Hamish Hartlett

sax

Hamish Hartlett

Hi Guys

Just wanted to say, yesterday afternoon on Triple M here in SA, Warren Tredrea said we are right into Hamish Hartlett.
He didn't say anything about what's on offer, just said Allan Richardson is a fan & we are very interested.
Treders does have a very good record with his Port information, but hadn't seen anything up here, so thought I'd post it.

Cheers

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296

Re: Hamish Hartlett

sax wrote:Hi Guys

Just wanted to say, yesterday afternoon on Triple M here in SA, Warren Tredrea said we are right into Hamish Hartlett.
He didn't say anything about what's on offer, just said Allan Richardson is a fan & we are very interested.
Treders does have a very good record with his Port information, but hadn't seen anything up here, so thought I'd post it.

Cheers
Rather him than Rocky!!!!!

He's basically on the market from what he and the club have said. I really like his talent - a great kick, creative - was pick 4 I think - thats cream. Can he become a genuine midfielder as I reckon we have enough half backs? Had a down year last year but he wasn't alone - seems to be something pretty off at PA. The question is how much would we have to pay - would have to be at least our top pick. Richo's PA connection could see him want to come to us and we can throw some fat stacks his way. Stay tuned I reckon.

derby Street

Bluthy wrote:He's basically on the market from what he and the club have said. I really like his talent - a great kick, creative - was pick 4 I think - thats cream. Can he become a genuine midfielder as I reckon we have enough half backs? Had a down year last year but he wasn't alone - seems to be something pretty off at PA. The question is how much would we have to pay - would have to be at least our top pick. Richo's PA connection could see him want to come to us and we can throw some fat stacks his way. Stay tuned I reckon.
No thanks - always injured and has a poor record in Ports B & F. Not for our pick 10.

An outside player

Can kick the footy though...

What's his age

Interesting, have to wait and see what unfolds.

Oh beauty another hot and cold outside receiver!!

stonecold wrote:
sax wrote:Hi Guys

Cheers
Rather him than Rocky!!!!!
Interesting view, personally I think Rocky is in a different league to Hartlett. Having said that, we haven't had a very good history with Toms

prwilkinson wrote:Interesting, have to wait and see what unfolds.
Thanks for that.

not a bad player

minneapolis wrote:
prwilkinson wrote:Interesting, have to wait and see what unfolds.
Thanks for that.
You're welcome.

Captain Impossible

He's 26, same age as Rocky.

I'd prefer Pittard

Get them both.... We'd be a top 4 chance

For only for nothing much... I'm not that keen on either

Insider/Outsider

Are they Jack Stevens age?

Its part of footy differing opinions - but I consider Hartlett would be a much better fit for us than Rockcliff. His mobility and kicking skills are a long way ahead of Rocky...

Just looked at them closely

In terms of numbers their ouput would be that of Steven (Rockliff) and Armitage (Hartlett)

The only players they would accept as trades would be Armo for Rocky and Dunstan for Hartlett
Neither would be looked at

Teflon wrote:Oh beauty another hot and cold outside receiver!!
I think one of the big holes in our team is outside polish - and the whole PA team are hot and cold which indicates its not just HH. At the moment only gresh strikes me as someone who can consistently hit up targets particularly in the fwd 50. We need more polished ball users to keep possession of the ball and hence control of the game. If you turn it over going into the 50 - or just bomb it in - then teams like dogs, gws,hawks, adelaide - are set up to kill you on the rebound when you are out of position

Yes we do have a weakness at contested ball. But I feel we do have the sorts already to deal with that as they develop - dunny, ross, gresh, acres and hopefully armo can get his body right and be that inside beast again. Of course Martin would solve both inside and outside problems hence why these guys are so valuable. But HH is the sort of clever ball use I like. Richo seems good at developing players into all round players so hopefully could help HH win his own ball more.

Civilwar22

As Port have not got a decent ruckman, perhaps a straight swap Longer for Hartlett may be on the cards??!!

Paddy Ryder?

realdeal

No way would or should we part with a high pick or good player for Hartlett. Just a year ago he signed a 5 year contract extension for big money.

Getting him off their books would help them a lot. If we were willing to take on that contract they could only expect to get a limited return..

Maybe he was a better player when Richo was coaching at PA?

Civilwar22

BigMart wrote:Paddy Ryder?
hmm yes but they like him to spend lot of time forward as well. Longer a better player than Lobbe. We would have to give up something for a quality player like Hartlett. I would rather we did not give up picks. The scuttlebutt is a lot re Longer being traded anyhow!!

Can you imagine having HH in your team in a prelim...or better still in a GF?

Put it this way, if we are looking to play finals in the next 2 years and if you could only choose 1 player from the following, who would you choose;

Hamish Hartlett
Sam Gilbert
Luke Dunstan
Jack Newnes
Jack Billings

In order

Jack Billings, Jack Newnes, HH, Luke Dunstan, Sam Gilbert

Just going on recent output combined with possible development scope