Training run @Moorabbin today.

Took the dogs for a walk down at Linton st and the boys were having a solid training session this morning.
Three groups : Defenders practicing running ball out of defence, mids working on set plays from the ruck and forwards (which i was really happy to see) goal kicking ,with a little one on one work. Lots of talk and boys were really up and about. Even Richo was getting in amongst it. (decent kick on him still). Forwards were really peppering the goals, even working on around the corner shots. Obviously last weeks inacurracy wasn't appreciated by the coaching staff. Hamilll looked like he was being pretty tough on them. Roo moved really well and kicking for goal was excellent by everyone. Interestingly enough Mav swapped groups a fair bit. Savages's kicking is unbelievable. Best kick in the team by a mile. Also interesting was the amount of work they were putting into Simpkin. For someone who seems to be on the outer, he was the last on the track and they were flogging him. He looked like he was about to spew. Backs moved really well working on set plays. Goddard moves so well for a big unit. Hope ,as he gets bigger, he retains his agility. He can make people look slow which is a great attrtibute for a KPP. I reckon we might be going out, all guns blazing tomorrow. Go Saints!

Re: Training run @Moorabbin today.

great work and right up mate

gee i hope bruce clunks those marks this week

citywest

matrix wrote:great work and right up mate

You mean write.

from memory SImpkin had a 2 game suspension and possibly still has a week to go so today would have been his ' competitive" hit out

gee i hope bruce clunks this week
Bruce took some really solid grabs. You can see he's still learning a lot. Especially with his "trick" shots. Lonie was helping him with his round the corner shots, which he struggles with. Another pre seaon will do him wonders. Seb Ross and Acres also looked really sharp. Those two are definitely the one's to watch for next year, I reckon.

citywest wrote:

You mean write.
Wright is a defender.

Pwoit

Seems like last weeks game was a chance to rest some guys and not too concerned about the result just effort which was a bit disappointing.
I think they have had their eyes set on beating Freo this week as we have some good ins and line up looks good. Going by some of training reports I have a feeling we will knock them over again.

Rosco wrote:
citywest wrote:

You mean write.
Wright is a defender.
That's right.

Pwoit wrote:Seems like last weeks game was a chance to rest some guys and not too concerned about the result just effort which was a bit disappointing.
I think they have had their eyes set on beating Freo this week as we have some good ins and line up looks good. Going by some of training reports I have a feeling we will knock them over again.
And again and again and again

minneapolis wrote:
Rosco wrote:
citywest wrote:

You mean write.
Wright is a defender.
That's right.
Rite

Thanks stkfc1 for the post. I will be going to the footy today with a bigger spring in my step :D

citywest wrote:

You mean write.
Yes obviously I did. I was in a chip haze from eating a large bag of cider vinegar and salt chips in one sitting