Brisbane won....

citywest

Brisbane won....

I think now the Saints will probably win the wooden spoon which means we will have pick 1 in the Draft. Surely we will pick the best tall forward now. If we don't I will be bitterly disappointed. I believe our second pick would then be pick 20. Surely another midfielder of the ilk of Dunstan here. Anyone have suggestions who these 2 guns will be?

Re: Brisbane won....

I still think GWS will win the spoon. We'll come 17th, I reckon.

I still have the sneaky feeling that GWS will finish bottom on percentage from us and take yet another best key position forward in the draft, which would be yet another rort. They will probably lose by 150 points tomorrow.

citywest

If we do get picks 1 and 20 who should we draft?

Lions, Saints and Giants all a chance for the spoon.

Its a hard year to get pick one, with no clear standout like in years gone by. I'd be happy to get pick one and swap it with pick 3 for a one of GWS's gun kids which has already been discussed at large.

All I know is that I haven't barracked so hard for GWS, Dees and Lions before in my life

citywest wrote:If we do get picks 1 and 20 who should we draft?
Paddy McCartin
Midfield slider...preferably with pace.

Im thinking we get the spoon next year and get Ryan Burton.
Get another two quality mids this year.

citywest

We need to get talls this year because they can take longer to develop.

Paddy McCartin
Treloar, Jacksh and Lever with our pick we get back from GWS for giving them 1 & 20 :wink:

citywest wrote:We need to get talls this year because they can take longer to develop.
Yeah but no point picking a tall just because they are tall and we need talls.
We just need good players. In fact we need 10 good players in the next three years.
Plenty of useless tall players running around who were high draft picks.
Ty Vickory and Ayce Cordy come to mind.
Scott Gumbelton.

If there is a good tall player available take him but dont fall into the trap of thinking oh we need a tall lets pick a tall when that tall is not really that good.

Jury still out Jon Patton too.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sun 01 Jun 2014 4:22am, edited 1 time in total.

St Ick wrote:
Paddy McCartin
Treloar, Jacksh and Lever with our pick we get back from GWS for giving them 1 & 20 :wink:
That would be very nice. Treloar any chance of returning to Vic?

citywest wrote:We need to get talls this year because they can take longer to develop.
Yeah but no point picking a tall just because they are tall and we need talls.
We just need good players. In fact we need 10 good players in the next three years.
Plenty of useless tall players running around who were high draft picks.
Ty Vickory and Ayce Cordy come to mind.
Scott Gumbelton.

if there is a good tall player available take him but dont into the trap of thinking oh we need a tall kets pick a tall when that tall is not really that good.

Jury still out Jon Patton too.
Good point Con, which leads me onto my point. We need to be ultra conservative with our drafting IMO. Talls can be high risk. Hopefully we choose wisely and nail this years draft. I wouldn't be against choosing Brayshaw if we consider the talls too great a risk. I'm not sure the talls this year are of the quality of the last few years.

citywest wrote:I think now the Saints will probably win the wooden spoon which means we will have pick 1 in the Draft. Surely we will pick the best tall forward now. If we don't I will be bitterly disappointed. I believe our second pick would then be pick 20. Surely another midfielder of the ilk of Dunstan here. Anyone have suggestions who these 2 guns will be?
I think GWS will. And if you're a true Sainter you'd be equally as pleased with Brisbane winning due to draft picks as Carlton losing and f'ing up their season and sending Mick Shytehouse back into cardiac territory again :cool:

St Ick wrote:
Paddy McCartin
That would be very nice. Treloar any chance of returning to Vic?
No idea, but I reckon one of their gun kids will get flushed out for cash - especially after Doms successful return to Victoria. My hope/guess is one of Shiel or Treloar. Law of avgs also says a tall will want more opps elsewhere considering they will never be in from of Cameron, Davis, Patton and Boyd. Leaving Plowman, Tomlinson and Jacksh ripe for the picking at the right price of course.

Good on Brisbane

You're reading tea leaves again, Citywest?

If we finish last surely we get picks 1 and 19?

Or is there still some dodgy help the b@stard love-children clubs out with more charities.
Perhaps Sydney will get a compensation pick for having their $1m salary cap bonus slightly diluted?

Enrico_Misso wrote:Or is there still some dodgy help the b@stard love-children clubs out with more charities.
Perhaps Sydney will get a compensation pick for having their $1m salary cap bonus slightly diluted?
Wouldn't surprise me. The AFL is governed by half wits who should be tried at The Hague for crimes against sporting decency.

Con Gorozidis wrote:if there is a good tall player available take him but dont into the trap of thinking oh we need a tall kets pick a tall when that tall is not really that good.
I do think "best available footballer regardless of type" is a sound strategy. Pelican may have other ideas, though. and we need to have faith he knows what he's doing.

On our tall key forwards, I haven't given up on Lee yet, nor Siposs.

I think Siposs may be able to hold down the position of a true full forward, and may be able to make up for a few centimetres with footy smarts and goal sense. He's quite a strong mark, good kick and knows where to lead.

Lee needs some goals and confidence in the VFL and I expect both to come soon.

It would be interesting to see how both would go at senior level without Riewoldt. I expect we'd find out pretty quickly whether they are going to cut it.

There is a pecking order involved here and no one is going to really emerge while Riewoldt is still playing good football and demanding as much of the ball as he does. Young players like Lee and Siposs would be wary of stepping on the toes of a legend and club champion.

It's been suggested Riewoldt play wing or chb and I actually think it's not a bad idea from a development point of view. It's not as if it is going to cost us a place in the finals if he's not in the forward line. What's to lose? He might even welcome the change of pace.

I think it is going to be an extremely complex draft with several combinations and options to consider given the GWS situation.

Sainternist wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Or is there still some dodgy help the b@stard love-children clubs out with more charities.
Wouldn't surprise me. The AFL is governed by half wits who should be tried at The Hague for crimes against sporting decency.
Picks need to be activated before the season starts, so we actually know the draft order, or at least I could make an educated guess.

- Gold Coast have a priority pick to be used after Geelongs first pick (ironically it's one of the GAJ picks)
- GWS have an end of first round selection (from Brissie for Brennan),
- Essendon were somehow handed an end of first round compensation pick this year (as a sweetener for not sending the AFL to court I'm guessing).
- There is also a third round compo pick for the suns to use this year.

So our second pick, according to that, is actually going to be pick 21 from my calculations assuming no other priority picks are given to to free agency moves...

wally

Roo looks more worn out and losing the love as each game goes by.
He needs a hand at the same time need someone going forward.
Stanley,Maister,Lee,Sippos,all been touted as the savour yet to do the business yet.
Got enough spoons at the moment.
Best available big man or swap for one.

Enrico_Misso wrote:If we finish last surely we get picks 1 and 19?

Or is there still some dodgy help the b@stard love-children clubs out with more charities.
New rule is that unless GC or GWS finish bottom, the wooden spooner has to give pick one to GWS and also their best player.

You know its only fair

Mods please move to opposition forum !