Raph

oh amd MSF... nobody has to like all the players in the team but it's disappointing that your actually ridiculing Raph.

Me personally... I don't like Clint Jones and would prefer we get what we can for him... I never out and out bag him in a personal way... he and Raph have been at the club for a while and given it everything they have

that deserves some repect

Do we have a better ruck fwd than Kosi on the list???

Raph is not a better defender than Gwilt....not by a long shot..

He is not a total dud....as is spruked on here....he is about where a number of our lower rung players are....such as Ray, Peake, Dawson, Armitage and a couple of others....just behind Gram and Schnieder...

but we have a few options to take his spot

I think he's a much better defender then Gwilt... more accountable, better in the air, works harder...

Gwilt often gets found out on the lead and a few times this season esp against ESS the opposition directed their forward thrusts through Gwilt's opponent

that being said, I know whose hands I'd prefer to have the ball in when kicking out

skeptic wrote:I think he's a much better defender then Gwilt...
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
JohnE

saintdooley wrote:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol

Kourkoumelis & Beveridge & Traianidis Appreciation Society

Just go Raph.

groupie1

A can of f****** Raph bashers opened yet again.
One of the quickest blokes on the list - long strides make him look slower than he is.
Beautiful user of the ball. Plays instinctively very creative football and delivers it nicely to leading forward. Marks with courage, great athlete, spoils well.
Negatives: Inconsistent. Can butcher it occasionally. Can lack awareness.
Was it against West Coast or Carlton recently he had the game of his career, )including kicking a nice long goal), yet the bashers come out again.

He is a potential game winner who needs to be given some freedom, a license to run and play instinctive footy, back himself, have confidence.

Leave the poor f*** alone and accept that with Raph you get the best and the worst in any game he plays - we used to say the same of Milne.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

i'm stuck on the decision. i love raph as a player and feel he gets potted by supporters because he doesnt back down and keeps having a go. its easy to see his mistakes because he's trying to take the game on and wont take a backwards step.

other players in the same position ala gram simply take short steps and never impact the contest and never put them selves in a position to make a mistake.

however raph is getting on. if he wont be here for the next 4 years then we should trade him now.

tough call.

ralphsmith

saintdooley wrote:I hear on SEN they are re-signing Raph???

yay :roll: :roll: :roll:
f***.

karnak

good,

i'm a fan, looking forward to seeing him on a wing

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!
ralphsmith

On a wing getting run down from behind when he could have clearly kicked the ball, resulting in a free kick and goal to the opposition.

yay....

down the ladder we go with this attitude towards players.

saintdooley wrote:I hear on SEN they are re-signing Raph???

yay :roll: :roll: :roll:
New chant?

ralphsmith wrote:On a wing getting run down from behind when he could have clearly kicked the ball, resulting in a free kick and goal to the opposition.

yay....

have a deep breath, have a look at what you have written this week and relise your a bit of a wank right now..... :roll:

ralphsmith wrote:On a wing getting run down from behind when he could have clearly kicked the ball, resulting in a free kick and goal to the opposition.

yay....

have a deep breath, have a look at what you have written this week and relise your a bit of a wank right now..... :roll:

repeated

saintdooley wrote:
explain to me why he isn't?

Raph is better in the air
more accountable
covers more space
Smarter
wins more contested ball

Gwilt is a better disposer of the ball and cleaner with his hands and more composed

and :lol: :lol: :lol: is hardly a convincing argument

lets hear either of you two guys make an argument

saintdooley wrote:

more accountable
covers more space
Smarter
wins more contested ball

Gwilt is a better disposer of the ball and cleaner with his hands and more composed

Reading this site, and the contributions of some, you realise why stoking the fires of inherent racism in Australia is on the political agenda as it is with "boat people" and why that description of refugees is being resorted to by one side politics - and why the other side of politics attempts to counter instead of addressing the fundamental issue - because polling shows our under lying racist character hence common sense, dignity and compassion are not on the agenda and can not be prosecuted in Australia.

So we get the result we get now courtesy of a High Court ruling (and why wasn't "offshore processing" challenged in the High Court during the Howard years?) not by political resolve and leadership or by community pressure.

I repeat for those attacking on here, how many times has Clarke been caught holding the ball versus how many times has Milne been caught holding the ball?

The ball carrier (so that excludes Milne) demands protection, by team mate's voice and by team mate's blocking or creating hand off opportunities.

How many times have we seen a wave of opposition defenders running at our static players, handing off, running on then handing off making us look stupid?

Even sides lower on the table do it to us.

How many times have you sat there and commented "Why can't we develop that attacking, come from behind in waves style of play? Why are we so static by comparison, and look so slow by comparison?".

The only times we see attempts to create this play is when Gram, Clarke or Gilbert are involved - and then what are they left to aim at? Or do they then stop, turn around and kick backwards?

The remainder of our defenders are static defenders lacking dash and lacking the resolve and the skills to become dashing defenders.

That is why we bemoan that our side lacks pace.

Because we do not run in support - we defend zones.

And when that zone is pushed back into the red zone for opposition scoring opportunities we can not get it out - look at the elimination final v Sydney as but one example.

Panic, close in handballs backwards to a player "spotted up" by the opposition because it is well known how we react - and that player is then forced into a panic disposal - backwards.

We are rolled back to the opposition red zone for scoring - and eventually they do score.

That also is the reason we never seem to have the "release valve" player sitting 40 metres off the contest and un-marked - and the spread options then created because someone has to go to that player.

So do not heap blame on one player - one player of just a few who attempt to take our ball usage to an acceptable AFL level for 2011 and onwards.

Reading this site, and the contributions of some, you realise why stoking the fires of inherent racism in Australia is on the political agenda as it is with "boat people" and why that description of refugees is being resorted to by one side politics - and why the other side of politics attempts to counter instead of addressing the fundamental issue - because polling shows our under lying racist character hence common sense, dignity and compassion are not on the agenda and can not be prosecuted in Australia.

So we get the result we get now courtesy of a High Court ruling (and why wasn't "offshore processing" challenged in the High Court during the Howard years?) not by political resolve and leadership or by community pressure.

I repeat for those attacking on here, how many times has Clarke been caught holding the ball versus how many times has Milne been caught holding the ball?

The ball carrier (so that excludes Milne) demands protection, by team mate's voice and by team mate's blocking or creating hand off opportunities.

How many times have we seen a wave of opposition defenders running at our static players, handing off, running on then handing off making us look stupid?

How many times have you sat there and commented "Why can't we develop that attacking, come from behind in waves style of play? Why are we so static by comparison, and look so slow by comparison?".

The only times we see attempts to create this play is when Gram, Clarke or Gilbert are involved - and then what are they left to aim at? Or do they then stop, turn around and kick backwards?

The remainder of our defenders are static defenders lacking dash and lacking the resolve and the skills to become dashing defenders.

And when that zone is pushed back into the red zone for opposition scoring opportunities we can not get it out - look at the elimination final v Sydney as but one example.

Panic, close in handballs backwards to a player "spotted up" by the opposition because it is well known how we react - and that player is then forced into a panic disposal - backwards.

We are rolled back to the opposition red zone for scoring - and eventually they do score.

That also is the reason we never seem to have the "release valve" player sitting 40 metres off the contest and un-marked - and the spread options then created because someone has to go to that player.

So do not heap blame on one player - one player of just a few who attempt to take our ball usage to an acceptable AFL level for 2011 and onwards.

ThePunter

While I do think there is plenty of unfair criticism of Clarke...

... don't hurt yourself getting off your high horse.

To the top wrote:Reading this site, and the contributions of some, you realise why stoking the fires of inherent racism in Australia is on the political agenda as it is with "boat people" and why that description of refugees is being resorted to by one side politics - and why the other side of politics attempts to counter instead of addressing the fundamental issue - because polling shows our under lying racist character hence common sense, dignity and compassion are not on the agenda and can not be prosecuted in Australia.

Do really do write a lot without saying much at all. Just one question to you, is Gram also aboriginal?

Andrew Bolt probably thinks he is.

gurubob101

Gram can't kick and is soft at the contest.
Gilbert can't kick and regularly turns the ball over.
Blake only ever kicks it sideways.
Geary can't kick, can't find the pill and constantly loses his opponent in traffic.
Dawson frequently gets beaten one on one and plays a purely defensive game.
Raph provides run and attacks the ball with courage but makes shocking errors.
Players like these are on the trade table every year at every club. The open hostility towards Raph from our supporters is not a good look.

skeptic wrote:
saintdooley wrote:

more accountable
covers more space
Smarter
wins more contested ball

who ever said i was arguing? i was just laughing.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

To the top wrote:Reading this site, and the contributions of some, you realise why stoking the fires of inherent racism in Australia is on the political agenda as it is with "boat people" and why that description of refugees is being resorted to by one side politics - and why the other side of politics attempts to counter instead of addressing the fundamental issue - because polling shows our under lying racist character hence common sense, dignity and compassion are not on the agenda and can not be prosecuted in Australia.

Do really do write a lot without saying much at all. Just one question to you, is Gram also aboriginal?

I agree with the asessment re the attitude to asylum seekers. But back to the footy.

I also can see sense in the critique of how we have been getting stuck deep in defence, though I'd add James G to the short list of our defenders who have the ability to run and attack. Also of course BJ when he is played back.

Though a fan of Ro$$y's game plan, I have noticed that our poor backline kickers are rarely helped out by a team mate running past from behind to take a hand ball, run throught the lines a bit, and save people like Bakes or Blakey from having to take a static kick which they generally direct sideways, to the fans' annoyance.

It would be very saddening if the attacks on Raf were race rather than performance based. I certainly reckon he has a go, and his clangers seem to get more focus than those of others. A classic example for me was the infamous one at the start of the 2009 GF when he was run down from behind. I actually blamed Sam F as he was close by and didn't seem to be letting Raf know that he was 'hot'.

As for Jason Gram, maybe if we go back far far enough we are nearly all aborignal???