"Peanuts, shilling a bag - peanuts!"

Who remembers the man who sold peanuts at the footy in the 60s? He seemed to be at every metro ground. I can certainly remember him at the Junction Oval. I think he also did Moorabbin. His name was John Boyd.

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/2012-0 ... ton-and-me

Re: "Peanuts, shilling a bag - peanuts!"

Yes I remember him well.

And yes he also did Moorabbin. It probably depended who was playing who and where as all games were at 2PM Sat.

Showing your age, you blokes!!!!!

Many 'Young Guru Posters' on here wouldn't know what a Shilling was!!!!!

I can remember a bloke doing that in the fifties at the junction oval and also
at Princes Park

Reading tlhe article, I presume it was the same bloke.

My memories go back also to when supporters would carry a blanket stretched out around the boundry and people would throw money.

What the cause was escapes me though.

perfectionist wrote:Who remembers the man who sold peanuts at the footy in the 60s? He seemed to be at every metro ground. I can certainly remember him at the Junction Oval. I think he also did Moorabbin. His name was John Boyd.

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/2012-0 ... ton-and-me
Thanks for that link "perfectionist". Wonderful story of long, long time ago. Lovely memory ........... and to think there is still a Boyd, running around for the Bulldogs, which makes this story more poignant.

Alas no space in the corporatiized AFL, for a 'little entrepreneur' to mingle through the crowd to peddle his wares, " peanuts, shilling a bag".

the dome

Pistachios Yes Peanuts No!

I might have come across John (if that's who it was) @ Pistachio Park in Carlton once back in the early '90s. Now I can appreciate him simply earning a few bucks for himself. Being young and brainless i had to shout out 'stuff the peanuts where are the Pistachios?' - I hope John is still around and doing well. He was of coarse a colourfull character @ P.Park and no doubt brought plenty of joy to those who liked peanuts. At the same ground I remember a mate and a mate of this mate climbing their way into the stadium (St.Kilda vs Carlton). Dropping down on the concrete walk-around one of the lads exclaimed "I hate to pay anything that would help the Carlton cause".

I'm imagining this happening these days but can't quite picture it @ the Dome.

G O S A I N T S :D
Last edited by the dome on Tue 30 Aug 2016 6:32pm, edited 1 time in total.

I remember the bloke with the stainless steel contraption he was sellling savaloys (hot dogs) from at the Junction oval. The only hot thing for sale that was not in a kiosk.

My memories go back also to when supporters would carry a blanket stretched out around the boundry and people would throw money.

It was the Cheer Squad. I think many throwing the coins aimed for the people carrying the blanket rather than the blanket though!

George27

I too well remember the Peanut Man. The sights and sounds of a bygone era.

saynta wrote:I can remember a bloke doing that in the fifties at the junction oval and also
at Princes Park

Saynta the blanket being carried around the ground where supporters would throw their money into was for the Club, or so I thought.

As we kids, were down the front, standing behind the seating (benching) that stretched around the Junction Oval, we were continually being hit on the back of the head by money throwing supporters, whose aim was astray or they didn't have the strength in their throw to hoick it over the fence into the blanket. There were always a few people scampering behind the blanket to pick up any coins, that fell on the arena and not into the blanket. I'm sure they were trustworthy and put the money in the blanket!!!!
The coins hurt when they hit you on the head or in the face (if you turned around), as it was in the days of £ s & p. Those coins had a greater amount of silver content in them than decimal currency coins, which felt like monopoly coins when they were introduced in 1966.
Actually I don't think the five cent coin had any silver content at all. That was why they were never boiled in grandma's Christmas pudding- 5 cent pieces could only be hidden in after the cooking process or the pudding would be contaminated.

loris wrote:
saynta wrote:I can remember a bloke doing that in the fifties at the junction oval and also
at Princes Park

Saynta the blanket being carried around the ground where supporters would throw their money into was for the Club, or so I thought.

As we kids, were down the front, standing behind the seating (benching) that stretched around the Junction Oval, we were continually being hit on the back of the head by money throwing supporters, whose aim was astray or they didn't have the strength in their throw to hoick it over the fence into the blanket. There were always a few people scampering behind the blanket to pick up any coins, that fell on the arena and not into the blanket. I'm sure they were trustworthy and put the money in the blanket!!!!
The coins hurt when they hit you on the head or in the face (if you turned around), as it was in the days of £ s & p. Those coins had a greater amount of silver content in them than decimal currency coins, which felt like monopoly coins when they were introduced in 1966.
Actually I don't think the five cent coin had any silver content at all. That was why they were never boiled in grandma's Christmas pudding- 5 cent pieces could only be hidden in after the cooking process or the pudding would be contaminated.
This continued into the late 70's and early 80's when I was watching the footy. I was of the understanding that it was actually required to keep the club afloat and pa the players. This was in the era of when Barry Breen accepted about 10c in the dollar for the amount of money that the Saints owed him as he could have bankruoted the club. Or so the legend goes.

Last time I remember the blanket going round was in a practice match at Vic park, and they were collecting for John Greening.
Got threatened by an old bitch(with her umbrella) just for daring to barrack for the Saints!

Today, OH&S legislation would prohibit throwing money into blankets being lumped around a ground by humans no matter what the cause I'd imagine. We are such a protected species these days and a very litigious society!!!!

loris wrote:Today, OH&S legislation would prohibit throwing money into blankets being lumped around a ground by humans no matter what the cause I'd imagine. We are such a protected species these days and a very litigious society!!!!
Loris.. I'm no wowser ....but I did see a cheer squad kid rushed to Finklestiens ( eye specialist surgeon ) after a Dogs Saints game at Foot-is-gray oval one Saturday, (seems a twenty cent coin fits an eye socket quite nicely). I actually remember some louts throwing the coins at the kids to try to hit them. I'd suggest it's common sense these days. I believe the kid did not loose his eye.
FWW I saw the peanut man at every Bulldogs home game I attended.

I remember him at Victoria Park. Always bought a bag or two

Yep, remember him well from the 80s, when I was attending games as just a small lad.

"PEANUTS - 50 CENTS A BAG!!!"

He was always at either Princess Park or Windy Hill. It was great value. 50 cents of about 200 grams of roasted peanuts in their shells. Would last me the whole afternoon.

Someone said they reckon they saw him also trying to sell porno magazines as well: "GET YOUR PEANUTS AND YOUR DIRTY BOOKS!!!"

I remember as a teenager in the 80's going to the footy and hearing cries of; "Drinks, lollies, peeeeanuts and potaataahhh chips."

The days of sitting in your seat all game and getting some young kid come up close with your hot pie and sauce are a distant memory too.

I always looked forward to the hot jam donuts for sale at Moorabbin - and buying one players name badge each week.

I also have the collectors cards from the 85/6 season, most duly autographed.

I saw him at Windy Hill once and the MCG

He spoke a bit strange didn't he?

"Annya Peenut?" Something like that

Reckon I always way the peanut bloke at Victoria Park lugging a large hesian bag containing hundreds of smaller bags of peanuts in their shells. It would have been in the 1970's.

In that era I went to all the grounds, but I can't recall seing him anyware else.

Sainter_Dad wrote:This continued into the late 70's and early 80's when I was watching the footy. I was of the understanding that it was actually required to keep the club afloat and pa the players. This was in the era of when Barry Breen accepted about 10c in the dollar for the amount of money that the Saints owed him as he could have bankruoted the club. Or so the legend goes.
In fact it was just 10c from only the one dollar. :wink:

Toy Saint wrote:Reckon I always way the peanut bloke at Victoria Park lugging a large hesian bag containing hundreds of smaller bags of peanuts in their shells. It would have been in the 1970's.

In that era I went to all the grounds, but I can't recall seing him anyware else.
I believe he sold peanuts every round, and when the Pies did not have a home game he went elsewhere. Pretty sure I saw him at the Western Oval and Moorabbin. I certainly saw him at grounds other than Victoria Park

stjohnc

It was the Cheer Squad. I think many throwing the coins aimed for the people carrying the blanket rather than the blanket though!
Correct. it was for the cheer squad

Scollop wrote:I remember as a teenager in the 80's going to the footy and hearing cries of; "Drinks, lollies, peeeeanuts and potaataahhh chips."

The days of sitting in your seat all game and getting some young kid come up close with your hot pie and sauce are a distant memory too.
I remember it as : "Drinks, Lollies, Chocolates, Peanuts and Potato Chips".

And : "Hot Pies, Pasties, Sausage Rolls".......

Sainter_Dad wrote:I always looked forward to the hot jam donuts for sale at Moorabbin - and buying one players name badge each week.

I also have the collectors cards from the 85/6 season, most duly autographed.

Ahhhhhhh....hot jam donuts on a freezing day in the outer.

30 cents for half a dozen.