Harves?

Harves?

Is he coming?

St Loxton

Re: Harves?

Who would know?

St Loxton wrote: Tue 25 Sep 2018 10:51am Who would know?
I take that is a statement.

If so, unhelpful.

Errrrrrr NO.

Rocket

Rumour has been swirling for 4-6 weeks. Would be a good get

thejiggingsaint wrote: Tue 25 Sep 2018 10:58am Errrrrrr NO.
Why?

St Loxton

Would love him as mid coach.
Maybe only he and his manager are in the know.
Might find out next week.

Myron Gaines

Most likely, yes

Well a former Saint is supposed to be returning and correct me if I’m wrong but, he’s the only one left with official duties. You’d think if it was McQualter, Hayes or Dempster they’d have been announced by now.

I hope it’s Banger. I feel the entire club could use the morale boost that a Top 5 player of all time brings to the training track, and the coaching box.

Would we prefer Robert Harvey or Alan Richardson as senior coach?

From what I hear Harves may be coming back, but also maybe not.

St Loxton wrote: Tue 25 Sep 2018 10:51am Who would know?
Who's on First.

Why make a career move from coaching an elite mid field group in a rich club to a poor mid field group in a poor club that in its professional approach to all matters rejected you in a humiliating way. He may always be a Saint but he is no fool. Maybe after AR and Finnis have gone and he is as wealthy as Midas - and the club begs and the list looks a bit better. If the club survives that long.

I thought it was Jaxons who said he was coming back next year.

SaintPav wrote: Tue 25 Sep 2018 11:01am
Why?
Because he has a GREAT gig at the moment. AND has been snubbed by the club in the past. Great Saints player..... will NEVER coach the Saints.

thejiggingsaint wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 5:06pm
Why?
Because he has a GREAT gig at the moment. AND has been snubbed by the club in the past. Great Saints player..... will NEVER coach the Saints.
I tend to agree.

Never, that's a big statement!!!!!

thejiggingsaint wrote: Wed 26 Sep 2018 5:06pm
Why?
Yeah? Is that so?

"Wilson was last year highly critical of McGuire’s impact on the club’s turbulent football department where it was claimed assistant coaches feared for their job security and other staff were marginalised."

From the hun.

I'd be quite hopeful. He was snubbed, yeah - but it was the past and he's not an idiot. Different board, different situation - got to assume he would love to coach the club he gave heart and soul to for so long. He's obviously committed to coaching - it's not a whim. If I was him I reckon the more of a basket-case we look the more motivated I'd be to have a crack at being only our second ever premiership coach? Nobody bled the red, white and black more.

Helps lead the Collingwood mids to a GF, possibly premiership

Comes to an underperforming Saints midfield and gets it to exceed expectations...

Hard not to take notice of that if you’re looking for a senior coach

skeptic wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 12:07pm Helps lead the Collingwood mids to a GF, possibly premiership

Comes to an underperforming Saints midfield and gets it to exceed expectations...

If the Pies win on Saturday Buckley and Harves will be lucky to hold onto thier jobs. A lot of supporters are furious the team is making them look like geniuses. It's outrageous Eddie and his board are protecting them and if they're not careful they'll lose members. I'll spew if we win games next year and it makes Richo lool like a genius and I will seriously consider not renewing my membership.

Cairnsman wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 1:59pm
skeptic wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 12:07pm Helps lead the Collingwood mids to a GF, possibly premiership

If the Pies win on Saturday Buckley and Harves will be lucky to hold onto thier jobs. A lot of supporters are furious the team is making them look like geniuses. It's outrageous Eddie and his board are protecting them and if they're not careful they'll lose members. I'll spew if we win games next year and it makes Richo lool like a genius and I will seriously consider not renewing my membership.
You need to replace "Cairns" with "Straw" in your username.

strewth!
look at it like this - if richo somehow led us to a flag next year everyone one of us naysayers would be happily eating our words and thanking the gods we kept him. pie fans will think bucks is the second coming if they win the flag.

desertsaint wrote: Thu 27 Sep 2018 2:20pm

strewth!
look at it like this - if richo somehow led us to a flag next year everyone one of us naysayers would be happily eating our words and thanking the gods we kept him. pie fans will think bucks is the second coming if they win the flag.
You're one of the lucky ones, many have already thrown thier toys outa the cot, long time members even, members that reckon they've never seen the list and club in worse shape, things are really crook so good on you for reserving the right to backflip. I dunno though what will happen if the Pies win, will our board take notice and sack Richo before it's too late.

Everybody take a cold shower, please. No way would the Club or Harvs make their intentions known until after the GF. The fact that he hasn't ruled the move out gives me hope, and he would boost morale. Forget which Pies player was interviewed on the radio on Sunday, but he said Harvey's move from defensive coach to midfield coach this year had made a notable difference. The player made the point that "he knows what he is talking about", referring to playing in the midfield.

And it is quite untrue to say the club snubbed him. He came back to StKilda as an assistant coach in 2011 after 2 years with Carlscum. When Lyin' walked out three days after the elimination final he was dropped into the role as caretaker coach. The club might have got it wrong appointing Scott Watters but it showed it had learnt from the Tim Watson mistake. Even with 3 years experience, Harves would have been the wrong choice for the senior role at the time. As a club legend, he deserved to be nurtured into the role not thrown into a cauldron of boiling water. Buckley, as incoming coach of the Pies, went to great lengths to get our man to to be his sidekick.

If the Pies happen to win the GF, job well done Robert Harvey. Get mad Monday out of your system, hand your keys back to Bucks and welcome home to Moorabbin. Here's hoping!