Saints games in 2015

Anyone fine a quick synopsis

El Wood

Re: Saints games in 2015

St Kilda
RD DATE OPPONENT VENUE HOME/AWAY LOCAL TIME HOST TV NETWORK
1 Sunday, April 5 GWS GIANTS Etihad Stadium Home 1.10pm Foxtel
2 Saturday, April 11 Gold Coast SUNS Metricon Stadium Away 7.20pm Foxtel
3 Friday, April 17 Collingwood MCG Away 7.50pm Seven
4 Saturday, April 25 Carlton Westpac Stadium Home 1.10pm Foxtel
5 Sunday, May 3 Essendon Etihad Stadium Home 3.20pm Seven
6 Saturday, May 9 Western Bulldogs Etihad Stadium Away 2.10pm Foxtel
7 Saturday, May 16 Adelaide Crows Adelaide Oval Away 1.15pm Seven
8 Saturday, May 23 West Coast Eagles Etihad Stadium Home 1.45pm Seven
9 Sunday, May 31 Brisbane Lions The Gabba Away 1.10pm Foxtel
10 Sunday, June 7 Hawthorn Etihad Stadium Home 4.40pm Foxtel
11 Sunday, June 14 Melbourne Etihad Stadium Home 4.40pm Foxtel
12 Bye
13 Saturday, June 27 Western Bulldogs Etihad Stadium Home 7.20pm Seven
14 Sunday, July 5 Essendon Etihad Stadium Away 1.10pm Foxtel
15 Sunday, July 12 GWS GIANTS Spotless Stadium Away 1.10pm Foxtel
16 Sunday, July 19 Richmond Etihad Stadium Home 4.40pm Foxtel
17 Sunday, July 26 Melbourne MCG Away 3.20pm Seven
18 Sunday, August 2 Port Adelaide Adelaide Oval Away 12.40pm Foxtel
19 Sunday, August 9 Fremantle Etihad Stadium Home 4.40pm Foxtel
20 Saturday, August 15 North Melbourne Blundstone Arena Away 2.10pm Foxtel
21 Saturday, August 22 Geelong Cats Etihad Stadium Home 7.20pm Seven
22 Sunday, August 30 Sydney Swans Etihad Stadium Home 3.20pm Seven
23 TBC West Coast Eagles Patersons Stadium Away TBC TBC

Matches by timeslot
TIMESLOT HOME MATCHES AWAY MATCHES TOTAL MATCHES
Saturday afternoon 2 3 5
Sunday early 1 4 5
Sunday afternoon 2 1 3
Monday afternoon 0 0 0
DAY 5 8 13
Saturday twilight 0 0 0
Sunday twilight 4 0 4
TWILIGHT 4 0 4
Thursday night 0 0 0
Friday night 0 1 1
Saturday night 2 1 3
NIGHT 2 2 4
TBC (Round 23) 0 1 1

Matches by venue
VENUE HOME MATCHES AWAY MATCHES TOTAL MATCHES
Etihad Stadium 10 2 12
MCG 0 2 2
Simonds Stadium 0 0 0
Matches in Victoria 10 4 14
Adelaide Oval 0 2 2
ANZ Stadium 0 0 0
Aurora Stadium 0 0 0
Blundstone Arena 0 1 1
Cazalys Stadium 0 0 0
Metricon Stadium 0 1 1
Patersons Stadium 0 1 1
SCG 0 0 0
Spotless Stadium 0 1 1
StarTrack Oval 0 0 0
The Gabba 0 1 1
TIO Stadium 0 0 0
TIO Traeger Park 0 0 0
Westpac Stadium 1 0 1

Matches outside Victoria 1 7 8

Matches by network
NETWORK HOME MATCHES AWAY MATCHES TOTAL MATCHES
Foxtel 6 7 13
Seven 5 3 8
TBC (Round 23) 0 1 1

Seven away games out of Victoria is the highest for any Victorian club.
Melbourne, by contrast, have three.
Screwed again...

Tough last 6 games if we are any where near the bottom before that another low finish is almost garunteed !

Having perused the whole draw it not really that bad ! Yeah we play a few games out of Vic but most of them we are a reasonable chance to be competitive and our home games give us a bit of an edge against tougher opponents.

Overall it is quite positive, at the end of the day we are rebuilding so none of us expect big leaps next year !
Last edited by WinnersOnly on Thu 30 Oct 2014 10:59am, edited 1 time in total.

The first thing you do is look down the list to find the winnable games......and geez, it's gonna be a lllloooonnnnggggg year....

darylcowie

I see 3 wins for us in this draw, GWS in Round 1 and Melbourne in Round 11 and 17.

Anything more will be a bonus for us I think.

I wonder which game will be the members compensation game for Wellington?

Perhaps the Melbourne game at the G?

its time to make a name for yourself like you've never made before!

darylcowie wrote:I see 3 wins for us in this draw, GWS in Round 1 and Melbourne in Round 11 and 17.

Anything more will be a bonus for us I think.

I wonder which game will be the members compensation game for Wellington?

Perhaps the Melbourne game at the G?
I don't see us beating GWS in round 1...but I can see us splitting the two Bulldogs games.
They will really miss Cooney and Griffen.

And you're forgetting our annual thrashing of Freo at Etihad.

AdelaideSainter

All games are tough on paper when you finish on the bottom, but I don’t mind the look of the ‘double ups’. Only double up against one of this year’s finalists (Essendon). I thought I heard that they were going to schedule the double up matches from round 18 onwards. Obviously this didn't happen as we play the Dogs twice in 8 weeks, the Dees twice in 7 weeks etc.

A lot of travel, with just 14 games in Melbourne. Will be overseas when they play Adelaide here unfortunately. No trip to Geelong thankfully.

1 Friday night game, as expected really. Will tire of watching Richmond, Carlton and Collingwood in this timeslot.

No Monday night game this year.

WCE in Perth for the final round. Obviously the AFL doesn't think we'll make the finals.

Looks like we’ll have about 4, maybe 5 games on Channel 7 in Adelaide. Thank god for online streaming.

sMarty_saints

Can we put in a win against Essendon if the 'a' team are not playing (wishful thinking!!!)

Bent.

Over.

agreed
f****** bent right over and the poker inserted firmly with no lube

2 games in adelaide is about all i see thats good out of that (for the sa people)

70s sainter

I have been a member forever , but you look at this fixture and almost say "what's the point of becoming a member"
Only 14 games in melb out of 22 rounds ?
With 4 of those sun twilight games. I thought they were giving that timeslot the well deserved arse.
The sooner we f@#k Wellington off the better.
Worst fixture for a member who actually likes going to gams that I have ever seen.
We really are becoming completely irrelevant .

70s sainter

Gillian has f#@ked us !!

Royston

Going to be a long year....will be good to watch the youngsters develop and get games.

Did Pelchen's overall drafting plan for the club include a compo pick (after our first rounder - next year) ??
If they are still on the table I reckon we will be monties to get one...after the 2014 & 15 years....

"Seven home games against traditional Victorian clubs is a major positive. We have the only international game in the fixture and I believe it has the potential to be one of the showcase games of the year. St Kilda will also place a strong focus on bringing to life the Sunday afternoon football experience at Etihad Stadium. The AFL has to factor in many competing demands and, on balance, we believe this is a solid draw for the club." - CEO Matt Finnis.

Johnny Favier

70s sainter wrote:I have been a member forever , but you look at this fixture and almost say "what's the point of becoming a member"
Only 14 games in melb out of 22 rounds ?
With 4 of those sun twilight games. I thought they were giving that timeslot the well deserved arse.
The sooner we f@#k Wellington off the better.
Worst fixture for a member who actually likes going to gams that I have ever seen.
We really are becoming completely irrelevant .
I'm inclined to agree with your sentiment "what's the point of becoming a member" in light of us having a 4 year old son and can get to a grand total of 4 games next year with this fixture.
A lot of the family-friendly hours are for games outside of Victoria.

This draw is bullsh*t - it's not even remotely close to being acceptable for us members with young families.

I've been a fully paid up member since 1988, but we seriously will have to review whether our tight finances can stretch far enough to justify the dollars spent for just 4 games.

Not happy!

Armagizmo

As a saints fan in rural NSW I'm very happy we're playing at Spotless Stadium this year.
Overall I think it's a fair draw: if you can't win games, you can't expect to be in the primetime slots.

do we still have the 3 game membership thingy?
that might help some people this year that cant get to many games

that way you can downgrade the membership you are on now to a 3 or 5 gamer and not lose your continuity of membership in years
:?: :idea:

Good to be f***ed over 2015 and perhaps 2016 season.

We don't have a hope of getting close to the finals either year so we then have currency with the AFL when we are in a position to start the climb up into the finals.

Chill peoples.

As for only 14 games in Melbourne? Are people masochists? How many drubbing can you stand live?

Cool your heels and be patient

good point
gonna cop pantsings anyway
crowd numbers will be well down this year after last year, plenty will drop off

oh well
here we go again
2 to 3 years of doom
im in.....again
shesh it would want to be good come 2017 2018 otherwise the members will explode and microwaves will be working overtime :D

Johnny Favier

matrix wrote:do we still have the 3 game membership thingy?
that might help some people this year that cant get to many games

that way you can downgrade the membership you are on now to a 3 or 5 gamer and not lose your continuity of membership in years
:?: :idea:
Good point. We may have to explore that option. Cheers!

If we're ever going to be rooted by a fixture, this is surely the year for it to happen!

I'd hate to miss out on pick 1 or 2 by a game just because he had a soft draw that flattered us.

A financially friendly draw this year is what we really want more than anything.

70s sainter

This crap of "were rapt to have another away game in tassie against north melb"
Do we actually request an away game in tassie ??

I dont understand how many melb games people expect in a national comp where there are 8 interstate teams plus geelong plus a home game in Wellington.
It's not the vfl anymore. We have two new interstate sides. Its just how it is in the AFL. We will never get more than 16 melb games while we play in wellington.

With the 'play bottom 6 sides twice' rule we have to go to Brisbane, GWS and GC as they were all bottom 6.

It could have only been better if all the bottom 6 teams were melb sides.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Good to be f***ed over 2015 and perhaps 2016 season.

We don't have a hope of getting close to the finals either year so we then have currency with the AFL when we are in a position to start the climb up into the finals.

Chill peoples.

As for only 14 games in Melbourne? Are people masochists? How many drubbing can you stand live?

Cool your heels and be patient
Drubbing interstate = flick the channel.

Drubbing at home when at the game = hell!