C. Jones.....Now one of the best taggers

kaos theory

C. Jones.....Now one of the best taggers

An amazing tunraround in 2 years, this guy.

I'll admit I didn't think he had it to succeed when I first saw him in 07, but again was super tonight. Made an elite player (Harvey) look second rate.

Well done.

With players like him no wonder we have more members than last year that want to see more than one game.

plugger66 wrote:With players like him no wonder we have more members than last year that want to see more than one game.
You can't argue with that.....cos who the f*** could understand it....

kaos theory

plugger66 wrote:With players like him no wonder we have more members than last year that want to see more than one game.
haha...

I haven't got to your post yet on the members, don't worry I will...

Great game!

Ripper!

Only thing I can fault (which is totally out of Jones' control) is that at least once Jones was in position for the handball recieve....but Dal didnt give it to him, instead gave it to Gram under pressure.

I want to see the ball go to Jones when in position - Using his pace a lot better now, and works hard to get the ball himself!

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/p ... 5849340391

[quote}The Saints could have sent their No.1 stopper, Jones, to Daniel Wells, but didn't bother.

Everywhere Harvey went, Jones followed.

When Harvey rested on the bench, Jones wasn't far behind.

When Harvey resumed duties, Jones was on his tail in a flash.

Finally, out of sheer frustration, Harvey snapped and went in the book late in the final term.

It underlines how important Jones is to St Kilda.

He was the No.1 tagger in the league last year, Cameron Ling included.

If anything, he looks even better this campaign.

Jones is still a dodgy kick, even if he is vastly improved, and his lack of finesse was exposed in the dying minutes of last year's Grand Final when he sprayed a long bomb that could have set up Riewoldt.

Yet his handball is now as clean as anyone and his decision making is now more than acceptable.

Add an unbelievable engine and an ability to win his own footy and you have a great story.

Jones should have been rewarded with All-Australian selection on the bench last year.

Every good team needs a tagger - he was clearly the best in 2009.

The fact the St Kilda coaching staff thought enough of Jones to place him sixth in the club's best-and-fairest, behind Riewoldt, Brendon Goddard, Leigh Montagna, Nick Dal Santo and Lenny Hayes, suggests he should not have been too far away.

Hopefully he is rewarded this year, for Jones is an acquired taste a bit like Brett Kirk, who eventually broke through with selectors.

The fact St Kilda is going to win most weeks won't hurt his cause either.[quote]

Milan Faletic

CJ is our Ling and can do the job on anyone in the AFL. He is an elite player now.

I Give Up

Thats my boy, but please, lets not compare him to Ling. Cause I know who I would rather run into in a dark alley :oops:

wallbanger

CJ is EASILY the best tagger in the league now - without a doubt IMO.

Please...let's win a Premiership before GEELONG!!!! (O.k., so we've missed that opportunity...maybe let's win the next one before Geelong????)

Re: C. Jones.....Now one of the best taggers

kaos theory wrote:An amazing tunraround in 2 years, this guy.

I'll admit I didn't think he had it to succeed when I first saw him in 07, but again was super tonight. Made an elite player (Harvey) look second rate.

Well done.
The North player is only an imitation Harvey.
He is second rate compared to the real Harvey.
The real Harvey has been retired for a season.

ace wrote:

Well done.

How much do you pay for it? I think they are ripping you off.

St Loxton

He may still have an unorthodox style, but his kicking accuracy has been imho excellent so far this year. Generally any kick he does over 40m has a fair but of height to it. But i feel that he has improved vastly in the weighted 30m passes to teamates on a lead. Great game tonight CJ

Hunter Clark 2024 StKilda Saints Premiership captain.

wallbanger wrote:CJ is EASILY the best tagger in the league now - without a doubt IMO.
he's up there. but remember that mcveigh beat him last week. i guess that's the lot of the tagger, though, everyone gets beaten at some point.

OneEyedSainter77

ace wrote:

Well done.

How much do you pay for it? I think they are ripping you off.
I lol'd!

rexy

CJs improvement is fantastic and his relentless application of his job is outstanding, I agree that his disposal and decision making is vastly improved and would have thought he was one of the first picked every week. Got to love cj.

Cameron Ling is a much better footballer though, good tagger, good user, good goal kicker, strong overhead, natural leader, club captain.

Maybe this year?

harvey was reported for tripping armo
i can remember them saving they had no footage at the time of the incident.

johnpeterbudgefanclub

As the subject title u had me worried there. Thought u were talking about Corey Jones from the pauperoos..... :shock: :lol: :oops:

St Loxton wrote:He may still have an unorthodox style, but his kicking accuracy has been imho excellent so far this year. Generally any kick he does over 40m has a fair but of height to it. But i feel that he has improved vastly in the weighted 30m passes to teamates on a lead. Great game tonight CJ
Exactly CJ is no longer a dodgey kick.

He still looks very awkward, but his kicking is effective.

Well done.
Clint Jones has been superb!

Obviously well coached, would not have happened if the megalomaniacal, machiavellian one was still running his dictatorship!

Credit to Ross Lyon for identifying Jones as a potential midfield tagger and his progress has been amazing!

So glad he is a part of the club, just one of those players who you need never question his endeavour.

He would be close to the best tagger in the comp, question is who does he have to knock off the podium to take the title?

St Loxton

SainterK wrote: question is who does he have to knock off the podium to take the title?
A couple of years ago one Stevie Baker was the best tagger going around hands down. Ling maybe a more complete player overall but i reckon our CJ is very quickly beoming the best tagger/stopper as his counter punching ( ability to win the ball and be effective with it ) improves.

Hunter Clark 2024 StKilda Saints Premiership captain.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
Five-touch game worst of my career: Boomer

[quote]NORTH Melbourne captain Brent Harvey says Saturday night’s five-possession game against St Kilda was the worst of his decorated 281-game career.

Harvey, 31, is in his 15th AFL season and was comprehensively beaten by St Kilda opponent Clinton Jones as North crashed to a 104-point loss at Etihad Stadium.

Harvey, who has been dealing with the recent loss of his grandmother, said he had never played a worse game in North Melbourne colours, but he refused to use an emotional two weeks as an excuse.

“It’s probably the worst game I’ve ever played in my career,â€

Well done.
hes improved out of sight ever since the Western Saints became his player sponsor :lol: we couldnt be happier for "OUR" boy !!!

Sainterone

I bet the wee girls wish they had a Clint Jones today...

The roos will win and boomer harvey has almost 50 possies.
not a bad bounce back from a WOG (that's worst on ground) performance last week... :lol:

GO SAINTS

NICK RIEWOLDT - 444 GOALS FROM 200 MATCHES
STEPHEN MILNE - 440 GOALS FROM 216 MATCHES