On Borrowed Time - Sorry, Another Richo Thread

So the rumours of Richo being sacked have certainly subsided in the last couple of weeks. Seems like most (even the naysayers) are almost begrudgingly willing to accept he'll remain at the helm next year.

Has there been a coach to have such a poor record and still manage to keep his job in AFL/VFL history? He's like Jimmy McGill (alias Saul Goodman) in being able to talk his way out of the most dire situations, even when staring down the barrel of a hitman's gun. Gotta hand it to him, he really is an old smoothy.

This whole theory of "if Bucks and Dimma can do it, so can Richo" has really sucked a lot of people in. Forgive me for being skeptical, but I'll only be convinced he can actually coach if can get the team to really turn the corner in 2019. Of course, there is his contract to contend with, which he somehow sweet-talked his way in extending in 2017. And with the club desperate to lure some good playing acquisitions, perhaps it's not good PR to sack the coach and give the impression of club instability.

The time bomb is ticking louder than ever for Richo. He'd better find a way of defusing it or he can go down in club history as a mistake who wasted 5+ years of our time.

Gordo'
Location: banned for a spell, things didn't turn out so well, every thread i played, ffs was lucky i stayed!!!

Re: On Borrowed Time - Sorry, Another Richo Thread

what??? ffs!!! is richo' still our flowering coach??? :roll: :shock: :roll:

Fortitude Fidelity Sainta.

Hardwick couldn't even coach his team to back-to-back flags, they should have sacked him when they had thier chance and as for Buckely, well his team will probably win the flag this week which will make their supporters furious becuase it just makes Bucks look like a genius.

I hope we don't win too many games next year because this trend of not sacking coaches and then winning games could become a bloody new fad. The AFL ruined everything when they made it a national comp.

Cairnsman wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 9:57pm Hardwick couldn't even coach his team to back-to-back flags, they should have sacked him when they had thier chance and as for Buckely, well his team will probably win the flag this week which will make their supporters furious becuase it just makes Bucks look like a genius.

I hope we don't win too many games next year because this trend of not sacking coaches and then winning games could become a bloody new fad. The AFL ruined everything when they made it a national comp.
More champagne comedy from Cairnsman :mrgreen:

Cairnsman wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 9:57pm Hardwick couldn't even coach his team to back-to-back flags, they should have sacked him when they had thier chance and as for Buckely, well his team will probably win the flag this week which will make their supporters furious becuase it just makes Bucks look like a genius.

Bulldust dressed up as sarcasm. Fake news, fake hope and hypotheticals versus the reality of 2018

The amount of money at Tigerland means they can afford to look after their players a lot better than us. When we have as many members and as much money as Collingwood and Richmond we'll be a glamour destination club and we'll recruit gun stars like Treloar and Adams and FA's like Tom Lynch.

In the meantime we endure another 5 years of mediocrity before a total cleanout and rebuild in 2023..or we get a different coach early next year and anything's possible

Rinse, Repeat, Richo. Rinse, Repeat, Richo. Boring. Apart from normal media scrutiny of coaches whose team finishes near the bottom, most of the rumours re Richo were just fake news, fake hope and hypotheticals posted on here.(and probably BF).

All coaches are on borrowed time.

BenLong#21

1. Richmond paid for a a full independent review by Ernst and Young in 2016
2. Buckley never fell below 50% win rate.

BenLong#21

takeaway wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 11:27pm Rinse, Repeat, Richo. Rinse, Repeat, Richo. Boring. Apart from normal media scrutiny of coaches whose team finishes near the bottom, most of the rumours re Richo were just fake news, fake hope and hypotheticals posted on here.(and probably BF).

Disagree.
Everyone wants Richo gone bar one person. Matt Finnis.

Well..2 people. Finnis and Richo himself.

BenLong#21 wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 11:28pm
takeaway wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 11:27pm Rinse, Repeat, Richo. Rinse, Repeat, Richo. Boring. Apart from normal media scrutiny of coaches whose team finishes near the bottom, most of the rumours re Richo were just fake news, fake hope and hypotheticals posted on here.(and probably BF).

Disagree.

Another hypothetical.

BenLong#21

takeaway wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 11:34pm

Disagree.

Another hypothetical.
33% win rate after 5 seasons.
Nothing hypothetical about that.

Disagree.

👏

This is 1 bazillion % correct and the sole reason The Dribbler is still at the helm of the SS St Kilda.

Finnis the fool put the ill considered, unnecessary extension of Richo around our necks and because him and his muppet-riddled administration and our board have driven us deeper into debt during their tenure ... they can’t afford to pay him out.

And so here we are ...

That damn extension.

Scollop wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 10:53pm

Bulldust dressed up as sarcasm. Fake news, fake hope and hypotheticals versus the reality of 2018

The amount of money at Tigerland means they can afford to look after their players a lot better than us. When we have as many members and as much money as Collingwood and Richmond we'll be a glamour destination club and we'll recruit gun stars like Treloar and Adams and FA's like Tom Lynch.

In the meantime we endure another 5 years of mediocrity before a total cleanout and rebuild in 2023..or we get a different coach early next year and anything's possible
Did you hear the one about the coach blaming the players for losing a game, you can't Google it because it's "common knowledge" and only an "impression", however if you search this board you will find plenty of hilarious yarns about it. You should also be able to find info about it on other social media sites especially BF, heaps of factual info over there about the coach. But hey don't believe any threads that throw up evidence it is a fake story or an "impression" that only exists in angry supporters heads. Whatever you do don't get sucked in.

Cairnsman wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 8:18am

Did you hear the one about the coach blaming the players for losing a game, you can't Google it because it's "common knowledge" and only an "impression", however if you search this board you will find plenty of hilarious yarns about it. You should also be able to find info about it on other social media sites especially BF, heaps of factual info over there about the coach. But hey don't believe any threads that throw up evidence it is a fake story or an "impression" that only exists in angry supporters heads. Whatever you do don't get sucked in.
Why are you trying to Google everything?

Try listening to the pressers after each game. It’s all there.

Just deplorable clubs being held to ransom by a muppet
33% win record, 5 years , told us all it was a “finals bound list”... now all the players fault
Gets a 2 year extension...
Only at St Kilda

The mistake I have made in getting frustrated/angry is to assume the club's primary purpose was to win AFL games. That is clearly not true. Poor analogy but just as politics has become for the pollies and parties and not the citizens the St. KFC has become a sinecure for the senior staff not particularly concerned with the members interests/preference for a side that can occasionally play finals - notwithstanding occasional emails saying they feel our pain (BS). None of the other clubs care we are hopeless and therefore neither does the AFL, particularly with its current management that posture and look for new ideas rather than keeping the comp even. I fear that unless there is a powerful group that actually cares about on field performance and ride in over the hill to the rescue it will be same same for the long haul, pending a natural disaster. Even if AR was sacked I don't think the current management could get a good replacement if he/she fell onto their morning chai. I have to find some other interest during the footy season to ease my despair. How are the Storm going?

How do people still have the energy to think of new ways to s**t on Richo?

Right now, he’s the coach for 2019. Just accept it. If the team really struggles, he’ll be sacked. It’s a simple equation.

Teflon wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 8:35am Just deplorable clubs being held to ransom by a muppet
33% win record, 5 years , told us all it was a “finals bound list”... now all the players fault
Only at St Kilda
And now he knows next year is his last chance, his back to the wall. He'll either turn it around or be gone before next season is out.

SaintPav wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 8:32am

What's all there? Just stock standard stuff stated by most coaches after they lose, or even sometimes after a win. "Kicking let us down", "we were beaten in the middle", "pressure was down", etc etc. No, nothing there.

Teflon wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 8:35am Just deplorable clubs being held to ransom by a muppet
Only at St Kilda
You seem upset, best take a Bex and have lie down. Did you read in BF that 67% of losses were the player's fault

outside66

Sainternist wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 9:05pm So the rumours of Richo being sacked have certainly subsided in the last couple of weeks. Seems like most (even the naysayers) are almost begrudgingly willing to accept he'll remain at the helm next year.

Has there been a coach to have such a poor record and still manage to keep his job in AFL/VFL history? He's like Jimmy McGill (alias Saul Goodman) in being able to talk his way out of the most dire situations, even when staring down the barrel of a hitman's gun. Gotta hand it to him, he really is an old smoothy.

This whole theory of "if Bucks and Dimma can do it, so can Richo" has really sucked a lot of people in. Forgive me for being skeptical, but I'll only be convinced he can actually coach if can get the team to really turn the corner in 2019. Of course, there is his contract to contend with, which he somehow sweet-talked his way in extending in 2017. And with the club desperate to lure some good playing acquisitions, perhaps it's not good PR to sack the coach and give the impression of club instability.

The time bomb is ticking louder than ever for Richo. He'd better find a way of defusing it or he can go down in club history as a mistake who wasted 5+ years of our time.
Absolute yawnfest here. Sorry, but I think you need to reduce the sodium intake as you're starting to sound like a broken record. Richo is our coach and the problem perceived within the club was that the structure around him had become stale hence why they are bringing in the likes of Ratten, Lade, the data bloke from Hawthorn, and there is another big assistant announcement coming up. I saw that your petition to have Richo removed only garnered 39 signatures which I think says a fair bit... The club have publicly backed him and would look like an absolute basket case if they flipped on that. If things don't change next year under a new coaching structure, increased fitness for the young group by way of a pre-season, re-enforcements (both injured blokes and new recruits), then I'd expect the club to act accordingly.

silverhalo

Even through our darkest days in the 1980s, I don't think there has ever been a time where our coach has been as unpopular as our current coach is right now.

Richo has elected not to fall on his sword despite his woeful win/loss record, and as a consequence of that, he stays on but he is clearly under an incredible amount of pressure to perform - he can only blame our players for so long, he will need to be accountable as well at some point in time. I started thinking that there is something to be said for recruiting 'St.Kilda' people as coach - I know that should Rooey or Lenny be in this predicament, they would move on for the good of the club, but buggalugs here does not have that true passion for the club so as long he's collecting his nice little pay packet every week, it doesn't affect him or burn him the way it would a true Saint when the club is going down the tubes the way it has been since he's been at the helm.

I have no faith in Richo but hoping the players can rise above and make us proud again in spite of the coach :)

takeaway wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 11:07am
SaintPav wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 8:32am

What's all there? Just stock standard stuff stated by most coaches after they lose, or even sometimes after a win. "Kicking let us down", "we were beaten in the middle", "pressure was down", etc etc. No, nothing there.
Killing two birds with one stone. It’s all here.

http://psycnet.apa.org/doiLanding?doi=1 ... .77.6.1121

Or this heuristic might be handy if you can't be bothered reading the article.

Brain? I thought you said don't be late for the train.

Richo is coaching in 2019. Time to accept this. I get the feeling it wouldn't matter what he said or did with some supporters. Same goes for alot of coaches in his current position.

I think he will have a good 2019 season and do well with the new assisants and game plan. I for one will be hoping he has a cracker year. We all should be.