New Director of Coaching - any Ideas?

So with Beveridge gone, who is available and who should we get?

Does anyone with inside knowledge know if we have a target, or what the plan is?

Re: New Director of Coaching - any Ideas?

I have a bit of a radical idea for the structure.
A. Interactions with players:
1. Head coach
2. Assistant coaches
3. Specialist skills coaches

The head coach reports to the CEO and Board.

B. Ancillary operations to support A
1. Head of Football Operations
2. Assistants.

The Head of Football Operations reports to the CEO

C. Fitness and Medical operations to support A
1. Head of Fitness and Medical operations
2. Assistants

The head of Fitness and Medical operations reports to the Head Coach.

Burkey 1

Brenton Sanderson.

There are worse around.

Grant Thomas

sax

Stan Alves

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296

Actually in all seriousness, the bloke who would be terrific in the role is Wayne Brittain. Won't happen, but quality footy head he has.

Grant Thomas or P66

GoSaintersGo

Lenny Hayes.

Hopeful someone that generates a bit of excitement around the place!

Did you see Richo's address to the players before they did 2km time trial the other day? If that is indicitative of his approach to the players is it any wonder we came last in 2014. The first question IS why would a senior coach even involve himself in something like that before a time trial? That is what all his fitness staff are for, it came across very poorly Richo!

MadSaintFan

Take it easy Winners Only - he told the players to dig deep and fight through the hurt because the whole team would be hurting. I wouldnt be expecting a William Wallace type speech from the Coach prior to a 2k time trial.

Fev.

MadSaintFan wrote:Take it easy Winners Only - he told the players to dig deep and fight through the hurt because the whole team would be hurting. I wouldnt be expecting a William Wallace type speech from the Coach prior to a 2k time trial.
Exactly why did he need to say anything - that would be a huge demotivator for me if I was standing on the line ready to run! He came across as a complete tool !

MadSaintFan wrote:Take it easy Winners Only - he told the players to dig deep and fight through the hurt because the whole team would be hurting. I wouldnt be expecting a William Wallace type speech from the Coach prior to a 2k time trial.
They will take our pulse but they will never take our freedom!!!!!

Andrew Lovett

Bomber Thompson........... yeah !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOT

Burkey 1

I still think both Brenton Sanderson and Mark Thompson will be important additions to our coaching team....here is why.

First of all I don't really care what sort of strange character Bomber is, bottom line he is a successful coach, clearly he is not and never has been comfortable in front of the media but clearly his ability to pass on knowledge to the players is pretty darn good so if we can offer him a meaningful role ala Director of Coaching assisting Rich in box on match days that would be great.

As for Sanderson, we should go after him as a senior assistant and work with our development team, I also would like to see him in coaches box assisting Richo on match days, there will need to be some adjustments but if we are to be fair dinkum then we have to surround our yoing team with as much off field talent as possible and I hope I am not putting down our existing coaches that's what's not this is about, it is about expanding our current group with more experience.

That's my 2 cents worth, you can rip me apart now !!!!

RW&B

Won't happen but I think John Worsfold would be perfect.

"I'm a better coach when Nick Riewoldt is in the side" - Ross Lyon 2007
Megamaguire

Director of Coaching

I think an experienced director would be more helpful to AR so I can see thelogic in names like Thompson & Sanderson.
Haven't got much more than that but another wise head on the coaching side of things could help our young team develop quicker rather than slower.

G O S A I N T S ! :)

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Andrew Lovett
That's a really silly idea when you have someone like Watters available who knows our squad

Ratten?

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Andrew Lovett
That's a really silly idea when you have someone like Watters available who knows our squad
True, didn't think it through

Burkey 1 wrote:

First of all I don't really care what sort of strange character Bomber is,
Ok...which StKilda players partner are you going to point Bomber's way then.....

Goose is king wrote:Ratten?
or his little mate

wont be Danny Frawley

going to Hawthorn as part time assistant to work with Chip
Last edited by saintbrat on Fri 14 Nov 2014 9:29pm, edited 1 time in total.