Hickey replacement?

outside66

Hickey replacement?

Since Roughead seems to be popping up as someone we might go for to replace HIckey I thought I would do a comparison to Roughead and the results are that they had eerily similar 2018's. The only big disparity is the hit-outs (24.2 to 12.2 in favour of Hickey) but one could argue that Roughead was more a ruck-forward compared to Hickey being a no 1 ruck. Also, I can recall Roughead toweling us up this year.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ ... 1=S&fid2=S

Now stats aren't everything and there is admittedly not a huge difference in most of the areas I've highlighted below but if we're looking for a cheaper replacement on what we have with the big difference being physicality-wise (Roughead would be the winner there), then I'd hope that we'll be picking up Roughead should there not be any better options. Would basically be a premiership version of Hickey who can actually play forward.

Roughead > Hickey

More games than Hickey (138 games to 79 games) which highlights better durability. I could be wrong but I believe Roughead was missing games mostly to being out of favour rather than injury.

More kicks, marks, goals, behinds, goal assists, marks inside 50, tackles inside 50, and 1 percenters.

Re: Hickey replacement?

outside66 wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 2:05pm Would basically be a premiership version of Hickey who can actually play forward.

Roughead > Hickey
Really have to ask how much you've watched Roughead?

If we are looking for a replacement of Hickey then we are looking for a #1 ruckmen, Roughead manages 12 hitouts per match and has kicked 34 goals in 138 matches.

He is terrible, please god no.

We could get him for free and pretty cheap whilst Pearce and Marshall develop.

outside66

dragit wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 2:18pm
outside66 wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 2:05pm Would basically be a premiership version of Hickey who can actually play forward.

Roughead > Hickey
Really have to ask how much you've watched Roughead?

If we are looking for a replacement of Hickey then we are looking for a #1 ruckmen, Roughead manages 12 hitouts per match and has kicked 34 goals in 138 matches.

He is terrible, please god no.
I haven't watched much at all outside of the 2016 finals series where he was brilliant. I also noticed him when we played against them this year. Like I said, if there wasn't any better options available then I think we do worse than give him a go. Could see him playing a similar role to Vardy actually as more a back-up ruckman that can go forward or back.

groupie1

He's a good defender. Worth getting. Pinch hit or backup ruck. See if we can f*** Longer off somewhere.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga
groupie1

He's a good defender. Worth getting. Pinch hit or backup ruck. See if we can f*** Longer off somewhere.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

Tom Goodwin.

Billy Longer, haha!!!!!

stonecold wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 4:30pm Billy Longer, haha!!!!!
It certainly is a cruel joke stoner.

I'm guessing we won't get diddly squat. We'll have Longer, Pierce and Marshall as our rucks in 2019.

So St Kilda are to rely on Longer and Pierce

And Marshall as a utility who can give a chop put in the ruck

And you wonder why St Kilda are a bottom club

No doubt Geary will remain Captain and Longer will be the Vice Captain

Richardson should be packed off to the Cricket Australia to join Langer - they are both out of their depth

Time to find another footy team to follow

Good luck to those who continue to support in the forlorn hope of repeating 1966 being the Clubs only Premiership

What I look for now is Acres to West Coast and Steven and McCartin to Geelong

Carlisle to return to Essendon

And St Kilda to fold due to a lack of interest

There are reasons Clubs are so unsuccessful

Look at St Kilda as the prototype

To the top wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 5:26pm So St Kilda are to rely on Longer and Pierce

Richardson should be packed off to the Cricket Australia to join Langer - they are both out of their depth

Good luck to those who continue to support in the forlorn hope of repeating 1966 being the Clubs only Premiership

I say, hang in there, mate. It'll get better in the not too distant future.

To the top wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 5:26pm So St Kilda are to rely on Longer and Pierce

Seeya, don't let the door hit you on the way out, but then again, bye!!!!!

Nothing wrong with JL either, by the way!!!!!

Another ANZAC day 'last post' from you, one can only hope!!!!!

Enjoy the Soccer!!!!!

We'll go with Marshall and Pearce all year.

I quite liked Hickey, but really the other two are far better long term options. Honestly, they were both better in the short term last year too.

I'd bet that the club would have traded Longer rather than Hickey - but I don't think anyone would have taken him.

I don't mind the decision one bit. Good move by the club.

The only thing is, that we should have pushed for a 'fringe' premiership player in return, rather than a late pick.

rodgerfox wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 5:45pm We'll go with Marshall and Pearce all year.

I quite liked Hickey, but really the other two are far better long term options. Honestly, they were both better in the short term last year too.

I'd bet that the club would have traded Longer rather than Hickey - but I don't think anyone would have taken him.

The only thing is, that we should have pushed for a 'fringe' premiership player in return, rather than a late pick.
You'd lose that bet Rodger!!!!!

Hickey not rated internally as stated, which has been proven beyond any doubt today!!!!!

dalboy

Also dont mind the Hickey trade.
Yesterday there was a report of Lonie & Bruce meeting the Filth, if that happens then i wonder if we are thinking of drafting Max King - ruckman/forward??
I think we require a mid but just trying to join the dots.

Happiness is a warm pie!

Roughead thru FA, makes sense Front end contract. I seem to remember him playing well in finals

rodgerfox wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 5:45pm We'll go with Marshall and Pearce all year.

i think the club sees Longer as No. 1, as long as he can get his body right. Lade will help, and has already had some input re our rucks.

I am not convinced Pearce can make it. Hope he proves me wrong. Marshall is not a No. 1 ruck.

Kick-it-lace-out

Pick 3 in the 2018 Pre Season Draft....

The St.Kilda FC selects player number 178955, Shane Mumford.

Crossy66

Dont need more rucks. A fit and firing Billy will kill it next year with support from ROMA. I reckon we will see a trend back to teams playing two rucks in '19

Longer will be better next year with hopefully a full and injury free preseason under his belt, whether that's good enough remains to be seen. He was very good as a young buck in 2015.

Crossy66

Linton Lodger wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 9:30pm Longer will be better next year with hopefully a full and injury free preseason under his belt, whether that's good enough remains to be seen. He was very good as a young buck in 2015.
I saw a bit of him early days in Brisbane, looked like he could be anything. Maybe it clouds my judgement but he does have the tools to be a great player if he wants it.

Crossy66 wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 9:34pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Wed 10 Oct 2018 9:30pm Longer will be better next year with hopefully a full and injury free preseason under his belt, whether that's good enough remains to be seen. He was very good as a young buck in 2015.
I saw a bit of him early days in Brisbane, looked like he could be anything. Maybe it clouds my judgement but he does have the tools to be a great player if he wants it.
He can't mark, can't kick, doesn't get it but he's strong in the contest I suppose. :roll:

I didn’t see enough in Pierce to suggest he is going to leapfrog Billy as our #1 ruckman anytime soon. However, Getting a proper ruckman like Lade on the coaching panel is going to help Pierce and Marshall with their body positioning and ruck craft.
The area Billy needs help with is getting a kick and taking a mark around the ground. Not sure if Lade can help with that. After 8 or so years in the system already, it seems unlikely Billy is going to magically develop that part of his game.
I think 2019 will be more of the same - our designated #1 Ruck will change on a weekly basis depending on who the best matchup for the oppo ruckman is.

avid

We should go to North and ask for Braydon Preuss.
He wants to be a 1st ruck. No better team in the league for someone who wants to be 1st ruck.
He's 206 tall. He'd just need to stand there to be our first ruck.