Our Cheer Squad

Re: Our Cheer Squad

thejiggingsaint wrote:If you're not happy with the Cheer squad, then JOIN US!!!!! and be a part of the solution!
EXACTLY

Someone buy that man a BEER !!
Good call, if you want it to change, you can help do that.

Our cheer squad is an absolute disgrace. It beats me how people that look as though they have never held down a job can afford to travel. I give them kudos for going to most games assuming they spend their pension on flights? I guess flights must be cheaper on the pension?

I've only seen the cheersquad once in flesh and i thought it was crap... no atmosphere or overall good vibe... the ladies are overweight with mullets... hairy chins and coke bottle glasses

I think the Saints should sack the current cheersquad and re-hire others... ones that are going to get mutual supporters to barrack for us!

Carn Saints
HelenR

Really sad that all you can do is be critical of group of supporters that do a hell of a lot more for the club than the majority. To say "sack the current cheersquad and re-hire others..." well they are not paid and do it all to support the club. As others have posted if you don't like it then do something about it.

It is still run on a who you know rather than a what you know basis.

Dooley's daddy is in with Westaway and from this Dooley will probably be a leader of the cheer squad in years to come. Does anybody want this? No. But then again once a daddy's boy always a daddy's boy.

Despite this he openly bags our players with complete disregard with respect to his somewhat official role as part of the cheer squad.

I can handle the bogan hairy-chined women as it is probably the highlight of their uninspiring weeks' however it is not acceptable for members to bag out (in this instance Kosi) continuously.

Nobody forces anyone to be a member of the cheer squad however it deserves criticism.

When you have the gumption to publicly criticise our players especially ones that have given 200+ games of service it is not good enough.

HelenR wrote:Really sad that all you can do is be critical of group of supporters that do a hell of a lot more for the club than the majority. To say "sack the current cheersquad and re-hire others..." well they are not paid and do it all to support the club. As others have posted if you don't like it then do something about it.
They are awful. They are insular and it is difficult to reason with a hairy-chined bogany womany thing. On the flipside I would prefer not to be in contact with any of them.

Usually I'd agree with the "get in there and change it" voices but when it's so systemically embedded into the fabric of the group there's not a lot you can do. They need to hand over the baton rather than wait for the revolution.

It's sad. It used to attract energetic, creative, fun people. Then it became a magnet for...well, have a look at it and you'll know what I mean.

I'm not keen on sticking the boot in for no reason. They do support the club, they do turn up week-in, week-out, and all put a lot of money into travel. That's to be commended.

But when you want the group to be filled with passionate, intimidating voices - the kind that can lift the roof off when we score goals - we have the opposite. Reminds me a bit of that batch of old Swans fans who used to be behind the SCG goals in the 1990s.

I think we're stuck with it, unfortunately.

GOAL, GOAL, GOAL....WOOOO.

:oops:

milney044

I think the behind the scenes stuff the Cheer Squad do is great, from organising trips interstate to making the banner. It's the stuff at the actual games, in their seats that's the issue. I think some do try to get things going and there are a lot of good chants, like the "Milney" chants and "Lenny is a legend". I just think it's hard when there doesn't seem to be enough people willing to participate. Basically, I don't think it's fair to single out the whole cheer squad because there are those in there that are doing their very best, but some just don't seem to have the passion or simply don't want to make any noise. Well sorry, but it's called the "cheer" squad for a reason. Personally, I reckon if you aren't prepared to make the noise then it's time to let someone else have your seat, still be a part of the cheer squad in terms of what goes on behind the scenes and all, but if you aren't going to make the noise, you shouldn't be able to sit there. Just my opinion of course.

Destiny. It's in our hands.

Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.

The cheer squad has always had problems making a bit of noise, we all know that, no need to ask questions. Pretty simple, our seats used to be first in best dressed. this made people get there when the gates opened to get their seat, people made noise, people wanted to be there. now, reserved seating, people turn up any time up until the first bounce...if not some time through the first quarter. people dont cheer as though they are in a cheer squad because a large % of people are there for the cheap reserved seat, others are there to get finals tickets, and the rest were probably born in the 1800's.

Flags: If we could have huge flags we would. The AFL has set out a number of very funny rules for us to follow by. one being that flags are to be no bigger than a broom stick. I was escorted out of Subi last week by three (3) (III) security guards because i had 4 "weapons" on me. 4 flags that were much bigger than a broom stick. I am sincerely sorry. They were taken to the cloak room, wrapped up and locked away.
The AFL is yet to make a rule about non cheer squad members cheering though. Most other cheer squads have a bit of support from those 3 bays to their left and right, we get very little.

Alot of time and effort was put into making Lenny and Farrens banner last week, so thank you to whoever mentioned that.

Batnoe, dont be stupid mate. A lot of people work hard through summer so we can afford to fly around throughout winter. we pay full price for the flights, hotels, cabs, transport, extra luggage because those flags and floggers are not exactly light, game day tickets and so on... get a grip

Redeemer, how are we mate? long time to talk. just though i'd let you know that player you are talking about actually is yet to reach 200 games so maybe just read up on your stats before opening your mouth. cya next week!!! xoxox

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

I think your being harsh on Dools .. He is a fan he is entitled to his opinion on Kosi even if the majority disagree with it it's his right .. Being in the cheersquad isn't a given you will love every saints player .. I reckon Dools running the CS would be great ! Get some fresh ideas some innovation some agro to the group instead of the current knitting group we have got !

was a s*** effort from Saints fans in general for a milestone game for a favourite son. I was up in the level 3 centre and def bigger contingent for the swans and it sounded like their supporters out numbered us 2 to 1 also. We are really struggling to have people show for games. The Hawks and melbourne games may as well have only opened one gate at the G.Tigers will bring a massive crowd and be like their GF so we should get a touch up from the umpires caught up in tiger fever.

yep I get that feeling it will be 2:1 tiger fans.

The Redeemer wrote:
HelenR wrote:Really sad that all you can do is be critical of group of supporters that do a hell of a lot more for the club than the majority. To say "sack the current cheersquad and re-hire others..." well they are not paid and do it all to support the club. As others have posted if you don't like it then do something about it.
On the flipside I would prefer not to be in contact with any of them.

thats not what my facebook inbox says Daniel.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

saintdooley wrote:
The Redeemer wrote:
On the flipside I would prefer not to be in contact with any of them.

thats not what my facebook inbox says Daniel.
I was prepared to give the cheer squad the benefit of the doubt however after the rubbish on the Gold Coast....nah

saintdooley wrote:The cheer squad has always had problems making a bit of noise, we all know that, no need to ask questions. Pretty simple, our seats used to be first in best dressed. this made people get there when the gates opened to get their seat, people made noise, people wanted to be there. now, reserved seating, people turn up any time up until the first bounce...if not some time through the first quarter. people dont cheer as though they are in a cheer squad because a large % of people are there for the cheap reserved seat, others are there to get finals tickets, and the rest were probably born in the 1800's.

Flags: If we could have huge flags we would. The AFL has set out a number of very funny rules for us to follow by. one being that flags are to be no bigger than a broom stick. I was escorted out of Subi last week by three (3) (III) security guards because i had 4 "weapons" on me. 4 flags that were much bigger than a broom stick. I am sincerely sorry. They were taken to the cloak room, wrapped up and locked away.
The AFL is yet to make a rule about non cheer squad members cheering though. Most other cheer squads have a bit of support from those 3 bays to their left and right, we get very little.

Alot of time and effort was put into making Lenny and Farrens banner last week, so thank you to whoever mentioned that.

Batnoe, dont be stupid mate. A lot of people work hard through summer so we can afford to fly around throughout winter. we pay full price for the flights, hotels, cabs, transport, extra luggage because those flags and floggers are not exactly light, game day tickets and so on... get a grip

Redeemer, how are we mate? long time to talk. just though i'd let you know that player you are talking about actually is yet to reach 200 games so maybe just read up on your stats before opening your mouth. cya next week!!! xoxox
Nobody has forced you to pay full price for flights, hotels, cabs etc etc. You do it off your own bat however you should not be lauded for it.

I will not be seeing you next week as you come up with strange notions of physical altercations that so many people witnessed did not happen.

They did agree with my comments with respect to you though and see you as a little daddy's boy virgin kid with a face that only a mother could love.

The Redeemer wrote:
saintdooley wrote:The cheer squad has always had problems making a bit of noise, we all know that, no need to ask questions. Pretty simple, our seats used to be first in best dressed. this made people get there when the gates opened to get their seat, people made noise, people wanted to be there. now, reserved seating, people turn up any time up until the first bounce...if not some time through the first quarter. people dont cheer as though they are in a cheer squad because a large % of people are there for the cheap reserved seat, others are there to get finals tickets, and the rest were probably born in the 1800's.

I will not be seeing you next week as you come up with strange notions of physical altercations that so many people witnessed did not happen.
your little friend batnoe? :lol:

milney044 wrote:I'm no longer surprised our cheer squad is so quiet, not when I sit in Social Club a few bays away. Here is an example of our "supportive" supporters in this area. It was the start of the third quarter and Riewoldt was going after the footy inside 50 and the group I was with were yelling "Go Rooey go, C'mon Roo!!" when we were told to "shut up" by a so called Saints fan sitting in front of us. I'm not joking. We were not swearing, we were not being rude, simply encouraging Roo as he went after the football. I found this unbeliebable and quite frankly a disgrace.

Who wants to sit in the "members" section, shout support for the team and then be told to shut up by our very own fans? They don't even clap along with the cheer squad when they get chants going. Watch other team's games and it's not just the cheer squad that makes noise but they also have support from their fans around them. Jiggingsaint we miss you big time down there, the atmosphere is dead and the people around us tell us to shut up and shoot us dirty looks when we make some noise.
I have the same feeling about the supporting of today.

It's like the polite police have taken over the way we are expected to barrack ( with special exemptions granted to those M10 Hawthorn supporters or the drunken Swans supporters behind us on Saturday)

I would have hate to see how these people coped with games at Victoria Park, or Princes Park, or even the Western Oval especially when it would have been their grannies out swinging the umbrellas at other supporters or opposition players.

My own thought about the Cheer Squad it should be for the younger people afterall the next generation is always coming through and it's part of passing the baton onto the younger ones coming through. Almost like a rite of passage.

saintdooley wrote:
The Redeemer wrote:

your little friend batnoe? :lol:
If you are relying on that as a retort you are struggling. Many more people saw what happened and many more people had a giggle at your antics and how valid my comments with respect to you and your virginity are.

What happened when I took a swing? Was I escorted out of the ground? Arrested? Did I connect?

I am unsure what happened so enlighten me.

P.S. you hang out with middle aged women on your weekends who have more hair on their face than mine so what does that say about you?

I love this site.

I love the redeemer.

this site goes alright, never had a issue with the cheer squad,

evo

Should I put the popcorn on?

The noise problem as I see it (if you want to call it a problem) is that the MOORABBIN WING make a LOT more noise than the CHEERSQUAD. This perspective is from where I sit in Aisle 36 on L1. I'd love to see (as mentioned) the bays either side of the cheersquad FULL of rabid saints fans. Perhaps BOTH the MOORABBIN WING and the CHEERSQUAD could work together to create the atmosphere/noise that people are suggesting. I know that this HAS BEEN ACHEIVED in the past at a couple of ALL TICKETED games, but this was the work of ONE PERSON. Perhaps the CHEERSQUAD could innitiate talks with him to see how much common ground there is and what can be done to improve things.

It also appears that pricing is an issue. Does the cheersquad get their reserved seats at a cheaper rate than the bays either side at ETIHAD? If so, should the club get involved in negotiations to get a better deal for members who might want to take up an offer to be in this area?

There is a fair bit of belly aching about the CHEERSQUAD in this thread (how much of it is deserved is another matter). The way I see it now is that WE NEED SOLUTIONS. Everyone has had their go at saying what's wrong. We can just keep going as we are going or we can make change for the better. If we are to make change for the better someone has to SHOW PLENTY OF LEADERSHIP. Whether that is someone in the CHEERSQUAD, someone from THE CLUB, someone from another supporter group like the MOORABBIN WING or someone completely new is a GOOD PLACE TO START.

Anyone on here want to offer up something? !!

I remember when we were sponsored by tooheys and we pretty much had 2 cheersquads... The traditional one of course and then a big group of people with tooheys saints flags. Anyone else remember that?

The Redeemer wrote:It is still run on a who you know rather than a what you know basis.

Dooley's daddy is in with Westaway and from this Dooley will probably be a leader of the cheer squad in years to come. Does anybody want this? No. But then again once a daddy's boy always a daddy's boy.

Despite this he openly bags our players with complete disregard with respect to his somewhat official role as part of the cheer squad.

I can handle the bogan hairy-chined women as it is probably the highlight of their uninspiring weeks' however it is not acceptable for members to bag out (in this instance Kosi) continuously.

Nobody forces anyone to be a member of the cheer squad however it deserves criticism.

When you have the gumption to publicly criticise our players especially ones that have given 200+ games of service it is not good enough.
+1.

It's a disgrace.

Its an easy thing to bag the CS from a distance. I"ve had an issue or two with some members of the Cheer squad (and not just over bringing in beer :wink:) but will continue to renew my CS membership. Incidentally, SOME of those who bag the cheer squad should look around them at the next game where things may not be going so well on the field. take it from me, the CS don't hold the patent in being "quiet", not by any stretch of the imagination. Like I say, JOIN US and help change it!