Ayres??

peter lockwood

Ayres??

I was just wondering if anyone has heard anything more about him joining our club in some way.There was an article about 2weeks ago the afl website saying he was strongly rumoured to join us.

Re: Ayres??

peter lockwood wrote:I was just wondering if anyone has heard anything more about him joining our club in some way.There was an article about 2weeks ago the afl website saying he was strongly rumoured to join us.
There were rumours at the time that he was going to get the Academy Director job. Those who started it must have pretty good clairvoyant powers as the rumours started before applications closed for the job !!

would be a great pick up imo

zebraman

I had a text today from a mate who reckons Ayres has left Port and has the job....his sources are usually pretty accurate

However...I'll believe it when I see it

" The universal aptitude for ineptitude makes any human accomplishment an incredible miracle "

zebraman wrote:I had a text today from a mate who reckons Ayres has left Port and has the job....his sources are usually pretty accurate

However...I'll believe it when I see it
The time-frame matches this as applications closed Friday 11 November !!

Hank

Really hope he does . Heard else where he did leave his job at port too

Top jobs in footy are not easy to come by, so if Ayresey has resigned, it shows that he has a "definite" role elsewhere - looks like it could well be us.

His fit for the Academy role looks good. I would not have been so comfortable in him being directly involved in an Assistant Coaching role.

Perfect for the academy role..this is all too good to be true :wink:

saint patrick wrote:Perfect for the academy role..this is all too good to be true :wink:
Disagree on this one.

I have friends who are close to the top at Geelong. (Sadly my only inside-footy contacts these days. :( ) Anyway, they are no fans of Ayres, and didn't rate him highly even before he did his Judas act when the Hillbillies fell into a major financial hole.

Remember that escapde? Off to Adelaide - and how did the Crows go under the great coach? Not too well... Yet the same playing list picked up dramatically as soon as G Ayres was dispensed with. Hmmmm...

Our club has just seen the back of one Judas, we do NOT need another I reckon.

So it's NO to G Ayres for me - not even if he ditches that mullet and the unnecessary use of the plural form.

I too have concerns over Ayres....not sold on his football genius like some...

That said, depends how much "damage" this Academy role can do?

Wouldve like a Neal Daniher in that role myself.....good with people, not an egomaniac and knows his footy.

Having a guy who was a champion
played in 5 flags....winning two norm smiths
won an AFL B&F
captained an AFL club
Is in a TOTC

Coached 10 years at AFL level
Coached a team in a Grand Final
Has been an Assistant to Sheedy
Coached 4 years at VFL Level
Coached VFL team to 2 grand Finals (1 win) undefeated by a stand alone outfit

How exactly can that be a bad thing???

If we score him....we have done well IMO

Junction Oval wrote:Top jobs in footy are not easy to come by, so if Ayresey has resigned, it shows that he has a "definite" role elsewhere - looks like it could well be us.

His fit for the Academy role looks good. I would not have been so comfortable in him being directly involved in an Assistant Coaching role.
No job at Port Adelaide can be remotely described as a "Top Job".
More like the job you take when you can't find a job.

TD

BigMart wrote:Having a guy who was a champion
won an AFL B&F
captained an AFL club
Is in a TOTC

This!!

Well he fronted Ports first preseason training session...so the Judas tag is gonna get used again if he quits them at this stage to join us

TD wrote:
won an AFL B&F
captained an AFL club
Is in a TOTC

This!!
That.

won an AFL B&F
captained an AFL club
Is in a TOTC

All good points but have you seen his hair?

Furtius Quo Rdelious
groupie1

won an AFL B&F
captained an AFL club
Is in a TOTC

Because the job is about training new blokes and getting blokes from the seniors who STILL CAN'T f****** KICK STRAIGHT some skill lessons. Its a skill teaching job. Does anyone know anything about Ayres to know he'd be able to do it? Peter Hudson turned Loewe into a lovely set shot at goal. What it needs is someone like that.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga
groupie1

won an AFL B&F
captained an AFL club
Is in a TOTC

Because the job is about training new blokes and getting blokes from the seniors who STILL CAN'T f****** KICK STRAIGHT some skill lessons. Its a skill teaching job. Does anyone know anything about Ayres to know he'd be able to do it? Peter Hudson turned Loewe into a lovely set shot at goal. What it needs is someone like that.

groupie1

won an AFL B&F
captained an AFL club
Is in a TOTC

the Academy directors position does not necesarily include hands on skill training as that is what McPhee, Hudson and Graham are doing.

jimmy_slats

ace wrote:
Junction Oval wrote:Top jobs in footy are not easy to come by, so if Ayresey has resigned, it shows that he has a "definite" role elsewhere - looks like it could well be us.

No job at Port Adelaide can be remotely described as a "Top Job".
More like the job you take when you can't find a job.
clearly talking about port melbourne......

'WALK THIS WAY!!!!!'
peter lockwood

Can anyone actually confirm that he has actually left port Melbourne?

thirty-seven!?

Interestingly, Ayers has just been announced as one of the faces of Hawthorn's 2012 membership campaign. Whilst it may be reading too much into it, I wouldnt expect him to be doing something like this if we were about to announce him as being on our coaching staff??

thirty-seven!? wrote:Interestingly, Ayers has just been announced as one of the faces of Hawthorn's 2012 membership campaign. Whilst it may be reading too much into it, I wouldnt expect him to be doing something like this if we were about to announce him as being on our coaching staff??
It's easy to see why the Gary Ayres name is being thrown up on this thread, particularly when most other likely candidates are contracted elsewhere.

However since the Watters announcement there have been many surprise appointments and it wouldn't surprise me one bit if the Saints pull another rabbit out of the hat with the Academy head.

Grant?