Everyone is coming? Surely not!

Shopping list appears to be:

B. Hill (outside mid / wing)
Z. Jones (inside and outside mid with speed)
Keath (tall defender)
Tomlinson (can play relief ruck and is a genuine utility)
Ryder (back up ruck)

B. King appears to be on backburner.

Re: Everyone is coming? Surely not!

Keath not Keith

How do they trade for that lot ?

Wayne42 wrote: Mon 02 Sep 2019 8:37pm How do they trade for that lot ?
Get rid of the dead wood by having a "fire" sale.

magnifisaint wrote: Mon 02 Sep 2019 8:36pm Keath not Keith
I stand corrected. Will get his name right if he becomes a Saint.

Laurie

Everyone is linked to St.Kilda whether they come though is another thing.
Just like previous 2 years we are g oiing to sign a big fish and guess what we are still waiting .
Pfffft all pie in the sky .

Laurie wrote: Mon 02 Sep 2019 8:55pm Everyone is linked to St.Kilda whether they come though is another thing.
Just like previous 2 years we are g oiing to sign a big fish and guess what we are still waiting .
Pfffft all pie in the sky .
When you fish you need some patience.

BackFromUSA wrote: Mon 02 Sep 2019 8:20pm Shopping list appears to be:

Keath (tall defender)
Ryder (back up ruck)

And Constable possibly on offer as a trade for Stuv
And Karl Amon.

Of that lot I like Tomlinson and Keath if we dont have to sell the farm to get them, I'd rather draft a kid than give our #5 pick for B.Hill

I want B King at the club badly, but we would be so royally bent over if we attempt to pick him up before his contract is out, I just can't see it happening. We've got nothing that would satisfy them regardless. I'd rather we wait 'til the getting's good.

degruch wrote: Mon 02 Sep 2019 11:02pm I want B King at the club badly, but we would be so royally bent over if we attempt to pick him up before his contract is out, I just can't see it happening. We've got nothing that would satisfy them regardless. I'd rather we wait 'til the getting's good.
12 months ago somebody suggested Max was the better of the two, I'd be happy if that was true.

[media][/media]
BackFromUSA wrote: Mon 02 Sep 2019 8:20pm Shopping list appears to be:

Keath (tall defender)
Ryder (back up ruck)

With Hill alone this would be the best haul in what.. a decade?

What do we have to trade with? What would I do?

Trades:

Pick 5 ==> Alex Keath and Adelaides pick 21 (in 2020 draft) - giving Adelaide 3 and 5 in the draft
Blake Acres + 2020 pick 21 from Adelaide ==> Hill + maybe a 2021 Fourth rounder (Blake gets to go back to WA)
Jack Steven ==> Constable (Jack gets to go back to Bellarine)
Jake Carlisle ==> Z.Jones (Jake gets to extend his career beyong 1 year)
Luke Dunstan + 2021 Fremantles 4th rounder (our ours) ==> Amon + Ryder (Luke gets to go back to SA)

Free Agents:

Adam Tomlison (as a resut we would get no compensation if jack Newnes left as a free agent)
Mabior Chol from Richmond (as a developing ruck / forward partner for Marshall swapping forward)

2020 DRAFT:

Pick 55, 68, 77 for 3 more mature players from the State Leagues

2021 DRAFT:

Saints First rounder
Saints Second Rounder
Saints Third Rounder
Saints Fourth Rounder (if we kept it)

2021 trade period: Ben King for 2021 First Rounder AND 2022 First Rounder or Second Rounder depending on his 2020 form

We have heaps of currency to buy players.

We have a first round pick No 5
We have a second round pick No 23, oops no the Swan's have that one
We have a third round pick No 41, oops no the Bulldogs have that one.
We have fourth round pick No 59, oops no the Eagles have that one.
We have a fifth round picks No 77, oops that most likely won't get used.
But we do have picks 55 and 68, they could be bundled to produce a handle for a steak knife if only we had a steak knife.

But it does NOT matter.
We don't need draft picks.
We clearly must have the assembled best list in the competition by now.

ace wrote: Mon 02 Sep 2019 11:34pm We have heaps of currency to buy players.

We have a first round pick No 5
We have a second round pick No 23, oops no the Swan's have that one
We have a third round pick No 41, oops no the Bulldogs have that one.
We have fourth round pick No 59, oops no the Eagles have that one.
We have a fifth round picks No 77, oops that most likely won't get used.
But we do have picks 55 and 68, they could be bundled to produce a handle for a steak knife if only we had a steak knife.
Oops, someone at the Saints must have thought they knew what they were doing when they traded away all those picks.

BackFromUSA wrote: Mon 02 Sep 2019 11:23pm What do we have to trade with? What would I do?

Trades:

Pick 5 ==> Alex Keath and Adelaides pick 21 (in 2020 draft) - giving Adelaide 3 and 5 in the draft
Blake Acres + 2020 pick 21 from Adelaide ==> Hill + maybe a 2021 Fourth rounder (Blake gets to go back to WA)

Free Agents:

Mabior Chol from Richmond (as a developing ruck / forward partner for Marshall swapping forward)
Strange post, mate. There is absolutely no way in hell that we'll part with pick 5 for Alex Keath, who is uncontracted, and a future second round pick. Maybe we'd do that if it were Brad Crouch and a 2019 second round pick.

There's also no way that Freo are giving up Hill for Acres and a a future second round pick. Hill is the premier wingman of the comp, a B&F winner and still has plenty of his prime years left. Acres currently is an under performing fringe player without a clear role.

Mabior Chol is contracted until 2021.

Well it appears everyone is going and 22 still have to be selected each week

Baby?

Bath water?

lol at that Keath trade.

I'm still expecting us to split our first pick to enable us to land Hill.

Stuv will be for a pick and a player.

Keath may be a player swap. But he's out of contract so dix. If this trade is actually happening regardless of the deal then I feel it is curtains for Carlisle. Battle, Keath and Clavarino would be our future three tall backs. Keath is pretty close to a like for like for the Snake. I like Carlisle, but have the feeling he has the s***s up again like he did at Essendon and we dont need his drama.

Carlisle + Future for Ben King.

Saint 58

bigred wrote: Tue 03 Sep 2019 9:50am lol at that Keath trade.

I'm still expecting us to split our first pick to enable us to land Hill.

Stuv will be for a pick and a player.

Keath may be a player swap. But he's out of contract so dix. If this trade is actually happening regardless of the deal then I feel it is curtains for Carlisle. Battle, Keath and Clavarino would be our future three tall backs. Keath is pretty close to a like for like for the Snake. I like Carlisle, but have the feeling he has the s***s up again like he did at Essendon and we dont need his drama.

Carlisle + Future for Ben King.

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

Most likely we will get hill and lose Steven. Everything else is pure guess work. Our players are poor. Feel free to argue but we are a bottom five team with awful skills, why do people think other teams want our players let alone pay overs for them. Acrrs is poor, Dunstan had a good run at the end of last season but wouldnt play in most other teams, jack steven is passed his prime and was looking unfit and slow. Carlisle gets a pass due to back surgery. Newnes does not damage the opposition..
Basically I'd be happy with hill, not sold on Keath, prefer jack over constable as we know what we have with him.

DJ Higgins wrote: Tue 03 Sep 2019 10:18am Most likely we will get hill and lose Steven. Everything else is pure guess work. Our players are poor. Feel free to argue but we are a bottom five teams with awful skills, why do people think other team want our players let alone pay overs for them. Acrrs is poor, Dunstan had a good run at the end of last season but wouldnt play in most other teams, jack steven is passed his prime and was looking unfit and slow. Carlisle gets a pass due to back surgery. Newnes does not damage the opposition..
Basically I'd be happy with hill, not sold on Keath, prefer jack over constable as we know what we have with him.
With the utmost respect to the pre 2019 Stevens, we have very little idea what we have with him. Everything he was, he let go. For all we know, retirement is his fall back, should his health not be restored by a move to Geelong.

I reckon the club want to get Battle in the forward line and will trade accordingly

CQ SAINT wrote: Tue 03 Sep 2019 10:23am
DJ Higgins wrote: Tue 03 Sep 2019 10:18am Most likely we will get hill and lose Steven. Everything else is pure guess work. Our players are poor. Feel free to argue but we are a bottom five teams with awful skills, why do people think other team want our players let alone pay overs for them. Acrrs is poor, Dunstan had a good run at the end of last season but wouldnt play in most other teams, jack steven is passed his prime and was looking unfit and slow. Carlisle gets a pass due to back surgery. Newnes does not damage the opposition..
With the utmost respect to the pre 2019 Stevens, we have very little idea what we have with him. Everything he was, he let go. For all we know, retirement is his fall back, should his health not be restored by a move to Geelong.
Yes agree re Stuv. We don’t really know what we have at this stage. What we do know is that he’s past his best, will be 30 at the start of next year. Best case scenario - 3 more years - best case.
Charlie Constable - at the beginning of his career. Showed he fits in at the top level right from the get go. Potential midfield quality for 10 years. All this of course contingent on the Stuv for Constable rumour having credibility.

I think he should go to Geelong. Trade him for the Cantstable.

barneyboyz

spert wrote: Tue 03 Sep 2019 11:08am I reckon the club want to get Battle in the forward line and will trade accordingly
I'm with you on that. Looking at his season, yes he had a great year, however Josh was exposed in height and experience occasionally (which is understandable).

Overall our backline was serviceable, but mainly due to Callum Wilkie and Nathan Brown having solid years, and Hunter / Coff coming on.

Battle, King, Membrey and maybe Bruce next year with Benny Long, Kent and Lonie/Parker looks pretty damaging really, especially if they are leading out to Hill, Clark and Coff/Hanneberry

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink: