This is the most hopeless stkilda team I have ever seen

ralphsmith

This is the most hopeless stkilda team I have ever seen

Been to the footy since I was a kid in about 1987.

I have seem some terrible stkilda teams like the 2000/2001 team, but at least in those dark days we had a hopeful good player who was Robert Harvey.

This current team has nobody. There is not a single good player. Not one player who will shine a light in the quagmire of losses. Older people may remember Trevor Barker doing the same thing.

But today it is dire. Usually I am angry but now I just feel hopeless. How has it come to this, that we do not have one good player? Not one who youd turn up to watch no matter the ladder position.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

Re: This is the most hopeless stkilda team I have ever seen

78-86 teams were just as bad if not worse

ralphsmith wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:41pm Been to the footy since I was a kid in about 1987.

I have seem some terrible stkilda teams like the 2000/2001 team, but at least in those dark days we had a hopeful good player who was Robert Harvey.

This current team has nobody. There is not a single good player. Not one player who will shine a light in the quagmire of losses. Older people may remember Trevor Barker doing the same thing.

But today it is dire. Usually I am angry but now I just feel hopeless. How has it come to this, that we do not have one good player? Not one who youd turn up to watch no matter the ladder position.
That appears incredibly negative. Until you analyse it. Then it's just sadly true. We do have good players, but no-one great. Jack Steven is good (wasn't tonight) Jake Carlisle is good.

I’d be ok if I felt hopeless. But I actually don’t feel anything. Perhaps a touch of sadness if anything that I’m fast falling out of love with something that I’ve loved for 40 years.

We were so much worse in the 80's.

Oh my goodness we were worse.

bigred wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:48pm We were so much worse in the 80's.

No salary cap.
No draft.

Different era.

Saints should just go to having a stand alone VFL side playing out of Moorabbin.

The AFL should ditch GWS, GC and the Saints. Start a new side in Tassie. Go to 16 teams.

We could probably seriously win a few flags in the VFL.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:58pm, edited 1 time in total.

My Ice Magic chocolate coating is harder than the saints were tonight.
Last edited by Jacks Back on Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:03am, edited 1 time in total.

I'm amazed by our coaches' commitment to hopelessness. Down 10+ clearances most of the game, stoppage after stoppage we had some combination of Dunstan, Ross, Steele and Steven. We've now lost the clearances nine times this year and made very few changes in the centre. And it's not like those guys are particularly good once the ball exits the stoppage. I feel like after 1 win from 12, we should at least be trying some things out.

SaintPav wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:42pm 78-86 teams were just as bad if not worse
Not 78!! That was a fabulous team and if not for the Essendon whiners we would’ve made finals that year.

Bruce
Carlisle
Geary
Roberton
Acres
Gilbert
Long
Stevens

All unavailable all would make a difference

BringBackMadDog wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:59pm
SaintPav wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:42pm 78-86 teams were just as bad if not worse
Not 78!! That was a fabulous team and if not for the Essendon whiners we would’ve made finals that year.
Meant 79 to 86

CURLY wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:59pm Bruce
Carlisle
Geary
Roberton
Acres
Gilbert
Long
Stevens

LOL. Gilbert and Stevens.

Everyone has injuries. Swans had Mills, Reid, Jack, Naismith and Melican out.

Con Gorozidis wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:02am
CURLY wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:59pm Bruce
Carlisle
Geary
Roberton
Acres
Gilbert
Long
Stevens

LOL. Gilbert and Stevens.

Everyone has injuries. Swans had Mills, Reid, Jack, Naismith and Melican out.
The problem is we can't afford to have the better players out due to a total lack of depth (and skill)

since 1987 ? you lucky barstard.

ralphsmith

Swans appear to have a limitless supply of players who just step up and become A grade players.

Our guys dont read the play well, basic skills are executed poorly or with hesitancy.

There are some on our team that are out there on the ground, but appear to be mentally off somewhere else. With the fairies so to speak. It is fascinating and tragic to watch.

Where are they? Do they not want to be AFL players? They dont seem to understand the gift thats been given to them.

This is so dire. Sorry for the drama.

chico2001

This side should move to Tasmania. Close down the Gold coast Suns. Get their good players....maybe 5/6. Get 12 $million a year from the AFL, good some good recruits.

The end is not in sight....

Con Gorozidis wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:51pm

No salary cap.
No draft.

Different era.
Lots of boys back then may have been ordinary players but they had allot of heart .
They looked like they gave everything out on the field.
These guys may have of heart but allota of time you wouldn't know it. They sulk off the ground but in a couple of hours will be poppin pingas till dawn then latte's before morning rehab . Watch sandy in the arvo
Living the dream
Day off Monday
By Tuesday everything from the weekend is just about forgotten

ralphsmith

The Fireman wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:07am since 1987 ? you lucky barstard.
I know I am lucky. I started when Lockett was rising. Winmar...etc. I missed the true horror of the 80s.

chico2001 wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:13am This side should move to Tasmania. Close down the Gold coast Suns. Get their good players....maybe 5/6. Get 12 $million a year from the AFL, good some good recruits.

The end is not in sight....
Agree.
But Tassie wouldnt even want us.
They want either their own side or to keep the current arrangements with North and the Hawks.

ralphsmith wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:11am Swans appear to have a limitless supply of players who just step up and become A grade players.
It helps that the AFL keeps gifting them top-5 picks they haven't earned. We finished last in 2014 and Heeney, who has arguably been the best player out of that draft, wasn't available to us. Cost Sydney pick 18. Mills cost them a pile of trash picks.

Another one on the way this year in Blakey.

ralphsmith wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:11am Swans appear to have a limitless supply of players who just step up and become A grade players.

Our guys dont read the play well, basic skills are executed poorly or with hesitancy.

There are some on our team that are out there on the ground, but appear to be mentally off somewhere else. With the fairies so to speak. It is fascinating and tragic to watch.

Where are they? Do they not want to be AFL players? They dont seem to understand the gift thats been given to them.

This is so dire. Sorry for the drama.
We've got plenty of good players
The swans look good because they have good coaches.
Our coaches are simply not up to the job

vacuous space wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:15am
It helps that the AFL keeps gifting them top-5 picks they haven't earned. We finished last in 2014 and Heeney, who has arguably been the best player out of that draft, wasn't available to us. Cost Sydney pick 18. Mills cost them a pile of trash picks.

100% correct not to mention the gift Buddy Franklin. Put Buddy in our side and see how we go.

vacuous space wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 12:15am

You know any club can bid on these players right? We could have bid on Heeney at pick 1 if we thought he was worth it and Swans would have to find picks to match.

Re: This is the most hopeless stkilda team I have ever see

Correct. One year we lost three in a row by 100+

This ain’t nothing compared to early-mid 80s.