a great player but it is time.

goddard is not elite.

the term elite gets thrown around too much.

ablett is elite. you could through another 10-20 players before you would get to goddards name and thats being very optimistic and thinking of his 09/10 form.

stkildathunda wrote:Dont think he is elite. Swan, Pendles, Selwood, Watson, Franklin etc. They are elite and Goddard is nowhere near those guys. Yes when he is "on" he is as good as those but they do it week in week out whereas BJ does it once every 4-6 weeks.
Agree with that...BJ is not elite at the moment. He's just a good player.

tglennisback

What happened with that shot for a goal last night? Forty metres out, nearly directly in front. I backed him in, then he shanks it. I can't see Pendlebury, Swan, Beams, bloody LRT doing something like that!