15 Metre-gate

sendmehomehappy

15 Metre-gate

Great effort by our guys

But the %$&*ing umpires again!!!!!!!

Somebody with the IT skills could surely do the measurements from the video and prove that both those kicks were easily over 15 metres.

It could only happen to the Saints!

" If thought corrupts language then language can also corrupt thought."

Politics and the English Language George Orwell

Re: 15 Metre-gate

No doubt the umpires will be talking about how it feels to have a win on the flight back home again.

You mean those 2 calls and also bringing back their obvious play on, then Lonie tackled without in the last minute when it was called for Hawks earlier and Geary getting absolutely obliterated in the head and he calls deliberate OOB.

Griggsy wrote:You mean those 2 calls and also bringing back their obvious play on, then Lonie tackled without in the last minute when it was called for Hawks earlier and Geary getting absolutely obliterated in the head and he calls deliberate OOB.

Yeah, I think that's it Griggsy!

Only heard the game on radio due to work

They indicated it was at least 25

BigMart wrote:Only heard the game on radio due to work

They indicated it was at least 25
20-25 was the general consensus on the fox commentary also. Especially the first kick out, won't see those posted anywhere on the AFL site

sendmehomehappy

The commentators mentioned during the game last night between West Coast and Richmond that it was obvious the 15 metre kick rule was the "rule of the week" for the umps this weekend.

They even suggested the players watching pay particular attention to it, kick a bit further, and be ready to tackle if there was any doubt.

That maggot was either brainwashed, or out to make a headline (being kind here).

Never did I think the umpire panel's directive would come back to bite us on the bum so bad.

I often think that frees come and go, but these 2 x 15 mtr penalties cost us dearly. Who was the Umpire??

We also gave away a few goals by bad mistakes/turnovers, but when Umpires, not players, cost you the match, it is a real worry.

I just hope that The Club makes a formal complaint.

I also thought that Obrien was caught holding the ball, the one where Bruce put his hand up...

Was a clear goal to Bruce if given.

The umpires love a winner. There's no doubt that clubs perceived to be superior get a better run. That will change as we make our way up the ladder. Bummer about today. We deserved the four points

Just need yellow in your jumper - West Coast get an entire games worth of free kicks some seasons.

Griggsy wrote:You mean those 2 calls and also bringing back their obvious play on, then Lonie tackled without in the last minute when it was called for Hawks earlier and Geary getting absolutely obliterated in the head and he calls deliberate OOB.
The play on no advantage decision in the last few minutes was disgraceful and the opposite of how it's been paid in the past few years. This almost tipped me over the edge.

That was one of the cheapest 'umpire goals' I think I've ever seen. An absolute brain fart from the pinhead in green.

They reckon on Foxtel (Bounce) that it went 17m

Mark Fine asked his listeners to look at Stevens' Twitter page to see what they made of the Hawthorn premiership 2015 banner on it.

Hawk supporter giving dodgey decisions in front of the opposition goal when his beloved Hwaks were down?

Hmmmmmmm.

It's not great look by Stevens. He must be a bit of a simpleton and a cretin to think that he can flaunt his allegiance to a footy team while being a senior AFL umpire at the same time.

Doesn't the AFL umpires department have a code of conduct outlining it's social media policy?

Appears their policy has not caught up with technology and social media.

Hard to believe considering the AFL is now a billion dollar industry.

Unprofessional, slow and incompetent.

According to a text from a mate:

"I was reding that in the Premier League the powers that be removed a ref from a Spurs game this weekend because he is s supporter of the team that is battling with them to top the League (Leicester). That is professional!"

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Mark Fine asked his listeners to look at Stevens' Twitter page to see what they made of the Hawthorn premiership 2015 banner on it.

Hawk supporter giving dodgey decisions in front of the opposition goal when his beloved Hwaks were down?

Hmmmmmmm.
Must be going for cheap ratings or he has changed his tune since this morning

sendmehomehappy

So umpire Stevens has a Hawthorn banner on his Twitter account face page.

He hands Hawthorn a crucial goal from a blatantly innacurate decision(s) when his team (why else would he have that banner on his account, he did not officiate in that game) was down and under the pump.

The AFL needs to stamp this right out now.

It needs to have all AFL umpires, including boundary and goal, declare the team they support and publish the list.

It then needs to make sure no supporters (or ex-players like L. Fisher) ever officiate when their teams are playing.

Do umpires take an oath to be non-partial? If so, it can be overrun in the heat of a big moment.

This is a small step the AFL can do to improve the integrity of the game.

Will it do it?

Disgraceful

It's a shot of the MCG on Grand Final day. I reckon the Hawks banner just happens to be there.

Doesnt surprise this has been an issue since the game began - yet the idots at AFL still believe these cretins are impartial. I also heard he is a Civil Engineer I bet his company are also involved in the Hawks Dingley move?

AFL is rife with corruption is this is just another level!

Stupid umpiring always gets us hot under the collar, and the last quarter was jaw-dropping bad, but I was just as worked up with the bloody turnovers that handed Hawkthorn the game, let alone Gilbert's hopeless attempt at goal kicking from a set shot. Should have done the Hawks by three goals, and can't afford to let these games slip- we don't get many chances to have quality opposition on toast..we blew it too with PA.

At least the temporary umpire director (Luke Ball) admitted they were both errors on the Sunday football panel he us on . Said they plainly got it wrong but denied there was any directive this week to go hard on 15 meter kicks

It is frustrating.

But when you look at the whole game...... We muffed up plenty of opportunity.

bigred wrote:It is frustrating.

But when you look at the whole game...... We muffed up plenty of opportunity.
Indeed we did - and it is more acceptable to be saying that we played well - but the loss was due to our own mistakes. However, to be able to attribute the loss to a 3rd party leaves an entirely unpleasant feeling about the game.

The Saints played well, and on all indicators deserved to win - - this is the most heartbroken I have felt after a game that we have been robbed of.

It is not just the calls, but also to later learn that the umpire has a Hawks banner on his twitter account just smacks of unprofessionalism. He may not be a Hawks supporter, however there are plenty of MCG photos, if that was what he was trying to display, that do not reference any team. Umpires must not only be impartial, but they must be seen to be impartial

Just pissed that the boys were robbed, and will probably be flat for the GWS game when we will need them all to be firing!