Rumours Saints are keen on Travis Johnstone.

barks4eva wrote:If we select Travis Johnstone then they've truly lost the plot!

No way the rumour could be true, surely!
You liked rix... did you lose the plot?

Carn Saints
AlpineStars

When he was at the Dee's they played Brisbane at the Gabba and he was out with a hammy, I saw him that night at the Crown at 4am totally polaxed, plenty of talent but not the right attitude.

Wake me up when September ends.
goods

maybe attitude is easier to change then talent?

Take the man out of the bogan tropics and put him in brighton with a steely saints leader

HSVKing

goods wrote:maybe attitude is easier to change then talent?

Take the man out of the bogan tropics and put him in brighton with a steely saints leader
And make him shave.

They walk amongst us...

I've never been keen on this bloke. Never.

I'm usually interested in being active at trade week but I'd want minimum wage and pick 90 for this bloke.

Still, Ross knows best apparently. And I don't care who has a premiership medallion hanging around their neck, so long as they're wearing a Saints jumper.

d roit wrote:Used to work a catering gig in albert park. He was at a function i did, frequented the bathroom a little too often for more liking. And by little, i mean way too often, and for too long.

No thank you, we don't need scum like him.
Poor dude. I hate diarrhea

d roit wrote:Used to work a catering gig in albert park. He was at a function i did, frequented the bathroom a little too often for more liking. And by little, i mean way too often, and for too long.

He actually has a lactose intolerance problem. Took a while for him to get it under control. Was openly talked about when he was at Melbourne.

saintlee wrote:I haven't seen this rumour anywhere, doubt its true.
yeah I hope there would not be much weight in it
Besides we were more keen on Cousins than TJ last time round

no

but i reckon we should grab leon davis
premiership player ya know

:roll: pmsl

d roit

saint75 wrote:

He actually has a lactose intolerance problem. Took a while for him to get it under control. Was openly talked about when he was at Melbourne.
I was kind of hoping i could remain that vague, but i can assure you it was not a bowel issue that was dragging him to the bathroom. Powders can easily get caught in thick beards as well.

d roit wrote:
saint75 wrote:

I was kind of hoping i could remain that vague, but i can assure you it was not a bowel issue that was dragging him to the bathroom. Powders can easily get caught in thick beards as well.
What are you talking about. If you are suggesting cocaine well it is more likely he would go to the bathroom to have a piss more often than he would go to use cocaine. Why spread that rubbish?

d roit wrote:
saint75 wrote:

So is he intolerant to powdered milk

d roit

Cos i don't want f***heads like that at our club

jroberts:)

YES

Just wanted to break the trend, but no don't try and get him saints

groupie1

HSVKing wrote:Image Image
With that grooming he would fit right in.....

AT SANDY! :wink:
I'm not sure what the interest is based on? Is there something he has that we need? ball disposal skills?

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga
Beej

All the ability in the world but he just doesn't work hard enough. When the going gets tough, he completely disappears.

Not what we need.

Would seem a really desperate pick-up IMO.

Probably in the AFL's top three easiest players to tag list, just behind Danyle Pearce.

d roit wrote:Cos i don't want f***heads like that at our club
It's fortunate we don't have any players that touch it then....

I vaguelly remember seeing him the other day asking passes-by for spare change on a street corner the other day.

I guess he's desperate to get back to Melbourne.

He is definitely not the man we are looking for.

He is turning 31 next year.. way too old.

Born in Moorabbin

Nope, I think he has been VERY average for a couple of years now. I remember the first time I saw him play, on the day of the '97 GF at the G, but I can't remember which team he was playing for.

Allwewantisaflag

Bump.....

Lions star Travis Johnstone on outer

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/l ... 5943427553
It is unlikely Johnstone, the No. 1 pick in the 1997 draft, would attract interest elsewhere despite his talent.

He could be a good fit for St Kilda, which needs outside line-breakers who kick well, but the Saints, too, have salary cap constraints.
Hmm there was a bit of talk about this as a possibility in trade week, what do people think? Is a good kick and our game plan demands that. Not the best defensive side to him though, would he fit in to "Saints footy"? If we could get him cheaply in the PSD might be worth a year to see if RL can work his magic?

Just get him. Better than peake.

Richter wrote:Bump.....

Lions star Travis Johnstone on outer

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/l ... 5943427553
It is unlikely Johnstone, the No. 1 pick in the 1997 draft, would attract interest elsewhere despite his talent.

He could be a good fit for St Kilda, which needs outside line-breakers who kick well, but the Saints, too, have salary cap constraints.
Hmm there was a bit of talk about this as a possibility in trade week, what do people think? Is a good kick and our game plan demands that. Not the best defensive side to him though, would he fit in to "Saints footy"? If we could get him cheaply in the PSD might be worth a year to see if RL can work his magic?
That article is just Mark Stevens reading BigFooty & adding the St Kilda reference in to fill out the column.

Not a chance in hell (IMO)

Our last few picks this year are important as they will be used to upgrade rookies or list one/two NSW scholarship boys. I don't think we will leave a spot open for the PSD and if we do I can't imagine Johnson offering anything to us.

HSVKing

He could be a good fit for St Kilda, which needs outside line-breakers who kick well, but the Saints, too, have salary cap constraints
That's like saying James Paker couldn't afford a 72yo lady of the night on her final outing.

If we get him, we won't be paying much for his services, despite his experience.

They walk amongst us...

Would be vying (?) for a midfield/forward spot with Peake, Ray, McQualter.... though if either of Dal or BJ went down, he can also play the passing mid role too.

Football relies on speed and accuracy as well as toughness. Not many players are A grade at any one of these qualities, but TJ was/is (?) an A grade passer. Does he still have it, or do his undoubted negatives outweigh this? Probably, but neither I wouldn't be upset to see him at the Saints next year.