King for a Day, Fool for a Lifetime

According to David King, Brad Scott will become our new coach after the conclusion of this season. Can someone please tell me how this utter flog managed to get a career as an AFL journalist? I am fed up with the vast majority of these former player pundits. Very few of them can articulate a good argument and seem to only perpetuate worthless opinions. It has actually got to the stage where I pay very little attention to any of this current crop of AFL media circus, with the likes of Hutchy and his Crock Media now being a major voice. It’s an embarrassing reflection on the lack of media professional media currently in circulation around our great game :(

https://www.zerohanger.com/id-be-stagge ... ing-31153/

barneyboyz

Re: King for a Day, Fool for a Lifetime

Sainternist wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 12:13pm According to David King, Brad Scott will become our new coach after the conclusion of this season. Can someone please tell me how this utter flog managed to get a career as an AFL journalist? I am fed up with the vast majority of these former player pundits. Very few of them can articulate a good argument and seem to only perpetuate worthless opinions. It has actually got to the stage where I pay very little attention to any of this current crop of AFL media circus, with the likes of Hutchy and his Crock Media now being a major voice. It’s an embarrassing reflection on the lack of media professional media currently in circulation around our great game :(

https://www.zerohanger.com/id-be-stagge ... ing-31153/
Although I somewhat agree with you...watch Scott become our next coach! I don't know if that's a good thing or not? but I can't watch Richo go through the next 10 weeks with this hanging over him

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

oh, s***..

Probably because he knows something. 🤫

At least with Scott the players wouldn’t fall asleep in team meetings...

The_Dud wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 2:56pm At least with Scott the players wouldn’t fall asleep in team meetings...
How many of Richo's team meetings have you "actually" attended Dudley? Just curious how you came to that conclusion.

Mmmmmmm
Replace a coach who has struggled for 6 years with one who hasn't delivered anything for 10 years.

Great logic!

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 3:03pm
The_Dud wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 2:56pm At least with Scott the players wouldn’t fall asleep in team meetings...
How many of Richo's team meetings have you "actually" attended Dudley? Just curious how you came to that conclusion.
I’ve “actually” attended numerous Ted.

I would give you more specific details but unfortunately I was napping most of the time.

You dont have to be in the team meetings to see it. They actually do it during games

Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 3:06pm Mmmmmmm
Replace a coach who has struggled for 6 years with one who hasn't delivered anything for 10 years.

Great logic!
Yes..... spot-on there Colleague! "Great logic" indeed!!! The "logic of the asylum" perhaps? But wait on.......this IS the St Kilda Footy Club we're talking about, mate. I have yet to see a sentence containing the words "logic" and "St Kilda Footy Club" making any sense whatsoever.

I believe "we are, who we are" i/e a much-loved, much-scorned, crazy, lovable, frustrating, flawed footy club and if anyone with any sense hasn't realised that by now, and seriously expects to win a premiership in the next decade, then I say (with respect) that they are kidding themselves!!! It's WHO WE ARE!!! My suggestion to anyone who expects anything else, is to follow another club... or follow another sporting code.

This club, (god help them) are geared for failure, its in our DNA. :roll:

The concept of replacing a "6-year failure" with a "TEN year failure" perfectly encapsulates the logic applied to St Kilda Footy Club. Actually, you don't have to go too far back for another example of "logic" We have a coach (Stan Alves) who takes a bunch of kids and senior players and snares the 1st bit of silverware (Ansett Cup) the club has seen in DECADES. A year later the same coach takes us to our first GF appearance in 26 years (only to be cruelled by injuries) What do we do? sack him!!! His replacement (an untried, untested rookie) then takes us from Finals to the wooden spoon! (Inside TWO seasons!) I rest my case!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Now, after all that ranting you may say that I'm being "disloyal".... I would disagree. I ACCEPT the club for what it is..... a consistent struggler, disadvantaged by forces often outside of it's control, but way too often a victim of its own incompetency, and a failure to learn from its own history. I accept the club! I embrace the club! Not because of the possibility of long term success..... (Christ! I'd have dropped them YEARS ago if I were driven solely by results)
I LOVE this club, without condition and totally IN SPITE of what it does to me!!!! I LOVE meeting other Sainters at the footy. I LOVE wearing my colours to the game!

In short............................... Go Saints! (to hell with the rest!) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

derby Street

thejiggingsaint wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 4:03pm

Great logic!
Yes..... spot-on there Colleague! "Great logic" indeed!!! The "logic of the asylum" perhaps? But wait on.......this IS the St Kilda Footy Club we're talking about, mate. I have yet to see a sentence containing the words "logic" and "St Kilda Footy Club" making any sense whatsoever.

I believe "we are, who we are" i/e a much-loved, much-scorned, crazy, lovable, frustrating, flawed footy club and if anyone with any sense hasn't realised that by now, and seriously expects to win a premiership in the next decade, then I say (with respect) that they are kidding themselves!!! It's WHO WE ARE!!! My suggestion to anyone who expects anything else, is to follow another club... or follow another sporting code.

The concept of replacing a "6-year failure" with a "TEN year failure" perfectly encapsulates the logic applied to St Kilda Footy Club. Actually, you don't have to go too far back for another example of "logic" We have a coach (Stan Alves) who takes a bunch of kids and senior players and snares the 1st bit of silverware (Ansett Cup) the club has seen in DECADES. A year later the same coach takes us to our first GF appearance in 26 years (only to be cruelled by injuries) What do we do? sack him!!! His replacement (an untried, untested rookie) then takes us from Finals to the wooden spoon! (Inside TWO seasons!) I rest my case!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Now, after all that ranting you may say that I'm being "disloyal".... I would disagree. I ACCEPT the club for what it is..... a consistent struggler, disadvantaged by forces often outside of it's control, but way too often a victim of its own incompetency, and a failure to learn from its own history. I accept the club! I embrace the club! Not because of the possibility of long term success..... (Christ! I'd have dropped them YEARS ago if I were driven solely by results)
I LOVE this club, without condition and totally IN SPITE of what it does to me!!!! I LOVE meeting other Sainters at the footy. I LOVE wearing my colours to the game!

In short............................... Go Saints! (to hell with the rest!) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I love that last paragraph Jiggster - I feel the same way. As far as I am concerned Richo is our coach until he's not our coach, then I move onto the next poor soul and continue my undying loyalty to the saints no matter what evolves. After 60 years I am not baling out now.

Special

One attraction of getting Scott would to see all the dummy spitting amongst our fans.
I’m warming to Scott. I like the idea of someone who’s not Mr Nice Guy.

Couldn't put it better myself JS, but to add that St Kilda is an exception to the axiom: "past performance is not an indication of future results"!

I have long ago taken the view that it serves no purpose to hold high expectations when St Kilda play, in fact I am now so conditioned for failure that I only get nervous watching a game when the Saints are favoured to win. Supporting the Saints is not for the faint-hearted because to expect success is a risk to one's health! :cry: :evil: :x :(

Laurie

Getting Scott would be more hard yards for the club although it would not surprise me if we do get him as is he not a good friend of Lethleans.
Becoming a boys club again.

Special wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 4:31pm One attraction of getting Scott would to see all the dummy spitting amongst our fans.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm not averse to us getting a "not-Mr-Nice-Guy"............... BUT..... I'd want someone with a wee bit more prospect of improvement than Scott's ten years of mediocrity at Norf. PLUS.. Do we REALLY want yet another graduate from the Malthouse academy of assistant coaches? Hasn't TWO (Watters and Richardson) been enough?

Laurie wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 4:40pm Getting Scott would be more hard yards for the club although it would not surprise me if we do get him as is he not a good friend of Lethleans.
*See my previous post re: "failure to learn from past history" etc etc etc Christ! they're all getting in on the act, even Roo is sticking the boot into Richo. "Boys Club" indeed!! But what can we do? I love the club despite all it's failings and faults.

Sanctorum wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 4:38pm

Couldn't put it better myself JS, but to add that St Kilda is an exception to the axiom: "past performance is not an indication of future results"!

I have long ago taken the view that it serves no purpose to hold high expectations when St Kilda play, in fact I am now so conditioned for failure that I only get nervous watching a game when the Saints are favoured to win. Supporting the Saints is not for the faint-hearted because to expect success is a risk to one's health! :cry: :evil: :x :(
Lovely post Sanctorum! Full marks, Colleague!!! After last season, (the one from HELL!) I wavered a wee bit before renewing my membership...... but what can you do when you're in a love affair? As Frank Sinatra sang:

"Time and time again, I said I'd leave you.
Time and time again I went away
But then would come the time when I would need you
and once again these words I'd have to say

I"m a fool to want you
pity me I need you
I know its wrong, it must be wrong
But right or wrong
I can't get along without you"

SO, this season I left all my expectations, all my ambitions and hopes for yet another "false dawn" and instead decided to renew my membership, and simply "go to the footy, with my pals" I meet up with my friend Tom for beers pre game at the Garden gate bar. We chew the fat, have some laughs with other Sainters and just let the game take care of itself!!!

It WORKS!!!!

Go Saints!!!! (to hell with the rest!)

The_Dud wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 3:16pm
I’ve “actually” attended numerous Ted.

I would give you more specific details but unfortunately I was napping most of the time.

Cool. So you have no idea what a Richo team meeting is like or if it's boring. Thanks for confirming.

Saint 58

Back on topic ...
I've disliked King since the day at AFL Park when he shirtfronted Loewe in the face.
He's a flog

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

Saint 58 wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 5:48pm Back on topic ...
I've disliked King since the day at AFL Park when he shirtfronted Loewe in the face.
He's a flog
Also a paid-up Saints-hater!!! Why else would he want Brad Scott at the Saints? :roll:

Great logic!

Id rather be mediocre than totally sheisen. At least now and again mediocrity does offer some hope.

magnifisaint wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 6:02pm

Great logic!

Id rather be mediocre than totally sheisen. At least now and again mediocrity does offer some hope.
No argument from me on that one Colleague!

Special

thejiggingsaint wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 4:42pm
Special wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 4:31pm One attraction of getting Scott would to see all the dummy spitting amongst our fans.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm not averse to us getting a "not-Mr-Nice-Guy"............... BUT..... I'd want someone with a wee bit more prospect of improvement than Scott's ten years of mediocrity at Norf. PLUS.. Do we REALLY want yet another graduate from the Malthouse academy of assistant coaches? Hasn't TWO (Watters and Richardson) been enough?
Fair argument. Sadly, problem is Clarko, Horse & Chris Scott - the three I’d have above Brad Scott - are all highly unlikely to join us.

Keeping Richo ain’t an option unless we miraculously win our next three games, so what the heck do we do???

I'd prefer Ratten be given the job, but if If Brad Scott is going to take over from Richo (and Ratten departs) then we'll need very capable assistants. I'd love some of Scott's old team mates from the Brisbane Lions premiership era as the assistants. Leppitsch and Caracella with Scott as head coach is a dream team (cheaper than offering $2m to Clarko).

The Brisbane Lion crew will do me if we perhaps appoint Voss as new head coach with hopefully Nigel Lappin as an assistant or even Leppa (if we are lucky enough to secure him) or Craig Mcrae, Luke Power etc..

Laurie wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2019 4:40pm Getting Scott would be more hard yards for the club although it would not surprise me if we do get him as is he not a good friend of Lethleans.
I presume you mean is a good friend of Lethleans?