OFFICIAL: Hamill, Hudghton and Low appointed!

GrumpyOne wrote:Lets not forget guys we were one errant bounce away from premiership number two. Lyon was/is a good coach but had many faults.

Watters has me moist. His approach to the task and the appointments made, especially Aaron and Maxy, indicate that he is not going to be content midfielding the ladder.

2012 will be tough for us, but I can see in the following two years that we will again be the team to beat for the premiership.
Correct.

NO ONE likes the underhanded way Lyon left us....deceitful for sure...BUT this revisionist shyte that it was terriblegoing to the footy under him blah blah.....is BS.

I went along in 2009 and EVERYTIME I went to a game I didnt expect to win.......I KNEW we were gonna win cause we were just that good - the best in the comp. Players were enormous and Lyon helped build that.

Sure, didnt win a flag - he cant kick goals for Schneider and others in the 10 meter goal square though can he? he cant make a ball bounce a meter longer to Milne?

As a coach/playing group it was/sitll is about giving yourself a chance to win a flag by first getting there and second on the day getting it all to come together with some luck (see hawks 2008 V LUCKY IMO).

Like him or not as a person (and I agree hes no "future builder/developer" of lists )but he can coach. If Freo get a decent injury run he'll improve them out of sight over the previous moron in Mark harvey.

Lyons biggest unkown obstacle is that the game has caught up with the defensive model he loves......the question mark Freo must be worried bout is can he develop them offensively as well? - he couldnt with us IMO

No, he couldn't. And I suspect that it iis going to be tough going for Freo for a season and a half as it was for us.
The question is - when the worm turns for them - as it did for us - will Sandilands still be up to the task after all the injuries he's had? Will Pavlich still be as good in 18 months time as he has been up ro date, but with all the wear and tear accumulating? Will Dawson be able to cement a key defensive post with the size of some of the young forwards coming through the ranks?

Money-wise Rossy will be fine, but I feel that any success for Freo is two years away at least.

samuraisaint wrote:No, he couldn't. And I suspect that it iis going to be tough going for Freo for a season and a half as it was for us.
The question is - when the worm turns for them - as it did for us - will Sandilands still be up to the task after all the injuries he's had? Will Pavlich still be as good in 18 months time as he has been up ro date, but with all the wear and tear accumulating? Will Dawson be able to cement a key defensive post with the size of some of the young forwards coming through the ranks?

Money-wise Rossy will be fine, but I feel that any success for Freo is two years away at least.
True on Pav/Sandilands but Freo have some talent no doubt...they need a harder edge woth some structure and Lyon will bring that.

Not convinced he'll need 2 yrs as he did with us to have an impact on them and if thats the case how long will Scott Watter need at St Kilda? will Hayes be gone? Will Riewoldt be as good???................much the same arguments can be levelled at us.

Time will tell.

I used us as an example to draw attention to the difficulties that new coaches with a very inflexible game plan have when they begin with a new group of players.
Regarding us, well I think we have developed a culture over the past twenty years of being exteremely competitive. What did Ross have to work with, with us? Well, here we go for a start -
Think we play away (interstate) as well as anyone going around at the moment.
Think having played 7 of the past eight years in finals, plus having a winning percentage of over 50% in each of the past nine years gives us a bit of an edge over them.
Don't see any of that happening at Freo any time soon. The only time they have beaten us for years was sirengate in Tasmania, plus the "whispers in the sky" game when they won by a point due to a highly dubious volley of free kicks at Subi, and only then after we lost Kosi, who was in career best form at the time.
You cannot compare Lenny Hayes with any Freo player. No way. Lenny stood up when it counted the most and has a medal to say so. What has Pav done?
And Roo singlehandedly dragged us into a grand final in 2009. Who at Freo has ever done anything resembling that?

crippa2sipa wrote:
stinger wrote:that was...is....because lyon is actually a poor character...as he has shown himself to be....
Coming from a man of such exemplary character as yourself, stinger, that is a damning assessment indeed.
my character has never been in question in the real world sport.... :roll: :roll: :roll:

can you say the same...??? :roll:

you don't like my post...okay....but that doesn't give you a right to attack the poster.... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Scollop wrote:Leigh Matthews and the CEO of the AFL and many of the biggest names in footy have also voiced a similar opinion

stinger is in esteemed company...:wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:
thanks mate.... :wink:

stinger wrote: yep......sad ain't it????..could see that towards the end of last year...but some posters could not see the forest for the trees, ffs....i didn't trust him....and i was right.....

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

I distinctly remember you posting that you loved Ross Lyon on quite a few occasions.

credibility = 0

find a post where i said that.....maybe it was the red talking....anyway as i have said before...i fell out of any love i might have had for him watching roo toil one out against three in the grandfinal replay whilst milne and schnider sat on the bench...and if you had withdrawn your head from your anus during that rematch you might have seen that too...... :roll: :roll:

samuraisaint wrote:I used us as an example to draw attention to the difficulties that new coaches with a very inflexible game plan have when they begin with a new group of players.
Regarding us, well I think we have developed a culture over the past twenty years of being exteremely competitive. What did Ross have to work with, with us? Well, here we go for a start -
Think having played 7 of the past eight years in finals, plus having a winning percentage of over 50% in each of the past nine years gives us a bit of an edge over them.
Don't see any of that happening at Freo any time soon. The only time they have beaten us for years was sirengate in Tasmania, plus the "whispers in the sky" game when they won by a point due to a highly dubious volley of free kicks at Subi, and only then after we lost Kosi, who was in career best form at the time.
You cannot compare Lenny Hayes with any Freo player. No way. Lenny stood up when it counted the most and has a medal to say so. What has Pav done?
And Roo singlehandedly dragged us into a grand final in 2009. Who at Freo has ever done anything resembling that?
Theres always more than 1 way to look at things.

Many would argue we are on our way down after being up since 2004?
Freo played finals - year before last ?? and some argue their youth of Hill, Fyfe, Lower, Barlow, Clarke etc are of good quality and getting to a point where they will genuinely impact (many of ours have played 4 and 5 games...). IF they have a good injury run we KNOW they have the best ruck in the game and with Pavlich a genuine match winner. Plus their defence - with MPharlin (quality) and young Silvagni and soon Dawson has plenty of depth...

I think what you're ignoring is where both sides list age/development wise are at in terms of comparison. Don forget,in 2007 under Lyon we went backwards at a time when no one was doing full defensive presses....there was a lot to learn.....most sides have mastered this already...and Ross Lyon is no longer a rookie coach (unlike Scott Watters hes actually been to GF's and done it......would have to learnt something..)....the learning trajectory may not be as steep for them......

There must be problems with the facility at Seaford. Why else would you employ a builder and pool installer?

crippa2sipa wrote:
stinger wrote:that was...is....because lyon is actually a poor character...as he has shown himself to be....
Coming from a man of such exemplary character as yourself, stinger, that is a damning assessment indeed.
my character has never been in question in the real world sport.... :roll: :roll: :roll:

can you say the same...??? :roll:

you don't like my post...okay....but that doesn't give you a right to attack the poster.... :roll: :roll: :roll:
It is pretty easy to do so considering forum-wide you are known as a complete prick.

.better than being known forum wide as an ignorant arrogant mummies boy who can't figure out which end the silver spoon actually goes in.

.buy yourself some sex last night or did u go home to freddy ferret ?

Bernard Shakey wrote:There must be problems with the facility at Seaford. Why else would you employ a builder and pool installer?
Glass half full = They could be adding to the facility by building a lap pool !!

Teflon, agree with you about McPharlin. I have posted elsewhere that I cannot belive the Squawks let him go.
But with regards Freo can only go by what I have seen - and as the great Steven J Peake says, I cannot deal with clairvoyancy. Have not seen Freo 'turn up' often enough in Melbourne, nor have I seen a side so supposedly jam packed with talent get opened up so often.
Also agree with you about the luck with injuries thing - but they are pretty big ifs. I reckon Sandilands because of his size cannot help but cop injuries. His body is huge and he seems to be prone to them.
Pav - proven matchwinner? When was the last time he won a game for them in Melbourne ...?
When Lyon came to us after 2006 players on our list had played several seasons of very good footy - add to that the fact that several players from our 1997 Grannie team were still around, Harvs, Max etc and the proven capabilities we had on offer eclipse anything Freo have actually done - not what they may do.
Agree also that we need to look forward with our list and start to develop Ledger, Cripps, etc.
I just don't rate Freo at all as a side, they do not combine well at all and could not believe it a couple of years ago when they were touted by some as a premiership chance.

saintnick12

We seem to have a lot more coaches this year - especially in the development area which is great to see.

Last year, on match day - we had the head coach, plus 4 line coaches - forward, mid, back, then King as Ruck coach.

We have so far appointed line coaches for mid and forward (Laidley and Kingley) and we still need to appoint a defensive coach. There is no mention of appointing a ruck coach. The articles re the appointment of Max and Hamill to the defence/offence part time specialist coaches respectively, say we still need to appt a specialist coach for the mid field. Is this coach going to be the ruck coach, or does that come from the development coaching pool?
We seem to have heaps more coaches overall, but even after we appoint a full time defensive coach it seems we will still be one down on last year in terms of match day, unless the specialist midfield coach they are still to appoint turns out to be full time also.

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.

StSteven wrote:Still wondering what Aaron has been doing since retiring. Anyone know?

Hope this is more about football than marketing for the members.
i know he commentated occaionally on MMM

StSteven wrote:Still wondering what Aaron has been doing since retiring. Anyone know?

Hope this is more about football than marketing for the members.
I think there has already been enough good news and excitement generated down Seaford way in the last few weeks to suggest your second option would be unnecessary and therefore unlikely.

gazrat wrote:.better than being known forum wide as an ignorant arrogant mummies boy who can't figure out which end the silver spoon actually goes in.

.buy yourself some sex last night or did u go home to freddy ferret ?
backpacking around Europe with mummies money babes so cannot really go home. actually a bit of daddys money too as they attempt to buy my love.

i am not ignorant i just stand up to your nonsense however as before. i was born and am plain better than you.

.sent you overseas for your gap life huh,
hoping you find yourself a conscience.

.daddies not as silly as his son makes him out to be.

ando051

skeptic wrote:
3rd generation saint wrote:For the young players, and some of the older ones who will be playing in our forward line I couldn't think of a better mentor than Hammil.
Expect some pressure and fierce tackling in our forward half next year.
Hey, expect to actually have a forward line next year that scores.
The question on Hamil is whether he has tactical nous

Have always regarded him as a super player, hardworking and a great leader by example and attitude... never saw anything to suggest he was a clever tactician type

That's not to say I've seen anything to suggest otherwise

Either way... am very glad to have him on board... around the 2004 era was when our culture was looking a lot stronger and I'm glad we've got some of these leaders back that helped turn the club around.

Sammy is not coming in as a line coach. He will be a specialist coach on the training track. So not being a tactician will not have much to do with it that will be left up to the line coach. If he can pass on his work ethic and commitment that he showed, that can not be a bad thing,can it.

.a couple of go hard sainters telling the current mob about the glory butter boys days.
.all good in my book.

samuraisaint wrote:I used us as an example to draw attention to the difficulties that new coaches with a very inflexible game plan have when they begin with a new group of players.
You cannot compare Lenny Hayes with any Freo player. No way. Lenny stood up when it counted the most and has a medal to say so. What has Pav done?And Roo singlehandedly dragged us into a grand final in 2009. Who at Freo has ever done anything resembling that?
i think youré a little bit biased here.

but good points you make!

You cannot compare Lenny Hayes with any Freo player. No way. Lenny stood up when it counted the most and has a medal to say so. What has Pav done?And Roo singlehandedly dragged us into a grand final in 2009. Who at Freo has ever done anything resembling that?
i think youré a little bit biased here.

but good points you make!

southernsaint

The way our club has rebounded since the lyin departure has been outstanding and for max and hammer to be back in these roles is fantastic. I cant wait for 2012. Go sainters

gazrat wrote::D

.sent you overseas for your gap life huh,
hoping you find yourself a conscience.

.daddies not as silly as his son makes him out to be.
Absolutely not. Been there done that. This is my trip between finishing university and full-time work.

You have under-estimated my age babycakes.

Fact is I am in your head and I have some pull around here. People read and take on board what I say. You just abuse for the sake of.

As previous. I am plain better than you.

southernsaint wrote:The way our club has rebounded since the lyin departure has been outstanding and for max and hammer to be back in these roles is fantastic. I cant wait for 2012. Go sainters
I'm pretty sure we haven't won a game since Lyon left. We also lost our number one fullback and one of his potential replacements. I like to be positive but I'll reserve "outstanding" for finishing top 4.

Furtius Quo Rdelious