X does his other knee

Oldtimer

X does his other knee

Heard on the radio this evening that X Clarke did his right acl at training. He was a serial member of the injury list when with us and has not gone any better with the Lions. I feel sorry for him because he showed a lot of promise early and never got back to it once the injuries started. Gerard said he was another 'dud' for the Lions.

I was there in 1966

sad news.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

joffaboy wrote:sad news.
By all accounts an absolutely top bloke.

Very, very sad indeed :cry:

#1GILL

f*** that, bloke just can't take a trick.

RW&B

joffaboy wrote:sad news.
By all accounts an absolutely top bloke.
Very, very sad indeed :cry:
Had a chat to X and Raph about their injuries outside the G before the first GF. Both of them were fantastic with their time and just allround good blokes. Fingers crossed for the both of them.

"I'm a better coach when Nick Riewoldt is in the side" - Ross Lyon 2007
hAyES

Sad to hear. Such a shame when a players career gets ruined through no fault of his own.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx

interesting comment on news headline earlier was that he was 'ordered' to have surgery.

I always wondered how he would have gone if he had stayed at the saints - when he went to Brisbane he mentioned that they had altered his rehab and it appeared to take him a long time to return to have been back start of last season.- given his fragile- for want of a better word) body to change the style or exercise would not necesarily have helped
I saw him play his first comeback game in a QUAFL Game and watched him take a nice mark,
so respected by many- read of him being on the rooms after a Saints game and being warmly welcomed by coaches as well as players.

get well X.

Raph told me that one of the main reasons Xavier was happy to go to Brisbane was that the warm weather would help his body.

I guess that he never had the body required for AFL.
Tons of skill.
And as per posts above, I met him once and he was incredibly friendly.

That sucks.

Yeah, sad news for X. Would have to wonder if he'll come back from this one. Doubtful, I would reckon.

I suppose on a brighter note, it shows the type of person X Clarke is deemed to be when such positive comments are posted on a footy forum of his former club.

Good luck X with any future endeavours you persue.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Best wishes to X.

Class footballer.... really top bloke.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

joffaboy wrote:I suppose on a brighter note, it shows the type of person X Clarke is deemed to be when such positive comments are posted on a footy forum of his former club.

I totally agree JB and I wish there was somebody on here who knew how to get all of the well wishes from us Saints supporters to him.

The mental strength required in these circumstances should never be underestimated. From all accounts he sounds like an incredible example of what all good people should aspire to be.

Cairnsman wrote:
joffaboy wrote:I suppose on a brighter note, it shows the type of person X Clarke is deemed to be when such positive comments are posted on a footy forum of his former club.

I totally agree JB and I wish there was somebody on here who knew how to get all of the well wishes from us Saints supporters to him.

The mental strength required in these circumstances should never be underestimated. From all accounts he sounds like an incredible example of what all good people should aspire to be.
couple of options I am thinking of using
just emailing customerservice@lions.com.au or
Football Department: players@lions.com.au

there are players on twitter but no club pages on there or facebook
I wondern if there is away to send via Raph.
on Saints facebook connection maybe.

A very sad thing to be happening to a top bloke!

Schillaci

Stephen Theodore wrote:Yeah, sad news for X. Would have to wonder if he'll come back from this one. Doubtful, I would reckon.
Have to feel sorry for him. I agree that this is probably career ending...very doubtful that he'll play AFL again.

Poor bugger. Such horrible luck for such a great guy. I hope he finds his way back to st kilda in some capacity. I think he has a lot to offer off the field, especially to some of the younger indigenous players in the league.

ralphsmith

Horrible.

What a talent that guy was. Fast, exciting, could take massive grabs. IF only he could have matured as a player.

poor Xman ....aparently he was having his first injury free preseason to this point training with the main squad not the rehab group .... kinda makes you feel bad when you hear of kids like the boy from GWS deciding to pull the pin before he starts when a bloke like X will do just about anything to play

GrumpyOne wrote:Best wishes to X.

Class footballer.... really top bloke.
Couldnt have said it any better. Great bloke.

All the best mate.

Lars Surgery yesterday so now it;s wait and see...

bozza1980

sad news, poor bloke just can't buy a trick.

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.

Can honestly say he is one of the few footballers I have met over the years that seemed to be a really good guy. Absolute bastards those footy gods.

I usually can't stand any defectors but have been hoping X and goose get some decent football strung together.

All the best X.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo