Billy Slater

His influence is definately starting to show for me.

The tackling at the saints this season has gone through the roof - both in numbers and intensity. They are tackling to hurt.. Dorks were all walking around very sore after the game, carrying bruises and gashes from the maniacal and very fierce tackling ability of this saints team. My son was in their rooms after the game - believe me they were stuffed.

I bet if there was a stat for actual completed, successful tackles -we would be no.1, and if there was a stat for opposing players being hurt in the tackle we would again be no. 1. The tackling technique has definately been worked on and improved. They are crunching them hard every time.
Has to be the influence of Billy Slater - he has taught them how to bring down an opponent legally and aggressively. This in turn has given our young team great confidence in themselves - and in combination with a much more straight forward game plan that plays to our strengths much more - we are on the rise.

Great to watch. Love seeing oppo players wince when they get a bone jarring tackle brilliantly executed. Makes you want to cough the ball up before you get hit!!!

Keep it up sainters - very impressed.

Re: Billy Slater

It was a sight to behold, wasn't it. Especially loved Parker's takedown on Breust a millisecond after he played on.

Yes, indeed! I love the goals, the high marks, and when players take off on an exciting run toward our opponents goal. However, I also LOVE the tackling! One of the most exciting sights on the footy field is when a player runs down an opponent with a tough tackle, and wins the free kick for holding the ball! Clint Jones' tackle on Buddy is in my Saints highlights reel!

thejiggingsaint wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 3:02pm Yes, indeed! I love the goals, the high marks, and when players take off on an exciting run toward our opponents goal. However, I also LOVE the tackling! One of the most exciting sights on the footy field is when a player runs down an opponent with a tough tackle, and wins the free kick for holding the ball! Clint Jones' tackle on Buddy is in my Saints highlights reel!
Ah..the positive jiggster is back in town ;) Your evil twin brother had been hacking your account these last 6 months and he was a downster ;)

As much as it's probably a sexier story to name Billy as the main influence on our much vaunted increase in tackling effectiveness ... the credit should go to John Donohue. He was actually the tackling coach at the Saints in the mid/late 2000's and also, at Melbourne Storm.

https://www.saints.com.au/video/2019-02 ... ng-session

portosaint

SemperFidelis wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 2:40pm It was a sight to behold, wasn't it. Especially loved Parker's takedown on Breust a millisecond after he played on.
Parkers tackling technique is on point! Really makes the opposition feel it... Love watching him stick a tackle. It's making defenders unsure with the ball in their hands.

The whole team is seeing the benefits of Billy's tackling practice. One wonders how much influence he has had on the groups attitude as a whole. They definitely look invigorated.

saintsRrising wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 3:14pm
thejiggingsaint wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 3:02pm Yes, indeed! I love the goals, the high marks, and when players take off on an exciting run toward our opponents goal. However, I also LOVE the tackling! One of the most exciting sights on the footy field is when a player runs down an opponent with a tough tackle, and wins the free kick for holding the ball! Clint Jones' tackle on Buddy is in my Saints highlights reel!
Ah..the positive jiggster is back in town ;) Your evil twin brother had been hacking your account these last 6 months and he was a downster ;)
Gday Colleague!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: How's the old tickling stick holding up??? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Huge coup to get Billy...
Am a card carrying Storm boy and Billy is my fav non-Saints star of all time.

Very excited when we got him and am glad it wasn’t just a token appointment.

Could be Lethers’ greatest coup

skeptic wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 4:43pm Huge coup to get Billy...
Am a card carrying Storm boy and Billy is my fav non-Saints star of all time.

Very excited when we got him and am glad it wasn’t just a token appointment.

Could be Lethers’ greatest coup
definitely food for thought there, Colleague! Recruiting Ratten, Lade and Slater could have been just what Richo needed.

Not just tackling they are also breaking tackles really well too

mullet wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 8:02pm Not just tackling they are also breaking tackles really well too
They are. I remember Marshall brushing off two tackles and I said at the time. "He must be really strong".

Didn't even enter my head that Billy might have taught them how to do that.

Our goal kicking hasn't improved, neither has the game plan or the delivery into the forward line. But our tackling, aggression and pressure on the opponent is 'off the scale' this year. It's probably been the single factor that's meant the difference between winning each of our games. Credit where it's due.

twirlyhair

Game plan has clearly changed and is much improved on last year. Have a look at the stats and you will see. Do your homework.

Tackling agreed has gone through the roof.
It’s menacing, it’s aggressive, it’s tough and it’s relentless.
Ben Long really goes to inflict hurt when he tackles, he nailed Impey in tackle and that rattled him so much he got up and took offence to it.
Lonie is genuinely tough and aggressive now and not the fake snowflake he was in the past.

Richo on that Ch 7 show said he has been enormous for the Saints on the leadership front.

Good signing by Lethlean. Billy oozes leadership.

I know I said I'd put you on ignore, but before I logged in just know I couldn't help but notice you've got the old Danny Frawley avatar back. Similar one you had when you were Parkey. I like it

Who? Danny Frawley?
Why did you name yourself after a marine animal anyway?

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Thu 02 May 2019 11:57am Who? Danny Frawley?
In NSW potato cakes are called potato scollops. Just saying. :wink:

Special

Problem is we are so bruised and battered and injury riddled it’s probably going to go to shyte

saynta wrote: Thu 02 May 2019 12:14pm
Y'know what they say about people who ass-u-me?

Scollop was a nickname my high school mates invented after morphing from something else which was started as an abbreviation for part of my Christian name

Hilarious. I think in the sunshine state they are called scallops too. Strange folk up north of the Murray.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Thu 02 May 2019 4:15pm
In NSW potato cakes are called potato Nice piece by Michael Gleeson about the Parker factor.

“It has been St Kilda’s theme of recent years that they have had good, honest players but none with electricity in their game. Jade Gresham last year stood out because he had spark. This year they have found Parker to join him. Ben Long has similar traits to Parker - he is a similar build and plays a similar role - but at 23 years old and after playing senior WAFL football for South Fremantle Parker is more battle-ready.

Parker is 190cm tall and with good hands and a leap, so he plays tall enough to be a third target around Tim Membrey and Josh Bruce, but also has elite pace so can pressure and hunt the ball at ground level. He is a bit like Will Hoskin-Elliott in that sense.
Just saying. :wink:
Hilarious. I think in the sunshine state they are called scallops too. Strange folk up north of the Murray.
Right again mate, they are potato scallops, not scollops, :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: Just that I find the NSW's accent a bit hard on the ear. They call this country Strayla too.

And they eat rock melons not cantaloupes.

And their traffic is chaos and their infrastructure is decaying. They can't boast about their climate either

These days the weather in Sydney is worse than Melbourne; more wet days (in fact they get their fair share of torrential rain); more drought too; as well hail the size of golf balls in summer along with storms and the occasional floods in their metro areas

Plus the Hunter Valley has the worst wine in the land imho

Scollop wrote: Thu 02 May 2019 6:38pm

Plus the Hunter Valley has the worst wine in the land imho
:D :D :D :) :) :) :)

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Thu 02 May 2019 4:15pm
some south as well